Grab car suddenly charge RM1 on credit card, after i update my grabpay

TSpowerbarr
post Sep 20 2016, 10:10 PM, updated 10y ago

49 posts

I was just updating my grabpay and inserted my credit card details into grab pay. suddenly after finish entering details i receive sms saying RM1 being charge into my card.

my question is why i was being charged for it? i already lodged a report to grab and received an email asking me to screenshot the transaction and they have escalated to the related department. Waiting for their response.

Anyone else have kena same issue?
hightechgadgets8
post Sep 20 2016, 10:18 PM

\(^o^)/
6,017 posts

first time use cc? many apps charge to test if the card can be use or not and will be refunded later
TSpowerbarr
post Sep 20 2016, 11:07 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Sep 20 2016, 10:18 PM)
first time use cc? many apps charge to test if the card can be use or not and will be refunded later
not first time. but this is a first time an app charge so suddenly. last time i remember paypal yes have charge to test. but that one i don't mind coz it stated that they will charge to test. i never thought grab would charge since uber doesn't. and what i don't like coz no notification saying they will charge to test my cc (unless there is and i miss it)
hightechgadgets8
post Sep 20 2016, 11:10 PM

\(^o^)/
6,017 posts

QUOTE(powerbarr @ Sep 20 2016, 11:07 PM)
not first time. but this is a first time an app charge so suddenly. last time i remember paypal yes have charge to test. but that one i don't mind coz it stated that they will charge to test. i never thought grab would charge since uber doesn't. and what i don't like coz no notification saying they will charge to test my cc (unless there is and i miss it)
paypal charges rm10 mad.gif

This post has been edited by hightechgadgets8: Sep 20 2016, 11:10 PM
TSpowerbarr
post Sep 21 2016, 08:59 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Sep 20 2016, 11:10 PM)
paypal charges rm10 mad.gif
i think i was charged more than $10. lol
but it's okay coz they notifed first and return it back
tohff7
post Sep 21 2016, 09:26 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

It will be refunded la. Why so scare
xixo_12
post Sep 21 2016, 12:13 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

normal la.. to test.. will be refund.. if dont want to be charge on it.. then no need to use the app ..simple
1KL
post Sep 21 2016, 04:50 PM

43 posts

Grab technology is stupid, so have to test first.
cicak.fakir
post Sep 22 2016, 07:56 AM

387 posts

have to test larr. else, how would they know for certain whether your card is really funded or just a scam.
gabriel.l
post Sep 22 2016, 07:59 AM

517 posts

They will refund back
Babytiffy
post Sep 22 2016, 08:02 AM

170 posts

powerbarr dear TS, very normal, even if you open a Paypal account or using Uber, same charges to apply - this is to make sure that your card is chargeable and active, once once you have using their service your BIG RM1 will return back to you.
cicak.fakir
post Sep 22 2016, 08:07 AM

387 posts

normally these "test" charge are only reservation. just like they reserve RM500 when you check-in to RM150 hotels, or reserve RM200 when you swipe at the pump when all you wanted is RM50 of fuel.

it's not actual charge yet, and the balance reserved amount gets released back to you after a while if actual charge is not effected, or if partly effected. you'll get the effect of "refunded" when in actuality, money figure didn't really changed hands.

but paypal didn't reserve that RM10, but straightaway effect an actual charge into their hands. if you don't claim back, ....
ridhwan.kamarul
post Sep 22 2016, 08:59 AM

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Sep 21 2016, 12:13 PM)
normal la.. to test.. will be refund.. if dont want to be charge on it.. then no need to use the app ..simple
Rilek la ts. Jangan kelam kabut sangat.
NamelessNinja
post Sep 22 2016, 01:29 PM

206 posts

Steam RM4 LEL
lyc1982
post Sep 22 2016, 01:31 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

rm1 also kecoh
SUSkimsim
post Sep 23 2016, 07:44 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

PayPal as well, nothing be too serious
axisresidence17
post Sep 23 2016, 07:24 PM

352 posts

Wah issit?
TSpowerbarr
post Sep 23 2016, 10:37 PM

49 posts

okay okay. It's just 1 ringgit. it's not about the amount. it's about no notification given. i used paypal too and didn't make noise cause they tell you about charging your card to test the card. grab didn't. and i haven't encounter others except for paypal.

thanks all
Jag23sys
post Sep 25 2016, 01:19 PM

18 posts

$1. ???? Better call them fast...

Kangkung is $1 now...
MrWrigley
post Sep 25 2016, 07:02 PM

Apple appstore charge usd1 everytime i re-enter payment details lel