sweet_pez
post May 31 2017, 06:15 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(jootat @ May 31 2017, 03:10 PM)
I see... Situation is slightly different from us then. I have discussed with my wife. If we are not able to fit all the luggage, then she will take the train to free up some space.

Will share our experience after our journey.
Don't worry about your luggage. Bring 2 bags, the big one you can chuck it in the coin locker (usually max 3 days) or any baggage service centre and pay a small fee for it. Then you don't have to lug it around with you to Kawaguchiko.

Otherwise, say you're in Tokyo -> Kawaguchiko -> some other region : from Tokyo before you depart to Kawaguchiko, drop your luggage at baggage delivery. Get them to deliver your big luggage to the place you'll be going after Kawaguchiko. Pay a small fee, but free from all hassle. Totally worth it.
deodorant
post May 31 2017, 11:38 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ May 31 2017, 02:46 PM)
any recommend budget ski place for noob?

Skiing / snowboarding can't really be truly budget. Give you an example, my last year ski trip to nozawa onsen:

"Skis, boots, poles, and clothing (jacket + pants) rental cost ¥8,550 for two days; Ski Lift ticket cost ¥9,500 for two days."

On top of that, my accommodation was ¥14000/night for a small japanese style inn that didn't even have own bathroom (shared toilet shared bath shared sink area).

Anyway Gala Yuzawa is close to Tokyo and is a popular nearby place to hit the slopes.

If it's your first time, either bring someone along who can teach you the basics, or seriously consider signing up for at least half a day of lessons.

This post has been edited by deodorant: May 31 2017, 11:38 PM
dopp
post Jun 1 2017, 08:39 AM

1,733 posts

Just booked end nov, SIA pg to haneda 5.1k
3 adults , 1 child
sad.gif
psiloveu
post Jun 1 2017, 09:03 AM

795 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ Jun 1 2017, 08:39 AM)
Just booked end nov, SIA pg to haneda 5.1k
3 adults , 1 child
sad.gif
Very good deal, quickly search for hotels because end of Nov is peak season.
jootat
post Jun 1 2017, 10:11 AM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ May 31 2017, 06:15 PM)
Don't worry about your luggage. Bring 2 bags, the big one you can chuck it in the coin locker (usually max 3 days) or any baggage service centre and pay a small fee for it. Then you don't have to lug it around with you to Kawaguchiko.

Otherwise, say you're in Tokyo -> Kawaguchiko -> some other region : from Tokyo before you depart to Kawaguchiko, drop your luggage at baggage delivery. Get them to deliver your big luggage to the place you'll be going after Kawaguchiko. Pay a small fee, but free from all hassle. Totally worth it.
thanks for the suggestion. For my case, I will be collecting the car in Kansai Int Airport. Then our homestay is at Kashihara101. With 6 adults + 2 kids, I will try to manage it to see if we can fit all in 1 trip. If not, then we will see how to manage it when we are there. That day when i tried to book the car online, the system doesn't allow me to book 6 adults + 2 baby seats as it stated there over the recommended passengers. That's from ToCoo! website. I will try again to book from toyota website. The price is way higher but i think this is something that we can't jimat.
il0ve51
post Jun 1 2017, 11:00 AM

1,054 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 1 2017, 12:38 AM)
Skiing / snowboarding can't really be truly budget. Give you an example, my last year ski trip to nozawa onsen:

"Skis, boots, poles, and clothing (jacket + pants) rental cost ¥8,550 for two days; Ski Lift ticket cost ¥9,500 for two days."

On top of that, my accommodation was ¥14000/night for a small japanese style inn that didn't even have own bathroom (shared toilet shared bath shared sink area).

Anyway Gala Yuzawa is close to Tokyo and is a popular nearby place to hit the slopes.

If it's your first time, either bring someone along who can teach you the basics, or seriously consider signing up for at least half a day of lessons.
Thank you for your info.
Yes i aware that skiing not a budget travel. but im asking is there any budget skiing place?
Since im noob, i dont think i will be playing high slope ski many just beginner or indemidiate slope.

as for accommodation, do you guys book ski resort or some inn nearby?
i see there are many ski resort that give good discount on equipment, was wondering which choice is best bang for bucks.
dopp
post Jun 1 2017, 11:00 AM

1,733 posts

to adapt to left hand driving is tough..
i had nightmare driving in chicago.. almost head to head collision hah..
fidin
post Jun 1 2017, 01:24 PM

