Property for Airbnb, Need advice

TSkavman1984
post Sep 19 2016, 12:57 PM, updated 10y ago

117 posts

My father has a house in Langkawi Island(6+1 Bedroom,5 Baths). I am planning to list it on Airbnb. I need your advise regarding the following :

1)amenities(any suppliers you guys know for bedding set, toiletries, etc)
2)any contacts for interior design(cheap) just give advise on color scheme. I will provide pictures

Thats about it for now.

Thank you in advance
masblurr
post Sep 19 2016, 01:20 PM

24 posts

PM u already
peri peri
post Sep 19 2016, 02:41 PM

10k nonsense talkative club
11,943 posts

u need cleaner, thats the most important

second is digital access lockset
TSkavman1984
post Sep 19 2016, 02:48 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 19 2016, 02:41 PM)
u need cleaner, thats the most important

second is digital access lockset
We already have a cleaner.

What is digital access lockset?
peri peri
post Sep 19 2016, 02:50 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(kavman1984 @ Sep 19 2016, 02:48 PM)
We already have a cleaner.

What is digital access lockset?
main door lockset where u can send ur customize password to them for easy access. u no need to attend them for arrival and check out
TSkavman1984
post Sep 19 2016, 02:51 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 19 2016, 02:50 PM)
main door lockset where u can send ur customize password to them for easy access. u no need to attend them for arrival and check out
Thats a good idea. Will google it up once we done with renovation.
bklowyat
post Sep 19 2016, 04:46 PM

44 posts

hi, tumpang a question here.

i'm planning to convert my condo for airbnb as well. My condo is full furnished and I'm not able to meet the guests on arrival and departure.

How do I avoid guests from taken away my items? Normally, deposit is just a few hundreds, it is not enough to cover if my items get stolen. If I choose to return deposit after my inspection the next day, the guest might not admit their wrong doing, just in case something is stolen or damage.

For the cleaning, I plan to do it only after they leave. Thanks.
TSkavman1984
post Sep 19 2016, 06:37 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(bklowyat @ Sep 19 2016, 04:46 PM)

i'm planning to convert my condo for airbnb as well. My condo is full furnished and I'm not able to meet the guests on arrival and departure.

How do I avoid guests from taken away my items? Normally, deposit is just a few hundreds, it is not enough to cover if my items get stolen. If I choose to return deposit after my inspection the next day, the guest might not admit their wrong doing, just in case something is stolen or damage.
Airbnb covers up to USD1million dollars. Not sure whether it applies to Malaysian market yet. They dont even offer profesional photographers yet in Malaysia. If I am not mistaken la.
peri peri
post Sep 19 2016, 09:59 PM

11,943 posts

Airbnb, visitor can choose host via review.

Host also can choose their tenant via review.

U worry too much
ck2chan
post Sep 19 2016, 10:34 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 19 2016, 02:50 PM)
Wow, one set cost how much? What brand?
peri peri
post Sep 20 2016, 11:07 AM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(ck2chan @ Sep 19 2016, 10:34 PM)
Wow, one set cost how much? What brand?
http://www.smartlockmalaysia.com/keyless-door-locks/

starting rm1000
Sky_Q
post Sep 20 2016, 12:16 PM

243 posts

they still nid access card to the unit? how to pass them access card safely without being physically present?
peri peri
post Sep 20 2016, 04:32 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(Sky_Q @ Sep 20 2016, 12:16 PM)
they still nid access card to the unit? how to pass them access card safely without being physically present?
same like ur office, u can use access card or key in password

u can alter the password anytime over the phone
faizalmzain
post Sep 20 2016, 04:38 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 19 2016, 09:59 PM)
Airbnb, visitor can choose host via review.

Host also can choose their tenant via review.

U worry too much
yes correct,

those property that need to request first, owner can review potential tenants.

review system for airbnb is fair enough, host and tenants cannot see each other review until both submit review.

kochin
post Sep 20 2016, 04:39 PM

I just hope I do!
10,319 posts

anybody have contacts for full time agent managing props on behalf of agents to do short term stay?
klang valley.

am considering to release some units to experiment.

please pm me if any.

thanks.

Zicoras1
post Sep 20 2016, 05:38 PM

162 posts

Just to share my experience on Airbnb, I tried for 5 months only had one booking and it was from a local. Eventually I rented it out normal tenancy. I managed to talk to an Airbnb Sifu and this is what he told base on his experiences two years doing airbnb properties in KL and Selangor:

1. You only make money if you rent to foreigners, locals will not pay to stay in your place as they have friends, families and other cheaper alternatives. 80% of his clients were foreigners and 20% locals.

2. So far only KLCC properties are making money. Other area properties will likely not have much booking. Cause tourists will want to stay in city center.

3. Airbnb guest want personal interactions so he advised against door lock as it is impersonal. The successful Airbnbs properties all are owners who have regular interactions with their guests.

4. Must have cleaners who are reliable. One bad review is enough to ruin your rating and affect future bookings.

Good luck on Airbnb.
peri peri
post Sep 21 2016, 09:15 AM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Sep 20 2016, 04:39 PM)
anybody have contacts for full time agent managing props on behalf of agents to do short term stay?
klang valley.

am considering to release some units to experiment.

please pm me if any.

thanks.
Fuyoh, how many actually? brows.gif

i got friend running this around golden triangle. very tedious work and not rewarding based on time sacrificed.
peri peri
post Sep 21 2016, 09:17 AM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(Zicoras1 @ Sep 20 2016, 05:38 PM)
Just to share my experience on Airbnb, I tried for 5 months only had one booking and it was from a local. Eventually I rented it out normal tenancy. I managed to talk to an Airbnb Sifu and this is what he told base on his experiences two years doing airbnb properties in KL and Selangor:

1. You only make money if you rent to foreigners, locals will not pay to stay in your place as they have friends, families and other cheaper alternatives. 80% of his clients were foreigners and 20% locals.

2. So far only KLCC properties are making money. Other area properties will likely not have much booking. Cause tourists will want to stay in city center.

3. Airbnb guest want personal interactions so he advised against door lock as it is impersonal. The successful Airbnbs properties all are owners who have regular interactions with their guests.

4. Must have cleaners who are reliable. One bad review is enough to ruin your rating and affect future bookings.

Good luck on Airbnb.
Actually he did not mentioned the WORST part.

complaint from neigbour or JMB due to influx of short stay visitor. Once AGM approved to ban such to ban short term stay tenant, ur airbnb = GG
aurora97
post Sep 21 2016, 09:54 AM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 21 2016, 09:17 AM)
Actually he did not mentioned the WORST part.

complaint from neigbour or JMB due to influx of short stay visitor. Once AGM approved to ban such to ban short term stay tenant, ur airbnb = GG
In my condo group chat, the mention of the word Airbnb and the August House was in session already… the matter was debated for more than 1 hour…

With opposition throwing chairs…

The speaker of the house was dragged onto the floor and beaten up.

Best part is… JMB hasn’t been formed yet hahaha….

peri peri
post Sep 21 2016, 09:59 AM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Sep 21 2016, 09:54 AM)
In my condo group chat, the mention of the word Airbnb and the August House was in session already… the matter was debated for more than 1 hour…

hahaha, barbarians.

recent AGM i attended also barbarians, MC formed 1 year, this year all resigned. have to force new recruit to fill or else MPKJ take over. like gangsters shouting here and there in the AGM. so low class i felt ATM.

this country is like this, when seeing people making profit, they start to jelly and butt hurt
LTG
post Sep 21 2016, 10:16 AM

1,780 posts

For residents that is security concern, outside ppl easy access to your condo n using facilities,

Residents also fighting ban owner rent to Pak hitam, some owner won't care so fighting happen
peri peri
post Sep 21 2016, 10:19 AM

11,943 posts

so buy sovo, sofo and sovo for airbnb, case close.
aurora97
post Sep 21 2016, 10:25 AM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 21 2016, 09:59 AM)
hahaha, barbarians.

recent AGM i attended also barbarians, MC formed 1 year, this year all resigned. have to force new recruit to fill or else MPKJ take over. like gangsters shouting here and there in the AGM. so low class i felt ATM.

this country is like this, when seeing people making profit, they start to jelly and butt hurt
Actually am against Airbnb… if there are assurance from JMB/MC with proper guidelines in place than is alright cause I have family there… I don’t want to have to deal with strangers.

