NRIC - is religion stated for non-muslim?

TS1tanmee
post Sep 20 2016, 10:41 PM, updated 10y ago

~noMNom~
970 posts

Just curious, for non-Muslims, is the religion stated in the National Registration Identity Card (NRIC)? Or only applicable to the Muslims only?
kinozanata
post Sep 20 2016, 10:45 PM

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Sep 20 2016, 10:41 PM)
Just curious, for non-Muslims, is the religion stated in the National Registration Identity Card (NRIC)? Or only applicable to the Muslims only?
Take a look at your ic.
popice2u
post Sep 21 2016, 07:59 AM

1,337 posts

in BSN bank form there is a column asking your religion.
why they need that info is puzzling
TS1tanmee
post Sep 21 2016, 08:15 AM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(popice2u @ Sep 21 2016, 07:59 AM)
Profiling purposes?
SUSGregyong
post Sep 21 2016, 08:19 AM

1,167 posts

it only says muslim or non-muslim on the NRIC.

marketing and promotional purpose maybe, don't wanna send you on a bak kut teh buffet or steak house raid tongue.gif
popice2u
post Sep 21 2016, 08:46 AM

1,337 posts

QUOTE(Gregyong @ Sep 21 2016, 08:19 AM)
marketing and promotional purpose maybe, don't wanna send you on a bak kut teh buffet or steak house raid tongue.gif
other bank got ask what religion?
SUSGregyong
post Sep 21 2016, 08:50 AM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(popice2u @ Sep 21 2016, 08:46 AM)
other bank got ask what religion?
don't think so. hmm.gif
ask BSN la.
lalabeng
post Sep 21 2016, 09:57 AM

20 posts

These are usually for profiling purposes when doing marketing or survey.

It would make it easy to do marketing, so error can be minimised. In our sensitive country, imagine a muslim received promotional material for night club/alcohol.... and before you say why can't they check before sending out, note that most of these are automated by machine, so yeah having that one extra category makes it easier to sort and filter.

Also having this profile makes it easier to check if their marketing strategy works or not. So if they have a certain product that is marketed to muslim people, then they can check the following month is there an increase of muslim customer. Or to non-muslim, vice versa.
popice2u
post Sep 21 2016, 02:01 PM

1,337 posts

i dont see this is done for cimb or maybank
SUSitanium
post Sep 21 2016, 02:48 PM

I brake very late.
762 posts

QUOTE(Gregyong @ Sep 21 2016, 08:19 AM)
Yours got say non-Muslim meh?
ricstc
post Sep 21 2016, 02:51 PM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

ey but my IC got catat my religion what

why ah?

oh because I am I I
SUSGregyong
post Sep 21 2016, 03:38 PM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(itanium @ Sep 21 2016, 02:48 PM)
Yours got say non-Muslim meh?
it either says Muslim or it doesnt.
so, in a way, it does say I'm not Muslim tongue.gif
SUSitanium
post Sep 21 2016, 03:53 PM

I brake very late.
762 posts

QUOTE(Gregyong @ Sep 21 2016, 03:38 PM)
it either says Muslim or it doesnt.
so, in a way, it does say I'm not Muslim tongue.gif
it just says Islam or blank. End of story
unknown_2
post Sep 21 2016, 04:40 PM

571 posts

usually i always put N/A
TS1tanmee
post Sep 21 2016, 10:34 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

So to confirm, on the NRIC, if Muslim, it will be stated as Islam.
For non-Muslim, the column is left blank. Do i get this correctly?
SUSitanium
post Sep 22 2016, 03:00 PM

I brake very late.
762 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Sep 21 2016, 10:34 PM)
So to confirm, on the NRIC, if Muslim, it will be stated as Islam.
For non-Muslim, the column is left blank. Do i get this correctly?
Yes
pkh
post Sep 22 2016, 03:17 PM

316 posts

I just got my MyKad scanned yesterday. The chip on your IC does state your religion. Mine is Christian and my friend's is Buddhist. Can't remember whether they use BM or English.
TS1tanmee
post Sep 22 2016, 11:41 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(pkh @ Sep 22 2016, 03:17 PM)
I just got my MyKad scanned yesterday. The chip on your IC does state your religion. Mine is Christian and my friend's is Buddhist. Can't remember whether they use BM or English.
If below 18, the religion is follow dad or mom?
SUSGregyong
post Sep 22 2016, 11:45 PM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Sep 22 2016, 11:41 PM)
If below 18, the religion is follow dad or mom?
What they register when you're born

I know a Malay "Chinese" who was adopted tongue.gif
Nothing on ic points to melei, even got cainis name, but birthmother dropped him off according to him
TS1tanmee
post Oct 1 2016, 09:53 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

For the converts, they required by law to change their NRIC? coz for Muslims, the word 'Islam' is written on the NRIC.
WiLeKiyO
post Oct 2 2016, 03:01 PM

5,144 posts

I went to Pos Office to register SPR, they also ask for my religion.

