Model Kits Gundam and Mecha Modelling V4
swlong
Feb 12 2007, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(JinXXX @ Feb 12 2007, 04:58 PM) 1 quick question, is there a difference in the "plastic" in terms of quality between PG/MG/HG ?
There sure is BIG difference....... even the HG also... New HG and Old HG quality is different.... u can compare the GS & GSD HG model v Wings / G / earlier HG model.....
JinXXX
Feb 12 2007, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(swlong @ Feb 12 2007, 05:10 PM) There sure is BIG difference....... even the HG also... New HG and Old HG quality is different.... u can compare the GS & GSD HG model v Wings / G / earlier HG model..... you mentioned big difference, is the plastic more durable/strong/bendable ? anybody know how i can fix mis-align parts ? eg left part + right part = new part , but when leftpart +rightpart , it doesn't seem to align so well there seems to be about .05 mm from one corner..
swlong
Feb 12 2007, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(JinXXX @ Feb 12 2007, 05:14 PM) you mentioned big difference, is the plastic more durable/strong/bendable ? anybody know how i can fix mis-align parts ? eg left part + right part = new part , but when leftpart +rightpart , it doesn't seem to align so well there seems to be about .05 mm from one corner..  durable? strong? this is not duracell oi..... bendable  u go buy PG and bend the plastic urself .... cheap cheap only....PG strike RM400 sumthing
andyxp
Feb 12 2007, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(JinXXX @ Feb 12 2007, 05:14 PM) you mentioned big difference, is the plastic more durable/strong/bendable ? anybody know how i can fix mis-align parts ? eg left part + right part = new part , but when leftpart +rightpart , it doesn't seem to align so well there seems to be about .05 mm from one corner..  new models.... when you bend it.. it bends before it brakes... old models... when u try to bend it... it breakes before you can even feel the bending... mis-align parts? sand it until u get the part right... or... extend the length of the shorter part with epoxy putty....
eyerule
Feb 12 2007, 05:50 PM
PG got more ABS plastic lor, MG got some and HG less. thats about it. the rest of the plastic is same la. i think the reasons why PG > MG > HG is because of the engineering behind the model. not the quality of the plastic
andyxp
Feb 12 2007, 06:03 PM
QUOTE(eyerule @ Feb 12 2007, 05:50 PM) PG got more ABS plastic lor, MG got some and HG less. thats about it. the rest of the plastic is same la. i think the reasons why PG > MG > HG is because of the engineering behind the model. not the quality of the plastic well, what we have to say? it's all extreme engineering...
eyerule
Feb 12 2007, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(andyxp @ Feb 12 2007, 06:03 PM) well, what we have to say? it's all extreme engineering...  yah it is. i was really impressed with the strike PG's articulation and the amount of parts and attention to detail they put in. totally worth the rm500 i paid for it
carpathia
Feb 12 2007, 06:55 PM
RM500? i tot graffiti selling for much less now. i just got PG wing from edison, still no time to start yet. . . : (
JinXXX
Feb 12 2007, 06:57 PM
QUOTE(eyerule @ Feb 12 2007, 05:50 PM) PG got more ABS plastic lor, MG got some and HG less. thats about it. the rest of the plastic is same la. i think the reasons why PG > MG > HG is because of the engineering behind the model. not the quality of the plastic you mentioned PG got ABS plastic , abs as in ??? i'm sure its not related to auto-breking system right
Feb 12 2007, 07:05 PM
QUOTE(whoami123 @ Feb 12 2007, 03:05 PM) 0300078: Bad news for you the last Huckebein Boxer in XL Ampang is now rest in my room  VincC454: Last Saturday I saw TM got all the 3 types of Topcoat Oh curse u!!! U got the thing i want!!! Lol just kidding, how much u get it? For me the plastic that Bandai produce is all the same now! No matter wat grade they all feel the same! If u want difference then try comparing Bandai ones with Kotobukiya one u can feel the difference!!!
JinXXX
Feb 12 2007, 07:43 PM
QUOTE(300078 @ Feb 12 2007, 07:05 PM) For me the plastic that Bandai produce is all the same now! No matter wat grade they all feel the same! If u want difference then try comparing Bandai ones with Kotobukiya one u can feel the difference!!! so bandai better or Kotobukiya better ?? thats the most important question
Feb 12 2007, 07:48 PM
From the quality i felt that Bandai is better, and they should since they have a brand new factory and 20+ years of experience!!!
But Kotobukiya is good at separating the colors! Give u a lot of parts to assemble just to give u the original color which is wat Bandai fail in most of their kits!
