Travel Travel To Japan V9.5, Konnichiwaaa

oneeleven
post Sep 29 2016, 05:27 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(Felice821 @ Sep 29 2016, 12:30 PM)
I planning to overnight at Arima Onsen. I try to look around, most of the Ryokan Onsen cost a bomb.

Any recommendation with budget ~RM1000 (25k yen)/room for 2 pax included Kobe beef dinner?

And I did research and understand, those with tattoo are not allow in Onsen. Any onsen that you guys come across that allow?
Google or AirBnB must be somewhere else in Arima area to stay or just come back down to Kobe.

Often, the Kobe beef specials include lots of other extraneous stuff besides the beef. You might be paying for beer, vegetables, salmon, even the reputation and ambience of the famous old place and the show the cook puts on. I had a taste of excellent Wagyu cheek meat in an appetizer in a KL restaurant, and it was better than what I had in Kobe. You can even buy a chunk in the supermarket and DIY if you have access to a kitchen, maybe a small disposable charcoal hibachi BBQ.

If a smallish tattoo, cover it with waterproof bandages. They might even sell sheets of it near the onsen.

PS: This one kind of expensive but you'll probably find something else if lookaround: http://www.japantrendshop.com/tattoo-cover...ers-p-3140.html

This post has been edited by oneeleven: Sep 29 2016, 06:41 PM
oneeleven
post Oct 11 2016, 05:50 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(lynch @ Sep 2 2016, 04:51 PM)
I'll be arriving at Haneda airport at night around 10:30pm. After imigresen and all those etc etc, which may take around an hour, do i still have train/bus transport access to shibuya tokyo?
Yor chances to catch last train are minimum.
But still have Limosine Bus to Tokyo City.
You have to buy limosine bus ticket at counter first then only go line up at Bus stop.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Sep 2 2016, 06:27 PM
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

With no checked bag, and a Suica (can bypass counter?), is it likely I'll be able to catch the last train or get to bus before the midnight charge?

PS: Flight history statistics show a large number of delayed landings of typically 15-20 mins.

This post has been edited by oneeleven: Oct 11 2016, 10:29 PM
oneeleven
post Oct 23 2016, 07:59 PM

1,515 posts

Did the AAsia Haneda trip, delayed 20 mins and long immigration queue so out at 11:30. Decided bus (night charge, double) was the safer option . It got to Shibuya station 20 minutes before the next connection but there was a 40 minute jam right at the entrance so I missed the last bus and had to take a taxi for over 1000 yen :-(

My bad gamble cost 4x the train fare but it was also pouring rain so maybe worth it to be dropped at the doorstep.
The only reason to go by bus is it might spare you doing lots of stairs with your luggage.

This post has been edited by oneeleven: Oct 23 2016, 08:02 PM
oneeleven
post Mar 12 2017, 08:24 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 12 2017, 03:15 PM)
Interested to know if anybody tried to send their luggage by courier from Narita airport to their airbnb apartment in Asakusa? Can you specify what time you want your luggage to arrive?

I'll be arriving early in the morning and check in is only at 4pm.

Yes and yes. Assume you will be able to provide address in Japanese and the phone number. ( You might be able to save back some cost by taking "non-express" transport to the city.)
oneeleven
post Mar 12 2017, 08:51 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(anzen600 @ Mar 12 2017, 06:12 PM)
First time goin to Tokyo nxt month. Arrival time is 10.30pm, abit concern if can make it to the city or not with train. Any sifu can advise if normally need to spend one night in Haneda or not. (which we dont want to)
Haneda? I did it in October. Please read page 1 here: "How to get to Tokyo after midnight"

Where do you intend to end up in the city at that late hour, are your lodgings/contacts already planned? You might end up with an expensive taxi ride at the other end anyway. Malaysians might feel pretty cold out in the streets at night!

The fastest, cheapest and most dependable if no flight delay more than 20 minutes, is the train. Disadvantage is limited destinations, maybe only last two runs, and maneuvering through the station stairways with luggage when you get off. If there is a lift, can you locate it at the other end of a long underground complex?

There are buses convenient to various parts of the city, staff helpful loading luggage, free wifi. However, the fare doubles after a certain time (so, costlier than the train) and although you arrive early in time by AA flight, the next scheduled bus might be 45 mins later. Some city buses time well with the airport bus but most will overlap by only one last run. Drawbacks, sometimes traffic. My bus got stuck 40 mins at the construction jam outside the station and I missed the last bus for the night. It was pouring rain so had to do a Rm100 taxi.

0.1040sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:15 AM