HLA : Prime Wealth, Not so bad?

TSMeToo
post Sep 7 2016, 05:56 PM, updated 10y ago

9,333 posts

A HLA agent met up with me and she was pitching this Prime Wealth plan from HLA LINKY for more info.

Ofcourse it was not a 100% super honest presentation, I had to cut thru a lot of marketing gimmick to get to the nitty gritty.

Actually it doesnt look so bad... as long as you can withdraw the money out FAST and not leave it lingering for 30 years getting stupidly low returns.

She presented that the payment is only 6 years, by 9th years we can withdraw everything.

A quick calculation I did shows that the returns outstrip the FD for sure... but I wish to double check if I missed anything... if confimr can withdraw everything WITHOUT penalty by the 9th years.. I might go for it.... 40~50k forced savings per annum sounds decent..

TSMeToo
post Sep 7 2016, 06:10 PM

9,333 posts

Bonus is guaranteed.

Dividen is guaranteed (but its a flat figure, they wont put it in percentage format)

Compounding interest is not guaranteed as far as I know.
TSMeToo
post Sep 7 2016, 06:23 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Sep 7 2016, 06:19 PM)
Website says otherwise wor

Potential financial gain: You may receive potential upside in the form of yearly cash dividend and a terminal dividend that is payable upon surrender or maturity of your policy. These dividends are non-guaranteed.

And whilst you get 20% of annual premium guaranteed, that amount is only payable to you when you surrender right? Can you take that 20% at any point by forgo-ing the 5.25% interest?
Hmm.. good point, will double check with Agent again.

As for the 20%, I dont mind putting it in and collecting at the end of the "supposed" 9 yr tenure.
TSMeToo
post Sep 7 2016, 09:58 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Sep 7 2016, 09:00 PM)
Haha if you think it's so straight forward then all also join in like you already
True. If AIA has something with better returns I'm all ears. biggrin.gif
TSMeToo
post Sep 7 2016, 10:00 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 7 2016, 07:26 PM)
a simple (but might not be correct) excludes (non guaranteed dividends)
20% is based on annual premium paid
the 20% of 100k = 20k.
after paying 3 yrs x 100k = 300k + 40k bonus = 340K
you get 20k
= 5.88%
after paying 4 yrs x 100k = 400k + 60K bonus = 460K
you get 20k
= 4.34%
after paying 5yrs x 100K = 500K + 80k bonus = 580K
you get 20k
= 3.44%
after paying 6yrs x 100k = 600k + 100k bonus = 700k
you get 20k
= 2.85%
~ 7 yrs = yr capital 600k + (20k x 6yrs) = 720k
you get 20k
= 2.77%
~ 8 yrs = yr capital 600k + (20k x 7yrs) = 740k
you get 20k
= 2.7%
end of 9 yrs 780K
you get 20k
= 2.56%
I realise it's a reducing return scheme hence my interet to withdraw ASAP. Ofcourse she was going on that marketing spiel of investing for long term crap.

It's at the end of 8 yr cause u supposedly can withdraw in the 9th year.

Also that calculation is correct if there is no dividen/interest..... need to clarify with her on the 2 items.

This post has been edited by MeToo: Sep 7 2016, 10:01 PM
TSMeToo
post Sep 7 2016, 10:47 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 7 2016, 10:42 PM)
Bro, use IRR calculation to assess an investment with periodical cash inflow and cash outflow

Don't need to see what are the returns rate 5.25%, bonus, dividend etc

Your cash inflow and outflow is as follows :

Year 0  -RM100k
Year 1  -RM100k
Year 2  -RM100k
Year 3  -RM100k
Year 4  -RM100k
Year 5  -RM100k
Year 6  RM0
Year 7  RM0
Year 8  RM0
Year 9  +RM812k

The IRR is 4.7152%

http://www.calkoo.com/?lang=3&page=26

The calculation will be affected by :

1. Your "guarantee" on bonus and dividend - whether they are fixed or variable
2. If you can withdraw without penalty in 9th year

If the above calculation is correct (please check the timing of cashflow), then 4.7% is not that a fantastic returns. It fits roughly in with a lot of those Saving Plans which force you to save XXX amt a year, by the year Y, you get ZZZ amount. Considering there are still some variable dividend which they don't commit to you, and that might affect your returns.

Invest in stock market like Reits can get more % for that.

But IMO, these types of saving plans are best for those who have no discipline and spend all their money whenever they see balance in their bank. It is a force saving.
812k was my calculation without factoring in the "compound interest" they are also including into the mix...

1. Apparently the bonus is guaranteed... the dividen she gave the impression it was, will re-clarify
2. That was my understanding, 9th year can exit.

As for equities etc getting better returns, sure, this is for diversifying the portfolio... i cant be putting everything in shares/commodities/properties..
TSMeToo
post Sep 7 2016, 10:49 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Sep 7 2016, 10:39 PM)
Unless she is doing it for free, a significant chunk of your profits would have gone into her commission(s).