Also I understand if tenancy can, why Airbnb cannot? The problem with Airbnb is your sourcing customers from the internet. You don’t vet through your customer base before you put them in your house than again probably the same for tenancy.

Though you have the right to profit from your parcel but not at the expense of my safety.

peri peri
post Sep 21 2016, 10:31 AM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Sep 21 2016, 10:25 AM)
Actually am against Airbnb… if there are assurance from JMB/MC with proper guidelines in place than is alright cause I have family there… I don’t want to have to deal with strangers.

Also I understand if tenancy can, why Airbnb cannot? The problem with Airbnb is your sourcing customers from the internet. You don’t vet through your customer base before you put them in your house than again probably the same for tenancy.

Though you have the right to profit from your parcel but not at the expense of my safety.
i am also against. but FYI, tenancy like long term is with stamped tenancy and my JMB request a copy of such tenancy to be kept. its for security purpose. but airbnb there are no proper tenancy in place and its hard for JMB to control. Thats the difference.

But we all know there are rules and TnC set in airbnb host for his unit occupation. but it wont comfort the local mentality.

thats why i bought a soho for airbnb to shut their mouth.
aurora97
post Sep 21 2016, 10:38 AM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 21 2016, 10:31 AM)
i am also against. but FYI, tenancy like long term is with stamped tenancy and my JMB request a copy of such tenancy to be kept. its for security purpose. but airbnb there are no proper tenancy in place and its hard for JMB to control. Thats the difference.

But we all know there are rules and TnC set in airbnb host for his unit occupation. but it wont comfort the local mentality.

winliaulor. cool2.gif
peri peri
post Sep 21 2016, 10:39 AM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Sep 21 2016, 10:38 AM)
winliaulor.  cool2.gif
rolleyes.gif cari makan aje
TSkavman1984
post Sep 21 2016, 11:11 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 21 2016, 10:31 AM)

Actually better go through youtube channel of Airbnb and really understand what Airbnb is all about. Renting condo as your Airbnb doesnt make much as it is too common. Airbnb listing should be unique and different while maintaining thru concept of locality. I think that is the way to go.
trust4you
post Sep 21 2016, 12:04 PM

LIMPE UR WORST NITEMARE
3,312 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Sep 21 2016, 09:54 AM)

Lol.. like small kid throwing chairs @@
peri peri
post Sep 21 2016, 01:18 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(kavman1984 @ Sep 21 2016, 11:11 AM)
Actually better go through youtube channel of Airbnb and really understand what Airbnb is all about. Renting condo as your Airbnb doesnt make much as it is too common. Airbnb listing should be unique and different while maintaining thru concept of locality. I think that is the way to go.
if you go thru the list of airbnb around malaysia, first thing you will found is "not affordable"

I will choose shop lot aka hotel over this airbnb
jinsailoo
post Sep 21 2016, 01:44 PM

2,036 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 21 2016, 01:18 PM)
if you go thru the list of airbnb around malaysia, first thing you will found is "not affordable"

true,

I went for ipoh at last weekend,

i browse airbnb and agoda,

end up take agoda hotel coz more cheap and safe.

if you want cheap at airbnb normally share house with other,
if you take a soho which cost you around 200 pernight not much diffrence from hotel
peri peri
post Sep 21 2016, 02:08 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(jinsailoo @ Sep 21 2016, 01:44 PM)
true,

I went for ipoh at last weekend,

i browse airbnb and agoda,

end up take agoda hotel coz more cheap and safe.

if you want cheap at airbnb normally share house with other,
if you take a soho which cost you around 200 pernight not much diffrence from hotel
local airbnb host very kiasi. even whole apartment but no cook allowed. become no fun liao for family staying

home stay better. got interactive. house owner sometime prepare games and meals. so fun.

aurora97
post Sep 21 2016, 02:36 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(trust4you @ Sep 21 2016, 12:04 PM)
Lol.. like small kid throwing chairs @@
maybe i put a tinge too much salt and pepper in my story...

anyway if u want an AGM to be interesting... just mentioned airbnb and everyone will turn on each other.
limwc78
post Sep 21 2016, 04:26 PM

859 posts

QUOTE(kavman1984 @ Sep 19 2016, 06:37 PM)
Airbnb covers up to USD1million dollars. Not sure whether it applies to Malaysian market yet. They dont even offer profesional photographers yet in Malaysia. If I am not mistaken la.
Malaysia already got professional photographer to take your unit. is free by airbnb.
cheahcw2003
post Sep 21 2016, 05:01 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 21 2016, 09:59 AM)
hahaha, barbarians.

always 2 sides of the coins.

As an own stayer, you do not want your immediate neighbour to do air bnb biz, as you do not want to wake up seeing the stranger looking at your balcony or walking by your doors.

As an investor, you piss off and upset with JMC who ban Airbnb.

nijiyaautohaus
post Sep 21 2016, 09:38 PM

89 posts

Good luck on Airbnb.
Where is the location of your fren's property ??
peri peri
post Sep 21 2016, 09:45 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Sep 21 2016, 05:01 PM)

As an own stayer, you do not want your immediate neighbour to do air bnb biz, as you do not want to wake up seeing the stranger looking at your balcony or walking by your doors.

im not sure about others, living in higrise dwelling like myself, i actually prefer its privacy as i dont give a dayum who living next door. As long next door dont make any nuisance, im actually ok with it.

for example, my neigbour putting flower pots at common corridor, i go directly complaint kaw kaw to JMB to take action.
HELLO HELLO
post Sep 21 2016, 10:22 PM

5,436 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Sep 21 2016, 05:01 PM)

Ru sure boh? if your neighbor is CB long term tenant from hell stay beside you sibeh 3 years see how u tahan. Day and night bising kacau kaw u or make a mess beside u c u Siao kaw Liao or not.

This post has been edited by HELLO HELLO: Sep 21 2016, 10:25 PM
Zicoras1
post Sep 22 2016, 04:25 PM

162 posts

For Airbnb at the end of the day is price. No matter how beautiful your home if the price is high people won't stay. My condo in Subang there was a tenant who stayed short term and he rob 4 condos. The burglar stayed for a week. Though I was not sure whether it's from an Airbnb or not.

JMB then stated that all short term stays must register with office.

Though after that less short term stayers.
axisresidence17
post Sep 22 2016, 05:58 PM

352 posts

Wow..its heating up...
cheahcw2003
post Sep 22 2016, 06:05 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(HELLO HELLO @ Sep 21 2016, 10:22 PM)
Ru sure boh? if your neighbor is CB long term tenant from hell stay beside you sibeh 3 years see how u tahan. Day and night bising kacau kaw u or make a mess beside u c u Siao kaw Liao or not.
Don't understand
jchong
post Sep 23 2016, 02:35 PM

5,989 posts

Are there any companies or people to help manage and maintain airbnb or homestay properties?

That means they help the owner to arrange for cleaning, meeting the guests (check in/out), etc. This is helpful if the owner does not stay near the property.
limwc78
post Sep 24 2016, 02:40 PM

859 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 23 2016, 02:35 PM)
Are there any companies or people to help manage and maintain airbnb or homestay properties?

