Travel Bangkok V5, Of tuktuks and tomyams

darrenwks
post Feb 9 2017, 05:16 PM

220 posts

So guys, me and my partner will be flying to Bangkok for the first time. Arriving on May 3rd & leaves on May 9th(6 days)

We haven't exactly planned our itinerary yet but after some research we probably will stay in Siam(no exact hotel yet).

Anyone of you have a 6 days itinerary for Bangkok? We'll be mostly shopping, night markets, float market, street food, tuk-tuk, ladyboy show, and myb some tourist attractions.....
darrenwks
post Feb 10 2017, 02:22 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(Go_up @ Feb 9 2017, 06:23 PM)
Siam area hell alot of malls for u to shopping around.
Bkk is a nice place i don think u wanna stay inside mall for days...

try visit grand palace, chao phraya river, wat arun, asiatique on night time, khao sand road china town for night street food. Nana road /plaza for red light district visit.
besides that, still got alot place can travel around. try to use GRAB/UBER in Bkk to save ur money, if ur journey is particular in budget plan, otherwise normal Taxi meter would be good already.

TUKTUK car is not recommended as those people will open the price without standard to earn foreigner's money, so..my advice is take 7 days internet data and book/ wait for UBER all the way to your hotel room.

please note tat 5-8pm Bkk traffic is very very bad, not really advice u to travel on the road in this timing, but this timing u should visiting temple / mall/ street .

do feel free to pm me for more info u need  thumbsup.gif
Thanks! You know any best temple attraction that can we reached within 1 hour time off the city? I don wanna go to far...i know that grand palace and wat arun is near to each other though...and also will probably visit all the night markets.

And also floating market? The famous one seems to be quite far away too

This post has been edited by darrenwks: Feb 10 2017, 02:49 PM
darrenwks
post Feb 13 2017, 05:03 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(Go_up @ Feb 13 2017, 02:51 PM)
Those temple u mentioned is the famous one already in Bkk. And famous only few xD

Floating market got a lot inside bkk or outside bkk or even at anothe province.

Since you wan within one hour one, I will suggest Kwan Riam Bangkok floating market. U need go google the location and how to go etc. Please note some market only open on certain day like sat/sun

Cheers
Thanks, i've listed down some few places to go to ^^

Anyone tried those fried insects? I would try it but is it safe to eat those?

Vid i saw like these really backed me off to try these fried bugs >.<

www.facebook.com/boogzamazingstories/videos/vb.1782738618604828/1783522141859809/?type=2&theater

Sorry dunno how to embed fb video
darrenwks
post Jun 23 2017, 04:57 PM

220 posts

Guys i just done my Bangkok vlog, wondering if anyone is interested to watch? Spoken in Chinese language with Eng & Chinese subtitle lol
darrenwks
post Jun 23 2017, 07:35 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Jun 23 2017, 05:56 PM)
yes, kindly share to me  wink.gif

i'm going to bangkok next week, so your vlog might help.
Here you go, there are also a few typos in the video and i'm too lazy to re-upload it innocent.gif

These are also my very first vlog so i was abit nervous, hope you understand....

Gimme some like for support yah haha
darrenwks
post Jun 28 2017, 10:40 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Jun 24 2017, 03:31 PM)
Nice vlog there...it definitely helps alot for my first bangkok trip.

Thanks, hope you have fun in your Bangkok trip!

QUOTE(inachi @ Jun 26 2017, 12:44 AM)
good one keep it up  biggrin.gif
Thanks biggrin.gif
darrenwks
post Jul 1 2017, 09:41 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(famusanus @ Jun 29 2017, 04:23 PM)
Omg the omurice looked damn good! Dat fried insects tho puke.gif
haha i throw away all of it after i had one of each kind, that bowl of insects cost only 40baht

QUOTE(dentalfloss @ Jun 30 2017, 05:18 PM)
Is rm 310 return flight from AA considered cheap?
quite cheap bro
darrenwks
post Aug 2 2017, 04:41 PM

220 posts

If senior citizen i suggest shopping malls and small night markets.

If your mom really can walk long hours and tahan heat, then big night market like talad rot fai srinakarin or weekend market like chatuchak shouldn't be a problem.

You can check out my Bangkok vlog too icon_rolleyes.gif

darrenwks
post Nov 3 2017, 04:57 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 3 2017, 09:14 AM)
1. Pee Aor Tom Yum Goong - my most memorable one
2. the chicken noodle at chatuchak - red colour stall
3. coconut ice-cream at chatuchak
4. upstair of amarin plaza got thai food stall
5. thai boat noodle - victory monument
6. food at chinatown(start 6PM)
7. pad thai sala daeng
8. kao man gai(chicken rice) at The Pratunam Chicken Rice

pretty much u can eat it all in thailand
Just do not go eat sabX2..super overpriced
Pee Aor quite over-rated, but cheap, i find KK one more nicer brows.gif
darrenwks
post Nov 3 2017, 05:10 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(kikimlee @ Nov 2 2017, 05:22 PM)
any good restaurant / cafe recommended?
you can try watch my vlog(chinese with subtitles) about Bangkok haha. Cafe only been to After You Dessert, you can try OMU oso, the japanese larva egg rice.

