Travel Travel To Japan V9.5, Konnichiwaaa

ahchun
post Nov 28 2016, 09:31 AM

MiddleAge
1,147 posts

QUOTE(Y_vonne @ Nov 28 2016, 12:26 AM)
Did you stay in the centre of Osaka city or outskirts? If stay a bit further from the centre, does it take long time to get to the city by their railway train?
i stay 10 min away from Osaka station
most of tourist attraction place are connected with train
and bus also.

try open up google map and see where you plan to stay and where is the nearest station

peak hour, you may need to cramp with ppl to work

Chaud
post Nov 28 2016, 10:03 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Nov 28 2016, 01:20 AM)
Why only MAS and Air Asia?

MAS usual price RM2400 +-, promo price anywhere from RM1200 to RM1700.

JAL usually can get RM1200 to RM1500. (Unless peak)

ANA usually can get RM1100 to RM1500. (Unless peak)
Air Asia the lowest with everything is around RM800-900, if you can get ANA with RM1100, it is anytime better.

If you do not mind transit, look out for Thai Airways and Vietnam Airlines, they do promo for RM700-900 all in.
Do ANA usually have promo? at the moment the cheapest i found is about RM1300-RM1400.

When is usually the peak season?
bug_vengeance
post Nov 28 2016, 10:12 AM

: Juve's Historic Battle :
7,131 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Nov 28 2016, 01:20 AM)
Why only MAS and Air Asia?

MAS usual price RM2400 +-, promo price anywhere from RM1200 to RM1700.

JAL usually can get RM1200 to RM1500. (Unless peak)

ANA usually can get RM1100 to RM1500. (Unless peak)
Air Asia the lowest with everything is around RM800-900, if you can get ANA with RM1100, it is anytime better.

If you do not mind transit, look out for Thai Airways and Vietnam Airlines, they do promo for RM700-900 all in.
ANA better in terms of seat comfortability ?
sacwoc
post Nov 28 2016, 10:50 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Nov 24 2016, 11:33 PM)
Hello from Tokyo. Just a note. If you're Malaysian traveling alone, you'll be pulled over at Custom for full inspection. I asked why, he said single traveler. Fine. I asked why again, he said only Malaysian. I diam. And walked away. Gosh. Me face problem, or any others also kena like that?
I think you are just unlucky. I have been travelling in and out so many times, living in Japan and can speak Japanese, I have also been stopped once a while. They did not do a thorough check but still they open my bag.
popice2u
post Nov 28 2016, 10:51 AM

1,337 posts

where to get the best deal for Japan yen in KL?
MR_alien
post Nov 28 2016, 12:50 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

this is to debunk those "radioactive" question
on average, most japan city has lower radioactive reading than most places in hong kong
so if u question is it safe to travel to japan...u should question more should u go HK or not as well laugh.gif
aspartame
post Nov 28 2016, 01:00 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 28 2016, 12:50 PM)
this is to debunk those "radioactive" question
on average, most japan city has lower radioactive reading than most places in hong kong
so if u question is it safe to travel to japan...u should question more should u go HK or not as well laugh.gif
Concern is not so much on environmental radioactive readings but contaminated seafood (possible consumption of small amount of radioactive materials and long term consequences). If you can debunk the contaminated food myth, I will be very happy. biggrin.gif
chinti
post Nov 28 2016, 02:30 PM