QUOTE(jootat @ May 31 2017, 11:05 AM)
Yup, that's our situation now. Just wondering did you managed to fit in the luggage? Mind to share your driving experience there?
We spend 4 days in tokyo and 3 days in yugawara and the driving experience was the highlight of our stay. 3 days at Hakone area driving up to lake kawaguchiko and small tow of Atami. You can never beat the convenience of traveling by car. Imagine 8 of us including the children needing to waze through the traffic of people getting into the train.
Driving give you that convenience of traveling from point to point and you can cover a lot more in a day. Never mind the toll/ petrol and the parking charges. But i guess you have to be really confident to drive in a foreign land.
The tip is to ask your landlord ( mine was through airbnd) to rent the car on your behalf and you can get your car cheaply (I used 100 yen car rental). By the time you are at the car rental place you will be treated like a big boss. It was nothing like in other countries.
I was actually requesting to rent a car during my stay in Tokyo but my other landlord was against it. But when i dis travel around Tokyo, the traffic is not more congested as in KL and it is doable to drive there as well.
As for the luggage, i just put them inside the room during my travel.
Hope that helps.
fidin
post Jun 1 2017, 01:33 PM

QUOTE(jootat @ Jun 1 2017, 10:11 AM)
thanks for the suggestion. For my case, I will be collecting the car in Kansai Int Airport. Then our homestay is at Kashihara101.  With 6 adults + 2 kids, I will try to manage it to see if we can fit all in 1 trip. If not, then we will see how to manage it when we are there. That day when i tried to book the car online, the system doesn't allow me to book 6 adults + 2 baby seats as it stated there over the recommended passengers. That's from ToCoo! website. I will try again to book from toyota website. The price is way higher but i think this is something that we can't jimat.
I baby seat is one extra seat. You can't book an 8 seater mpv with 8 people with 2 baby seat inclusive. You need aomebody in Japan to help you with this. I has th same experience with ToCoo as well.
Other alternative is book for 8 people but rent the car seats there itself but there is a risk involve as well.
lyc1982
post Jun 1 2017, 02:04 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(fidin @ Jun 1 2017, 01:24 PM)
We spend 4 days in tokyo and 3 days in yugawara and the driving experience was the highlight of our stay. 3 days at Hakone area driving up to lake kawaguchiko and small tow of Atami. You can never beat the convenience of traveling by car. Imagine 8 of us including the children needing to waze through the traffic of people getting into the train.
Driving give you that convenience of traveling from point to point and you can cover a lot more in a day. Never mind the toll/ petrol and the parking charges. But i guess you have to be really confident to drive in a foreign land.
The tip is to ask your landlord ( mine was through airbnd) to rent the car on your behalf and you can get your car cheaply (I used 100 yen car rental). By the time you are at the car rental place you will be treated like a big boss. It was nothing like in other countries.
I was actually requesting to rent a car during my stay in Tokyo but my other landlord was against it. But when i dis travel around Tokyo, the traffic is not more congested as in KL and it is doable to drive there as well.
Hope that helps.
luggage kept in room of course no issue...the issue is when collecting the car from airport to accommodation...where to put the luggage ?
jootat
post Jun 1 2017, 02:16 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(fidin @ Jun 1 2017, 01:24 PM)
Hope that helps.
Thanks for sharing your experience. Really appreciate that. And yes, the +ve point is that if we are driving then it's much easier to get a group of people from point A to point B. And also my daughter still require breastfeeding. So it will be easier to do it in the car instead of in public transport as she doesn't like to be fed under the cover.

QUOTE(fidin @ Jun 1 2017, 01:33 PM)
I baby seat is one extra seat. You can't book an 8 seater mpv with 8 people with 2 baby seat inclusive. You need aomebody in Japan to help you with this. I has th same experience with ToCoo as well.
Other alternative is book for 8 people but rent the car seats there itself but there is a risk involve as well.
I have already rented the car now (Vellfire) from toyota and also given them a call this morning to ensure they give me 8 seaters car. Their call center is damn pro. We will try to manage the luggage from airport to our homestay. Worse case is ask my wife to take the train to free up space.

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Jun 1 2017, 02:04 PM)
luggage kept in room of course no issue...the issue is when collecting the car from airport to accommodation...where to put the luggage ?
Yup, you are right. This is my main concern smile.gif

bl.convi
post Jun 1 2017, 02:52 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(psiloveu @ Jun 1 2017, 09:03 AM)
Very good deal, quickly search for hotels because end of Nov is peak season.
i also book nov but earlier. PG <->SG <->Haneda 1.5K/person
not so good i think. 7 adults 2 kids rclxub.gif
psiloveu
post Jun 1 2017, 03:09 PM

795 posts

QUOTE(bl.convi @ Jun 1 2017, 02:52 PM)
i also book nov but earlier. PG <->SG <->Haneda 1.5K/person
not so good i think. 7 adults 2 kids  rclxub.gif
7 adults 2 kids......very challenging. BTW u r early of Nov, not that pack as end of NOV (red maple leaf / Golden Gingko Leaf season).
lyc1982
post Jun 2 2017, 12:52 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

any advice which duration for sakura full bloom in kansai area usually ?

mugenz
post Jun 3 2017, 04:26 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

Hi everyone,
Currently planning my japan trip. Will arrive in Osaka and go back from Tokyo.
Btw first time going japan hence i need some advise and still in planning stage (Reading about JR pass also half dead d)

1. will 10 days be sufficient for Osaka, kyoto, tokyo and others like hakone or fuji five lakes (4 days for kyoto, osaka and kobe, 4 days for tokyo and 2days for others).

