Photography to videography transition questions

TSDecky
post Sep 7 2016, 09:00 PM, updated 10y ago

1,190 posts

Hi guys! I've been taking pictures for quite awhile now and would describe myself as sort of an intermediate when it comes to all things photography, but am nearly clueless when it comes to videography.

As I'm planning to pick up some video skills, but I was wondering if anyone can direct me to where I can find resources to pick up the basics.

Some stuff I want to know about...:

1. How do you acquire focus? I can't seem to zoom in while recording using my 6D, so I was wondering if I have to download something to get the feature.
2. How do I learn about the file quality and codec stuff? Frankly I'm pretty unsure what S-LOGII means or what it means for a camera to have a good codec and a bad codec.
3. What are some good YouTube users with good guides for beginners when it comes to using software to process these stuff?

Actually answering (3) would be the best bet. There seems to be many channels out there giving tutorials, but I'd really appreciate it if someone could suggest some users with good quality videos/tutorials!

Thanks a bunch!
sitescope
post Sep 8 2016, 11:05 AM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Sep 7 2016, 09:00 PM)
Hi guys! I've been taking pictures for quite awhile now and would describe myself as sort of an intermediate when it comes to all things photography, but am nearly clueless when it comes to videography.

As I'm planning to pick up some video skills, but I was wondering if anyone can direct me to where I can find resources to pick up the basics.

Some stuff I want to know about...:

1. How do you acquire focus? I can't seem to zoom in while recording using my 6D, so I was wondering if I have to download something to get the feature.
2. How do I learn about the file quality and codec stuff? Frankly I'm pretty unsure what S-LOGII means or what it means for a camera to have a good codec and a bad codec.
3. What are some good YouTube users with good guides for beginners when it comes to using software to process these stuff?
Actually answering (3) would be the best bet. There seems to be many channels out there giving tutorials, but I'd really appreciate it if someone could suggest some users with good quality videos/tutorials!

Thanks a bunch!
1. If u can't zoom, u can zoom in video software later

2. No need to learn, video software will auto convert for u.
Just choose 1080p / 720p with mp4 / mkv then u're good to go

3. I'm using PowerDirector, PinnacleStudio n SonyVegas
U can learn frm their website. Lot of tutorial.
DaddyO
post Sep 8 2016, 03:44 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Sep 8 2016, 11:05 AM)
1. If u can't zoom, u can zoom in video software later

2. No need to learn, video software will auto convert for u.
Just choose 1080p / 720p with mp4 / mkv then u're good to go

3. I'm using PowerDirector, PinnacleStudio n SonyVegas
U can learn frm their website. Lot of tutorial.
Errrrr what? If you want to be actual videographer not candid video shooter, TS need to know about s-log (something like high dynamic video for grading) and codec (efficient compression to reduce video size).

I cant give video advice cause im not into video, but dont give wrong info lah.
jerren
post Sep 8 2016, 07:31 PM

888 posts

1. [zoom in while recording] Sony's able to do so but not Canon's. what i can say it's depends on ur judgement and eyes when it comes to focusing in shooting video and a lil help of the function "Peaking" u'll need Magic Lantern for Canon
2. S-LOGII is from Sony, canon' is C-LOG, and V-LOG from Panasonic, pls go google and read, it will be more detail. Same as CODEC, but most DSLR are using H.264, bitrates is one of the factor as well.
3. go watch a lot [i know this doesnt really helping in answering ur question] coz there are no one channel which cover everything, perhaps youtube: DSLRguide is a good place for u to start with

This post has been edited by jerren: Sep 8 2016, 07:40 PM
BOTAK_WAI
post Sep 8 2016, 09:05 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,166 posts

newbie could start with Sony Vegas. Pretty easy to learn.

after master it then u can learn adobe premier and after effect for more advance effect.

you need to know some basic like codec and frame rate first.

0.0144sec    0.83    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:46 PM