Military Thread V22
thpace
Sep 18 2016, 04:10 AM
QUOTE(DDG_Ross @ Sep 18 2016, 03:41 AM) any official sources on the exercise result? i dunno which one is true anymore i know there is selective journalism but this is pure blatant lie already  One thing is true though, the missile fail
thpace
Sep 19 2016, 08:46 AM
QUOTE(xtemujin @ Sep 19 2016, 07:57 AM) Actually the explanation is very amateurish, if target at 50km and radar at maximum range at 40km, does not make sense to fire it during a live firing for the president. Also have to note that there will also be China contractors on watch to check the live firing. It easier to say the fire control radar fail to lock on last minutes given that the ship is moving. Or the missile terminal guidance system faill to lock on and self destruct in mid flight due to no target aquired.
thpace
Sep 19 2016, 09:57 AM
QUOTE(periuk_api1209 @ Sep 19 2016, 08:53 AM) Or maybe the system or cpu hang.. Most likely communication module, signal drop or delays. It more common to have signal drop or delay than cpu hangs
thpace
Sep 19 2016, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(waja2000 @ Sep 19 2016, 09:30 AM) means indo navy no network datalink linked, so just depend own ship radar provide guidance. if look it is low cost ship, it should be possible. in other forum said C-705 indo spec without include GPS/baidu module. Even if dont have, it should have build in inertia guidance to at least guide it to last know position in case radar guidnace is lost before the missle terminal guidance switch on. Tak kan indo so cheapsake until inertia guidance module also want to omit.
thpace
Sep 19 2016, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Sep 19 2016, 10:18 AM) With over 30 years of officially being labelled as the Great Satan by the Muslim world, and the source of their grudge extending all the way back to 1945, they have no choice. I dunno, is inertial guidance module very common now? my brain still stuck in Cold War era where inertial guidance is "SO HIGH TECH"  I'm not talking about network link, which I assume is beyond the capability of these cheapo China antiship missiles. I'm saying it seems quite ridiculous that anyone would fire a guided missile without the onboard targeting system actually acquiring the target, which would be the case if it was out of range. I mean surely even if its some kind of cheapo targeting system, if the target is 50km out when it firing a 40km missile, there must be a big sign on the system that says OUT OF RANGE....  ....maybe it was written in Chinese  Now it just a electronic module. No longer those gimbal mounted systems. It quite common nowdays in case gps signal lost, inertia guidance take over temporary before gps signal is regain. Even civil aircraft have backup inertia guidance just in case gps spoil or etc
thpace
Sep 19 2016, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(waja2000 @ Sep 19 2016, 11:00 AM) C-705 have 140km range。 just see wiki, C-705 have Radar seeker too,but not sure how operator set the target. and what range of missile radar seeker. is posible Indo navy operater still lack of training ? The radar seeker if like majority anti'ship missiles will only activate near terminal phase to pinpoint and lock on targets. Similar to how excocet works. I doubt the tat small radar onboard the missile have ranges beyond 10km given it small size and power
thpace
Sep 24 2016, 02:37 AM
QUOTE(patt_sue @ Sep 23 2016, 05:51 PM) india still needs to pay 7.8b euro... Btw, lets compare to others deal. Egypt bought 24 units(plus package) for 5.2b euro ( 217m euro per units @ rm997m Qatar bought 24 units(plus package)for 6.3b euro (262m euro per unit @ rm 1.2b Comparing these deals, the amount still around rm1b per unit plus packages... just so you know.. TOT, local manufacturer including specialized suite requirements to client request does not come free
thpace
Sep 30 2016, 12:18 AM
QUOTE(Gregyong @ Sep 29 2016, 11:08 PM) lel. inkaming K2 vs Type 10 MBT argument  no need mention which is better definetely K2
thpace
