Which console is better for long term use?, XBOX 360 or SONY PS3???

TSWMA
post Jan 28 2007, 02:29 PM, updated 19y ago

51 posts

Hello to all. smile.gif

As per my topic, which gaming console should I invest in? As you all know, these modern consoles are not cheap. I've read many reviews on both consoles but I am yet to be convinced.

Hence, if I'm going to invest in a new console, which one offers value for money?

At present, if I were to walk into a Games shop, I am more likely to get the XBOX 360 due to the fact that this console has been out since last year. Meaning to say that the XBOX360 console has been tried and tested.

PS3 still very new. But then again it has Blue Ray technology, whereas the XBOX 360 has the HD-DVD.

Anyway, I hope to get some constructive advice from you all.

This post has been edited by WMA: Jan 28 2007, 02:42 PM
stringfellow
post Jan 28 2007, 02:38 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

PS3 still very new. But then again it has Blue Ray technology which is better than HD-DVD.

You better edit that, before the HD-DVD fanatics starts swarming this thread with machineguns and witty one-liner remarks among themselves.

I have em both, but my opinions are always regarded as biased to a certain faction or camp, so i wouldnt bother replying here. This post is an advice so that you dont get swamped with the angry HD-DVD mob with that quoted post there.

Microsuck_360
post Jan 28 2007, 03:29 PM

241 posts

buy console that have ur fav games on it...if u like bluray buy PS3.. nod.gif
madmoz
post Jan 28 2007, 03:40 PM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(WMA @ Jan 28 2007, 02:29 PM)
Hello to all.  smile.gif

As per my topic, which gaming console should I invest in? As you all know, these modern consoles are not cheap. I've read many reviews on both consoles but I am yet to be convinced.

Hence, if I'm going to invest in a new console, which one offers value for money?

At present, if I were to walk into a Games shop, I am more likely to get the XBOX 360 due to the fact that this console has been out since last year. Meaning to say that the XBOX360 console has been tried and tested.

PS3 still very new. But then again it has Blue Ray technology, whereas the XBOX 360 has the HD-DVD.

This brings back memories... when faced between the choice of buying an GameCube and PS2 years ago, i plumped for the later cause it played dvds... then half a year later i went out and got a proper DVD player instead (as they became dirt cheap...) and a gamecube as well...

Just go for the games...
X.E.D
post Jan 28 2007, 03:42 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

Go for the games. As for HD media, wait. At the end of 2007 Bluray+HD DVD players (dual media) will prevail and they are the ones you should buy.
Mgsrulz
post Jan 28 2007, 09:50 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jan 28 2007, 03:40 PM)
This brings back memories... when faced between the choice of buying an GameCube and PS2 years ago, i plumped for the later cause it played dvds... then half a year later i went out and got a proper DVD player instead (as they became dirt cheap...) and a gamecube as well...

Just go for the games...
nice biggrin.gif
i hope there are still GCs in 2 years time...still yet to play MGS TTS cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by Mgsrulz: Jan 28 2007, 09:50 PM
ikanayam
post Jan 28 2007, 11:20 PM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

QUOTE(WMA @ Jan 28 2007, 01:29 AM)
Hello to all.  smile.gif

While the PS3 is tied to the Blu-Ray format, the 360 is not tied to the HD-DVD format, despite what some people here may try to say. If Blu-Ray wins the format war, microsoft will release a Blu-Ray drive for the 360. If it's a stalemate, we'll see a combo drive. At least you're not locked into paying for a very expensive drive which you may or may not end up using.
rhoyo
post Jan 29 2007, 12:48 AM

-
2,800 posts

if u like the specific game then get the console .
psyhun
post Jan 29 2007, 01:01 AM

62 posts

I suggest waiting for more......... maybe next year or something, when the PS3 has more games........ then only reconsider your choices.........

