NRIC - is religion stated for non-muslim?

TS1tanmee
post Sep 20 2016, 10:41 PM, updated 10y ago

~noMNom~
970 posts

Just curious, for non-Muslims, is the religion stated in the National Registration Identity Card (NRIC)? Or only applicable to the Muslims only?
kinozanata
post Sep 20 2016, 10:45 PM

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Sep 20 2016, 10:41 PM)
Just curious, for non-Muslims, is the religion stated in the National Registration Identity Card (NRIC)? Or only applicable to the Muslims only?
Take a look at your ic.
popice2u
post Sep 21 2016, 07:59 AM

1,337 posts

in BSN bank form there is a column asking your religion.
why they need that info is puzzling
TS1tanmee
post Sep 21 2016, 08:15 AM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(popice2u @ Sep 21 2016, 07:59 AM)
Profiling purposes?
SUSGregyong
post Sep 21 2016, 08:19 AM

1,167 posts

it only says muslim or non-muslim on the NRIC.

marketing and promotional purpose maybe, don't wanna send you on a bak kut teh buffet or steak house raid tongue.gif
popice2u
post Sep 21 2016, 08:46 AM

1,337 posts

QUOTE(Gregyong @ Sep 21 2016, 08:19 AM)
marketing and promotional purpose maybe, don't wanna send you on a bak kut teh buffet or steak house raid tongue.gif
other bank got ask what religion?
SUSGregyong
post Sep 21 2016, 08:50 AM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(popice2u @ Sep 21 2016, 08:46 AM)
other bank got ask what religion?
don't think so. hmm.gif
ask BSN la.
lalabeng
post Sep 21 2016, 09:57 AM

20 posts

These are usually for profiling purposes when doing marketing or survey.

It would make it easy to do marketing, so error can be minimised. In our sensitive country, imagine a muslim received promotional material for night club/alcohol.... and before you say why can't they check before sending out, note that most of these are automated by machine, so yeah having that one extra category makes it easier to sort and filter.

Also having this profile makes it easier to check if their marketing strategy works or not. So if they have a certain product that is marketed to muslim people, then they can check the following month is there an increase of muslim customer. Or to non-muslim, vice versa.
popice2u
post Sep 21 2016, 02:01 PM

1,337 posts

i dont see this is done for cimb or maybank
SUSitanium
post Sep 21 2016, 02:48 PM

I brake very late.
762 posts

QUOTE(Gregyong @ Sep 21 2016, 08:19 AM)
Yours got say non-Muslim meh?
ricstc
post Sep 21 2016, 02:51 PM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

ey but my IC got catat my religion what

why ah?

oh because I am I I
SUSGregyong
post Sep 21 2016, 03:38 PM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(itanium @ Sep 21 2016, 02:48 PM)
Yours got say non-Muslim meh?
it either says Muslim or it doesnt.
so, in a way, it does say I'm not Muslim tongue.gif
SUSitanium
post Sep 21 2016, 03:53 PM

I brake very late.
762 posts

QUOTE(Gregyong @ Sep 21 2016, 03:38 PM)
it either says Muslim or it doesnt.
so, in a way, it does say I'm not Muslim tongue.gif
it just says Islam or blank. End of story
unknown_2
post Sep 21 2016, 04:40 PM

571 posts

usually i always put N/A
TS1tanmee
post Sep 21 2016, 10:34 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

So to confirm, on the NRIC, if Muslim, it will be stated as Islam.
For non-Muslim, the column is left blank. Do i get this correctly?
SUSitanium
post Sep 22 2016, 03:00 PM

I brake very late.
762 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Sep 21 2016, 10:34 PM)
So to confirm, on the NRIC, if Muslim, it will be stated as Islam.
For non-Muslim, the column is left blank. Do i get this correctly?
Yes
pkh
post Sep 22 2016, 03:17 PM

316 posts

I just got my MyKad scanned yesterday. The chip on your IC does state your religion. Mine is Christian and my friend's is Buddhist. Can't remember whether they use BM or English.
TS1tanmee
post Sep 22 2016, 11:41 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(pkh @ Sep 22 2016, 03:17 PM)
I just got my MyKad scanned yesterday. The chip on your IC does state your religion. Mine is Christian and my friend's is Buddhist. Can't remember whether they use BM or English.
If below 18, the religion is follow dad or mom?
SUSGregyong
post Sep 22 2016, 11:45 PM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Sep 22 2016, 11:41 PM)
If below 18, the religion is follow dad or mom?
What they register when you're born

I know a Malay "Chinese" who was adopted tongue.gif
Nothing on ic points to melei, even got cainis name, but birthmother dropped him off according to him
TS1tanmee
post Oct 1 2016, 09:53 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

For the converts, they required by law to change their NRIC? coz for Muslims, the word 'Islam' is written on the NRIC.

0.0186sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:40 PM