That means they help the owner to arrange for cleaning, meeting the guests (check in/out), etc. This is helpful if the owner does not stay near the property.
yes they are
Zicoras1
post Sep 25 2016, 02:28 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(JasmineM @ Sep 24 2016, 05:10 PM)
can i know which area is your airbnb unit? i'm planning to do airbnb at Seri kembangan area
It was in Kota Damansara. Seri Kembangan will face the same issues as I have I think. But anyhow good luck.
Zicoras1
post Sep 25 2016, 02:31 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(nijiyaautohaus @ Sep 21 2016, 09:38 PM)
Where is the location of your fren's property ??
Summer Suites and Regalia
chenfeiyy
post Sep 25 2016, 04:23 PM

71 posts

Guys, do we need to apply homestay permit from Ministry of Tourisn and Culture for airbnb?

This post has been edited by chenfeiyy: Sep 25 2016, 05:54 PM
limwc78
post Sep 26 2016, 10:09 AM

859 posts

QUOTE(JasmineM @ Sep 24 2016, 05:15 PM)
how bout the price and photo.. is it all manage by airbnb?
is free by Airbnb
Zicoras1
post Sep 26 2016, 06:02 PM

162 posts

A good one is the Makeover Guys but some people say they are pricey. Their works looks good. But if your renovate the place for Airbnb I don't think you will ever get your ROI back unless you sell your place.

This post has been edited by Zicoras1: Oct 3 2016, 10:31 AM
skh9000
post Sep 30 2016, 10:04 PM

I shared my thoughts and experience on airbnb investments in Malaysia, specifically in KL in this article. http://chrisseahrealestate.blogspot.my/201...purchasing.html

I still there some good opportunities for this but you need to spot the right place and especially the right property
acevent
post Oct 12 2016, 05:01 PM

203 posts

Good luck on Airbnb.
Zicoras1, I dont know weather i am in the correct/right position to asnwer you. I just share my experience as a host in Airbnb/Homeaway.

I have been as a host for 4 months. I have attended 4 guests. The guests are as follows:-

1) June - local rent my place for relatives to attend his wedding since my unit is near to his (different condo/apartment). 3d2n - but never left a review (not requested from me too)
2) Jul - Sep - Foreigner who stay in Malaysia for 2 months. Moving from others area in KL to my unit because of price & also space problem
3) Sep - Local - spend a 3d2n in my house just to accompany her friends from Singapore to go Sunway Lagoon as she said my unit is near.
4) Oct - local rent for her family for short stay to avoid family problem.

Other then the above, i receive also many inquiries from different ppl (local or foreigners). Some i reject due to some issue & some they found me as 1 of their choice. Same also from Homeaway app.

My short experience is guests can be from many many area either local or oversea. They choose our house as for their can be many reason also. Just keep confidence on yourself. Makesure the below is fullfiled:-

1) keep your house clean - i clean up myself before my guest reach few days before. I will try to pass the keys to my guest personally (to view them personally & also to hints some massage to my guest, eg save energy & water)
2) Simple & nice - actually my unit is very simple. Just have sofa + TV + Njoi + DVD player for entertainment (all is used except Njoi).
3) Sleep well - I installed 3 air cond in each room except living hall. This is to makesure my guests sleep well
4) affordable price - i have check around. I think my price is the most cheapest in my area.

Maybe i am not at the position to share my experience here because since i just attended 4 guests. But anyhow i just share my knowledge & experience.

biggrin.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by acevent: Oct 12 2016, 05:18 PM
acevent
post Oct 12 2016, 05:11 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(limwc78 @ Sep 21 2016, 04:26 PM)
Malaysia already got professional photographer to take your unit. is free by airbnb.
is it?
But i sent my request they say unable to service at the moment - availability is host specific.

I dont know what it means

vibey
post Oct 12 2016, 05:15 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(skh9000 @ Sep 30 2016, 10:04 PM)
I shared my thoughts and experience on airbnb investments in Malaysia, specifically in KL in this article. http://chrisseahrealestate.blogspot.my/201...purchasing.html

I still think there are some good opportunities for this but you need to spot the right place and especially the right property
limwc78
post Oct 12 2016, 06:28 PM

859 posts

QUOTE(acevent @ Oct 12 2016, 05:11 PM)
is it?
But i sent my request they say unable to service at the moment - availability is host specific.

I dont know what it means
where is your place?
peri peri
post Oct 14 2016, 02:36 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(JasmineM @ Oct 14 2016, 09:59 AM)
can i know how many percent airbnb take for thier commision
3%, cheaper than agoda
prody
post Oct 14 2016, 07:17 PM

Dance while the record spins
1,548 posts

You can never completely avoid it. What I understand is that you have 24 hours to report anything missing to airbnb and then you can try and claim it from them.

Anyway, you'd have to be quite unlucky to get a guest that steals things. If you are very scared you can read through the review of your competitors at your condo.
prody
post Oct 14 2016, 07:28 PM

1,548 posts

Good luck on Airbnb.
At my place there are also units which are never rented out, but they are priced too high.
And some don't even offer something basic such as internet.

1. This is incorrect. 90% of my clients are locals so far.
2. Incorrect, but of course your location can not be too far out. There is a limit.
3. and 4. are correct.

prody
post Oct 14 2016, 07:31 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 21 2016, 01:18 PM)

This is incorrect. Around my area you can get a great airbnb at a good price. If you were to go to a hotel at that price here it would be a dump.
prody
post Oct 14 2016, 07:36 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(chenfeiyy @ Sep 25 2016, 04:23 PM)
Guys, do we need to apply homestay permit from Ministry of Tourisn and Culture for airbnb?
I don't think so.
prody
post Oct 14 2016, 07:41 PM

1,548 posts

I still there some good opportunities for this but you need to spot the right place and especially the right property
Interesting article, I will check out the guest management companies in case I get bored of my new hobby.
prody
post Oct 14 2016, 07:46 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(JasmineM @ Oct 14 2016, 09:59 AM)
can i know how many percent airbnb take for thier commision
From guests
From hosts
lunayew
post Oct 14 2016, 11:14 PM

85 posts

For my units listed at airbnb, commission is 3%. I use airbnb for homestay at cameron & fraser's hill, so far good response. Payment is made in usd, good for now when rm is weak.
lunayew
post Oct 14 2016, 11:17 PM

85 posts

For airbnb, it's very important to have good reviews from the guests, once you get not that good reviews, the booking will drop significantly.
post Oct 15 2016, 12:23 AM

247 posts

QUOTE(lunayew @ Oct 14 2016, 11:14 PM)
For my units listed at airbnb, commission is 3%. I use airbnb for homestay at cameron & fraser's hill, so far good response. Payment is made in usd, good for now when rm is weak.
cameron and fraser hill. so do you pass the key to your guest in person or door lock system?
peri peri
post Oct 15 2016, 12:32 AM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Oct 14 2016, 07:31 PM)
This is incorrect. Around my area you can get a great airbnb at a good price. If you were to go to a hotel at that price here it would be a dump.
What u mean by incorrect and comparing ur area with my area? Dont accuse me choosing hotel is as dumb u dumb head

Stop spamming and use the MULTIREPLLY function u nutty, so annoying when reading ur reply!
lunayew
post Oct 15 2016, 12:56 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(12321 @ Oct 15 2016, 12:23 AM)
cameron and fraser hill. so do you pass the key to your guest in person or door lock system?
I have peoples there to do the cleaning works as well as to hand over / return of keys. During peak seasons or at least one weekend in a month, I will be there too to help up afraid they cannot cope with the cleaning works and to also monitor to make sure all things are in good order. As mentioned, guests' good reviews are extremely important so need to try best to keep the standard.
acevent
post Oct 15 2016, 08:44 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(JasmineM @ Oct 14 2016, 10:07 AM)
anyway good sharing.. how to register with homeaway app?
Almost same like Airbnb
prody
post Oct 15 2016, 02:18 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Oct 15 2016, 12:32 AM)
What u mean by incorrect and comparing ur area with my area? Dont accuse me choosing hotel is as dumb u dumb head

Stop spamming and use the MULTIREPLLY function u nutty, so annoying when reading ur reply!
You made a blanket statement.
I just said your blanket statement was incorrect.