darrenwks
post Nov 4 2017, 09:26 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(kikimlee @ Nov 3 2017, 05:26 PM)
going with old people
cannot always go market
must find place aircon sit down relax
Like that so hard loh....better stay in Siam area then where all the shopping malls are within walking distance...there are plenty of cafes in malls but you will miss out a lot of fun

With old people hard to go market & temple etc coz very sunny & hot....unless not so big night market like talad neon, those talad rod fai srinakarin will be too big for them.
darrenwks
post Nov 6 2017, 09:04 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Nov 2 2017, 02:50 PM)
Anyway, I just want to share my recent experience in bkk trip. I think its good to share so that everyone can be extra careful. Sorry its a bit lengthy...

I was going to Chinatown. I use MRT and went to the last station Hua Lampong. When I reach there its already evening time around 5pm++. So we (my wife & I) walk out of the station and ready to walk to Chinatown as we wanted to explore around while walking. (can take taxi if don’t want to walk too much)

Then suddenly 1 guy approached us speaking thai to us. I shake my head and say I don’t understand. Then he smile and speak English to me. He says both of us look like local thai so he speak thai to us where we are going. Its very obvious coz I keep looking at my phone google map. So without thinking too much I just tell him we are going Chinatown. Then he explained to us in details and show the direction for us. We smile and thank him. He ask if we have a map. I took out from my bag pack and pass to him. Then he continued pointing on map telling us we are here and this is Chinatown. And he told us he is an English teacher thats why he can speak good english. He ask if it is the first time we come to Thailand (my biggest mistake in replying yes)

Then, come the cons part. He “pretend” to look at his watch. Oh...its only 5pm ++. Are you guys going over there now? We say yes. Then he says there is nothing to see right now at Chinatown. Many shops not open until around 7pm++. I was surprise when I heard this as during my research while planning my itinerary I never come across anyone mention only to go Chinatown at night. Then he continue - if I am you I will take the river cruise. Have you guys take the river cruise yet? We say no. Then he say you all should try. You can take the cruise for around 1.5hrs by that time will be 7pm++ then they will drop you at ratchawong pier which is walking distance to Chinatown (nearer from MRT station here). He say if you take the tourist boat for the river cruise normally will cost you around 5-6k baht. But he suggest another type of boat. The local take it. It is only half the price if you book them for only 2 of us riding it. He says he normally will bring his students for this outdoor river cruise activity. I ask him which pier and how we can reach that pier. He says its simple to use tuk tuk only. And its very cheap if local thai use it. I say we are not local. He say if we are interested he can help us to call 1 tuk tuk and it cost 20bath to reach the pier. (surprisingly tuk tuk can be so cheap). I just smile and tell him we will think about it. While we were standing there and discussing, the guy walk slowly and keep looking at us. Then he turn back and ask us again whats our decision. And he say if we really want he can help to get a tuk tuk. Then suddenly 1 tuk tuk ride out from an alley. He stop the tuk tuk and speak thai to the driver. Then he look at us and say its 20baht to go the pier. You guys wanna go?

My wife then ask me if my research did read up anything on this pier thing and river cruise thing. I say I don’t but I know that all this pier here have the local boats and this boats will get us to ratchawong pier also. In the end we decide to go to the pier to see whats its all about. If we don’t like the cruise we can always board the local boat to ratchawong pier to Chinatown.

We arrive the pier (i did check my google map but i forgot the name now). It is quite a distance from the MRT station we are just now. It went through a small alley and reach the pier. Before we alight my wife ask me this pier can go to our destination and I say maybe yes. We pay 20baht and alight. Walking to the pier some thai guy speaks mandarin approach us. Then they ask us to sit down. Show us the places of interest catalogue asking us where we wanna go. Same thing we say we just want go Chinatown. And same thing he told us Chinatown not open. Can take cruise first which they offer 2-3k baht and explain where we go then will send us to Chinatown. We smile and decline his offer. We are abit worried that they might not want to let us go, but luckily we keep saying we are now going to meet friends in Chinatown and don’t want the cruise. Furthermore there are some other tourist there so I believe they wont harm us?
We walk back out and saw the same tuk tuk just now waiting outside. We approach him and tell him we want go Chinatown. Then he look surprised and a bit blur. He went to talk to the guy in the pier in thai. Then he come back to us say no. point the route outside. He say find taxi in English. So we ignore him and walk out the alley. The alley is quite scary as it is getting dark already that time. When we reach the main road we feel relieve. Coz many people and cars around. We then board taxi and went to our destination – Chinatown. What an experience.