Weird.
wodenus
post Oct 2 2016, 04:28 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

Yes. the info on the chip includes your religion.
SUSKLboy92
post Oct 2 2016, 10:46 PM

189 posts

Buddhist, Christian, Hindu also stated in Mykad

Whether they bother to put or not or leave blank is in my experience is dependent on how rajin the staff feels today rolleyes.gif For me it was only updated in my 20s doh.gif
Davidoff888
post Oct 4 2016, 02:11 PM

44 posts

so when they go raid in budget hotel they can easily identify the offender... or any similar things that differnt law applies i think

This post has been edited by Davidoff888: Oct 4 2016, 02:12 PM
TS1tanmee
post Oct 5 2016, 06:18 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(Davidoff888 @ Oct 4 2016, 02:11 PM)
so when they go raid in budget hotel they can easily identify the offender... or any similar things that differnt law applies i think
It is either that sinister, or perhaps it is to do with statistics. So rather than going door-to-door to get census, the data is readily available in JPN's records.
CMW123
post Mar 26 2025, 02:37 PM

3,774 posts

If no religion stated on front of mykad is confirmed non muslim, then why some people still asking to check with card reader or go get printout from JPN?
JLA
post Mar 26 2025, 07:36 PM

2,774 posts

BSN islamic banking

for sure bank want to know how many jew, atheis, ... using their bank
romuluz777
post Mar 26 2025, 07:47 PM

2,206 posts

If atheist, can state as such ?
andyng38
post Mar 27 2025, 09:15 AM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Mar 26 2025, 07:47 PM)
if u are a non-muslim, you may go to JPN and tell them that you follow no religion and fill up a form. The counter staff will take the form for approval by a superior, and they will duly update the info on your IC chip. In the past (before the IC version with big and small photo), such cases would be just a blank in the religion part of the IC data. I dunno how atheists are designated in the new IC with big and small photo.
frossonice
post Mar 27 2025, 09:17 AM

336 posts

Religion on card is only for Muslim.
koja6049
post Mar 27 2025, 01:04 PM

611 posts

i remember last time during my primary school (SJKC), my form teacher always warn me that never put religion as "tiada" because it is against rukun negara. Dunno how true is that la, so I always default to "buddha" even though I'm also atheist sweat.gif
romuluz777
post Mar 27 2025, 02:34 PM

2,206 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Mar 27 2025, 02:04 PM)
i remember last time during my primary school (SJKC), my form teacher always warn me that never put religion as "tiada" because it is against rukun negara. Dunno how true is that la, so I always default to "buddha" even though I'm also atheist  sweat.gif
I suppose that's the teacher's own personal opinion on this matter biggrin.gif
Roman Catholic
post Mar 27 2025, 03:50 PM

3,520 posts

Why is it NOT stated for non-Muslims ? Having it stated would be bloody better off, rather than have someone come claim after death that the deceased is a Muslim ???
GamersFamilia
post Mar 27 2025, 09:37 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,760 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Oct 1 2016, 09:53 PM)
For the converts, they required by law to change their NRIC? coz for Muslims, the word 'Islam' is written on the NRIC.
Yes, my auntie done that since married to my uncle 😃🔥
B0ss_ku
post Mar 28 2025, 04:49 AM

281 posts

Theoretically you can't because it's against the rukun negara (kepercayaan kepada tuhan)
B0ss_ku
post Mar 28 2025, 04:50 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Mar 27 2025, 03:50 PM)
Why is it NOT stated for non-Muslims ? Having it stated would be bloody better off, rather than have someone come claim after death that the deceased is a Muslim ???
Because you can't change religion as a Muslim, it's a one way ticket.

For other religion you can convert as you like, from Christian change to Buddhist, or even back to Christian again.

This post has been edited by B0ss_ku: Mar 28 2025, 04:51 AM
B0ss_ku
post Mar 28 2025, 04:52 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Oct 2 2016, 10:46 PM)
Buddhist, Christian, Hindu also stated in Mykad

Whether they bother to put or not or leave blank is in my experience is dependent on how rajin the staff feels today rolleyes.gif For me it was only updated in my 20s :x
It doesn't stated ON the card, but it's in the system.
romuluz777
post Mar 28 2025, 04:43 PM

2,206 posts

QUOTE(B0ss_ku @ Mar 28 2025, 05:49 AM)
Theoretically you can't because it's against the rukun negara (kepercayaan kepada tuhan)
Ok, maybe can state as Agnostic or something like it
KuzumiTaiga
post Mar 28 2025, 06:05 PM

Spends too much time with mechanical keyboards
3,313 posts

majority of us non muslims are nowhere as religious as you.
Roman Catholic
post Mar 28 2025, 06:39 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Mar 28 2025, 06:05 PM)
majority of us non muslims are nowhere as religious as you.
So you are ok with the surprise visit or practice from their religious authorities claiming that your deceased family member was a Muslim to everyone bewilderment at the funeral. I had no fucking idea that nons are OK with such things. Tunggu apa lagi religious authorities ?