Oct 6 2016, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(KYPMbangi @ Oct 6 2016, 06:18 PM) So the LMS is ~70m ship with rm200mil/usd50mil price cap include weapons etc ASM system maybe can scrap older Exocet/Otomat launcher from inventory DSME can also do it with that price range using the corvette design which is almsot similar to the gagah samudera i think, if the navy want fast and cheap, might as well get from outside we dont have a steady production line here
thpace
Oct 6 2016, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(Dreadstar @ Oct 6 2016, 09:36 PM) at recent lima .. boustead did offer scaled down kedah class for lms. why didnt we go there. it would be much cheaper because we already owned the meko design rite? or because gov didnt want boustead involving with another project till lcs complete? if we see the current kedah class.. it super packed with no room for substantial capability upgrade except for more peacetime patrol role.. though it should at least come with ASM capability QUOTE(azriel @ Oct 6 2016, 09:44 PM) cakap saja.. NURI now transfer to PUTM
thpace
Oct 8 2016, 06:38 PM
QUOTE(azriel @ Oct 8 2016, 11:25 AM) QUOTE(cunnilinguist @ Oct 8 2016, 05:44 PM) Any particular reason why RMAF didn't consider Mi-35 in the first place? funnly.. maintenace intensive. parts have to be ordered from russia given that period of time there does not really have a maintenance service center here all learned from MIG29
thpace
Oct 8 2016, 07:31 PM
QUOTE(Gregyong @ Oct 8 2016, 07:28 PM) AW Boleh, Airbus Bole...... Indian bole...... why not Maressia ?  because even in india, it so difficult to get parts till they have to do it their own with license from russia. even in russia, they does not enough part to cover their own forces airbus, is soon become part of the offset deal to get a MRO here
thpace
Oct 8 2016, 07:40 PM
QUOTE(Gregyong @ Oct 8 2016, 07:33 PM) Eurocopters already have MRO plant right next ro AgustaWestland in Subang  it was used to service the offshore industry heli so when the ec725 was awarded.. the mro is upgraded as part of offset deals
thpace
Oct 9 2016, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(yinchet @ Oct 9 2016, 02:23 AM) Got anti ship missile lar. It just that the ship is optimised for aid defence. Definally need to extend hull for more vls system. And i still wondering why our navvy have not install any ciws. Tat standard 40mmb gun is not a rapid fire gun anyway
thpace
Oct 9 2016, 12:57 PM
QUOTE(yinchet @ Oct 9 2016, 11:34 AM) I think lot of ppl underestimated the seaceptor performance. Currently its actual performance still classified probably its optimum performance yet to determine. CAMM performance is suspected to be in btw aster 15 and essm. CAMM-ER probably very close to aster 30. Besides the ship can pack more camm missile compare to aster solutions. I think mainly because the camm is marketed more of as as point defence system instead area defence. But since both are done by MBDA. I dont see a logistic or maintenance issue. Though i would rather go for a more common area defence platform like the aster system which have been installed widely. Camm still brand new
thpace
Oct 9 2016, 03:18 PM
QUOTE(waja2000 @ Oct 9 2016, 01:02 PM) i means many county mindef/Navy. for our navy maybe is budget. Millennium 30mm gun more expensive than MSI connon? but MSI 30mm gun advantage is we more experience/familiar using it. (culture) u will hear the sailor laughing if you say the msi gun is used for final air defence the answer i got was "tembak boat boleh lah.. tembak burung i guna machine gun lebih baik dari guna tu"
thpace
Oct 17 2016, 01:18 AM
QUOTE(BorneoAlliance @ Oct 16 2016, 09:22 PM) Sorry, China: Why the Japanese Navy is the Best in Asia National Interest Magazine is the writter writing a joke article? While it maybe be the most advance navy combantant in asia, technology edge itself is not decisive in battle of today.
thpace
Oct 19 2016, 12:31 AM
QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Oct 18 2016, 07:00 PM) name inside story 5 minute on ground footage.. 20min interview
thpace
Oct 20 2016, 12:39 AM
QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Oct 19 2016, 11:24 PM) this year no track come out
thpace
Nov 3 2016, 09:40 AM
QUOTE(azriel @ Nov 2 2016, 06:07 PM) That a nice medium tank look with the 105 cv ct turret Seem likr fnsd modify the turret to include optic from their atlay tank. Or it is pindad optioc fron leo2