5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Model Kits Gundam and Mecha Modelling V4

clivengu
post Feb 25 2007, 05:34 PM

1,850 posts

allright another question tongue.gif . for that last 7-10 years. i mostly just paint the panel lines of my gundam, without colouring. (used diluted paint with thinner.. let it flow into the lines, then Wipe off/ scratch of the extra paint with toothpick)

But now if im going to paint my model. After Surfacer> paint> Topcoat, how am i going to draw the line? If i use toothpick to scratch.. it will scatch away my painted colour below. If i use thinner to wipe the extra black.. It might wipe away the painted colour below too.

Question: Will the Topcoat protect the painted colours below it from thinner Above?

* i dont really prefer gundam marker pen. it looks weak and not solid.
clivengu
post Feb 26 2007, 05:15 PM

1,850 posts

Bendi brand```ha ha ha.. they have even EVA perfect grade BENDI brand last time i saw.. no hard buying few for extra parts for customize your bandai gundam.. or if ur MG suddenly broke one important parts.. mayb can try buying bendi to replace.. mua ha ha ha
clivengu
post Feb 26 2007, 09:29 PM

1,850 posts

Gundam sifu please help me~~ Sorry many questions to ask

1)I want to ask. What is d difference between Mr Superclear and Top Coat.
Both also have in gloss, semigloss and matt.

2) Mr surfacer available in 500,1000, 1200, Mr Base white and Mr White Surfacer. What is each of this surfacer different?

3) Mr Metal Primer. what it does? Is it making metallic - chrome colour? is it mix with other colours so that the gloss/flat paint will become metallic look?

4) What is d different between Mr thinner and Mr levelling thinner?

5) If possible, please guide me to any website that describe each function of the products. tongue.gif Im trying to understand all these tools b4 buying.
clivengu
post Feb 26 2007, 10:55 PM

1,850 posts

I remember older Mg like Gp01 has Extra Fin for us incase we broke d original one. d extra fin comes in one piece with the center Red thing...meaning if used tat we have to colour it.

Nowadays Mgs dont have already.
clivengu
post Feb 27 2007, 12:03 AM

1,850 posts

Thanks StormV hehe. Now i have a rough idea.. but stil not fully understand.

- for Mr white surfacer/ mr base white= almost the same..giving white base colour. Then mr surfacer 1000,1200 will be grey colour? Is that mean is best to use 1200 since is the finest?
clivengu
post Feb 27 2007, 12:12 AM

1,850 posts

........speechless..... want to change job to full time modeller? ha ha ha.. might earn a lot
clivengu
post Feb 27 2007, 12:23 AM

1,850 posts

any webpage to see his other work? might get some inspiration from him. Using LEGEND to discribe him.. sounds like somekind of Superhero~
clivengu
post Feb 27 2007, 01:39 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(Ah WanG @ Feb 27 2007, 12:30 AM)
not too impressive.. compare to this one..

http://members12.tsukaeru.net/peck/factory.htm#hgm
clivengu
post Feb 27 2007, 08:35 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(boltguard @ Feb 27 2007, 08:04 AM)
http://www.backyardarmor.com/Gunze_Sangyo.htm

dis is a site where they describe all functions of plamodel finishing products  biggrin.gif
good information.. but still not explaining all d gunze sangyo product available. Just go to TM just now.. Bought modellling tools till hundred... rclxub.gif

Bought Topcoat (flat-matt) , Mr Surfacer 1000 spray, Mr white putty, Paint tray, 3 bottle of paints and 1.0 mm plaplate.= rm 133 (discount rm 3) = rm 130 lol..so little.

Bought Mr white putty for rm 15 at TM..then go down to XL c they sell only for rm 11.00 ..CIS doh.gif
clivengu
post Feb 27 2007, 09:33 PM

1,850 posts

Hi Nu of course.. mua ha ha..
clivengu
post Feb 27 2007, 09:56 PM

1,850 posts

My Strike was collectingg dust on my left... i apply clear coat for this model.. due to TOO MUCH DUST IN KL... now all d dust seem to suck into the clear coat...now my white strike bcome almost like grey.....grrrr..
clivengu
post Feb 27 2007, 10:20 PM

1,850 posts

Anyone here actually Modify their gundam kit like those japanese freaks? Like extend wings.. extend legs.. Cut through arms and legs to make detail.. then add extra details...Replace parts with New Custommade part..

This post has been edited by clivengu: Feb 27 2007, 10:54 PM

clivengu
post Feb 27 2007, 10:26 PM

1,850 posts

Those normal cap one is Water base. as for d cap with special holder is oil based... now i try water base..since i scare the oil base will easily clog up my airbrush.. he he..

Yea Tm has lots of colour.. never see any place sell such complete selection of colours.
clivengu
post Feb 27 2007, 10:55 PM

1,850 posts

Yes i saw that.. ther is.. I was consider that time..weather to buy topcoat Flat or semigloss just now.. in d end bought Flat one.. I think i'll like flat better.
clivengu
post Feb 27 2007, 11:03 PM

1,850 posts

I'll love to see that comparison too.. Those gundam model we saw in Hobby Japan Magazine..they doesnt look glossy.. but they r so nice.. I wonder if it is matte or semigloss.. hard to tell
clivengu
post Feb 27 2007, 11:16 PM

1,850 posts

than i guess i bought d right one.. Yeah.. While waiting for My Hi nu gundam.. I have to start practicing n experiment with My sd freedom first..ho ho..have not been modeling for long long time

clivengu
post Feb 27 2007, 11:28 PM

1,850 posts

My MG rx 78 OYW are halfway done since 2 years ago.. Since i airbrushed it and d paint couldnt stick well n comes off easily.. So i lazy to do it anymore.. Didnt spray Mr Surfacer or top coat it tat time.

Can I put d whole kit into Soap or anything to wash away all d colours i airbrush b4?
clivengu
post Feb 27 2007, 11:52 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(ShinAsakura @ Feb 27 2007, 11:31 PM)
wa.....MG Sazabi...darn expensive...i tot wanna buy  cry.gif
Sazabi is d most disappointed MG kit I got. I love Sazabi REally a lot.. I mean its design..(check d 1/100 resin kit, is excellent) But when i got the MG sazabi.. d design has become not tat cool already.

Plus d worse thing about it.. is d joining.. Its hand easily comes out.. d palm cannot hold d gun properly.. When lift the hand.. it will slide down due to too Heavy.. and its legs cannot open d leg wide enough to have any pose.. Really a giant idiot . mad.gif

In d end i just sold it. keeping d box n menu as collection only. hehe
clivengu
post Feb 28 2007, 11:46 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(asuk @ Feb 28 2007, 11:11 PM)
thats only for the most recent MG kits. older ones dont have pics at the bottom of the box, but they have extra cardboard with huge pic of the kit inside
U mean nowadays they don have the Picture poster include already? I always collect those..I remember Strike has it.. But my sazabi don hav..im thinking mayb some1 took it b4 i purchase tat box.. gr...
clivengu
post Mar 1 2007, 02:17 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(LightningZERO @ Mar 1 2007, 12:54 AM)
There's no Gundam there except in Toy R'Us and Jusco. All bloody expensive biggrin.gif
U are lucky. Last time when i was back in Sarawak. No gundam kit. Have to order from some retail guy. Charge me rm 290 for my MG zeta 1.0. Worst experience.

Later on getting more n more people bring in gundam then d price getting better. sazabi i got for rm 400. Gelgoog,gp01,zaku for around rm 180.

Now.. can get much cheaper lo since in KL...but now no time and no place to build model anymore.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0345sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:53 PM