Yokohama Advan Fleva V701, S-Drive replacement

19 Degree South
post Nov 21 2017, 09:26 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(Bourne @ Nov 14 2017, 05:47 PM)
I found out about ED Tayar on Mudah actually. I was interested in the Achilles ATR because it was cheaper but the guy said some driver said it was noisy. The wife prefer the new set to be quieter. Her car and she's paying for it so we went with Fleva.

If you look at Mudah there's a shop in Setapak that has 205/50/16 for RM310 but last month's ad so not sure if still in stock.

https://www.mudah.my/Yokohama+Advan+Fleva+V...re-51954410.htm

Will write an early review in a bit
Atr 2 is not noisy at all! The tyre shop fellow was trying to sell you a higher price tyre so that he can make more! It's perfectly ok for a low profile tyre! I can tell you that it didn't lose out much compared to high end tyre like the conti csc5! 170 km/h and it sticks to the road like glue! laugh.gif
19 Degree South
post Nov 21 2017, 09:29 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(kurty @ Nov 21 2017, 09:19 AM)
seem that this V701 is really a good tyre, too bad, i can't find any shop selling this in johor.

I'm looking at 225/45/17 or 225/50/17

was quoted toyo NE03 around RM340 + GST, but read the review, NE03 seems to be more suitable for smaller car.
Neo series are more suitable for lady driver ler! 300 plus might as well get T1R! Now made in my Liao!
19 Degree South
post Nov 21 2017, 08:10 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Nov 21 2017, 07:59 PM)
Yes, the CPC2 has more cuts especially on the side blocks which help water evacuation further but as I mentioned will be at the expense of dry grip especially during hard cornering as the weight transfer relies on the shoulder blocks to maintain grip. That's why UHP tires mostly have bigger outer blocks for this purpose.
Surprising also that the CPC2 is noisy, it's supposed to be comfort mid-range tires after all! In that case other than good aquaplaning resistance, this tire actually does not have much else to offer, isn't it?

Out of your choices, no brainer go for the PS3 if still available though. It's UHP tire with excellent aquaplaning resistance (you can see the tread cuts also quite a lot especially for a UHP class tire), should be matching if not better than the CPC2 in this regard, yet it should trounce the CPC2 in dry performance.  The main weakness of PS3 is it will chip a bit more when driven hard.

Kumho, I would stay way from it coz I never heard any good reviews or feedback form ANY Kumho tires! For Korean tires Hankook is top dog, much better than Kumho or Nexen.

Pirelli P1, that's just entry level comfort tire, maybe similar to CPC2 or even lower! If you want to go for Pirelli mid-range tire, at least go for the P7 (but not sure if available for your size).

V701, got mixed reviews, some here says decent but pro reviews in Europe says it's bad especially in the wet! So I'm not sure about this, but my guess it's not better than the V12 Evo2, maybe worse actually and the price is more expensive too.

Have you checked out the Goodyear F1D5 though if it's available for your size? If it is, then this should come second to the PS3. I've used this before and pretty happy with them, but it also has chipping like PS3 when driven hard.
Hankook thread pattern is very nice!
19 Degree South
post Nov 21 2017, 08:13 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Nov 21 2017, 08:11 PM)
You should've gotten those instead of that ATR Sport 2!  smile.gif
Can consider for my 205! laugh.gif
19 Degree South
post Nov 21 2017, 09:16 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Nov 21 2017, 08:27 PM)
Owning expensive cars then should be able to afford much better tires than just Achilles!
Hahah....as long it served its purpose la bro! I am looking for 'value for money' type of tyre!
19 Degree South
post Nov 22 2017, 10:10 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Nov 21 2017, 10:55 PM)
How much did you pay for those Achilles?
Rm270 for,the 225 and Rm360 for the 245. Bal and alignment all in! 07 stock!
19 Degree South
post Nov 22 2017, 02:32 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Nov 22 2017, 02:28 PM)
Bro that is actually not as cheap as you think! Relatively that's only like a bit cheaper than the V12 Evo2 but the V12 Evo2 performance is much more proven. So IMHO that's not really value for money either. For that price you can actually also get Dunlop DZ102 which is probably similar performance too but at least from much more reputable brand and surely more reliable.

https://www.mudah.my/Tayar+Baru+Hankook+V12...17-59818346.htm
https://www.mudah.my/Tayar+245+40+17+hankoo...o2-58630311.htm
https://www.mudah.my/Tayar+BARU+225+45+17+D...ER-60105535.htm
Lol! Testing la! You were right, should have taken the hankook! laugh.gif
19 Degree South
post Dec 2 2017, 08:20 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(Bourne @ Dec 2 2017, 08:15 PM)
haha now we know! But the wife was happy and is still happy with the Fleva, I probably want to put the Achilles in my weekend car. The value for money is unbelievable for the ATR
I just fitted 4 pieces two weeks ago! Quieter than my previous CSC 5! I am happy! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif Maybe I will fit this tyre again for my the other two cars! laugh.gif

0.0321sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:21 PM