I never called you dumb, I just stated you are incorrect. No doubt there are areas where a hotel may be better than airbnb, but there are also areas where airbnb is better than hotels.

If you prefer not to see my comments you can just use the appropriate function.

prody
post Oct 15 2016, 02:20 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(lunayew @ Oct 14 2016, 11:14 PM)
How do you get people to pay you in usd?
lunayew
post Oct 15 2016, 09:11 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Oct 15 2016, 02:20 PM)
How do you get people to pay you in usd?
I never made any request to airbnb to pay me in usd/any particular currency but the payments made to me were automatically in usd as shown in its statements. I assume it is airbnb's policy, cannot be it gives special favour to me kua...
peri peri
post Oct 15 2016, 10:06 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Oct 15 2016, 02:18 PM)
You made a blanket statement.
I just said your blanket statement was incorrect.

I never called you dumb, I just stated you are incorrect. No doubt there are areas where a hotel may be better than airbnb, but there are also areas where airbnb is better than hotels.

If you prefer not to see my comments you can just use the appropriate function.
U fool, u r living in 3rd world country, suceesful airbnb only applicable to first world, u had yet seen how airbnb performing in other state, stop comparing ur case with ours.

7 stars still ignorant to use the multi reply function, yeah, u just as annoy as u are

Next time, comment at ur own, dont simply quote others with disagrrement making fool of urself
prody
post Oct 16 2016, 10:26 AM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(lunayew @ Oct 15 2016, 09:11 PM)
I never made any request to airbnb to pay me in usd/any particular currency but the payments made to me were automatically in usd as shown in its statements. I assume it is airbnb's policy, cannot be it gives special favour to me kua...
Yeah, for me they just bank in to my bank account so everything is in RM.
prody
post Oct 16 2016, 10:33 AM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Oct 15 2016, 10:06 PM)
U fool, u r living in 3rd world country, suceesful airbnb only applicable to first world, u had yet seen how airbnb performing in other state, stop comparing ur case with ours.

7 stars still ignorant to use the multi reply function, yeah, u just as annoy as u are

Next time, comment at ur own, dont simply quote others with disagrrement making fool of urself
If people disagree with you it does not mean they attack you. Try not to take it so hard next time and maybe you can learn something.

In this case you found an area where hotels dominate over airbnb. This is not the case everywhere. You could even start an airbnb there.

lunayew
post Oct 16 2016, 11:51 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Oct 16 2016, 10:26 AM)
Yeah, for me they just bank in to my bank account so everything is in RM.
Yes the payment banked in is in rm, but it was converted from the usd. From what I understood, a conversion rate from usd to rm will be fixed on the date of receipt of payment by airbnb from guest and after that airbnb pays me in rm according to the rate. That's why even though my rate per night is usd150 but the payment I receive in rm is different everytime.
heavensea
post Oct 16 2016, 12:09 PM

9,616 posts

Off topic,

Taiwan's airbnb business is a charm. I think they making
good returns especially in Taipei xi men ding. The number of tourist going to their country is a lot, that's why "hired driver" and airbnb doing so well over there. The market can absorb it.

I've been stay in an airbnb at jb, concept is good and located at landed house but I would stay in hotel at next time because it is too far from the city.. I need to drive at least 20 mins.

Airbnb is very challenging in Malaysia, no matter in KL or other states. My friend is running "home stay" businesses with 6 landed properties (inherited from grandparents). He can "tahan" until successfully built reputation/network because of there are zero "leverage cost" incurred in the operation. If u want to do this with leverage with bank, tbh it's kinda risky.

Just my dus sen from personal experience.
heavensea
post Oct 16 2016, 12:11 PM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(lunayew @ Oct 16 2016, 11:51 AM)
Yes the payment banked in is in rm, but it was converted from the usd. From what I understood, a conversion rate from usd to rm will be fixed on the date of receipt of payment by airbnb from guest and after that airbnb pays me in rm according to the rate. That's why even though my rate per night is usd150 but the payment I receive in rm is different everytime.
Hoe about using PayPal?
prody
post Oct 16 2016, 05:14 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(lunayew @ Oct 16 2016, 11:51 AM)
I checked it out some more. It's good if most of your guests are from US, but maybe not so good if most of your guests are local. This is because: "Note that guests may see a slightly higher price. If the currency they’re paying with is different than the one used in your listing’s location, a 3% conversion fee is added to the price."

So locals will automatically see a higher price for your listing. Anyway, I suppose there are also the advantages you have mentioned before.
lunayew
post Oct 16 2016, 08:17 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Oct 16 2016, 12:11 PM)
Hoe about using PayPal?
Have not used paypal so could not share/comment.
lunayew
post Oct 16 2016, 08:23 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Oct 16 2016, 05:14 PM)
I checked it out some more. It's good if most of your guests are from US, but maybe not so good if most of your guests are local. This is because: "Note that guests may see a slightly higher price. If the currency they’re paying with is different than the one used in your listing’s location, a 3% conversion fee is added to the price."

So locals will automatically see a higher price for your listing. Anyway, I suppose there are also the advantages you have mentioned before.
I see, thanks for enlightening me on this! For aunty like me so long got steady flow of booking come in at the price I list am very happy dy. But one thing airbnb is 👍paymaster.
prody
post Oct 17 2016, 08:07 AM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(lunayew @ Oct 16 2016, 08:23 PM)
I see, thanks for enlightening me on this! For aunty like me so long got steady flow of booking come in at the price I list am very happy dy. But one thing airbnb is 👍paymaster.
No need to worry much then yeah. smile.gif

Airbnb is very punctual is paying for sure.
kochin
post Oct 17 2016, 08:33 AM

I just hope I do!
10,319 posts

for airbnb props, i believe one of the key requirements travellers look for is wifi.
how does a host resolves this?
a fixed wifi applied for the prop or using portable system?
any advise?

scw
post Oct 17 2016, 09:55 AM

QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 21 2016, 02:08 PM)
local airbnb host very kiasi. even whole apartment but no cook allowed. become no fun liao for family staying

home stay better. got interactive. house owner sometime prepare games and meals. so fun.
You are right, im airbnb host in klcc region, how we differentiate from others is we add value by throwing in karaoke, wii console, or interactive games
However, the sad thing is people would have taken granted for what u did
They probably misplaced it, parts fallen off, missing item, n the worst is unconditional complain no matter how small the issue is
Most complain guest r mostly frm locals which really set me off
Probably thats how passionate malaysian is

N yes our price range ard 200-500 depend headcount, allow cooking,party,filming,wedding, hotel class

Feel free to check out our others listings tha suit u most!
M (max=8pax)
Soho Suites KLCC,KL Tower view, 2bedroom 1bathroom, 39flr,Business Class
https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/3538813?s=8&us...ed24514d80632af

L (max=12pax)
Soho Suites KLCC, KL tower view,3bedroom 2bathroom,Karaoke room
https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/4457668?s=8&us...ed24514d80632af

L+ (max=12pax)
Platinum Suites,360· KLCC view, 2bedroom 2bathroom,2min monorail, Wii console
https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/12599847?s=8&u...ed24514d80632af

This post has been edited by scw: Oct 19 2016, 11:37 AM
scw
post Oct 17 2016, 09:57 AM

QUOTE(kochin @ Oct 17 2016, 08:33 AM)
for airbnb props, i believe one of the key requirements travellers look for is wifi.
any advise?
Cable still the best, stable reliable
Portable 10flr above take boleh pakai
kochin
post Oct 17 2016, 10:11 AM

