137 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V27, We Want Cheaper Price!

aa123aa
post Nov 5 2016, 12:17 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 5 2016, 12:10 PM)
Save more money so you can jump straight to ASUS RT-AC68U
Or buy through installment with 0% interest using Maybank EzyPay
They will need the LCD TV/LCD Monitor to test it right away
Even if you won't be using it, they still need it to test HyppTV
ASUS RT-AC68U... haha. i wish i could afford that. the price i google seems to be out of my budget.

Need the adapter in order to for them to test. good to know that. thanks.

This post has been edited by aa123aa: Nov 5 2016, 12:18 PM
fruitie
post Nov 5 2016, 12:38 PM

Rise and Shine
72,797 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 4 2016, 08:47 PM)
1. When they call you, make sure to take a record of the phone number & name of the contractor that comes

2. There are 2 types of installation:
A. For Full Fibre: The free installation is free for the first 15 meter from the point where they drill a hole in your house.
B. For VDSL: The free installation is free for the first 15 meter from the telephone port on the wall of your house

If they say the 15 meter is counted from the pole, they are trying to scam you, if they do this, quickly call TM helpline at 100 and report it straight away infront of the contractor. Even if they apologize, continue with the report, request TM to send another contractor. Provide the phone number and name of the contractor to the TM helpline

3. Make sure you have TV/LCD Monitor with an HDMI port so they can test the HyppTV
I think I kena tipu already when I installed my UniFi 2 years back. sad.gif
I think mine is Full Fibre and they said counted from the pole. doh.gif Damn it. mad.gif

I need to be cautious later when I do relocation. So, the 15m is from where they drill my ceiling ya..
Do you know where can I find this information? I wanna save and show to them. 2014 I'm still noob in UniFi and forgot to ask in this thread. doh.gif
Hornet
post Nov 5 2016, 12:47 PM

What?
4,251 posts

Just wondering, what are the advantage for AC68U, if compare to something like N18U at RM4++ for example?
Aside from the wireless speed.

I'm planning to get my own router too after I get Unifi. Just not sure what are the main difference besides wireless speed hmm.gif
prozfromhell
post Nov 5 2016, 01:23 PM

362 posts

Can i request them to forget about the hype tv? bye.gif

I got astro at home, enough already
fruitie
post Nov 5 2016, 01:30 PM

Rise and Shine
72,797 posts

QUOTE(prozfromhell @ Nov 5 2016, 01:23 PM)
Can i request them to forget about the hype tv?  bye.gif

I got astro at home, enough already
I didn't install too, just tell them not needed. They will not install for you. laugh.gif
Saves their hassle. laugh.gif
houtsidern
post Nov 5 2016, 02:09 PM

I have just installed Unifi Advance 30 in my new house with an agent committed at RM179 per month without free phone call. The router i got is D-link AC1200 and I have tried the ookla speed test with phone showing 33Mbps download speed. I am not sure if it is the real line speed but it seems good to me lol smile.gif
ad2000
post Nov 5 2016, 02:16 PM

405 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 5 2016, 12:38 PM)
I think mine is Full Fibre and they said counted from the pole. doh.gif Damn it. mad.gif

I need to be cautious later when I do relocation. So, the 15m is from where they drill my ceiling ya..
Do you know where can I find this information? I wanna save and show to them. 2014 I'm still noob in UniFi and forgot to ask in this thread. doh.gif
i think i did asked you from past post why did you paid..Hopefully on your next relocation installation, you'll be wiser
fruitie
post Nov 5 2016, 02:17 PM

Rise and Shine
72,797 posts

QUOTE(houtsidern @ Nov 5 2016, 02:09 PM)
I have just installed Unifi Advance 30 in my new house with an agent committed at RM179 per month without free phone call. The router i got is D-link AC1200 and I have tried the ookla speed test with phone showing 33Mbps download speed. I am not sure if it is the real line speed but it seems good to me lol smile.gif
Yeah, enjoy the speed. I used to have that too then they reduced mine to 28Mbps few months ago. doh.gif
Nevertheless, my friend who started using a year ago is still enjoying 33Mbps.

So, it is normal. smile.gif
aa123aa
post Nov 5 2016, 02:20 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 5 2016, 01:30 PM)
I didn't install too, just tell them not needed. They will not install for you. laugh.gif
Saves their hassle. laugh.gif
In that case, will they give you the cable and stb. just in case if want to install it in the future?
fruitie
post Nov 5 2016, 02:23 PM

Rise and Shine
72,797 posts

QUOTE(ad2000 @ Nov 5 2016, 02:16 PM)
i think i did asked you from past post why did you paid..Hopefully on your next relocation installation, you'll  be wiser
Is it? Can't recall.
I saw this and I'm confused now.. rclxub.gif
FREE installation only covers the standard installation.

Non Standard installation is when:

1. The installation requires extra cable length ( additional cable used shall be chargeable)

2. The cable route is either over the ceiling, wall concealed or any other way as opposed to the standard installation.

Any installation beyond the standard installation shall cost customer as quoted by the installer, and to be paid directly on the installation day to the installer. Please to be inform that the cost will be around RM50 for every 5 meter exceeding the standard 15 meter included in the FREE installation.