Leaving not much for you, but you feeling great because you don't know any better.

Question is: is she doing it for free?
Strange way of lookign at it...

Your shares brokers... my commodities futures brokers... they doing it for free?

its about alternatives way of getting better returns, if she is getting HALF of my profit but its still gives me the BEST ROI, I'm still game.
TSMeToo
post Sep 7 2016, 10:55 PM

9,333 posts

Wish to thank everyone who gave their thoughts so far, this is the reason I open this post, to get differing opinions on this scheme.

Lots of good point for me to ponder/weight upon! thumbsup.gif
TSMeToo
post Sep 7 2016, 11:01 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Sep 7 2016, 10:58 PM)
MeToo if u r looking on returns and if you can "force" urself to save, u can look for non-insurance related investment. only consider insurance if you need protection of your assets smile.gif
Hmm... I'm currently balancing commodities (main portion), a sprinkling of shares (only blue chips/low risk dividen stuff), and properties (long term not flipper).

Ofcourse part of the $$ would be in FD, for emergency, THIS is the part of the money that is not working... sweat.gif
TSMeToo
post Sep 7 2016, 11:19 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(weissPC @ Sep 7 2016, 11:17 PM)
TS, 812k "was your calculation" and not the amount she told you right? Yes, she can say bonus and dividend is guaranteed but confirmed the surrender value on 9th year is not RM812k, get her to show it to you in black and white (official quotation).

Yes, on the 9th year you can withdraw but confirm you won't get RM812k. Ask her.

At best you can only get back your principal on 9th year provided you don't take out the bonus and dividend.
Point noted, pretty sure it was implied I can take everything out by 9th year. But its a good idea to ask point blank

This post has been edited by MeToo: Sep 7 2016, 11:19 PM
TSMeToo
post Sep 7 2016, 11:29 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 7 2016, 11:00 PM)
Ya, use the IRR calculator to estimate the cash inflow and outflow (add in the additional compound interest), then you can compare whether the plan suits you

You have already made investment in shares, commodity, properties. You already have some higher risk stuff in your portfolio. If I were you, I will put in FD/bonds for saver investment to balance the risk

Because this type of investment tie you in for years. It is not as flexible as FD or bond funds.

But at the end of the day, it is your pick.
Was hopping this would be the 2nd layer after my FD/Emergency fund. Not going to dump 100k la.. probably 40/50 annual more than sufficient..
TSMeToo
post Sep 7 2016, 11:34 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Sep 7 2016, 11:31 PM)
Why do you even need to ask whether have to ask point blank?

What about the points you forgot to ask?
I'm pretty sure you misread the post.
TSMeToo
post Sep 7 2016, 11:51 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Sep 7 2016, 11:40 PM)
Nope.

Just put your emergency funds into FD, instead of introducing it into a pointless thread.

Like HLA is good or not? Everyone have already told you it's not good, so what the heck are you trying to prove?
Gee... your assumptions is kinda getting out of hand, for awhile there I thougth it was /k

When did I ask if HLA is good or not, its the plan not the company.

I dont recall everyone telling me its "bad". I saw points/suggestion/clarification, perhaps you should look beyond your negative self?

Edit : Oh if you think its a pointless thread, then arent you being pointless to continue posting here?

This post has been edited by MeToo: Sep 7 2016, 11:52 PM
TSMeToo
post Sep 7 2016, 11:55 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Sep 7 2016, 11:52 PM)
Endowment are meant for long term savings for your retirement / children education whereby you've set aside an amount for it to grow steadily without high risk of losing the money.

It's not your skim cepat kaya as portrayed by insurance agents.
Well 9 years aint exactly skim cepat kaya la...

And yes, the way she sells it was like hitting the lotto.... hence why i took some of the points to sit down and look thru it..

Anyway, its good to look thru everythign that's not instantly a ponzi...

We shouldnt be totally biased like some ppl who thinks "HLA must be crap crap crap" tongue.gif
TSMeToo
post Sep 8 2016, 12:55 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Sep 8 2016, 12:35 AM)
hmm.gif that is true, if the plan are fully explained and buyer are "wise" to understand what that plan is all about......most of the time, if was the "seller" that make it so simple to project the high ROIs to get attention of the passerby.....
had been approached by similar offer in hypermarts/shopping centers....they would just tell you can get 20% pa ....you not interested meh?
If I get approached for a 20% ROI... I'll walk away... if its too good to be true... then it usually is. Heck 20% ROI is what i'm averaging on my commodities in the last 5 years... and that comes with a shitload of risk..
TSMeToo
post Sep 8 2016, 01:16 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Sep 8 2016, 01:11 AM)
nod.gif the "high risk high return, low risk low return" is always true... laugh.gif
This I agree...