I just hope I do!
10,319 posts

QUOTE(scw @ Oct 17 2016, 09:55 AM)
You are right, im airbnb host in klcc region, how we differentiate from others is we add value by throwing in karaoke, wii console, or interactive games
However, the sad thing is people would have taken granted for what u did
They probably misplaced it, parts fallen off, missing item, n the worst is unconditional complain no matter how small the issue is
Most complain guest r mostly frm locals which really set me off
Probably thats how passionate malaysian is

N yes our price range ard 200-500 depend headcount, allow cooking,party,filming,wedding, hotel class

Feel free to check out our others listings tha suit u most!
M (max=8pax)
Soho Suites KLCC,KL Tower view, 2bedroom 1bathroom, 39flr,Business Class
https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/3538813?s=8&us...ed24514d80632af

L (max=12pax)
Soho Suites KLCC, KL tower view,3bedroom 2bathroom,Karaoke room
https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/4457668?s=8&us...ed24514d80632af

L+ (max=12pax)
Platinum Suites,360· KLCC view, 2bedroom 2bathroom,2min monorail, Wii console
https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/12599847?s=8&u...ed24514d80632af
hi steven, thanks for sharing your experiences.
do you outsource the props or you manage yourself.
mind sharing more info to me pls.
based on the 3 props you listed, how is the occupancy rates generally?
prody
post Oct 17 2016, 10:51 AM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Oct 17 2016, 08:33 AM)
any advise?
I'm using unifi. Of course you will need sufficient people to stay there to be able to do this.
kochin
post Oct 17 2016, 11:02 AM

I just hope I do!
10,319 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Oct 17 2016, 10:51 AM)
I'm using unifi. Of course you will need sufficient people to stay there to be able to do this.
cheapest unifi package nowadays starts from RM199 per month? ouch. that's another RM6.67 per day cost.
prody
post Oct 17 2016, 11:48 AM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Oct 17 2016, 11:02 AM)
cheapest unifi package nowadays starts from RM199 per month? ouch. that's another RM6.67 per day cost.
Yeah, but pretty much unavoidable if your competition has internet.
lunayew
post Oct 17 2016, 07:37 PM

85 posts

My units at cameron & fraser's no wifi provided, not I dun want to give but there are not many wifi providers there, even have (usually streamyx or Yes), the ports available are very limited. With proper explanation to guests, usually they can understand as end of the day, the main purpose for them to go up hills is to enjoy the qiuetness & peace of mind. Plus point of doing homestay at highlands is you can save quite a big sum from wifi & electricity.
Zicoras1
post Oct 17 2016, 08:53 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Oct 14 2016, 07:28 PM)
At my place there are also units which are never rented out, but they are priced too high.
And some don't even offer something basic such as internet.

1. This is incorrect. 90% of my clients are locals so far.
2. Incorrect, but of course your location can not be too far out. There is a limit.
3. and 4. are correct.
Perhaps your unit is the exception but everyone I talk who does Airbnb says the same thing. I did mine fully furnished with internet, free maps, all kitchen utensils and no takers. Where is your unit anyway?

In any case I think people like me were thinking we could get more from Airbnb rather than just normal rental but that's not true.
darkmusses
post Oct 17 2016, 09:17 PM

595 posts

Let me share my experience in AirBnb. I'm local but I'm using AirBnB services.

I stayed in 4* hotel almost every quater for at least 2 weeks to 3 weeks costing close to RM500 per day. The last stay extended my stay for another 1 month after the 2 weeks in which result me in looking into AirBnB services for a cheaper alternative to save some cost and spend it on gadgets.

The options is always :
1. The convenience from one place to another in which most tourist would prefer city than suburb. Use grabcar anyway ...
2. Cost is not much an issue since I used to stay at better location; but the 1st stay in AirBnb is by at least RM250 and less which is cheap.
3. The cleanliness of the unit; from bedroom to kitchen and toilet. I replace all the shampoo to H&S, Pantene and BodyShop.
4. The dislike part is the appointment made by tenant is not as promise and may drop by the rented out unit without informing at all. This I really make a comment to her for the review.
5. Cable TV and internet is equally important; thank god internet is ok but the cable tv is Hyppe tv ( repetitive =.=!! )
6. Please don't get IKEA bed. Its horrible.

This post has been edited by darkmusses: Oct 17 2016, 09:22 PM
ck2chan
post Oct 17 2016, 11:57 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(Zicoras1 @ Oct 17 2016, 08:53 PM)
Perhaps your unit is the exception but everyone I talk who does Airbnb says the same thing. I did mine fully furnished with internet, free maps, all kitchen utensils and no takers. Where is your unit anyway?

In any case I think people like me were thinking we could get more from Airbnb rather than just normal rental but that's not true.
Where is your unit location?
wkkor
post Oct 18 2016, 12:28 AM

493 posts

QUOTE(darkmusses @ Oct 17 2016, 09:17 PM)
Let me share my experience in AirBnb. I'm local but I'm using AirBnB services.

I stayed in 4* hotel almost every quater for at least 2 weeks to 3 weeks costing close to  RM500 per day. The last stay extended my stay for another 1 month after the 2 weeks in which result me in looking into AirBnB services for a cheaper alternative to save some cost and spend it on gadgets.

The options is always :
1. The convenience from one place to another in which most tourist would prefer city than suburb. Use grabcar anyway ...
2. Cost is not much an issue since I used to stay at better location; but the 1st stay in AirBnb is by at least RM250 and less which is cheap.
3. The cleanliness of the unit; from bedroom to kitchen and toilet. I replace all the shampoo to H&S, Pantene and BodyShop.
4. The dislike part is the appointment made by tenant is not as promise and may drop by the rented out unit without informing at all. This I really make a comment to her for the review.
5. Cable TV and internet is equally important; thank god internet is ok but the cable tv is Hyppe tv ( repetitive =.=!! )
6. Please don't get IKEA bed. Its horrible.
RM500/day, what hotel you stay boss? Hotel got room service, but how often the AirBnB owner cleaning for you?
kochin
post Oct 18 2016, 03:44 PM

I just hope I do!
10,319 posts

just giving airbnb a try.
do check out my signature.

see whether there's any potential there or not.
wl_n
post Oct 18 2016, 04:04 PM

745 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Oct 18 2016, 03:44 PM)

Which residence you trying for airbnb? Swiss Garden residence? Is it hard to get tenant for yearly tenancy? Nearby food paradise Jalan Alor, should able to get foreign tenant.

This post has been edited by wl_n: Oct 18 2016, 05:23 PM
JustNobody
post Oct 18 2016, 04:33 PM

2,004 posts

For airbnb income, still can use it as income to increase your loan chances? This income is no Agreement and inconsistent by the way,..

This post has been edited by JustNobody: Oct 18 2016, 04:34 PM
prody
post Oct 18 2016, 05:17 PM

1,548 posts

I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one, as some of the competition here has many reviews. Location is in Shah Alam.

I suppose it may be difficult to get a larger amount than you would get for normal rental. This is taking into consideration the work that needs to be put in compared to normal rental.

For me normal rental isn't an option at this moment so I go for airbnb.
prody
post Oct 18 2016, 05:35 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Oct 18 2016, 03:44 PM)

Is Jim operating this unit for you?

Batu caves unit description mentions 5 beds, but pictures show an almost bare unit.
kochin
post Oct 18 2016, 06:16 PM

I just hope I do!
10,319 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Oct 18 2016, 05:35 PM)
Is Jim operating this unit for you?

