【Micro Four Thirds】Olympus & Panasonic Thread V8, OM System OM-3 Arriving In Malaysia 2025

N33d
post Dec 1 2017, 12:18 PM

896 posts

Dear Sifu
think of going to upgrade my old GX1. Currently at the fence, not sure to fall on to APSC camp (A6000) or M43 this time
I love the color and range that A6000 could give but I read some comments that it is a more expensive system. Is that true? Will it be a big diff compare to m43 lens?

If it is so, I will be definitely back to m43 camp with the below cam in mind
with budget around 3k

GX85 - panasonic and rangerfinder body style is my first love and a lot of sentimental feeling for this them. 4K but no mic input?! older sensor, why not GX8?

E-M10 II - not a fan of dslr body type, but its sensor output is a lil better compare to that GX85 according to dxo. sad no 4k

GF9 - This is like, the above 2 not worth the price, fall back to this plan and case close.

Looking forward to hear sifu advice. Let me know if i missed something
N33d
post Dec 1 2017, 06:42 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(avars @ Dec 1 2017, 06:07 PM)
Do you have multiple M43 lenses?
nope.. just the kit
N33d
post Dec 15 2017, 02:18 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Dec 15 2017, 02:10 PM)
nice pic.
for me, the 2.8 is a good trade-off to wipe my 25 f1.7 pana and 14mm f2.5 out of my bag.
the sharpness on this thing is a beast.
how about the panny counterpart? 12-35mm f/2.8? that lens like not popular
N33d
post Dec 19 2017, 10:45 AM

896 posts

lol everytime when i see nice cam body offering at bhphoto and hand itchy to go and put it in cart, it will shows cannot ship with lithium.
N33d
post Dec 20 2017, 10:10 AM

896 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Dec 20 2017, 09:58 AM)
More poison to show off the superb IBIS on Olympus, handheld at 100mm to 210mm ( 200mm - 420mm in FF equivalent )

one word... wow!!
N33d
post Dec 6 2018, 05:46 PM

896 posts

wtf the title is so poisoning
N33d
post Dec 20 2018, 09:41 AM

896 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Dec 19 2018, 06:59 PM)
ya, XT3 with expensive kit lens are nearing A7-III price, no point upgrade from m43, but x-trans sensor have their own problem so I rather recommend m43 system.
What kind of prob beside some trouble doing post process due to those infamous wormy watercolor issue?
Just curious as I currently looking to go fuji xtrans
N33d
post Jan 4 2019, 02:53 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(huislaw @ Dec 30 2018, 11:44 AM)

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year everyone.
Anyone received lens or new body as presents? tongue.gif
Thanks to the poison posted by AIAF.. a new em5ii with free 45mm 1.8
LoL
So far love em5ii more than my Canon m50. I got more keeper from the help of ibis.. would never buy cam without ibis liao.
N33d
post Jul 22 2020, 02:51 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(bobds78 @ Jul 15 2020, 11:25 AM)
Wah very quite here oh biggrin.gif

The recent announcement of Olympus Sale had many people dead worried as it is seen as the demise of the camera giant but I strongly beg to differ. IMHO this is because it found a worthy buyer to continue the Olympus story to bring it to greater heights. I don't see the sale as an end but a new beginning of the continuance of the great camera maker.

In all the upheavals I couldn't refrain myself but must get my hands on an Olympus body and I did, the inaugural OM-D E-M1, so nostalgic, this is the camera body with such beautiful design that I have drooled for a very very long time and the minute it touched my hands it confirms my longing for such a design, simply awesome fantastic to hold. So many years later it is still the best design, to me anyways.

I have a few Canon EF lenses and I have adapted (via Viltrox EF-M1) the famous and inexpensive Canon pancake lens EF-S 24mm f2.8, very very sharp little lens. Below are some of the test shots I have taken this morning. SOOC. Initially the EM1 seems to have a hard time focusing the lens but after a latest firmware update of the adapter, no issues at all. The AF speed is nothing to boast about but for the price I have no complain either.
[attachmentid=10539192]  [attachmentid=10539193]
[attachmentid=10539194]  [attachmentid=10539195]
[attachmentid=10539197]  [attachmentid=10539202]
[attachmentid=10539206]  [attachmentid=10539207]
[attachmentid=10539209]  [attachmentid=10539210]
The issue is many people see is the new owner is not from camera or electronic industry and they have no track record of turning something from less success to something better. I wish they prove me wrong.
I still love small and capable m43 cam like the em5 series.
N33d
post Jul 22 2020, 04:14 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(bobds78 @ Jul 22 2020, 04:00 PM)
It's good news for all Olympus fans.

Read here:

JIP will assume Olympus manufacturing, R&D and new product development
Okay. This is most positive piece of news from the drama
N33d
post Aug 14 2020, 04:05 PM

896 posts

Tak sempat go see the fb already not available
N33d
post Apr 15 2021, 12:50 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Apr 15 2021, 05:05 AM)
Samsung Reportedly Partnering With Olympus To Its Elevate Mobile Camera Systems

we might see our oly IBIS tech to be used on samsung flagship phone soon.

https://www.lowyat.net/2021/237373/samsung-...camera-systems/
hope oly learns one or two tricks from mobile camera tech and incorporate them into their camera.
they desperately need this to survive and differentiate them from the FF/APSC. Else, they will always lose to the size does matter game.
N33d
post Oct 8 2021, 05:17 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Oct 8 2021, 03:28 PM)
Hey guys.

Oly 14-42mm pancake lens showing the "Please check status on lens". Keeps extending/retracting... could it be the flex ribbon problem? Occurred when I absent mindedly changed lens while the em10ii was still on (I unmounted another lens and mounted the 14-42mm ez lens) and it started doing that. I can mount other lenses on the camera and seems normal with other lenses.

Would love to hear what you guys know so I can troubleshoot as well. Cheers all
How bout Factory reset your em10ii?
I have been carelessly unmounted my panny 25mm F1.7 twice while camera is on, on my em5ii. Luckily no problem.
N33d
post Feb 17 2022, 01:39 PM

896 posts

Go and try their new OM workspace raw developer. Now they have the AI noise reduction. Powerful IMO after some limited testing. Compare to my favorite DXO deep prime AI denoiser, this come close although not prefect yet. But tbh, it's a good first try by OM.

Too bad.. only support a few flagship cam, the em1ii, iii, em5iii,1x and the new om1.
N33d
post Feb 23 2022, 11:20 AM

896 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Feb 21 2022, 02:49 PM)
dxo deep prime you say?

will check it out. not too happy with photoshop NR.
yep. you should check that out.
easily give m43 sensor 'soft' upgrade. expect like 1 stop improvement.
i would rate it as the best NR current available in the market, next would be the new OM workplace AI NR(almost 80% of DXO deepprime performance while being free!), then only topaz denoise AI (too inconsistent, introduce funny color blotches artifact, but when it works, it create miracle)
N33d
post Mar 2 2022, 12:15 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(Hexlord @ Mar 1 2022, 04:18 PM)
Thanks~ all the videos by Robin Wong convinced me to try haha. Does he hang around here in Lowyat?
He convinced me to stay with m43
I was in a dilemma to whether sell my m43 or Fuji system since I already have Sony FF and When news of Olympus decided to sell it's image division, more or less I got the thought that m43 has no future and feel like to let go all my m43 stuff

But Due to nostalgic reason and also Robin convincing videos. I decided to let go my Fuji system instead. So far no much to lose except missing the Fuji control once a while
N33d
post Mar 6 2022, 01:02 PM

896 posts

According to some analysis, the new sensor of om1 is not much better than the old em1iii 20mpx sensor. Not as per what omd bold 2 stops improvement claim. Let's see what gh6 new sensor bring to the table.
N33d
post Mar 9 2022, 11:31 AM

896 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Mar 7 2022, 05:11 PM)
thats what i read too.
sony developed a new sensor for m43 for we wont be seeing it on the new upcoming m43 systems.

i finally tried the DXO Photolab.
the noise reduction algorithm is very, very good.
deepprime really almost no noise even with ISO 1600 and ISO 3200 is very acceptable.
of course at ISO 3200 and above you still lose some detail but noise is really under control.
i also like how the software do not over process colors and exposure too.
Glad to know you find this wonderful piece of software helpful
Still remember the first day I use that Deep prime, almost unbelievable and surreal
I am now waiting for anything v2 deep prime which I hope adding another stop of improvement
N33d
post Jun 1 2022, 02:48 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(shanjeev @ May 31 2022, 10:21 AM)
Using FL-600R. Any tutorials or suggestions on getting better results for indoor shooting?
Decided to stick to M43 for the moment. Economy doesn't look good. May get a used body, feeling itchy for an EM5 II or Panasonic (But my lens are oly). Any suggestions?
I highly recommend em5ii.. no problem using Panny lens on Oly body for em5ii.. only impact some function like pro capture in Oly more expensive body
Panasonic alternative would be the gx85, g85 if you really want all Panasonic
N33d
post Dec 1 2022, 11:37 AM

896 posts

Saw OM-5 pricing at n4 Facebook.. rm5999 body only. Add few more hundred can get an fuji xt4 dy

0.0322sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:29 PM