Tarak Drama, Kita Bikin Drama
1,653 posts

hey guys, a bit earlier to ask but anyone plan to go japan next raya? im going for a week if anyone wanna tag along. tokyo to b specified, i know my way around and i can speak japanese so u r in safe hand.
MR_alien
post Nov 28 2016, 03:06 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Nov 28 2016, 01:00 PM)
Concern is not so much on environmental radioactive readings but contaminated seafood (possible consumption of small amount of radioactive materials and long term consequences). If you can debunk the contaminated food myth, I will be very happy. biggrin.gif
most ppl will concern abt the environment 1st because its in the air u breath
in term of food, the waters that are contaminated already banned from fishing
with strict regulation from the japanese...i dnt think ppl need to worry abt the food
you'll have more chance of eating contaminated fish here than in japan..i believe laugh.gif
Samurai
post Nov 28 2016, 04:00 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Nov 28 2016, 01:00 PM)
Japanese highly concern about environmental radioactive..About Fukushima,Most farming area contaminated ,they will banned all product such rice grain . Heavy checked by local authority about this matter . Most of Salmon fish are imported from Scandinavian Country such Sweden . Lots of fish coming from Hokkaido ,Amori dan Nihon Kai.

If we talking about contaminated food myth In Japan,most Japanese people are more transparent compare Malaysian.

If you think Japan have bad environmental radioactive. Then you should travel other country. Much more safe and better long life..

sacwoc
post Nov 28 2016, 05:08 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(Samurai @ Nov 28 2016, 05:00 PM)
Japanese highly concern about environmental radioactive..About Fukushima,Most farming area contaminated ,they will banned all product such rice grain . Heavy checked by local authority about this matter . Most of Salmon fish are imported from Scandinavian Country such Sweden . Lots of fish coming from Hokkaido ,Amori dan Nihon Kai.

If we talking about contaminated food myth In Japan,most Japanese people are more transparent compare Malaysian.

If you think Japan have bad environmental radioactive. Then you should travel other country. Much more safe and better long life..
Unfortunately now, the Japanese themselves are suspicious of the reading coming out from the government. Also recently cases of "wrongly labelling" the origin of food have been quite rampant. Even big name players like Isetan, Takashimaya, Daimaru were caught a few years back in mislabeling their menu.
Fyonne
post Nov 28 2016, 05:10 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Nov 27 2016, 04:43 AM)
day 2 then im stumped on where is better, northern or southern side. northern side would be Arashiyama but pretty far compared to south which will be Fushimi Inari Shrine
whole day? if Fushimi Inari, where u plan to go after that? it took me 2 hours++ to go up the top of the hill n down around the hill/path. not sure if u wan to do half/full day there.
i did Fushimi Inari (early in the morning since its doesnt close, at 5-6am), then to Uji until noon, b4 heading Nara n back to Kyoto.

Arashiyama has alot place to cover. Which is great to cover for whole day. Bamboo Groove n Togetsukyo Bridge doesnt close, so u can go there early to avoid crowd. 7am is great to start at Arashiyama, Tenruji i think open around 9am.
marfccy
post Nov 28 2016, 05:14 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Nov 28 2016, 05:10 PM)
whole day? if Fushimi Inari, where u plan to go after that? it took me 2 hours++ to go up the top of the hill n down around the hill/path. not sure if u wan to do half/full day there.
i did Fushimi Inari (early in the morning since its doesnt close, at 5-6am), then to Uji until noon, b4 heading Nara n back to Kyoto.

Arashiyama has alot place to cover. Which is great to cover for whole day. Bamboo Groove n Togetsukyo Bridge doesnt close, so u can go there early to avoid crowd. 7am is great to start at Arashiyama, Tenruji i think open around 9am.
yep full day, since on day 3 prolly will be half day Kyoto then other half Osaka. but if can squeeze in more, i dont mind

Arashiyama rather far than downtown Kyoto, def will full day if going there

but Fushimi Inari, worth heading up in winter? laugh.gif its nearer as well
daijoubu
post Nov 28 2016, 05:29 PM

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

Did loads of research on the cheapest way to get internet in Japan. Previously I rent portable routers but then I stumbled upon this:

http://www.lazada.com.my/ntt-docomo-prepai...ck-2980937.html

Will be using it with a handphone that I'll be bringing along.