This post has been edited by psyhun: Jan 29 2007, 12:09 PM
michael9413
post Jan 29 2007, 10:31 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

well which game do you like most... RPG??? Shooting???
PS3 if you wan RPG...
XBOX for Shooting...

i think only this 2 catergories seperate the duo...
Sports same same... Fighting also same same la...
for $$$ i'll go for Xbox... it have quite numbers of games... which we can play online together...
coz PS3 still at RM2500 range... but xbox only at RM1600... u think lo...
TSWMA
post Jan 29 2007, 11:22 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Jan 28 2007, 11:20 PM)
While the PS3 is tied to the Blu-Ray format, the 360 is not tied to the HD-DVD format, despite what some people here may try to say. If Blu-Ray wins the format war, microsoft will release a Blu-Ray drive for the 360. If it's a stalemate, we'll see a combo drive. At least you're not locked into paying for a very expensive drive which you may or may not end up using.
Hopefully, there will be combo drive planned for the near future.

As it stands, I might just go for the XBOX360 due to the head start that Microsoft has over Sony.

Thanks to all for your comments. nod.gif

Mgsrulz
post Jan 29 2007, 11:23 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

the 360 has it's fair share of RPGs....
neoardi
post Jan 29 2007, 12:08 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(WMA @ Jan 29 2007, 11:22 AM)
Hopefully, there will be combo drive planned for the near future.

As it stands, I might just go for the XBOX360 due to the head start that Microsoft has over Sony. 

Thanks to all for your comments. nod.gif

Wait for the new version of 360 la (with HDMI and so on), OR wait a year or two MAYBE, M$ will release a new XBOX720. tongue.gif Hehehe. Joking la, but history may repeat or may not.
michael9413
post Jan 29 2007, 04:05 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

well we will see... another future Xbox 360 user.... hehe...

rx330
post Jan 30 2007, 10:49 AM

11,811 posts

xbox not my cup of tea:D
wcliang
post Jan 30 2007, 12:00 PM

585 posts

xbox 360 got famous 3ROD
babyakuma
post Jan 30 2007, 02:06 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(WMA @ Jan 28 2007, 02:29 PM)
Hello to all.  smile.gif

Go to gamefaqs.com click on 360 or PS3..
See the list of upcoming games for the consoles..
see anything you like there more.. then choose lor..
simple. thumbup.gif

Also see the game screenshots of those upcoming games to help you
decide better. At least you know the future of the games that
will either bring you happiness or sadness.. lol

michael9413
post Jan 30 2007, 03:05 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

great idea... haha... but some ppl not looking for that...
they wan good quality of screen/good amount of games...

Mgsrulz
post Jan 30 2007, 03:15 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 30 2007, 10:49 AM)
xbox not my cup of tea:D
just curious,why isnt it?
dont like the games?

or just dont like the console? tongue.gif

QUOTE(wcliang @ Jan 30 2007, 12:00 PM)
xbox 360 got famous 3ROD
it's only a matter of time till problems surface for the ps3 as well tongue.gif
and some already have problems.. sweat.gif sweat.gif
rx330
post Jan 30 2007, 03:36 PM

11,811 posts

the games la, console looks nice to me

DarkSaviour
post Jan 30 2007, 03:46 PM

336 posts

the main important things u gotta consider.. the games title itself, u got any game in ur mind tht u wanna play?

secondly u gonna purchase ori games or ahem? ahem sure u wan more more more more games in ur list

third.. 360 1 year ahead, ps3 juz started.. when the time u get bored with 360 the PS3 gonna be cheap and more games title...

finally.....

fourth) 360 owner.... tht can play every single nite in LIVE 360.... Live is mature now.. compare with sony ps3.... multiplayer kinda addicted tongue.gif

my answer to ur q simple and clear... buy 360 now wait till ps3 get mature... and voila...

I'm not fan boy of any console brand.. I'll choose the best option i got.. I'm not rich arse either... smile.gif

oh.. BTW HD or Bluray who care much? when the war is over... the player will be cheap like hell..... dude watching movie on ur console will spoil ur reader..

no offense lar juz my dua puluh sen

This post has been edited by DarkSaviour: Jan 30 2007, 03:47 PM
acougan
post Jan 30 2007, 04:07 PM

590 posts

the most important criteria is warranty tongue.gif tongue.gif

hopefully officially supported 360, ps3, wii will be on sale this year.
wcliang
post Jan 30 2007, 04:17 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 30 2007, 03:36 PM)
the games la, console looks nice to me
just curious, wat games u want?
rx330
post Jan 30 2007, 04:21 PM

11,811 posts

i wan free games!!!!!!!!!!!