> Pay off house loan early , NO discount?

SUSbg12
post Sep 23 2016, 11:15 PM, updated 8y ago

165 posts

I hv 100k + loan balance , abt 9 yr balance, with AIA home loan. when I asked discount for settling full early settlement, they say only discount about RM1k+ .
is this reasonable?
how is discount or interest waiver normally calculated during early settlement?
lifebalance
post Sep 23 2016, 11:30 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,029 posts

QUOTE(bg12 @ Sep 23 2016, 11:15 PM)
I hv 100k + loan balance , abt 9 yr balance,  with AIA home loan. when I asked discount for settling full early settlement, they say only discount about RM1k+ .
is this reasonable?
If you settle early then you'll not incur any future interest. What discount you're talking about?
kradun
post Sep 23 2016, 11:32 PM

982 posts

I hv 100k + loan balance , abt 9 yr balance,  with AIA home loan. when I asked discount for settling full early settlement, they say only discount about RM1k+ .
is this reasonable?
Why need to give u discount? U early settle still need to pay interest for unexpired term?
ReWeR
post Sep 23 2016, 11:34 PM

Foreveralone
1,715 posts

is this reasonable?
you saved a lot in interest
ManutdGiggs
post Sep 23 2016, 11:37 PM

13,544 posts

Brader hav u heard of lock in period or bonding period???

Tats bcos some financial institutions dun allow early settlement.

Same tat if u settle it with 9yrs left in tenure they ll not be obliged to giv u any discount. 1k is a bonus oledi.

This post has been edited by ManutdGiggs: Sep 23 2016, 11:39 PM
soultaker
post Sep 23 2016, 11:48 PM

1,323 posts

what's ur loan amount and tenure? probably FI already collected most of the interest and left principal amount to pay.
BEANCOUNTER
post Sep 24 2016, 12:41 AM

20,146 posts

Yr 100+k loan is the principle amount.....

Not principle + interest.....

Therefore no reducing in balance if you settle earlier...i presumed you have already past ur lock in period.
SUSbg12
post Sep 24 2016, 09:15 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Sep 24 2016, 12:41 AM)
Yr 100+k loan is the principle amount.....

Not principle + interest.....

Therefore no reducing in balance if you settle earlier...i presumed you have already past ur lock in period.
it's a 20 year loan, passed 11 years. yes, lockin over.

I was just expecting more savings, since I m settling 9 years ealy
SUSbg12
post Sep 24 2016, 09:18 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(soultaker @ Sep 23 2016, 11:48 PM)
what's ur loan amount and tenure? probably FI already collected most of the interest and left principal amount to pay.
loan amount about 150k for 20 years.

yeah, now I believe so too,. they collected most profits early...

I just felt disappointed ..but I maybe wrong

aaron1717
post Sep 24 2016, 09:19 AM

Chui Shui in Property Manyak Best!
10,169 posts

QUOTE(bg12 @ Sep 24 2016, 09:15 AM)
it's a 20 year loan, passed 11 years. yes, lockin over.

I was just expecting more savings, since I m settling 9 years ealy
you save your interest of the house loan already... although you paid more in the past... but you still have some savings on top of your 1k discount...

and its your principal... doesnt make sense for bank to give you more discount on early settlement of your principal... from their point of view... the longer u drag the more money they have... they encourage on time payment but not early settlement... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
SUSbg12
post Sep 24 2016, 09:21 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Sep 23 2016, 11:37 PM)
Brader hav u heard of lock in period or bonding period???

Tats bcos some financial institutions dun allow early settlement.

Same tat if u settle it with 9yrs left in tenure they ll not be obliged to giv u any discount. 1k is a bonus oledi.
that applies for car loan I think

for housing loan, the savings for 9 yrs early settlement shud be bit more, but maybe I had wrong impression all this while

I think online calculator somewhere shows the savings..

ManutdGiggs
post Sep 24 2016, 09:25 AM

13,544 posts

QUOTE(bg12 @ Sep 24 2016, 09:21 AM)
that applies for car loan I think

for housing loan, the savings for 9 yrs early settlement shud be bit more, but maybe I had wrong impression all this while

I think online calculator somewhere shows the savings..
Boss i settled more balance in tenure but i get nothin laugh.gif
SUSbg12
post Sep 24 2016, 09:26 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Sep 23 2016, 11:30 PM)
If you settle early then you'll not incur any future interest. What discount you're talking about?
I am sorry, used wrong discount term

I mean current balance principal + interest is 100k+. if If I settle early, I thought only need to pay 80k+ for principal only.

was surprised that interest saving is 1k+ Only

ManutdGiggs
post Sep 24 2016, 09:27 AM

13,544 posts

QUOTE(bg12 @ Sep 24 2016, 09:18 AM)
loan amount about 150k for 20 years.

yeah, now I believe so too,. they collected most profits early...

I just felt disappointed ..but I maybe wrong
They din get more in fact they loss the recurring for 9yrs.

They hav to loan out the amount to generate recurring
ManutdGiggs
post Sep 24 2016, 09:28 AM

13,544 posts

QUOTE(bg12 @ Sep 24 2016, 09:26 AM)

I mean current balance principal + interest is 100k+.  if If I settle early, I thought only need to pay 80k+ for principal only.

Principal should hav no discount. Ur house is 1k cheaper now and u save fr interest.
SUSbg12
post Sep 24 2016, 09:44 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Sep 24 2016, 09:28 AM)
Principal should hav no discount. Ur house is 1k cheaper now and u save fr interest.
how do save this interest?

current principal+balance is like rm113k
early settlement is rm111k

only save about 1k+ interest.

I check online calculator, shows bigger interest saving, refer attachment.

thks

This post has been edited by bg12: Sep 24 2016, 09:45 AM

kradun
post Sep 24 2016, 09:45 AM

982 posts

QUOTE(bg12 @ Sep 24 2016, 09:26 AM)

I mean current balance principal + interest is 100k+.  if If I settle early, I thought only need to pay 80k+ for principal only.

That one was ptptn loan that granted special discount for early one off settlement. U borrow 100k then early settlement only pay back 80k, like this u earn money or bank earn money? lol
wl_n
post Sep 24 2016, 09:46 AM

743 posts

Bank willing to give 1k discount on the accumulated interest is very good already. Is it common for bank willing to give discount? Bank gain nothing fr early settlement but lost recurring income.
SUSbg12
post Sep 24 2016, 09:58 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(kradun @ Sep 24 2016, 09:45 AM)
That one was ptptn loan that granted special discount for early one off settlement. U borrow 100k then early settlement only pay back 80k, like this u earn money or bank earn money? lol
QUOTE(wl_n @ Sep 24 2016, 09:46 AM)
Bank willing to give 1k discount on the accumulated interest is very good already. Is it common for bank willing to give discount? Bank gain nothing fr early settlement but lost recurring income.
I was expecting rebate arnd below value, do I calculate wrong?

aaron1717
post Sep 24 2016, 10:10 AM

Chui Shui in Property Manyak Best!
10,169 posts

QUOTE(bg12 @ Sep 24 2016, 09:58 AM)
I was expecting rebate arnd below value, do I calculate wrong?
when you decided to pay it off to the bank now... you only pay the principal only right? the interest for the future years not to be pay by you anymore... hence the savings already is on the interest that you no need to pay more in the future...

first of all... from layman point of view... if your principal is only 135k... you pay earlier now... the rebate are the savings from the future interest u gonna pay... bank wont rebate that amount to u... because you already make them lost recurring future income already...

This post has been edited by aaron1717: Sep 24 2016, 10:13 AM

0.0174sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 10:03 AM