Yokohama Advan Fleva V701, S-Drive replacement

jaycee1
post Apr 19 2017, 11:15 AM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Feb 18 2017, 11:32 AM)
Hmm that's a bit odd, coz you said the sidewall is already softer yet you still need to run with even softer dampers. What's your tire pressure? Did you play around with that? But anyway if based on you finding, then this tire might still be suitable for me coz my car is also still soft even though already using TRD shocks & Tanabe springs with some UR bars.  laugh.gif  Currently on CSC5 fr/CSC3 rr and they barely squeal at all.  biggrin.gif
Old Goh Tong touge is bumpy. Cars set up with softer dampers can usually run quicker.

My lightened Satria is running on stock dampers and it out paces most stiffly sprung coil over cars in the tight sections....being softly sprung and dampered, it also allows me to do "gutter runs" at the often broken pavement sides at off camber turns, off loading the inside tire so I can "makan" into the turn without it catching.

My guess if he softened it even more, he will find more grip. That said, more grip does not mean more speed. How and when you use the extra grip is key. To each their own I suppose.

The issue here is likely confidence not grip. The tyre with stiffer sidewall tend to give a more immediate response. The slightly worn out S Drive will also have less thread squirm than the full depth Fleva. I had this problem even with the big block Parada S ( 2 sets) when they were new (they also had soft sidewalls), they were numb and imprecise AF until it worn down to 50%. They were also out rightly dangerous in the damp.

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Mar 15 2017, 10:40 AM)
Yeah the comparison is not quite representative coz your previous S.Drive was wider and much thinner which can give the impression of much better response and grip. I'm surprised if the new Fleva is really not better than the outdated S.Drive, but if it's really is then this Fleva is not that good or comparatively much weaker than others of similar category. Good to know though that at least it's good in the wet.
I am surprised as well. The last S drive (1st gen, maybe the 2nd gen were better) I tried was garbage. Expensive, Luckluster in the dry, horrible in the wet. Noisy. Even Kumho's cheap KU31 worked better.

Looking at this Fleva with interest. After going through 2 sets of PS3s down to the belts with no complaints (and 3 sets of chapalang Falkens, Nang Kangs, and Achillies - the Last 2 blowing up on the highway), perhaps it is a a time to change brands again. Just need a touring tyre with good aquaplaning resistance at highway speeds with a sporting twist. PS4 is too expensive now, and the RE003 a little too hardcore, so maybe the Fleva and V12e may be prime candidates.

0.0324sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:16 PM