Batu caves unit description mentions 5 beds, but pictures show an almost bare unit.
I outsourced. No idea who is running it. Lol. Unit is not ready. Up to them to do as they please. Kekeke.
faizalmzain
post Oct 18 2016, 06:39 PM

1,416 posts

i did a listing in cyberjaya, surprisingly market there is not so bad.
my target is only max 10 nights per month since i prefer to stay there during the weekend and public holiday.

so far it is beyond my expectation and i have to increase the rate so i will get less potential tenant, i think i will reduce the rate again by middle of next month.
faizalmzain
post Oct 18 2016, 06:43 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Oct 16 2016, 12:11 PM)
Hoe about using PayPal?
quickest way to receive payment is via paypal, it transfer to your paypal account after 24 hours tenant check in and you will receive it almost instantaneous, but of course if you want to transfer to your bank account later, it need a few days i guess for paypal to transfer? i don't remember how long

i will transfer from paypal to local bank once a month.
heavensea
post Oct 18 2016, 06:45 PM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Oct 18 2016, 06:43 PM)
quickest way to receive payment is via paypal, it transfer to your paypal account after 24 hours tenant check in and you will receive it almost instantaneous, but of course if you want to transfer to your bank account later, it need a few days i guess for paypal to transfer? i don't remember how long

i will transfer from paypal to local bank once a month.
Thanks sir, and PayPal is easy for foreigner tenants as well.
It's good payment method for airbnb owners.
faizalmzain
post Oct 18 2016, 06:51 PM

1,416 posts

did you try to lower the price initially??

when i start the listing i put minimum price slight above what airbnb suggest, the tenancy rate is beyond expectation until i need to increase the price so i have time to stay at the apartment as well biggrin.gif

but airbnb suggested min price is very low. i don't think anybody follow that. you need to check average rate for similar listing as yours around your are then you can decide which rate suited for you to compete with others.
faizalmzain
post Oct 18 2016, 06:55 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(wkkor @ Oct 18 2016, 12:28 AM)
RM500/day, what hotel you stay boss? Hotel got room service, but how often the AirBnB owner cleaning for you?
for those staying for at least 1 week, i think host can offer to clean up the place or put robot vacuum in the unit and set it to clean everyday. biggrin.gif

i do have robo vacuum which i use to clean the unit i own, but i haven't decide whether to put the robot vacuum permanently or not.
faizalmzain
post Oct 18 2016, 07:05 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(acevent @ Oct 12 2016, 05:01 PM)
Zicoras1, I dont know weather i am in the correct/right position to asnwer you. I just share my experience as a host in Airbnb/Homeaway.

I have been as a host for 4 months. I have attended 4 guests. The guests are as follows:-

1) June - local rent my place for relatives to attend his wedding since my unit is near to his (different condo/apartment). 3d2n - but never left a review (not requested from me too)
2) Jul - Sep - Foreigner who stay in Malaysia for 2 months. Moving from others area in KL to my unit because of price & also space problem
3) Sep - Local - spend a 3d2n in my house just to accompany her friends from Singapore to go Sunway Lagoon as she said my unit is near.
4) Oct - local rent for her family for short stay to avoid family problem.

Other then the above, i receive also many inquiries from different ppl (local or foreigners). Some i reject due to some issue & some they found me as 1 of their choice. Same also from Homeaway app.

My short experience is guests can be from many many area either local or oversea. They choose our house as for their can be many reason also. Just keep confidence on yourself. Makesure the below is fullfiled:-

1) keep your house clean - i clean up myself before my guest reach few days before. I will try to pass the keys to my guest personally (to view them personally & also to hints some massage to my guest, eg save energy & water)
2) Simple & nice - actually my unit is very simple. Just have sofa + TV + Njoi + DVD player for entertainment (all is used except Njoi).
3) Sleep well - I installed 3 air cond in each room except living hall. This is to makesure my guests sleep well
4) affordable price - i have check around. I think my price is the most cheapest in my area.

Maybe i am not at the position to share my experience here because since i just attended 4 guests. But anyhow i just share my knowledge & experience.

biggrin.gif  laugh.gif
i agree with you, tenants rent for various reasons, my first tenant rent for 1 night just to attend wedding nearby even though she lives in klang valley not from other state, second tenant rent for 3 night because he's giving talks nearby and he doesn't want to commute from home to here.
faizalmzain
post Oct 18 2016, 07:12 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(LTG @ Sep 21 2016, 10:16 AM)
For residents that is security concern,  outside ppl easy access to your condo n using facilities, 

Residents also fighting ban owner rent to Pak hitam,  some owner won't care so fighting happen
at least for airbnb, host can carefully select potential tenant and those tenants will only stay for few days , if rent permanently to bad people, it will become a permanent problem.

i did read profile and review of my potential tenant since i fully furnished my unit and i don't want to rent out to irresponsible tenant. i don't even rent to my friend who wants to do party since i don't allow party in my unit and i don't want to annoy my neighbour.
faizalmzain
post Oct 18 2016, 07:15 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Sep 21 2016, 10:25 AM)

for airbnb you have option to select tenants based on review and profile before they can actually rent your unit.
and they need to verify their id with airbnb as well. fpr me airbnb tenant is more trustworthy.
darkmusses
post Oct 18 2016, 08:38 PM

595 posts

QUOTE(wkkor @ Oct 18 2016, 12:28 AM)
Just near my working place only .. haha

Even got my personal rate (membership) to the hotel since frequent stayer.

The owner change the bedding 2 times and towel 2 times.

Lucky got washing machine to do laundry. Paid 2 rounds of kedai dobi 2 times as not know how to use it.

The hotel I stay make up room as at when I like which Airbnb do not have such services. This include changing toiletries, refilling coffee and tea and dry towel from face towel to bath robes which makes me feel I'm being too pampered ...
wkkor
post Oct 18 2016, 10:42 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Oct 18 2016, 06:55 PM)
for those staying for at least 1 week, i think host can offer to clean up the place or put robot vacuum in the unit and set it to clean everyday. biggrin.gif

i do have robo vacuum which i use to clean the unit i own, but i haven't decide whether to put the robot vacuum permanently or not.
your robo vacuum can't satisfy @darkmusses tongue.gif
aurora97
post Oct 19 2016, 10:25 AM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Oct 18 2016, 07:15 PM)
for airbnb you have option to select tenants based on review and profile before they can actually rent your unit.
and they need to verify their id with airbnb as well. fpr me airbnb tenant is more trustworthy.
Likewise, there are owners, who just want to rent out for the sake of doing so without enquiring further.
scw
post Oct 19 2016, 11:35 AM

QUOTE(kochin @ Oct 17 2016, 10:11 AM)
hi steven, thanks for sharing your experiences.
do you outsource the props or you manage yourself.
mind sharing more info to me pls.
based on the 3 props you listed, how is the occupancy rates generally?
about 1-3 days are vacant
manage your own is the best
as airbnb know whether you are hardworking replying every request, open their app, constant update of info

This post has been edited by scw: Oct 19 2016, 11:36 AM
JohnnyBSunday
post Oct 19 2016, 04:36 PM

Hmm, interesting post, there are many soho units in Scott Garden doing airbnb, are they doing well there?
prody
post Oct 20 2016, 12:22 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Oct 18 2016, 06:16 PM)
I outsourced. No idea who is running it. Lol. Unit is not ready. Up to them to do as they please. Kekeke.
Interesting. What is their fee?
tetsu
post Oct 20 2016, 05:30 PM

416 posts

Airbnb going to drive up rental in KL laugh.gif
vibey
post Oct 20 2016, 06:29 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(tetsu @ Oct 20 2016, 05:30 PM)
Airbnb going to drive up rental in KL  laugh.gif
yes I read an article somewhere few days ago Malaysia voted as No 1 destination in Asia ahead of Sg and Thailand haha...at least some good news for us in the midst of hot dog jokes lol
MoneyMaker prince
post Oct 20 2016, 06:34 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Oct 18 2016, 06:39 PM)
i did a listing in cyberjaya, surprisingly market there is not so bad.
my target is only max 10 nights per month since i prefer to stay there during the weekend and public holiday.