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Mar 28 2025, 06:40 PM
Roman Catholic
post Mar 28 2025, 06:42 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(B0ss_ku @ Mar 28 2025, 04:52 AM)
It doesn't stated ON the card, but it's in the system.
If it's in the system, it can be change no ? Like it happened without my fucking knowledge or approval. Don't know which motherfucker did the changes to my data in the system.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Mar 28 2025, 06:42 PM
Roman Catholic
post Mar 28 2025, 06:45 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(B0ss_ku @ Mar 28 2025, 04:50 AM)
Because you can't change religion as a Muslim, it's a one way ticket.

For other religion you can convert as you like, from Christian change to Buddhist, or even back to Christian again.
Where do you even come up with such things. Let me guess you are either from religious authorities or the government, correct ?
SUSNoComment222
post Mar 28 2025, 07:22 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Sep 21 2016, 08:15 AM)
Profiling purposes?
So if I profile you based on religion, how does that help me in identifying you the first time? Does religion show on your face?
KuzumiTaiga
post Mar 28 2025, 08:26 PM

Spends too much time with mechanical keyboards
3,313 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Mar 28 2025, 06:39 PM)
So you are ok with the surprise visit or practice from their religious authorities claiming that your deceased family member was a Muslim to everyone bewilderment at the funeral. I had no fucking idea that nons are OK with such things. Tunggu apa lagi religious authorities ?
Frankly, I wouldn’t know and I wouldn’t care. I’ll cross that bridge when that happens. Just a corpse dude. Maybe don’t get too caught up with these sort of things and you’ll lead a happier life. smile.gif
B0ss_ku
post Mar 28 2025, 08:59 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Mar 28 2025, 06:45 PM)
Where do you even come up with such things. Let me guess you are either from religious authorities or the government, correct ?
Well, that's what Google tells me.

Enlighten me.
Roman Catholic
post Mar 28 2025, 10:35 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Mar 28 2025, 08:26 PM)
Frankly, I wouldn’t know and I wouldn’t care. I’ll cross that bridge when that happens. Just a corpse dude. Maybe don’t get too caught up with these sort of things and you’ll lead a happier life. smile.gif
Just a corpse ? Hahaha well you can have fun with them. Religious authorities ko tunggu apa lagi ? Seems like nons aren't very far sighted. Go for it man.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Mar 28 2025, 10:35 PM
Roman Catholic
post Mar 28 2025, 10:36 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(B0ss_ku @ Mar 28 2025, 08:59 PM)
Well, that's what Google tells me.

Enlighten me.
Nah me replace Google ? Have fun.
CMW123
post Mar 28 2025, 10:48 PM

3,774 posts

If not stated on mykad already mean non muslim, why would there be issue?
CMW123
post Mar 28 2025, 10:51 PM

3,774 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Mar 28 2025, 06:42 PM)
If it's in the system, it can be change no ? Like it happened without my fucking knowledge or approval. Don't know which motherfucker did the changes to my data in the system.
Huh, what data got changed without you knowing? Thought any changes need to submit form & verify thumb print of the individual
B0ss_ku
post Mar 29 2025, 12:33 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Mar 28 2025, 10:36 PM)
Nah me replace Google ? Have fun.
Oh yeah, you can't
GamersFamilia
post Mar 29 2025, 12:55 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,760 posts

QUOTE(B0ss_ku @ Mar 29 2025, 12:33 AM)
Oh yeah, you can't
He is joking only 🙄🔥
Roman Catholic
post Mar 29 2025, 02:26 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(CMW123 @ Mar 28 2025, 10:48 PM)
If not stated on mykad already mean non muslim, why would there be issue?
Open cheque.
Roman Catholic
post Mar 29 2025, 02:42 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(CMW123 @ Mar 28 2025, 10:51 PM)
Huh, what data got changed without you knowing? Thought any changes need to submit form & verify thumb print of the individual
Some dickhead at Shah Alam did changes to my data and I haven't even been to that place before. Since so I am in Melaka, I went to Melaka registration dept to have it undone and I went to draw a Statutory Declaration for this shit and the Commissioner for Oaths couldn't even believe what I had written, that such a thing could fucking thing happen.

Manatau satu hari system down got virus and magically everybody reverted, then how ? Anything is possible with the clowns we have, so having it stated visibly on the IC is a bloody good thing. So funny la to assume nons simply convert masuk keluar masuk keluar, as if nons are without brains. The ridiculous excuses they come up with really bloody stupid. Apa apa open cheque ya, so that we can use it to out advantage. Kelapa bapak kau !

0.0267sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:39 AM