siewbow
post Apr 1 2019, 08:43 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(swn525 @ Mar 31 2019, 12:53 AM)
[attachmentid=10216318]

[attachmentid=10216319]

[attachmentid=10216320]

Photo taken at 29/03/2019 on jeju cherry blossom festival
This is taken today 1/4/2019, middle region of Peninsular Korea. Expect to reach full bloom by next week.

This post has been edited by siewbow: Apr 1 2019, 08:44 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
swn525
post Apr 1 2019, 10:27 AM

877 posts

QUOTE(siewbow @ Apr 1 2019, 08:43 AM)
This is taken today 1/4/2019, middle region of Peninsular Korea. Expect to reach full bloom by next week.
almost, first few days i reach jeju also same like your photo, after few days will be full bloom rclxms.gif
AveoHzq
post Apr 4 2019, 02:18 PM

172 posts

Hi, im going to Seoul on 1st to 6th May.

Will there still be any more cherry blossoms by then?
The weather will be quite warm right? No need jacket?

Im still planning my itinerary. Any suggestions? Thanks!
wj91
post Apr 8 2019, 12:24 PM

56 posts

Hi all Sifu,

I would like to ask about accommodation in Busan. It is staying at Nampo-dong better than Seomyeon?

Any recommended Airbnb or Hotel around these two location?

thanks.
ckuanglim
post Apr 8 2019, 01:42 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(wj91 @ Apr 8 2019, 12:24 PM)
Hi all Sifu,

I would like to ask about accommodation in Busan.  It is staying at Nampo-dong better than Seomyeon?

thanks.
I stayed 3 nights in Nampo on my trip in November 2018. I like the location, transport, and food there. But I do not know Seomyeon, so not comparing.
tapiritam
post Apr 9 2019, 04:00 PM

61 posts

Hi All,

I will be travelling to Seoul for 8 days 7 nights from 23 - 30 April. Will be arriving Seoul around 8.30 am and departing at 4.25pm. Will be staying at Seoul Station through out my stay there. I have prepared draft itinerary as per below. Since this will be my first time in Korea, any inputs/ comments/ suggestions/ tips are much appreciated.

Note: will be travelling with spouse, mother in law, and 2 kids (3 years & 1 year old)

Day 1 (Tuesday);

Travel to seoul station from airport via AREX

Short visit (if time permit);
- Myeongdong
- Dongdaemun (24hrs shopping experience)
- Cheonggyechon Stream (nice view at night, start from Cheonggye Plaza to Dongdaemun)
- Namdaemun (traditional korean market)

Day 2 (Wednesday);

Lotte World Adventure

Day 3 (Thursday);

1) Palaces
- Gyeongbokgung Palace (nearby got Korean folk Museum & samcheongdong)
- Changdeokgung Palace & Huwon
- Deoksugung Palace
- Changgyeonggung Palace
- Gyeonghuigung Palace
2) Bukchon Hanok Village
3) Insadong
4) Gwangjang Market

Day 4 (Friday);

Nami Island
- Petit France
- Gapyeong Rail Bike
- Garden of Morning Calm

Night: Watch street performer @ along Eoulmadag-ro and Hongik University Street and also near Sinchon Railway Station & Maronnier Park, Daehangno

Day 5 (Saturday);

1) Namsan Park & Seoul Tower
2) Myeongdong
3) Hongdae

Night: Hangout @ Han River/ Hangang Park (Near to Noryangjin Seafood Market)- Attraction such as Banpo Bridge Rainbow Fountain

Day 6 (Sunday);

1) Gangnam District
2) Itaewon District
3) Yongsan Electronic Market

Day 7 (Monday);

Free and Easy. To cover whichever miss out. May consider to take seoul city bus.

Day 8 (Tuesday);

Free and Easy. To cover whichever miss out.

Need to be at airport around 1pm

This post has been edited by tapiritam: Apr 9 2019, 04:53 PM
thurtin
post Apr 9 2019, 04:30 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(tapiritam @ Apr 9 2019, 04:00 PM)
Hi All,

I will be travelling to Seoul for 8 days 7 nights from 23 - 30 April. Will be arriving Seoul around 8.30 am and departing at 4.25pm. Will be staying at Seoul Station through out my stay there. I have prepared draft itinerary as per below. Since this will be my first time in Korea, any inputs/ comments/ suggestions/ tips are much appreciated.

