Hardware Want to burn CD-R at 1x speed, is it possible with new OD out there?

TStriberium
post Sep 23 2016, 07:00 PM, updated 10y ago

72 posts

Hello sifus, i currently need to burn/copy CD using 1x speed because at this speed has the least quality loss. But my current HP ori OD cannot make it. It says the lowest writing speed is 16x cry.gif

When i try to find OD out there, most of them are showing the highest writing speed, and i do not know whether there is any unit that is capable to write at 1x? doh.gif

Please suggest me solutions!

I am using sony CD Architect 5.2 / Sony Sound Forge Pro 11.

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

All the inputs are much appreciated.. thumbup.gif
SUSifourtos
post Sep 23 2016, 07:11 PM

2,256 posts

digital recording do not have quality loss

high speed burning just have higher failure rate
not quanlity loss.

fail = read error
just did a verification test after burn..
TStriberium
post Sep 23 2016, 07:19 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Sep 23 2016, 07:11 PM)

digital recording do not have quality loss

high speed burning just have higher failure rate
not quanlity loss.

fail = read error
just did a verification test after burn..
i tested a few of my CDs.. and there are losses in terms of quality.. BTW i am burning HQ audio into my CDs..

when compared to the original one, it shows significant differences when i listen it..
SUSifourtos
post Sep 23 2016, 07:21 PM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(triberium @ Sep 23 2016, 07:19 PM)
i tested a few of my CDs.. and there are losses in terms of quality.. BTW i am burning HQ audio into my CDs..

when compared to the original one, it shows significant differences when i listen it..
the bitrate u choose?
TStriberium
post Sep 23 2016, 07:23 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Sep 23 2016, 07:21 PM)
the bitrate u choose?
exactly the same as the original CD..
abu.shofwan
post Sep 23 2016, 07:48 PM

1,455 posts

As I recall, all optical drives would be able to write from 1x up to its max speed. It's just the burning software that plays the part in controlling the burn speed.

It's been a veeeery long time since I used optical drives (now got usb drive, what) can't remember what program I used during those pirating days... But i remember distinctly that the menu had a drop down list of the burn speed from 1x and up.
TStriberium
post Sep 23 2016, 07:52 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(abu.shofwan @ Sep 23 2016, 07:48 PM)
As I recall, all optical drives would be able to write from 1x up to its max speed. It's just the burning software that plays the part in controlling the burn speed.

It's been a veeeery long time since I used optical drives (now got usb drive, what) can't remember what program I used during those pirating days... But i remember distinctly that the menu had a drop down list of the burn speed from 1x and up.
the two softwares i using confirm can do 1x.. bcz when there is no cd in OD the drop down list got 1x.. but after i insert CD, only 16x 24x 32x 48x and max is available.. i thought is CD-R prob, so i use my old laptop to try.. the lowest is only 8x.. i was using the same CD-R to test..
JohnLai
post Sep 23 2016, 08:11 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(triberium @ Sep 23 2016, 07:52 PM)
the two softwares i using confirm can do 1x.. bcz when there is no cd in OD the drop down list got 1x.. but after i insert CD, only 16x 24x 32x 48x and max is available.. i thought is CD-R prob, so i use my old laptop to try.. the lowest is only 8x.. i was using the same CD-R to test..
Burning from another CD-A?

Use this instead. http://www.exactaudiocopy.de/en/
Don't ask how to use it.
TStriberium
post Sep 23 2016, 10:20 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Sep 23 2016, 08:11 PM)
Burning from another CD-A?

Use this instead. http://www.exactaudiocopy.de/en/
Don't ask how to use it.
not software prob bro.. i got this software as well to extract those audio from the CD..
hashtag2016
post Sep 24 2016, 01:15 AM

509 posts

AFAIK, only CDR/W burner can burn CD/VCD with 1x speed.
the slowest DVDR/W burner i had ever seen is with 4x .
most of the DVDR/W burner using IDE cable usually can burn at 8x.
not sure about latest DVDRW, coz don't burn cd any more.
TStriberium
post Sep 26 2016, 01:33 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(hashtag2016 @ Sep 24 2016, 01:15 AM)
AFAIK, only CDR/W burner can burn CD/VCD with 1x speed.
the slowest DVDR/W burner i had ever seen is with 4x .
most of the DVDR/W burner using IDE cable usually can burn at 8x.
not sure about latest DVDRW, coz don't burn cd any more.
not all burner can do that so far.. only those using IDE connector can burn at 1x.. and they are super expensive now.. for sata the lowest i had seen was 4x and it is a plextor one.. not sure M'sia got any plextor retailer selling their OD or not.. posted 1 thread in market place but no response so far..

This post has been edited by triberium: Sep 26 2016, 01:34 PM
hightechgadgets8
post Sep 26 2016, 01:36 PM

\(^o^)/
6,017 posts

have you pondered whether that the CD (brand of the CD, maxwell, generic) will reduce end result/quality?

This post has been edited by hightechgadgets8: Sep 26 2016, 01:36 PM
TStriberium
post Sep 26 2016, 01:40 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Sep 26 2016, 01:36 PM)
have you pondered whether that the CD (brand of the CD, maxwell, generic) will reduce end result/quality?
i got do some reading on CD brands and so far sony and verbatim are the best and can be obtained easily in M'sia.. CD brand like TDK and Kodak are better but very hard to find here.. cry.gif

and BTW ripping speed also will affect the end result.. i always rip at 1x.. but can only burn at much higher speed..

This post has been edited by triberium: Sep 26 2016, 01:40 PM

0.0158sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:49 AM