Minimal drilling at your premise may be required. However, if the cable route is over ceiling, wall, concealed or any other than standard white plastic casing, the installer will charge based on the length and the FREE 15 meter will no longer apply. Expect to pay around RM10 -RM15 per meter and negotiate with the installer!
http://efonezone.blogspot.my/p/unifi-for-r...esidential.html

QUOTE(aa123aa @ Nov 5 2016, 02:20 PM)
In that case, will they give you the cable and stb. just in case if want to install it in the future?
Yes, but they need to activate for you. I got my STB only after numerous follow ups and all. Got it 1 year+ after that. doh.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Nov 5 2016, 02:24 PM
houtsidern
post Nov 5 2016, 02:50 PM

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 5 2016, 02:17 PM)
Yeah, enjoy the speed. I used to have that too then they reduced mine to 28Mbps few months ago. doh.gif
Nevertheless, my friend who started using a year ago is still enjoying 33Mbps.

So, it is normal. smile.gif
Does this apply to all the other packages like unifi advance 50 and 100 as well? I do hope they dont take their action fast on this just take their time like usual will be great lol tongue.gif
fruitie
post Nov 5 2016, 02:53 PM

Rise and Shine
72,797 posts

QUOTE(houtsidern @ Nov 5 2016, 02:50 PM)
Does this apply to all the other packages like unifi advance 50 and 100 as well? I do hope they dont take their action fast on this just take their time like usual will be great lol tongue.gif
I think areas dependence too. hmm.gif
houtsidern
post Nov 5 2016, 02:54 PM

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 5 2016, 02:23 PM)
Is it? Can't recall.
I saw this and I'm confused now.. rclxub.gif
FREE installation only covers the standard installation.

Non Standard installation is when:

1. The installation requires extra cable length ( additional cable used shall be chargeable)

2. The cable route is either over the ceiling, wall concealed or any other way as opposed to the standard installation.

Any installation beyond the standard installation shall cost customer as quoted by the installer, and to be paid directly on the installation day to the installer. Please to be inform that the cost will be around RM50 for every 5 meter exceeding the standard 15 meter included in the FREE installation.

Minimal drilling at your premise may be required. However, if the cable route is over ceiling, wall, concealed or any other than standard white plastic casing, the installer will charge based on the length and the FREE 15 meter will no longer apply. Expect to pay around RM10 -RM15 per meter and negotiate with the installer!
http://efonezone.blogspot.my/p/unifi-for-r...esidential.html
Yes, but they need to activate for you. I got my STB only after numerous follow ups and all. Got it 1 year+ after that. doh.gif
I also paid RM70 for the extra cable routed over a wall until where they put the router which is about 7 meter. But they didn't test the Hypp TV and activate for me as the tv was already installed far away from the router sad.gif
ad2000
post Nov 5 2016, 03:16 PM

405 posts

Mine drilled through TWO walls from back room to 1st floor hall...F.O.C. they even did a very neat job installing those plastic wire casing thingy to conceal the fibre cable all the way from walls at both ends of the bedroom. (ah well..that was two years ago) rolleyes.gif
fruitie
post Nov 5 2016, 03:17 PM

Rise and Shine
72,797 posts

QUOTE(ad2000 @ Nov 5 2016, 03:16 PM)
Mine drilled through TWO walls from back room to 1st floor hall...F.O.C. they even did a very neat job installing those plastic wire casing thingy to conceal the fibre cable all the way from walls at both ends of the bedroom. (ah well..that was two years ago)  rolleyes.gif
I will check it out when I apply for relocation in TM Point, will ask them to show me some supporting.
VeeJay
post Nov 5 2016, 04:42 PM

3,845 posts

Sometimes, I dont understand why the need to bash TM router. There are many reported users are fine with it as well with no known issues (such as limited connectivity or disconnections). Probably there might have been some models in the past had issues but lets not generalize as a whole.

I had been using DLink AC1200-815L with no issues at all. The wifi coverage is fine, even at the back of my house (upstairs) I do get around -70dBm, thats close to 50% of the signal.
vez
post Nov 5 2016, 07:05 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Nov 5 2016, 04:42 PM)
Sometimes, I dont understand why the need to bash TM router. There are many reported users are fine with it as well with no known issues (such as limited connectivity or disconnections). Probably there might have been some models in the past had issues but lets not generalize as a whole.

I had been using DLink AC1200-815L with no issues at all. The wifi coverage is fine, even at the back of my house (upstairs) I do get around -70dBm, thats close to 50% of the signal.
have you use the older model 615 before 815L? the new one 815L is a lot better

This post has been edited by vez: Nov 5 2016, 07:05 PM
VeeJay
post Nov 5 2016, 07:18 PM

3,845 posts

oops...double posting

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Nov 5 2016, 07:24 PM
VeeJay
post Nov 5 2016, 07:23 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Nov 5 2016, 07:05 PM)
have you use the older model 615 before 815L? the new one 815L is a lot better
exactly, as I said, there was some models which didnt do well, atleast TM had learnt the lesson and been giving better router now. I'm not a TM fan either, but its unethical to keep on the bashing. Constructive criticism is fine...which they well deserve...cheers mate

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 5 2016, 12:38 PM)

lol...I thought you are the most sound here...yeah thanks many posters here who are willing to share.

As per your previous post quote, which is correct, normally they wont charge, if you willing to follow their easy way (with small conduit...normally plastic tubing) and drilling thru the wall to lay the length.

But once, you ask them to go over the roof or ceiling and lay to your own liking, there will be charges as the cost you had indicated. But bare in mind, its negotiable, so do negotiate.

I had one cousin who did complicated run of cable for RM200 and another for RM120 (simple over the ceiling).

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Nov 5 2016, 07:23 PM
awang
post Nov 5 2016, 07:28 PM

478 posts

it's not necessary lcd tv/lcd monitor la..older crt tv also can test as the hyptv box still support older tv inputs..

137 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:52 AM