Jckk
Feb 12 2007, 08:31 PM
QUOTE(JinXXX @ Feb 12 2007, 06:57 PM) you mentioned PG got ABS plastic , abs as in ??? i'm sure its not related to auto-breking system right  abs stands for 'anti-lock braking system' la. abs plastic QUOTE Acrylonitrile butadiene styrene, or ABS, (chemical formula (C8H8· C4H6·C3H3N)x) is a common thermoplastic used to make light, rigid, molded products such as piping, golf club heads (used for its good shock absorbance), automotive body parts, wheel covers, enclosures, protective head gear, and toys including LEGO bricks. In plumbing, ABS pipes are the black pipes (PVC pipes are white) and also in Plastic Pressure Pipe Systems.
It is a copolymer made by polymerizing styrene and acrylonitrile in the presence of polybutadiene. The proportions can vary from 15% to 35% acrylonitrile, 5% to 30% butadiene and 40% to 60% styrene. The result is a long chain of polybutadiene criss-crossed with shorter chains of poly(styrene-co-acrylonitrile). The nitrile groups from neighbouring chains, being polar, attract each other and bind the chains together, making ABS stronger than pure polystyrene. The styrene gives the plastic a shiny, impervious surface. The butadiene, a rubbery substance, provides resilience even at low temperatures. ABS can be used between −25 °C and 60 °C.
Production of 1 kg of ABS requires the equivalent of about 2 kg of oil for raw materials and energy. It can also be recycled.
Dark Lynx
Feb 12 2007, 08:41 PM

QUOTE(300078 @ Feb 12 2007, 07:05 PM) Oh curse u!!! U got the thing i want!!! Lol just kidding, how much u get it? For me the plastic that Bandai produce is all the same now! No matter wat grade they all feel the same! If u want difference then try comparing Bandai ones with Kotobukiya one u can feel the difference!!! lol actually u shud curse me...coz i got the last box in bts and his one is last box in ampang...but he got earlier than me , or u might wanna curse us both...we pakat get one kotobukiya's kits got alot of bad comments too cons - weak manual , not so user friendly - sharp parts - harder to build than average bandai kits, coz smaller parts, hard to snap together certain parts pros - good colour seperation - for me, save my time from painting it again - looks good oob er articulation wise and plastic quality..i believe this depends on the model older MG from bandai has weak plastic quality..where as kotobukiya's quality are more streamlined This post has been edited by Dark Lynx: Feb 12 2007, 08:43 PM
StormV
Feb 12 2007, 09:01 PM
QUOTE(Dark Lynx @ Feb 12 2007, 08:41 PM) kotobukiya's kits got alot of bad comments too cons
- sharp parts
i think that is pro...
Exiled_Gundam
Feb 12 2007, 09:12 PM
I also think Kotobukiya's produce more OOB-friendly kits. For example, the Armored Core series. The kit's color is already metallic, which is a coreect color for Armored Core
fyire
Feb 12 2007, 09:25 PM
QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Feb 12 2007, 09:12 PM) I also think Kotobukiya's produce more OOB-friendly kits. For example, the Armored Core series. The kit's color is already metallic, which is a coreect color for Armored Core I quite like the AC series actually. All in all its pretty good, but still cannot compare to Bandai lar... Once u're stuck on Bandai stuff, there's just no turning back. The AC Mirage that I did? The plastic quality's pretty good. For something that size, its pretty detailed, more than a Bandai HG kit, but lacks the internal frame of the Bandai MGs. Only grumble that I've got is the knee joints r a bit shakey, 'cause the PC in them is a bit loose. Guess I'll take it apart later on to stuff some PVC glue in there so the PC stays in place better to fix that problem. Hmm.. kit color dun make much difference to me though, since I tend to paint anyways
eyerule
Feb 12 2007, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(carpathia @ Feb 12 2007, 06:55 PM) RM500? i tot graffiti selling for much less now. i just got PG wing from edison, still no time to start yet. . . : ( aiyo i bought that time 2 years ago le. now cheaper kwa. QUOTE(JinXXX @ Feb 12 2007, 06:57 PM) you mentioned PG got ABS plastic , abs as in ??? i'm sure its not related to auto-breking system right  it's a type of plastic. mainly it's used in the inner frame of the MGs and PGs. HG got some la the joins part all that.
whoami123
Feb 12 2007, 09:30 PM
0300078: 268 - 20% = RM 214.40
Anyway, according to DHM Taiwan issue no. 12 Huckebein Boxer got total 631 components which is like PG already
Exiled_Gundam
Feb 12 2007, 10:10 PM
Isn't PG got 1000++ parts?