All About Sabah V2, The Land Below The Wind

Fortezan
post Aug 27 2017, 05:37 PM

474 posts

Has anyone rent a car in KK and drove all the way to tip of Borneo in Kudat? Did you get charged extra for long distance travel? I noticed in my car rental invoice there's a RM150 surcharge for car driven 150km from Kota Kinabalu, is this standard practice among all car rental companies?
Fortezan
post Aug 28 2017, 09:43 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Aug 28 2017, 09:13 AM)
im not sure abt that
ppl have been renting cars and driving them to kundasang ranau anyway, doesn't seem to have any problem
Ok, thanks for the feedback, a few reputable car rental companies which I checked (those with website), majority seems to have mileage policy such as max 200km/day

Fortezan
post Sep 5 2017, 03:01 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ Aug 30 2017, 01:13 PM)
Thanks for the recommendation! There's package for kinabalu park, poring hot spring & mari mari cultural village. Looking good for me.

That aside, I have emailed BORNEO REEF WORLD SDN BHD and they quoted me some activity pricing.

a) Parasailing RM100 per person / RM180 for twin para
b) Jetski for 2 pax at RM200.00 (30 minutes)
c) Seawalking RM250.00 per person
d) Discover Scuba Dive RM280.00 per person
e) Flying Fish at RM75 per person (Min 3 person)
f) Banana Boat at RM40 per person (Min 4 person)
g) Kayak RM30 per person

They have other package that includes lunch+boat transfer, adding a couple of bucks above this pricing.

Is there any cheap accommodation/dorm available on the island? I'm planning to spend 2 days on the islands. Or should I just stay in KK and take the boat transfer for 2 days? I'm going on solo so budget is quite a concern. Not gonna spend a couple hundred bucks for a night in a resort to stay by myself  icon_idea.gif

Current itinerary
Day 1
Flight reach around noon, check in, hang around city, get use to transport and etc

Day 2
Scuba Diving + Sapi Island Day Trip

Day 3
Island Trip Day 2 at Gaya+Manukan+Mamutik / Mari Mari Cultural Park (Which one better? Mari Mari Cultural park kinda expensive for a 4 hour tour)

Day 4
Kinabalu Park & Poring Hot Spring + Desa Farm

Day 5
Morning hang around, after lunch go airport
For Day 3, if you have not been to any cultural village before maybe you can visit, but personally I would prefer Manukan & Mamutik (btw Gaya is consider private eco resort so only hotel guest are allowed on the island if I'm not mistaken). I did something similar in my Sabah trip which is visit Sapi one day and Manukan + Mamutik on another day. Maybe you can keep Mari Mari as backup in case it rains on that day
Fortezan
post Sep 5 2017, 04:13 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ Sep 5 2017, 03:54 PM)
Thanks for the recommendation! Did you stay on the mainland and take the boat transfer for 2nd day island tour?
Yes, I stayed in KK city throughout my trip, afterall, the boat ride is only about 15 mins to the islands
Fortezan
post Sep 30 2017, 04:39 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(eligible @ Sep 30 2017, 03:50 PM)
Anyone can recommend where can I rent a car?

Prefer a place with good review and feedbacks. As well as affordable price.

Planning to travel to k.k.
Try this: http://www.bestborneocarrental.com/

I rent a car from them in my recent trip to KK, quite satisfied with the service
Fortezan
post Oct 1 2017, 05:03 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(eligible @ Oct 1 2017, 02:18 PM)
thanks mate. what car did you used? I'm planning to go by 2 person
I got a Bezza, the car is quite new although it might feel a bit underpower if you driving up to Kinabalu park
Fortezan
post Nov 17 2017, 10:39 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(kikimlee @ Nov 16 2017, 03:52 PM)
bring passport to sabah
No need passport lah, IC will do
Fortezan
post Dec 13 2017, 03:52 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Dec 13 2017, 02:53 PM)
peak of borneo
Peak of Borneo? I've only heard of Tip of Borneo, I thought you are referring to Mount Kinabalu...LOL

Fortezan
post Dec 13 2017, 04:00 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Dec 12 2017, 05:47 PM)
Hi all, will be making a trip to KK next week, with plans to head to Kundasang and Kudat. Planning to rent a car for the 2 of us, but a bit undecided on what car to take.

Friends have advised us that it's better to go with a 4x4 as road conditions can be a bit poor. Don't know how updated that advice is tho..

Also read above that others here have driven up with a Bezza or Saga before, so wondering if a 4x4 is completely necessary? Price difference is quite substantial, but I don't want to get the cheaper option just for the sake of saving some money, but having a terrible experience during the drive.

What's your take on this guys? Thanks!
If just 2 person, should be fine, I drove a rented Bezza to Tip of Borneo and also up Kinabalu Park, no issue, yes, your car might be slower than the rest, but hey, think of the money saved

Personally, I highly recommend a visit to Tip of Borneo in Kudat, although the traveling distance might be long, but the amazing view and crystal clear water made the journey well worth it. Due to the distance, you won't find a lot of China/Korean tourists crowding this place, mainly locals
Fortezan
post Feb 28 2018, 04:00 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(bartbarb @ Feb 28 2018, 01:20 PM)
yaya, KK.. i will be rent car to kundasang, just wonder when the time im in town, is it convenient or not to just travel via grab/uber.
Yes, very easy to get Grab/Uber in KK
Fortezan
post Mar 22 2018, 08:50 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 21 2018, 09:21 AM)
Tip of borneo post is up

Tip of Borneo : http://allen-teo.com/2018/03/tip-borneo-ak...impang-mengayau
thumbup.gif Very nice! One of my favorite place in Sabah
Fortezan
post Jun 20 2018, 11:20 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jun 20 2018, 07:32 AM)
not even close
shangri-la is at tanjung aru, beach area
it's close to city area but not walking distance close
need abt 5-10 minute drive
I think he's probably referring to this one (https://www.shangrilakk.com/) instead of the luxury one at Tanjung Aru. Which I think although walking is possible, it's going to be a tiring walk. Klagan hotel which I've stayed before is what I would recommend if he wants walking distance to Filipino Market
Fortezan
post Jun 20 2018, 11:47 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(jeff10012003 @ Jun 20 2018, 11:37 AM)
How would you rate the hotel?
You mean Klagan Hotel? Quite good actually, maybe 8/10 for being value for money, location and free parking (since I rented a car). It's not luxury hotel, but it served my needs
Fortezan
post Jul 22 2023, 12:33 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(wong_86 @ Jul 11 2023, 09:25 AM)
last month go Sabah, Kundasang, Ranau area, hot spring, KK, want go tip of borneo but 4 hours trip from KK.. too far ..better next time ...
Don't think need 4 hours unless you make frequent stops, I remember it took me only about 2.5 hours from KK when I drove there on my rented Bezza few years ago.

0.0399sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:04 PM