suggestion, a delete button on own post

TSpipedream
post Jan 30 2007, 09:17 PM, updated 19y ago

2,353 posts

recently due to bad connection, i keep double post, so is there a feature which the user can delete those his/her unsuitable posts? like double posts

of course the feature will be only for own post

jz my suggestion
tan_pang
post Jan 30 2007, 09:19 PM

3,110 posts

i want this kind of suggestion very long time ago!!!!!!
and you remind me of something like this!!

really hope that we can delete own post which is wrong post
TSpipedream
post Jan 30 2007, 09:20 PM

2,353 posts

ya if the user accidently said something wrong, he/she can delete it

some forums do have this feature smile.gif hope mods will implement it
eXPeri3nc3
post Jan 30 2007, 09:26 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

I bet users will abuse this system.
Especially in post counted forum, purposely double post and delete his posts...
And yet he gets 2 post counts.
se7en
post Jan 30 2007, 09:27 PM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

this feature is disabled due to the fact that it can be easily abused.

someone will post something against forum regulations and delete it before it is reported, or worse still sell something at the tradezone and later delete his tracks as thou nothing happened. While we are still able to track deleted posts, it will be very troublesome once a lot of members keep posting and deleting posts as and when they like.

For double postings, just edit your post and leave a comment saying it was a double post. A mod will clean up the thread when they see it.
TSpipedream
post Jan 30 2007, 09:28 PM

2,353 posts

the system could be use as

deleted post means less post counts

anyway its just my suggestion

or worse still sell something at the tradezone and later delete his tracks as thou nothing happened.

someone will post something against forum regulations and delete it before it is reported

yes but, the post isn`t seen anymore isn`t it? its just the same as mods deleting a post deemed impropriate

and about the tradezone thingy.. once reported, the reported sure delete his post to cover his track, but isn`t it the same as mods deleting it themself?

anyway i understand this will cause alot of abusion so.. its purely my suggestion

This post has been edited by pipedream: Jan 30 2007, 09:33 PM
eXPeri3nc3
post Jan 30 2007, 09:31 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Jan 30 2007, 09:28 PM)
the system could be use as

deleted post means less post counts

anyway its just my suggestion
but still, there will still be ppl abusing it for flaming/cheating etc..They can cover their tracks by deleting their posts although the mods can backtrack their posts.
littlegreen
post Jan 30 2007, 09:55 PM

505 posts

TS try writitng sry for double posting due to bad connection

bad connection onli happens some times rite not always rite
Mgsrulz
post Jan 30 2007, 09:58 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

wouldnt the double posts now be joined with your previous post?
TSpipedream
post Jan 30 2007, 09:59 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(littlegreen @ Jan 30 2007, 10:55 PM)
TS try writitng sry for double posting due to bad connection
bad connection onli happens some times rite not always rite
I bet users will abuse this system.
Especially in post counted forum, purposely double post and delete his posts...
And yet he gets 2 post counts.

u can always abuse it lor, keep double posting and say sry to increase post count

but now i dun think can double post liao isn`t it? with the auto merging system icon_idea.gif just thought of it

hehe so perhaps i could close this thread? since se7en has spoken
tan_pang
post Jan 30 2007, 10:02 PM

3,110 posts

how about some place can have 'del msg' function
but other board cant? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by tan_pang: Jan 30 2007, 10:03 PM
Mgsrulz
post Jan 30 2007, 10:10 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

it would probably be on a non post count section,so why bother?
Joshua_0718
post Jan 30 2007, 10:27 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,913 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Jan 30 2007, 10:10 PM)
it would probably be on a non post count section,so why bother?
Garage sales also non post count mar. But, deleting information is dangerous.
sunauto
post Jan 31 2007, 03:22 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

This is true especially for con cases, it can be abused. I guess if you really need to delete your post, PM the mod for assistance. Just a suggestion. smile.gif

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Jan 30 2007, 10:27 PM)
Garage sales also non post count mar. But, deleting information is dangerous.
nexus-
post Jan 31 2007, 03:27 PM

The intrepid coward
3,744 posts

Double posting should not be an issue now due to the changes to the board that automatically merges adjacent posts.
mcchin
post Feb 1 2007, 01:34 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

regarding the safety matter

i was thinking that a feature to prevent mass editing on the same thread

meaning after editing one post

it requires another 15 mins or so to edit another in the same thread

logiccally thinking, I wouldn't need to edit my posts more than 1

unless i try to cover up something before anyone could catch a whiff of it...
altie
post Feb 1 2007, 02:15 AM

Runaway Fridge™
673 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Feb 1 2007, 01:34 AM)
regarding the safety matter

i was thinking that a feature to prevent mass editing on the same thread

meaning after editing one post

it requires another 15 mins or so to edit another in the same thread

logiccally thinking, I wouldn't need to edit my posts more than 1

unless i try to cover up something before anyone could catch a whiff of it...
If a post was truly inflammatory, at least you have 1-2 minutes before anyone sees it to change your mind.

This post has been edited by altie: Feb 2 2007, 06:53 PM
Andrewhajime
post Feb 2 2007, 06:47 PM

2,171 posts

the post count is just not big matter
most important is at " tradezone "
where user might post something very attarctive
and delete it after ~~

0.0164sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled