264 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Bottom

【Micro Four Thirds】Olympus & Panasonic Thread V8, Panasonic Lumix GH6 Feb 2022

huislaw
post May 22 2018, 08:38 PM

1,343 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ May 16 2018, 04:59 PM)
This month's new Leica lens!

How do you feel about the camera?
incubus_skj
post May 22 2018, 08:41 PM

Watame Shogun
1,746 posts

QUOTE(huislaw @ May 22 2018, 08:38 PM)
How do you feel about the camera?
Now I can take pics of my food without bringing my camera along liao laugh.gif
Wild Honey
post May 24 2018, 10:52 PM

302 posts

Hi guys, thought of saying hello. Have owned a Olympus E-PL7 for 3 years. Recently had the kit lens repaired due to faulty motor gear.

Does anyone here suffer from the famous Gear Acquisition Syndrome? I am thinking of buying my first lens to supplement my kit lens, but don't know if that will lead to more cravings. tongue.gif
huislaw
post May 24 2018, 11:11 PM

1,343 posts

QUOTE(Wild Honey @ May 24 2018, 10:52 PM)
Hi guys, thought of saying hello.  Have owned a Olympus E-PL7 for 3 years.  Recently had the kit lens repaired due to faulty motor gear.

Does anyone here suffer from the famous Gear Acquisition Syndrome? I am thinking of buying my first lens to supplement my kit lens, but don't know if that will lead to more cravings. tongue.gif
Every time GAS hits, I ll tell myself I’m lazy to change lens.
incubus_skj
post May 24 2018, 11:33 PM

Watame Shogun
1,746 posts

Hi guys, thought of saying hello.  Have owned a Olympus E-PL7 for 3 years.  Recently had the kit lens repaired due to faulty motor gear.

I have GAS every month or 2 lol
TSBOTAK_WAI
post May 24 2018, 11:37 PM

Blow Water First Class
3,813 posts

QUOTE(huislaw @ May 24 2018, 11:11 PM)
I agree biggrin.gif
TSBOTAK_WAI
post May 24 2018, 11:38 PM

Blow Water First Class
3,813 posts

what kind of photo you took the most in the past?
Wild Honey
post May 25 2018, 07:06 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(huislaw @ May 24 2018, 11:11 PM)
Can be a good point. Haha.
Wild Honey
post May 25 2018, 07:18 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ May 24 2018, 11:33 PM)
I have GAS every month or 2 lol
So how many lens have you bought?

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ May 24 2018, 11:38 PM)
what kind of photo you took the most in the past?
Mostly travel pictures, which includes street, landscapes, selfies (EPL 7 has the swing LCD which helps a lot) and some simple half body/ full body 'portraits' with scenic background. I also take indoor quite a lot, usually when there's an event like friends or family gathering. Taken some 6.5k shots in the past 3 years.

Well, I'm what most people call a casual photographer. I don't go out specifically to take photos / practice, but say if I'm in a place with nice scenic view, I will make some effort to take nice shots. But I may start going out just to practice shots soon. tongue.gif

I'm actually thinking of getting a wide-angle lens. Helps with selfie (I know this is not really a good reason for serious photographers) and panorama with subject in there. Also managed to 'borrow' a Olympus 17/1.8 and 40-150/4-5.6 from my dad recently, so that should kick start some things as well. Am also thinking of getting a Olympus 45/1.8 for portraits as wife keeps complaining I don't take nice pictures of her.

incubus_skj
post May 25 2018, 09:21 AM

Watame Shogun
1,746 posts

QUOTE(Wild Honey @ May 25 2018, 07:18 AM)
Mostly travel pictures, which includes street, landscapes, selfies (EPL 7 has the swing LCD which helps a lot) and some simple half body/ full body 'portraits' with scenic background.  I also take indoor quite a lot, usually when there's an event like friends or family gathering.  Taken some 6.5k shots in the past 3 years.

Well, I'm what most people call a casual photographer. I don't go out specifically to take photos / practice, but say if I'm in a place with nice scenic view, I will make some effort to take nice shots.  But I may start going out just to practice shots soon. tongue.gif

I'm actually thinking of getting a wide-angle lens. Helps with selfie (I know this is not really a good reason for serious photographers) and panorama with subject in there. Also managed to 'borrow' a Olympus 17/1.8 and 40-150/4-5.6 from my dad recently, so that should kick start some things as well.  Am also thinking of getting a Olympus 45/1.8 for portraits as wife keeps complaining I don't take nice pictures of her.
8mm f1.8 Fisheye Olympus
8-18mm f2.8-4.0 PanaLeica
12-60mm f2.8-4.0 PanaLeica
12mm f1.4 PanaLeica
15mm f1.7 PanaLeica
25mm f0.95 Voigtlander
25mm f1.4 PanaLeica
35-100mm f2.8 Pana X
42.5mm f1.2 PanaLeica
60mm f2.8 Macro Olympus
75mm f1.8 Olympus
100-400mm f4.0-6.3 PanaLeica

12pcs i guess. sold off the 12-35mm not long ago and got the 12-60 cause PanaLeica

now aiming the Voigtlander 10mm f0.95 and PanaLeica 200mm, but haven't got a nice price for them yet
foodskiver
post May 25 2018, 09:49 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ May 25 2018, 09:21 AM)
8mm f1.8 Fisheye Olympus
12mm f1.4 PanaLeica
15mm f1.7 PanaLeica
25mm f0.95 Voigtlander
25mm f1.4 PanaLeica
35-100mm f2.8 Pana X
42.5mm f1.2 PanaLeica
60mm f2.8 Macro Olympus
75mm f1.8 Olympus

12pcs i guess. sold off the 12-35mm not long ago and got the 12-60 cause PanaLeica

now aiming the Voigtlander 10mm f0.95 and PanaLeica 200mm, but haven't got a nice price for them yet
what is the experience of using PL12-60?
better than O12-40 or P12-35?
TSBOTAK_WAI
post May 25 2018, 09:51 AM

Blow Water First Class
3,813 posts

Mostly travel pictures, which includes street, landscapes, selfies (EPL 7 has the swing LCD which helps a lot) and some simple half body/ full body 'portraits' with scenic background.  I also take indoor quite a lot, usually when there's an event like friends or family gathering.  Taken some 6.5k shots in the past 3 years.

Well, I'm what most people call a casual photographer. I don't go out specifically to take photos / practice, but say if I'm in a place with nice scenic view, I will make some effort to take nice shots.  But I may start going out just to practice shots soon. tongue.gif

I'm actually thinking of getting a wide-angle lens. Helps with selfie (I know this is not really a good reason for serious photographers) and panorama with subject in there. Also managed to 'borrow' a Olympus 17/1.8 and 40-150/4-5.6 from my dad recently, so that should kick start some things as well.  Am also thinking of getting a Olympus 45/1.8 for portraits as wife keeps complaining I don't take nice pictures of her.
looks like a 12-40mm or 25mm more suitable for your multi usage.
incubus_skj
post May 25 2018, 09:54 AM

Watame Shogun
1,746 posts

QUOTE(foodskiver @ May 25 2018, 09:49 AM)
what is the experience of using PL12-60?
better than O12-40 or P12-35?
nope, you just get more reach at a premium price cause it's a Leica celup

kinda regretted selling off my 12-35 but oh well
sai86
post May 25 2018, 11:33 AM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

yay, another epl-7 user. its a great nice little camera for travel wub.gif
Laowa 7.5mm for landscape is nice~~~ else cheaper alt is Rokinon 7.5mm fish eye laugh.gif

huislaw
post May 25 2018, 11:50 AM

1,343 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ May 25 2018, 09:51 AM)
12-40mm is my only lens.
But wife still say I cannot take a nice photo of her.
So maybe 25mm F1.2 more suitable for wife hmm.gif

This post has been edited by huislaw: May 25 2018, 11:50 AM
TSBOTAK_WAI
post May 25 2018, 11:57 AM

Blow Water First Class
3,813 posts

QUOTE(huislaw @ May 25 2018, 11:50 AM)
12-40mm is my only lens.
But wife still say I cannot take a nice photo of her.
So maybe 25mm F1.2 more suitable for wife  hmm.gif
just bookmark some instagram and ask her which type photo she like then u replicate thumbup.gif
COOLPINK
post May 25 2018, 12:03 PM

3,263 posts

12-60 f2.8-4.
best all round lens IMHO.

Wild Honey
post May 25 2018, 03:25 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ May 25 2018, 09:21 AM)
8mm f1.8 Fisheye Olympus
12mm f1.4 PanaLeica
15mm f1.7 PanaLeica
25mm f0.95 Voigtlander
25mm f1.4 PanaLeica
35-100mm f2.8 Pana X
42.5mm f1.2 PanaLeica
60mm f2.8 Macro Olympus
75mm f1.8 Olympus

Holy moly! blink.gif blink.gif Must have cost a bomb. All of them bought new?

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ May 25 2018, 09:51 AM)
I actually am seriously considering a 12-40/f2.8. However, I am still not very comfortable with the size. As mentioned, I just got my hands on a Olympus 40-150/4.0-5.6 and it does appear that the size is a bit too bulky for me. As I understand it, the 12-40 is the same size but heavier, hence I have some reservations. I mean, occasionally I might switch to it but given that there are times when I want to take pictures one-handedly, there's the extra hassle of lens changing by then which the moment may have passed.

The rationale here is that if I have the luxury of being able to change lens, perhaps a set of small sized 'primes' may do a better job than a PRO zoom lens? Am thinking along these lines. That's one of the main reason I have held myself against buying lens for the past 3 years, as the 14-42mm kit lens has the 'auto open' accessory attached to it, which really helps when I want to photograph something one handedly (such as when riding motor)
incubus_skj
post May 25 2018, 03:32 PM

Watame Shogun
1,746 posts

QUOTE(Wild Honey @ May 25 2018, 03:25 PM)
Holy moly!  blink.gif  blink.gif  Must have cost a bomb.  All of them bought new?
I actually am seriously considering a 12-40/f2.8.  However, I am still not very comfortable with the size.  As mentioned, I just got my hands on a Olympus 40-150/4.0-5.6 and  it does appear that the size is a bit too bulky for me.  As I understand it, the 12-40 is the same size but heavier, hence I have some reservations.  I mean, occasionally I might switch to it but given that there are times when I want to take pictures one-handedly, there's the extra hassle of lens changing by then which the moment may have passed.

The rationale here is that if I have the luxury of being able to change lens, perhaps a set of small sized 'primes' may do a better job than a PRO zoom lens?  Am thinking along these lines.  That's one of the main reason I have held myself against buying lens for the past 3 years, as the 14-42mm kit lens has the 'auto open' accessory attached to it, which really helps when I want to photograph something one handedly (such as when riding motor)
the only 2nd one i got was the 75mm f1.8 as it was being sold for quite cheap that time (~RM2.6k i think including the metal hood)

if you're looking for bokeh / speed, the reasonably-priced primes you can look at are the Pana 25mm f1.7 / Oly 25mm f1.8 / Oly 45mm f1.8 / Pana 42.5mm f1.7

otherwise, a Pana 12-35mm f2.8 is much more travel-sized alternative to the 12-40mm f2.8

sai86
post May 25 2018, 03:34 PM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

QUOTE(Wild Honey @ May 25 2018, 03:25 PM)
Holy moly!  blink.gif  blink.gif  Must have cost a bomb.  All of them bought new?
I actually am seriously considering a 12-40/f2.8.  However, I am still not very comfortable with the size.  As mentioned, I just got my hands on a Olympus 40-150/4.0-5.6 and  it does appear that the size is a bit too bulky for me.  As I understand it, the 12-40 is the same size but heavier, hence I have some reservations.  I mean, occasionally I might switch to it but given that there are times when I want to take pictures one-handedly, there's the extra hassle of lens changing by then which the moment may have passed.

The rationale here is that if I have the luxury of being able to change lens, perhaps a set of small sized 'primes' may do a better job than a PRO zoom lens?  Am thinking along these lines.  That's one of the main reason I have held myself against buying lens for the past 3 years, as the 14-42mm kit lens has the 'auto open' accessory attached to it, which really helps when I want to photograph something one handedly (such as when riding motor)
if you use the 12-40mm to your EPL-7, you will only hold the lens. it will not be comfortable if you try to grip it entirely on the epl7 body.
one of the reason i move to em5mk2.

264 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 09:25 PM