Advise to those going to bkk. I have read many stories about this kind of scam from taxi driver if you say going to those temple. But I never read anything on this river cruise and Chinatown area scam. I find it useful just to share my personal experience with forumer here.
Obviously the Eng speaking Thai would give commission to the cheap tuk tuk driver after you guys bought the river cruise thingy, which is why he's waiting outside and confused when you went back outside.

My gf and i also encountered one guy suddenly kept talking nicely to us while we were walking to Wat Pho from the pier, he spoke okok english, keep saying the Wat Pho is not open during that hour then suddenly take out flyers dont know about what already..... we just smiled and politely declined him lol

This post has been edited by darrenwks: Nov 7 2017, 08:36 AM
darrenwks
post Nov 6 2017, 09:18 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(yonghong @ Nov 2 2017, 08:41 AM)
Anyone got contact for good private car driver rent?  Plan to go Railway Station and floating market.  But feel that public transport Abit troublesome. Thanks lot.
You can search up at kkday, i had my one day trip tour from Damnoeon floating market > MAeklong Railway Train > Wat Bang Kung for about Rm280 for 2 pax.

There will be Chinese tourguide and van driver is provided in a specific meet up point. It also included a boat ride in the floating market at no extra charge at all.

There's really not much to see actually especially the railway station lol, just to experience lah. And very very the hot when you riding a boat under the scorching sun....
darrenwks
post Nov 9 2017, 10:52 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Nov 8 2017, 11:55 AM)
What time did u reach maeklong railway market? U see the train pass by?
Here's my itinerary for that day, yes we did witnessed the train passes by....in a super super slow speed lol....really nothing special.

KKDay Daytrip: Damnoen Saduak Floating Market + Maeklong Railway Market + Wat Bang Kung
7:00am - Hotel Breakfast
8:10am - Meet at the Starbuck(Time Square, Asok Station) next to Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit.
8:30am - Depart to Damnoen Saduak
10:00am - Arrives at Damnoen Saduak
11:00am - Explore floating market & food
12:00pm - Depart to Wat Bang Kung
12:30pm - Arrives Wat Bang Kung
1:30pm - Depart to Maeklong Railway Market
2:00pm - Arrives Maeklong Railway Market
2:30pm - Train pass through
3:00pm - Depart to Asiatique

5:00pm - Arrives Asiatique

This post has been edited by darrenwks: Nov 9 2017, 10:53 AM
darrenwks
post Nov 10 2017, 09:11 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(kikimlee @ Nov 9 2017, 11:03 AM)
too many time spend on travel ..............
Ummm yea...that's a 1 day tour lol sad.gif

Good for first time traveler
darrenwks
post Nov 18 2017, 09:36 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(yonghong @ Nov 17 2017, 05:40 PM)
How u booked this day trip and how much cost?

around Rm280 for 2 pax from KKday

not sure if you can still find this package on their website though...
darrenwks
post Nov 20 2017, 08:37 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(sassy_chiq @ Nov 19 2017, 04:44 AM)
Hi, if don't book through the website, can book once reach bangkok or how ya? Thank you.
Unless you can find cheaper price or have known trusted tour agency in Bangkok, i don't find a good reason why only book once you reach Bangkok.

And if you do some digging you can also find discount code for their website.

Also if you only do booking once you're in Bangkok, mostly likely the tour will be fully booked.
darrenwks
post Dec 5 2017, 02:59 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(SHOfrE3zE @ Nov 22 2017, 12:03 PM)
anyone tried using Uber or Grab in bangkok? which is more reliable between the two?
and can i use the current uber/grab app that i use in Malaysia?
I only used Grab twice, because some taxi refused to use the meter & i cannot wait anymore.

Taxi is just as cheap as grab if they run the meter. Before you accept a taxi, ask he/she if it's metered, if it's not, just politely say no and then hire another because they might scam & tell you a higher fixed fair. You might find most taxis don't use the meter at touristy places/markets, but don't give up! I've had experience where i asked 5 ~ 7 taxis(at Talad Rot Fai Srinakarin) before i finally get 1 that uses the meter...

Yes, just use the app you've already downloaded. Nothing different...

This post has been edited by darrenwks: Dec 5 2017, 03:35 PM
darrenwks
post Dec 5 2017, 03:12 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(yahiko @ Nov 30 2017, 02:42 PM)
hi all

anyone have itinerary for family trip? 2 adult 2 old ppl
kindly share with me.. planning to bring the old one to go..
If you bring the old one to go, you might gonna skip some of the huge markets/night markets like Chatuchak, Talad Rot Fai Srinakarin & etc....

Coz they are very BIG & the old one might not be able to withstand long hours of walking + intense heat
darrenwks
post Dec 11 2017, 08:52 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Dec 8 2017, 09:30 PM)
Bangkok has two airports? BKK and DMK?
Are both nearby?
Yea BKK is more big & newer airport, both are located at 2 different sides and a taxi from centre to either airport is roughly the same in time.

Just go with the one where you get the better fare

0.0695sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:54 AM