Pros:
- Super cheap, RM92 only after 15% discount. That equates to RM6.13/day if you use for 15 days
- 3.5GB with max 500mb/day, sufficient if you don't plan to stream a lot of videos. Usually back in Malaysia my normal usage is 1GB/week if I stream a lot of video
- No extra surcharge for router insurance, no risk of loss/damage of router
- No need to deal with picking up and posting back the router

Cons?
- You'll need a compatible smartphone
- If you use tethering on your smartphone to be shared with your party, your phone will lose battery faster tongue.gif
Chaud
post Nov 28 2016, 06:34 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Nov 28 2016, 05:29 PM)
Did loads of research on the cheapest way to get internet in Japan. Previously I rent portable routers but then I stumbled upon this:

Pros:
- Super cheap, RM92 only after 15% discount. That equates to RM6.13/day if you use for 15 days
- 3.5GB with max 500mb/day, sufficient if you don't plan to stream a lot of videos. Usually back in Malaysia my normal usage is 1GB/week if I stream a lot of video

Cons?
- If you use tethering on your smartphone to be shared with your party, your phone will lose battery faster tongue.gif
i have 2 smartphones. At least i can use 1 for hotspot purpose biggrin.gif
Fyonne
post Nov 28 2016, 06:47 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Nov 28 2016, 05:14 PM)
yep full day, since on day 3 prolly will be half day Kyoto then other half Osaka. but if can squeeze in more, i dont mind

Arashiyama rather far than downtown Kyoto, def will full day if going there

but Fushimi Inari, worth heading up in winter? laugh.gif its nearer as well
never been there in winter so cant comment much.
where u plan to go next after Fushimi Inari?
n on 1st day, y not head Kiyomizudera, then lunch along Sanenzaka n Ninenzaka while heading toward Yasaka? tho skip Kiyomizudera if u go there on January, the main hall are undergo major reconstruction. http://www.japan-guide.com/event/construction.html
marfccy
post Nov 28 2016, 07:28 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Nov 28 2016, 06:47 PM)
never been there in winter so cant comment much.
where u plan to go next after Fushimi Inari?
n on 1st day, y not head Kiyomizudera, then lunch along Sanenzaka n Ninenzaka while heading toward Yasaka? tho skip Kiyomizudera if u go there on January, the main hall are undergo major reconstruction. http://www.japan-guide.com/event/construction.html
yeah i checked japan-guide too, Kiyomizudera temple undergoing renovations atm so its off limits. so will be walking around that area only. lunch most prolly around Kyoto Station, heard lots of good ones albeit pricey

whats next after Fushimi Inari? not sure, there are street stalls around there we can visit and lots of wandering about i suppose. climbing to peak should take most of the time

if youre asking about whats on next day, most likely visit Imperial palace before heading to Osaka
buffa
post Nov 28 2016, 08:40 PM

458 posts

I used that during my trip there.
It is really good, as long as you dont stream youtube.
I use iphone and share it to my ipad, wife phone + ipad, no problem at all.
But I think there is a daily limit (500mb) because during the last day, I just used up 1.3gb, so I thought just spam with update and youtube, but at the end being throttled.

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Nov 28 2016, 05:29 PM)

Pros:

Cons?
MR_alien
post Nov 29 2016, 08:38 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

got something that i found wanna share...although i already got myself wiyo
https://www.klook.com/activity/1320-4g-wifi-device-hokkaido/

3GB = USD1
7GB = USD5
pickup at NRT, HND or KIX
mchambs67
post Nov 29 2016, 08:47 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 29 2016, 08:38 AM)
got something that i found wanna share...although i already got myself wiyo
https://www.klook.com/activity/1320-4g-wifi-device-hokkaido/

3GB = USD1
7GB = USD5
pickup at NRT, HND or KIX
Saw that but I don't think can get it at Haneda as AA flight reach 1030pm.
Plan to get B Mobile - Visitor SIM - http://www.bmobile.ne.jp/english/ in BIC camera shops instead

137 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:56 AM