Day 1 (Tuesday);

Travel to seoul station from airport via AREX

Short visit (if time permit);
- Myeongdong
- Dongdaemun (24hrs shopping experience)
- Cheonggyechon Stream (nice view at night, start from Cheonggye Plaza to Dongdaemun)
- Namdaemun (traditional korean market)

Day 2 (Wednesday);

Lotte World Adventure

Day 3 (Thursday);

1) Palaces
- Gyeongbokgung Palace (nearby got Korean folk Museum & samcheongdong)
- Changdeokgung Palace & Huwon
- Deoksugung Palace
- Changgyeonggung Palace
- Gyeonghuigung Palace
2) Bukchon Hanok Village
3) Insadong
4) Gwangjang Market

Day 4 (Friday);

Nami Island
- Petit France
- Gapyeong Rail Bike
- Garden of Morning Calm

Night: Watch street performer @ along Eoulmadag-ro and Hongik University Street and also near Sinchon Railway Station & Maronnier Park, Daehangno

Day 5 (Saturday);

1) Namsan Park & Seoul Tower
2) Myeongdong
3) Hongdae

Night: Hangout @ Han River/ Hangang Park (Near to Noryangjin Seafood Market)- Attraction such as Banpo Bridge Rainbow Fountain

Day 6 (Sunday);

1) Gangnam District
2) Itaewon District
3) Yongsan Electronic Market

Day 7 (Monday);

Free and Easy. To cover whichever miss out. May consider to take seoul city bus.

Day 8 (Tuesday);

Free and Easy. To cover whichever miss out.

Need to be at airport around 1pm
Day 1 to 5 covers all the main spots pretty well.

For day 6, Gangnam is ok to visit during the day. A bit of shopping + food + people watching. Itaewon is boring during the day tbh. It only comes alive at night and its mostly bars and clubs if you are into that kind of scene. Yongsan is kinda meh because electronics in Korea is more expensive than Malaysia and choices are not that great.

Other places in Seoul to consider are Garosugil, Apgujeong, Ehwa, Seongsu, Yeuido Park, Seoul Forest Park, just on top of my head

If you want to venture a bit further out from Seoul, you can consider Busan, Daegu, Gyeonju, Incheon, Gyeonggi, DMZ (may not be open now)

tapiritam
post Apr 9 2019, 04:56 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(thurtin @ Apr 9 2019, 04:30 PM)
Day 1 to 5 covers all the main spots pretty well.

For day 6, Gangnam is ok to visit during the day. A bit of shopping + food + people watching. Itaewon is boring during the day tbh. It only comes alive at night and its mostly bars and clubs if you are into that kind of scene. Yongsan is kinda meh because electronics in Korea is more expensive than Malaysia and choices are not that great.

Other places in Seoul to consider are Garosugil, Apgujeong, Ehwa, Seongsu, Yeuido Park, Seoul Forest Park, just on top of my head 

If you want to venture a bit further out from Seoul, you can consider Busan, Daegu, Gyeonju, Incheon, Gyeonggi, DMZ (may not be open now)
Not sure if the 5 days is enough to cover all those mentioned in the itinerary especially when travelling with 2 kids. What do you think?

Noted on yongsan, will definitely strike that off from the list. Will definitely check out those places you mentioned. Thanks!

yvonnesoo
post Apr 10 2019, 04:00 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(wj91 @ Apr 8 2019, 12:24 PM)
Hi all Sifu,

I would like to ask about accommodation in Busan.  It is staying at Nampo-dong better than Seomyeon?

thanks.
both location is good.
thurtin
post Apr 12 2019, 08:55 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(tapiritam @ Apr 9 2019, 04:56 PM)
Not sure if the 5 days is enough to cover all those mentioned in the itinerary especially when travelling with 2 kids. What do you think?

