Heating Issue For Laptops, All Brands

ozak
post Jan 30 2007, 08:55 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Jan 29 2007, 11:13 PM)
erm ... juz wanna ask u guys other than Acer and toshiba laptops which have heat issue problems ... wat other laptops have this issue???

I am currently running M100, Duo Core 1.66mhz, 1gb ram, ati x1300, 100gb sata model ...

after using this laptop for a year, i notice it heats up when i am in msia (even using Vantech Lapcool 2... still can sweat due to the heat coming from the laptop...) ... when i am in melb there is no prob due to the cold weather there ... my gf will be buying a laptop real soon and i was wondering if the toshiba A100 Core 2 Duo 4mb Cache laptop heat issue have been solved ...
ooo yeah ... not forgetting ... my toshiba batt life sucks ass !

or can anyone recommend me any laptops which are running Core 2 Duo 4mb cache lappies ?

budget 7k and below, 15" inch minimum ...

thx thx

Maybe you need to clean up the vent fan area. The dust will block the vent fin and the heat won't decipate fast. That cause the fan always running. Mostly happen after half year plus.
Have you adjust the power managment to 'Alway On'? It will run at max. That will sucks the battery.

ozak
post Jan 31 2007, 08:32 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 31 2007, 08:00 AM)
doh.gif  Anything and everything that OVERheats sure rosak lah!
Nowaday laptop have this overheat protector and will shut down the power when overheat. This go back to PIII era laptop. So no worry about overheat and use till max.
ozak
post Jan 31 2007, 09:48 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 31 2007, 09:06 AM)
ozak,
I'm a n00b when it comes to all these but uh, so far the last few lappies I used, other than the 1st one I had was pretty girl, no complains  rclxms.gif
Your experience already tell you. I ve use many lappies before and never encounter heat issue at all. Sometime just left it on for few days without proper vent. (in the house) I ve see once that my bos Compaq PIII lappies overheat and shutdown itself. Left it cool down and it can run back. Very old lappies.
ozak
post Feb 9 2007, 04:43 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(tplcaik @ Feb 9 2007, 03:12 PM)
Had anybody trying the 7200rpm HD instead? Is it generate a lot of heat if compare with 5400rpm HD?
My Dell laptop using 60G 7200rpm HDD. No heat issue and just feel warm during max running. Have a secondary HDD opposite the main. No heat problem also.
ozak
post Feb 10 2007, 11:10 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(spayre @ Feb 9 2007, 11:29 PM)
maybe cause ur dell has some good air flow? maybe tplcaik meant that between 7200 rpm and 5400 rpm HD, is there a diff in heat? cause logically, more rpm = more heat?
I m not sure how good is the Dell air vent. I did see many hole beside , top and below my laptop. Since the Dell have this HDD option to choose, I guess they did do some testing on this heat problem in their laptop. Maybe I don't understand how hot is consider hot and would give the laptop problem. blink.gif
Yes, more RPM = more heat. But the HDD won't run 7200rpm at all time. Either it will slow down or shut it down when activity is down. It give good performance when spin at max. That why I choose the 7200rpm than the 5400rpm HDD.

0.0225sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:34 AM