2. i guess i wont need JR pass as i plan to get JR West pass for kansai area and just use metro pass or suica card for tokyo?

3. Roughly whats the budget per night for accommodation? Will RM200 per night too budget?

4. For view of mt fuji, better to go Hakone or Fuji five lakes? or any other suggestions?

5. Better to get a sim card or mobile wifi? Any idea how much and which is better?
ivzh
post Jun 3 2017, 09:16 AM

668 posts

Plan to visit Hokkaido during spring 2018, is it possible to see sakura and shibazakura in 1 go? tentatively 2nd week of may(to avoid golden week), travel time 10days.

Grimtooth
post Jun 4 2017, 07:14 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Jun 3 2017, 04:26 AM)
Hi everyone,
Btw first time going japan hence i need some advise and still in planning stage (Reading about JR pass also half dead d)

1. will 10 days be sufficient for Osaka, kyoto, tokyo and others like hakone or fuji five lakes (4 days for kyoto, osaka and kobe, 4 days for tokyo and 2days for others).
- Definitely not enough if you plan to explore the entirety of Tokyo at a relaxed pace. If you have no issue with sore feet and rushing, i guess you could somehow squeeze it. I would not recommend it tho.
I was in Tokyo for 10 days. Allocated 1 day for each district or two. With the few days balance, I revisited the districts I feel I missed some of the attractions or it's so good I wanna go again to explore in depth.

2. i guess i wont need JR pass as i plan to get JR West pass for kansai area and just use metro pass or suica card for tokyo?
- Personally, i'll use the 7 days metro pass. I'll get a Suica on the side for JR tracks. This is for Tokyo tho. For Kansai(Osaka/Kyoto/Kobe etc), I used Icoca for busses and trains.

3. Roughly whats the budget per night for accommodation? Will RM200 per night too budget?
- My accommodations were between RM88-RM132 perday through AirBnB(current rate) for Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka.

4. For view of mt fuji, better to go Hakone or Fuji five lakes? or any other suggestions?

5. Better to get a sim card or mobile wifi? Any idea how much and which is better?
- As a lot of people here answered, SIM for solo, Mobile WIFI for group 3 and more. However I went with Mobile WIFI during my solo trip for the unlimited data/speed tongue.gif
aberrant80
post Jun 4 2017, 03:42 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Jun 3 2017, 04:26 AM)
Hi everyone,

1. I'm also planning a similar trip, but I started with 12 days as my base plan. Enough or not is up to you. I've seen 7-day itineraries from Osaka to Tokyo. Depends on whether you're the type who prefer to visit a lot of places in one day or you like to spend as much time as you can in one location. If you just hit the main attractions, I think it can be sufficient.

I usually prefer portable WiFi because can share. And I always carry a backpack anyway. Plus I keep my own mobile number active, for just in case.

What I'm interested in, is how cold is November in Tokyo? Need prepare long johns? For reference, I find Cameron Highlands to be not cold at all, maybe a bit cooling during rain or at night.
mugenz
post Jun 5 2017, 06:01 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(Grimtooth @ Jun 4 2017, 07:14 AM)

Too late to change as we already purchased our tickets. We not much of shrine,temple and parks go-er. Maybe only visit famous places.

1 day 2 night Osaka (arrive Osaka already evening)
2d 2n kyoto,
1 day kobe day trip and
1d 1n - Hakone or Kawaguchiko
4d 3n - Tokyo

How about Nara, its pretty much parks and temples/shrines.. anyplace which is worth going?

I will be traveling with my wife only. So i will get a sim card and some bnb provide free use of their pocket wifi.
But if wanna get pocket wifi how much is it and where should i get one? before going or when reach there?

mugenz
post Jun 5 2017, 06:16 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(aberrant80 @ Jun 4 2017, 03:42 PM)
1. I'm also planning a similar trip, but I started with 12 days as my base plan. Enough or not is up to you. I've seen 7-day itineraries from Osaka to Tokyo. Depends on whether you're the type who prefer to visit a lot of places in one day or you like to spend as much time as you can in one location. If you just hit the main attractions, I think it can be sufficient.

I usually prefer portable WiFi because can share. And I always carry a backpack anyway. Plus I keep my own mobile number active, for just in case.
What I'm interested in, is how cold is November in Tokyo? Need prepare long johns? For reference, I find Cameron Highlands to be not cold at all, maybe a bit cooling during rain or at night.
bangwall.gif already secured 10days over the AA sales lol.. One thing also worried about leaves and work. Cant be taking too long. However both of us are not really into shrines/temples and parks. Maybe will visit one or two iconic ones and skip others. Like other forumers say, definitely will revisit again.

Will be going mid April and hence wont be so cold compared to Nov.

This post has been edited by mugenz: Jun 5 2017, 06:17 AM

137 Pages « < 128 129 130 131 132 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:33 AM