My highest risk investment.. SportToTo has yet to yield any returns....
TSMeToo
post Sep 8 2016, 10:26 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 8 2016, 08:41 AM)
rclxub.gif  doh.gif
QUOTE(lifebalance @ Sep 8 2016, 09:41 AM)
Lol contradicting statement
Um... I'm left to wondering if you guys are really so blur, or you just wanna take one line out of a conversation and put in your own interpretation hmm.gif

This post has been edited by MeToo: Sep 8 2016, 10:28 AM
TSMeToo
post Sep 8 2016, 10:34 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Imleonardlim @ Sep 8 2016, 09:53 AM)
can I say something about this?

First thing first, the agent giving the piece of paper as u uploaded to show us is already a mistake. It can be terminated her code if u complaint to HLA HQ at pj city 0376501818. This is fxxking serious misleading issue.

Secondly, no doubt u all are very "kin yao" to calculate the return, ROI, irr, etc... But don't forget insurance is not investment. U just named it as insurance. That is no any above mentioned terms in insurance plan. But "surrender value" or cash value always the key of myth. (This is not ur fault, u will thinking in this way is because the presentation of the agent. And the material she give u. It's just a marketing tactic)

Insurance company can be insert fancy, fantastic, fabulous features. But end of the day. When u surrender the policy. Company will only pay u according to the surrender value. Of course it will be higher or lesser. It is depending to the performance of their invested fund.

When come to this. U can always have the alternative way to check where insurance company parking their fund. Which fund, what fund, through which assets management which channel. When u can do it yourself. Why u rely to the insurance company do it for u? And charge u a service fees, allocation fees, policy fees blablabla

U all at the previous 3 pages discussed about commodity, futures, options, stocks etc etc.. I believe u are alrdy expert to handle ur own money into market and speculate it.

If u want to diversify ur risk. U want a back up plan. Yes. U can go for this saving policy. If u still aggressive mode to Korek money. Go learn forex trading.

Remember insurance company origin business is to take care ur risk. Janji u will to pay the premium. They will take ur risk. But conclusion HLA prime wealth is a good saving plan among so many insurance company.

AiA have one more plan pay 5 years only. 3rd year break even. 5th year surrender alrdy making money. Pro rated like 3.++ % per annum. (Same to fd? But don't forgot the protection as well) banks FD don't give u protection.  No agent approach this plan because commission is only 3.9%

What a joke
Thanks for your feedback, some good points there.

Actually to be fair there was no mention about any insurance part.

As for Forex... i would say that is the number one do or die investment (maybe after Toto la), I only do one thing on forex.. that is to bet AGAINST the Ringgit... whenever it strengthened, I have a tendency to short it. Ofcourse due to it being a lame currency... the buy/sell spread is huge at like 50~150 points.. so its pretty tricky as well. But thus far that's the only one currency i consistently win on.

At the end of the day, as many gurus here have pointed out, I have several items that I need to re-clarify in more concrete terms with the Agent, which is what I expected as the initial talk was to gather some numbers and run some quick numbers to see if its still worth the time for a second chat.

Oh as for the excel sheet, it was my poor attempt at putting everything on a quick piece of sheet and cutting pass all the long explaination etc blush.gif
TSMeToo
post Sep 8 2016, 10:37 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Sep 8 2016, 09:21 AM)
lukenn, Why you tag me? Want me to give grandmother story again is it?

I think HLA built such a bad reputation for themselves, we basically charge them guilty unless proven otherwise. I hope your agent could provide that proof, I really do. But at the same time, I seriously doubt it

Story telling time
Once I got a call from HLA agent, telling me that for RM10k premium I'll get guaranteed returns of RM2k. I told him straight off that this is grossly misleading to say you have a FD like product that pays 20%
Guess what he said? He say I didn't listen properly, he never say 20%... he just say for 10k annual premium you get 2k back every year.....  ranting.gif

As to the product approved by BNM means must be good..... that's what agents always want us to believe. To be fair, BNM did a lot to protect consumer interests, last time if you surrender in the first 2 years you got no value back at all.... but at the same time, BNM need to balance that with the financial institutions' interests. If banks collapse who kena? So they have to make sure the banks n insurance companies don't collapse as well... that means they must make profit

BNM is not God, even if we want them to be, they do what they can within their power
Guess what... same marketing spiel here... the bonus for 100k deposit 20K... i say.. u mean 20%... she goes "nonono... its 20k!" Hmmm.... hmm.gif

But at the end of the day, no one will dispute the insurance is out there to make money for THEMSELVES.. and not us... we can just try to get the best deal avail;able out there.

I'm still open to other alternative for something along the lines of 5~10 yrs, safe 'investment' with decent returns. Bro AIA have shown me something which i will run some numbers and compare.
TSMeToo
post Sep 8 2016, 10:38 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Sep 8 2016, 10:30 AM)
1) insurance is LONG LONG TERM. 9 years is 'short' in insurance sense. so, sad to say, agent has mislead you (the minute i saw 9 years, i know)

2) agents are gonna sell you like it's REALLY good.
Its not an insurance, I didnt think there was any mention of protection of big big payout incase I fell of a building or something. More like if I die.. they guarantee to return the principal...

0.0270sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:47 AM