so far it is beyond my expectation and i have to increase the rate so i will get less potential tenant, i think i will reduce the rate again by middle of next month.
Can I know where is your unit and how much you charge per night?
heavensea
post Oct 20 2016, 08:34 PM

9,616 posts

sharing outsource company in KL,
Lazy Host & Room Filla.
Zicoras1
post Oct 20 2016, 09:45 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Oct 18 2016, 06:51 PM)
did you try to lower the price initially??

when i start the listing i put minimum price slight above what airbnb suggest, the tenancy rate is beyond expectation until i need to increase the price so i have time to stay at the apartment as well  biggrin.gif

but airbnb suggested min price is very low. i don't think anybody follow that. you need to check average rate for similar listing as yours around your are  then you can decide which rate suited for you to compete with others.
Yes I did lower price multiple times but did not have any effect. In any case the unit has been rented out so as long as someone else pays my bank loan I am happy enough.
heavensea
post Oct 20 2016, 09:47 PM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(Zicoras1 @ Oct 20 2016, 09:45 PM)
Yes I did lower price multiple times but did not have any effect. In any case the unit has been rented out so as long as someone else pays my bank loan I am happy enough.
why not opt for long term tenants? Rental market really that bad...? sad.gif
vibey
post Oct 21 2016, 09:56 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Oct 20 2016, 09:47 PM)
why not opt for long term tenants? Rental market really that bad...?  sad.gif
Why would you want to earn less when u can more?
heavensea
post Oct 21 2016, 02:38 PM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(vibey @ Oct 21 2016, 09:56 AM)
Why  would you want to earn less when u can more?
Long term rental is suitable for owners who have property from other state?

Yes they can hire some company to manage for them, but currently only covered prime areas right? I'm not sure about the charging fees but most likely not much left of net profits after deducted everything included outsourced fees.

What do u think?
faizalmzain
post Oct 21 2016, 02:52 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(MoneyMaker prince @ Oct 20 2016, 06:34 PM)
Can I know where is your unit and how much you charge per night?
nearby shaftsbury. i enabled smart pricing, so the price will be up and down based on airbnb logic , not fixed price.

This post has been edited by faizalmzain: Oct 21 2016, 02:54 PM
faizalmzain
post Oct 21 2016, 03:33 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(Zicoras1 @ Oct 20 2016, 09:45 PM)
my goal is to subsidize my monthly loan installment and at the same time i can go and stay at that place whenever i want.
i don't expect to gain some money out of it.
heavensea
post Oct 21 2016, 03:34 PM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Oct 21 2016, 02:52 PM)
nearby shaftsbury. i enabled smart pricing, so the price will be up and down based on airbnb logic , not fixed price.
Cyberjaya? How's business?
vibey
post Oct 21 2016, 03:45 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Oct 21 2016, 02:38 PM)
Long term rental is suitable for owners who have property from other state?

Yes they can hire some company to manage for them, but currently only covered prime areas right? I'm not sure about the charging fees but most likely not much left of net profits after deducted everything included outsourced fees.

What do u think?
I only can give you answer on prime areas For other states or non prime areas I cant comment much. However, I can say this, Ipoh , Malacca and Penang should be ok good places aside from prime areas in KL.
faizalmzain
post Oct 21 2016, 03:56 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Oct 21 2016, 03:34 PM)
Cyberjaya? How's business?
i only start listing early this month and already received 21 nights of confirmed booking from 5 guests for this month and next month.

i'm not sure about upcoming months though, but it's already beyond my expectation since i only expect to subsidize my maintenance fee and bills only biggrin.gif

i don't take back to back booking, i already set to block dates 2 days before and after guest check in/out so i have plenty of time to clean up the unit.
heavensea
post Oct 21 2016, 04:08 PM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(vibey @ Oct 21 2016, 03:45 PM)
I only can give you answer on prime areas  For other states or non prime areas I cant comment much.    However, I can say this, Ipoh , Malacca and Penang should be ok good places aside from prime areas in KL.
Thanks bro, Ipoh is tempting. Property price is cheap, but not much of tourist and their hotel is dirt cheap ad. Some boutique hotel are excellence for price I paid.

Airbnb is kinda hard to compete.
alchmiya
post Oct 21 2016, 04:08 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Oct 21 2016, 03:56 PM)
i only start listing early this month and already received 21 nights of confirmed booking from 5 guests for this month and next month.

i'm not sure about upcoming months though, but it's already beyond my expectation since i only expect to subsidize my maintenance fee and bills only  biggrin.gif

i don't take back to back booking, i already set to block dates 2 days before and after guest check in/out so i have plenty of time to clean up the unit.
May I know for your Cyberjaya bookings, your 5 guests are local / foreigner? Business / Leisure?

When you say subsidize bills, you mean you have internet / astro too?

heavensea
post Oct 21 2016, 04:10 PM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Oct 21 2016, 03:56 PM)

i'm not sure about upcoming months though, but it's already beyond my expectation since i only expect to subsidize my maintenance fee and bills only  biggrin.gif

Good results bro! Congrats biggrin.gif
You stay in there as well? Just rent out other rooms? Or entire unit rent out?

I also want to try Airbnb but I'm not physically in Malaysia (all the times), what's your advise on this matter? Should I simply rent out monthly or hired those outsourced company to manage for me?
faizalmzain
post Oct 21 2016, 04:12 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Oct 21 2016, 04:10 PM)
Good results bro! Congrats biggrin.gif
You stay in there as well? Just rent out other rooms? Or entire unit rent out?

I also want to try Airbnb but I'm not physically in Malaysia (all the times), what's your advise on this matter? Should I simply rent out monthly or hired those outsourced company to manage for me?
i rent out whole unit, but i did stay there occasionally so basically my unit has everything i need in a house.
i'm not sure what to advise since i'm new to airbnb as well. biggrin.gif
faizalmzain
post Oct 21 2016, 04:13 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(alchmiya @ Oct 21 2016, 04:08 PM)
May I know for your Cyberjaya bookings, your 5 guests are local / foreigner? Business / Leisure?

When you say subsidize bills, you mean you have internet / astro too?
1 foreigner and the rest are locals, most of them for business trip.

i did installed fibre broadband, i personally think internet is essential, no astro but i do have Netflix, Chromecast and Spotify for guests access.
1 basic Netflix account can be used for 2 devices.

This post has been edited by faizalmzain: Oct 21 2016, 04:16 PM
heavensea
post Oct 21 2016, 04:16 PM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Oct 21 2016, 04:12 PM)
i rent out whole unit, but i did stay there occasionally so basically my unit has everything i need in a house.
i'm not sure what to advise since i'm new to airbnb as well.  biggrin.gif
Alright bro, wish your airbnb business gonna be "so far so good" in the future.
heavensea
post Oct 21 2016, 04:19 PM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Oct 21 2016, 04:13 PM)
1 foreigner and the rest are locals, most of them for business trip.

i did installed fibre broadband, i personally think internet is essential, no astro but i do have Netflix, Chromecast and Spotify for guests access.
1 basic Netflix account can be used for 2 devices.
Using Maxis fibre?
Maybe Cyberjaya is good for Airbnb, good potential with business trip customers.

I always thought only around klcc areas work for Kl airbnb.

This post has been edited by heavensea: Oct 21 2016, 04:20 PM
faizalmzain
post Oct 21 2016, 04:20 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Oct 21 2016, 04:08 PM)
Thanks bro, Ipoh is tempting. Property price is cheap, but not much of tourist and their hotel is dirt cheap ad. Some boutique hotel are excellence for price I paid.

Airbnb is kinda hard to compete.
for my personal preference, if hotel rate is similar to airbnb, i would choose hotel biggrin.gif
so i guess if you want to set the price for your listing, you should survey hotel rate around your area as well.
faizalmzain
post Oct 21 2016, 04:21 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Oct 21 2016, 04:19 PM)
Using Maxis fibre?
Maybe Cyberjaya is good for Airbnb for those business trip customers, a good potential place.