Noted on yongsan, will definitely strike that off from the list. Will definitely check out those places you mentioned. Thanks!
The places of interest in Seoul are not too far away from each other, especially by subway. Depending on how much time you spend at each location, you can easily cover 3 to 4 locations in a day. If your family are tired of walking, taxi is not crazy expensive tbh. It's about 10k+ won within 20km distances.

xriies
post Apr 16 2019, 09:01 AM

Anyone here just back from Jeju? how's the bus system? heard some say there's more bus now but still inconvenience.
cocoberry
post Apr 20 2019, 07:52 AM

I am going to korea as well next week..is tbe cherry blossom is still blooming there? Or ended already?
AveoHzq
post Apr 20 2019, 02:03 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(cocoberry @ Apr 20 2019, 07:52 AM)
I am going to korea as well next week..is tbe cherry blossom is still blooming there? Or ended already?
Do share how it is over there, the weather etc. Im going in 10 days as well icon_idea.gif
thurtin
post Apr 20 2019, 02:10 PM

277 posts

Sorry guys. Cherry blossom is pretty much over. It’s all green now.

Pic taken on 9 April.

siewbow
post Apr 22 2019, 07:56 AM

20 posts

Cherry Blossom season is over for now. I attached some photos of cherry blossom timeline so u may able to plan well for next visit. If you visit 1st & 2nd week of April I am sure u will be able to see Cherry blossom in Peninsula of Korea (exclude jeju). From buds to flower it takes around 2 weeks and it is difficult to forecast full bloom in 10 days in advance as weather condition might be different every year.

For me, the best moment to enjoy Cherry Blossom is during 'Full bloom' and 'Cherry blossom rain'. Cherry blossom rain occurs when flower start to mature and fall. With strong wind swipe pass the trees it forms a cherry blossom rain. The feeling is superb.

For people travelling after cherry blossom season, rest assured as there are many more flowers to enjoy during this time. Don't forget about fruits too.

Spring -
Small yellow melon (Chamoe) / Peach / Plum

Summer -
Grape / Watermelon

Autumn -
Jujube / Pear / Apple

Winter -
Strawberry / Tangerine (Jeju)

Happy Travelling !!!

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
~mingwei~
post Apr 24 2019, 09:23 PM

126 posts

Hi, anyone been to Busan in the mid of December? What is the average temperature? What I know Seoul will be much more colder than Busan. I'm planning for korea trip during Christmas time and worry that my 4yo daughter can't tahan the coldness..
thurtin
post Apr 25 2019, 08:13 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(~mingwei~ @ Apr 24 2019, 09:23 PM)
Hi, anyone been to Busan in the mid of December? What is the average temperature? What I know Seoul will be much more colder than Busan. I'm planning for korea trip during Christmas time and worry that my 4yo daughter can't tahan the coldness..
Mid to low 10s for sure, possibly below 10 at night. Korean winter is long and quite brutal, so be prepared. Kids need to be layered properly.
~mingwei~
post Apr 25 2019, 09:49 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(thurtin @ Apr 25 2019, 09:13 AM)
Mid to low 10s for sure, possibly below 10 at night. Korean winter is long and quite brutal, so be prepared. Kids need to be layered properly.
Thanks for the info, hmm..,still thinking whether to proceed with flight tickets now..

Another question, every hotel in Busan equipped with heater right during winter? Any good reasonable hotel to recommend? Prefer Nampo dong or seomyeon area.
BktRaja
post Apr 25 2019, 12:03 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(~mingwei~ @ Apr 25 2019, 09:49 AM)
Thanks for the info, hmm..,still thinking whether to proceed with flight tickets now..

Another question, every hotel in Busan equipped with heater right during winter? Any good reasonable hotel to recommend? Prefer Nampo dong or seomyeon area.
I missed my winter trip to Seoul. Best was to eat the noodle soup at the roadside stalls covered with the transparent plastic sheets, like those in the drama. Really shiock eating the hot noodle soup with cold weather outside thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

thurtin
post Apr 25 2019, 12:08 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(~mingwei~ @ Apr 25 2019, 09:49 AM)

Dec is not the coldest month for winter so it wont be super cold. It goes below zero in Jan and Feb.

Most hotels and homes in Korea have very good heating. They use the underfloor hot water heating system that is nice and warm in all rooms except for the toilets. Lol. Even for places that don't have them, they have the portable heaters that are quite good as well.

I've not been to Busan yet, so I can't really recommend any places. Sorry.

117 Pages « < 84 85 86 87 88 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 10:03 AM