> Has progress in technology halted?

SUStrewq
post Sep 8 2016, 01:19 AM, updated 10y ago

129 posts

Well maybe i should post this in rwd section. But has our progress in science and technology halted?
our technology has surely been advance a lot in the past 20-30 years.

But from what i see now, they are no breakthrough of technology. It is an improvement but not like a WOW, someone/some company has invented something that is advance ahead of a century or more. Most of them can only considered as an improvement of existing things.

eg:
- Pintu suka hati
- 4D pocket
- Time travel machine
- Torchlight that will absorb light (when turn on the torchlight, the entire area will become dark)
- Torchlight membesarkan dan mengecilkan barangan
- A machine that instant transfer object from one location to another (straight away membankruptkan pos laju and delivery service)
And bla bla bla

And siapa kata Our imagination is the only limit to what we can hope to have in the future

mempersiasuikan saja. i think above invention many people have heard of like few decades but until now no one is even near to success in building it,

This post has been edited by trewq: Sep 8 2016, 01:20 AM
SUStrewq
post Sep 8 2016, 01:32 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(arubin @ Sep 8 2016, 01:25 AM)
You do realize that all those 'tech' you listed are impossible devices that break the laws of physics, right? sweat.gif

But sure...just let me get round to inventing a robot cat with a magical pocket...I'll get right on it... thumbsup.gif
last time human believe we can fly? travel to moon? talk to another person in another part of the earth? No right. But it all is being acheived now.
do you believe in we can build a building using printer? Now we have 3D printer.

the law of physics is defined by human and human tend to make a lot of assumption and mistakes.
And whats more there is no 100% claim that it is impossible to invent a time machine and have instant transfer right?
SUStrewq
post Sep 8 2016, 01:48 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(AxeFire @ Sep 8 2016, 01:42 AM)
By 2060 we would have our first wrap drive
NASA already working on it
Fusion energy is in the works

Nano technology, gene therapy and new medical advanced that I don't understand but I hear of
VR consider breakthrough? I dun see how it benefits human daily life as compared to the item i mentioned above (althought it may posed massive security issue as well).
Oh ya talking about medical. Until now still no cure for AIDS and HIV. Now summore Zika inkambing. Its more beneficial than those bla bla bla medical advanced.
SUStrewq
post Sep 8 2016, 01:59 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(arubin @ Sep 8 2016, 01:46 AM)
I can tell you right now that a time machine is fundamentally impossible.

You can 'travel' to the future to a certian extent once technology advances far enough by temporarily residing in a high gravity area. Interstellar got that bit right.

Travel back to the past? That's a definite no. I mean you can setup a wormhole but the physics behind it is improbable to the point of it just being impossible altogether. You won't see it in your lifetime. Nor will your kids or your grandkids. Or great-grandkids.

And no, in this case there are no assumptions or mistakes. What you want is flat out impossible outside of comics.
Stephen hawking once say things cannot make itself impossible. If one can travel to the past, they can alter the history and does makes the thing happening now will not be happen. So he concluded that traveling to the past is impossible.

I agree with him in certain way but dont forget that they are a lot of scientist making debut on this particular subject.

What i rather believe is the following debut:
Time travel to the past, if at all possible, may only go back as far as the first time machine. Since the past of our civilization lacks a time machine, it is immutable, whereas the past of more advanced civilizations may be mutable.

This post has been edited by trewq: Sep 8 2016, 02:00 AM
SUStrewq
post Sep 8 2016, 02:12 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(arubin @ Sep 8 2016, 02:04 AM)
That's not a new theory lar. That's the same as the wormhole concept. As in you can only travel back as far as when the wormhole was first created. You can go read up on that.

The energy required to make a wormhole however, along with the space needed to make one that would allow you to travel back years...yeah...that's way out of our league.

Stephen Hawking also talked about this already:
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/moslive/ar...me-machine.html
Einstein also say nothing can travel faster than speed of light wat.
But now already discovered right particles that can move faster than speed of light.
i wonder our textbook got update or not
SUStrewq
post Sep 8 2016, 02:13 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(papangames @ Sep 8 2016, 02:11 AM)
There are plenty of scientific and technology breakthrough happening this year alone, TS but probably isnt as mainstream because everyone is focusing on trump, terrorists and the world's economics
i am aware of that but from what i see it is consider as IMPROVEMENT of what we currently have, not breakthrough......

0.0170sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:06 PM