QUOTE(weissPC @ Sep 7 2016, 11:48 PM)
It's not that HLA is not good, if it's not good Bank Negara won't allow it to be sold.
It's just that this endowment plan (a type of long term and forced savings plan) is being misrepresented by the agent or misunderstood by TS as a high-return, short term savings or investment.
QUOTE(MeToo @ Sep 7 2016, 11:55 PM)
We shouldnt be totally biased like some ppl who thinks "HLA must be crap crap crap"

QUOTE(MeToo @ Sep 8 2016, 12:55 AM)
If I get approached for a 20% ROI... I'll walk away... if its too good to be true... then it usually is. Heck 20% ROI is what i'm averaging on my commodities in the last 5 years... and that comes with a shitload of risk..
QUOTE(lukenn @ Sep 8 2016, 06:33 AM)
dasecret this comment so much win. #winliao
lukenn, Why you tag me? Want me to give grandmother story again is it?
I think HLA built such a bad reputation for themselves, we basically charge them guilty unless proven otherwise. I hope your agent could provide that proof, I really do. But at the same time, I seriously doubt it
Story telling time
Once I got a call from HLA agent, telling me that for RM10k premium I'll get guaranteed returns of RM2k. I told him straight off that this is grossly misleading to say you have a FD like product that pays 20%
Guess what he said? He say I didn't listen properly, he never say 20%... he just say for 10k annual premium you get 2k back every year.....
As to the product approved by BNM means must be good..... that's what agents always want us to believe. To be fair, BNM did a lot to protect consumer interests, last time if you surrender in the first 2 years you got no value back at all.... but at the same time, BNM need to balance that with the financial institutions' interests. If banks collapse who kena? So they have to make sure the banks n insurance companies don't collapse as well... that means they must make profit
BNM is not God, even if we want them to be, they do what they can within their power