I always thought only around klcc areas work for Kl airbnb.
my apartment only has TIME for the time being, much better pricing than maxis & unifi.
RM149 for 100mbps.

i believe so for cyberjaya, i did check out some other listings in my apartment, they constantly get bookings as well, so it's not just me having better luck or something biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by faizalmzain: Oct 21 2016, 04:22 PM
heavensea
post Oct 21 2016, 04:22 PM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Oct 21 2016, 04:20 PM)
for my personal preference, if hotel rate is similar to airbnb, i would choose hotel  biggrin.gif
so i guess if you want to set the price for your listing, you should survey hotel rate around your area as well.
Thanks for the tips bro, valid point.
Yeah I'll stay at hotel, can't tahan Airbnb for days during travel... I personally preferred hotel with daily cleaning.
heavensea
post Oct 21 2016, 04:23 PM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Oct 21 2016, 04:21 PM)
my apartment only has TIME for the time being, much better pricing than maxis & unifi.
RM149 for 100mbps.
Those netflix and chromecast comes with TIME?
Internet is essential for Airbnb, important than laundry and cooking!
faizalmzain
post Oct 21 2016, 04:24 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Oct 21 2016, 04:22 PM)
Thanks for the tips bro, valid point.
Yeah I'll stay at hotel, can't tahan Airbnb for days during travel... I personally preferred hotel with daily cleaning.
i use robot vacuum to clean up my unit.
the new robot vacuum from xiaomi is quite nice. can control using mobile app some more, the specs are high end but the price is much cheaper than established brand with similar specs like iRobot, neato etc

This post has been edited by faizalmzain: Oct 21 2016, 04:25 PM
faizalmzain
post Oct 21 2016, 04:27 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Oct 21 2016, 04:23 PM)
Those netflix and chromecast comes with TIME?
Internet is essential for Airbnb, important than laundry and cooking!
nope,

i already subscribed to netflix and chromecast i got free when i bought nexus 6p phone which i no longer use since TV at home has google cast built in, so they are not specifically for airbnb listing,
you can use same netflix account for 2 devices, so i just setup one at home and another one in my airbnb unit.

This post has been edited by faizalmzain: Oct 21 2016, 04:28 PM
nookie188
post Oct 21 2016, 05:08 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Oct 21 2016, 04:24 PM)
i use robot vacuum to clean up my unit.
the new robot vacuum from xiaomi is quite nice. can control using mobile app some more, the specs are high end but the price is much cheaper than established brand with similar specs like iRobot, neato etc
sounds good...you don' t leave it there with the guests right? vacuuming is only part of the floor cleaning ..how about toilets, tables, chairs ,kitchen tops etc.
faizalmzain
post Oct 21 2016, 05:39 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(nookie188 @ Oct 21 2016, 05:08 PM)
sounds good...you don' t leave it there with the guests right?  vacuuming is only part of the  floor cleaning ..how about toilets, tables, chairs ,kitchen tops etc.
yes i don't live with guest, i clean up everything on my own, it's a just a SOHO unit, no need to hire cleaner.
furthermore if you clean regularly, you don't have to put much effort to clean up.
the floor part is done by robot, i only need to dust off furnitures, appliances etc and mop the bathroom.

good thing about robot vacuum is underneath your furniture, bed and sofa are clean up by it. those places are hard to reach if we do it manually.

This post has been edited by faizalmzain: Oct 21 2016, 09:20 PM
nookie188
post Oct 21 2016, 05:42 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Oct 21 2016, 05:39 PM)
yes i don't live with guest, i clean up everything on my own, it's a just a SOHO unit, no need to hire cleaner.
furthermore if you clean regularly, you don't have to put much effort to clean up.
the floor part is done by robot, i only need to dust off furniture's, appliances etc and mop the bathroom.

good thing about robot vacuum is underneath your furniture, bed and sofa are clean up by it. those places are hard to reach if we do it manually.
rclxms.gif you very rajin - semua sendiri buat smile.gif

so I guess no cooking allowed? the hood and hob I find is the hardest to clean esp with dirty tenants.
faizalmzain
post Oct 21 2016, 05:46 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(nookie188 @ Oct 21 2016, 05:42 PM)
rclxms.gif you very rajin - semua sendiri buat smile.gif

so I guess no cooking allowed? the hood and hob I find is the hardest to clean esp with dirty tenants.
cooking is allowed, so far no tenant cook, my unit just walking distance from various type of restaurants.
developer provides ceramic cooker.
i don't think tenant will cook rendang or sambal ikan bilis etc during their stay biggrin.gif
i don't provide blender, so they cannot cook complicated food.

perhaps only make scramble eggs or something simple like that. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by faizalmzain: Oct 21 2016, 05:47 PM
nookie188
post Oct 21 2016, 05:59 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Oct 21 2016, 05:46 PM)
cooking is allowed, so far no tenant cook, my unit just walking distance from various type of restaurants.
developer provides ceramic cooker.
i don't think tenant will cook rendang or sambal ikan bilis etc during their stay  biggrin.gif
i don't provide blender, so they cannot cook complicated food.

perhaps only make scramble eggs or something simple like that. biggrin.gif
haha...ok understood..

wishing you continuous success with your airbnb!
MoneyMaker prince
post Oct 21 2016, 07:48 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Oct 21 2016, 03:33 PM)
my goal is to subsidize my monthly loan installment and at the same time i can go and stay at that place whenever i want.
i don't expect to gain some money out of it.
Do you mind to send me your airbnb link for your unit?
heavensea
post Oct 21 2016, 08:12 PM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Oct 21 2016, 05:39 PM)
the floor part is done by robot, i only need to dust off furniture's, appliances etc and mop the bathroom.

gonna ask again, I so kepoh haha.. biggrin.gif
how much that robot cost?
you've jimat a lot without cleaner. thumbsup.gif

lesser cost = profits naik brows.gif
faizalmzain
post Oct 21 2016, 09:23 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Oct 21 2016, 08:12 PM)
gonna ask again, I so kepoh haha.. biggrin.gif
how much that robot cost?
you've jimat a lot without cleaner. thumbsup.gif

lesser cost = profits naik brows.gif
RM1400, but i don't buy the robot specifically for airbnb unit, it is mainly for my house actually.
maybe in the future i will put one permanently in my airbnb unit if the bookings are good enough.
it will be good for tenants that rent more than 3 days.
heavensea
post Oct 21 2016, 09:46 PM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Oct 21 2016, 09:23 PM)
RM1400, but i don't buy the robot specifically for airbnb unit, it is mainly for my house actually.
maybe in the future i will put one permanently in my airbnb unit if the bookings are good enough.
it will be good for tenants that rent more than 3 days.
just let them control the ROBOT? or it's automatic? blush.gif
mingyew
post Nov 9 2016, 06:16 PM

4,177 posts

airbnb owner out there, how do you receive your fund in most beneficial way / most save cost method?

1. airbnb > bank acc
2. airbnb > paypal > bank acc?
Aldo-Kirosu
post Jul 6 2023, 07:15 PM

662 posts

Curious, can Sovo type property operate Airbnb business?
PAChamp
post Jul 7 2023, 10:30 AM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(Aldo-Kirosu @ Jul 6 2023, 07:15 PM)
technically airbnb is commercial so it is possible but 2 authorities you have to get past, which is local authority ie. DBKL, MBPJ etc. and your management.
DragonReine
post Jul 7 2023, 11:14 AM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

On paper can, but subject to your building management house rules and local bylaws.
Aldo-Kirosu
post Jul 7 2023, 07:04 PM

662 posts

I see, thank, I though sovo are not allowed to stay over night, 10pm should leave. Haha
AskarPerang
post Jul 7 2023, 07:31 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

But then again, whether got enforcement or not is another story.

0.1274sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:48 AM