post Jan 27 2007, 10:11 AM

The mad italian scorpions!!
3,806 posts

alfa romeo is more reliable than audi, merc n bmw?? blink.gif
-=Axis=-
post Jan 27 2007, 10:15 AM

- SS -
2,453 posts

QUOTE(CooShyRee @ Jan 27 2007, 10:11 AM)
alfa romeo is more reliable than audi, merc n bmw?? blink.gif
Click the little 'i' besides Reliability Index.

The UK Reliability index takes into account all factors of a repair, the cost of the parts and the frequency of failures - The Average of all cars is 112 which means that if the figure for the car you are looking at has a higher than average index (118) it indicates that that car is less reliable than the average, if however there is a lower than average index (60) the reliability is better.

Separately to this figure you can also look at the average cost of repairs for a particular make or model, a car with a good reliability index and a high average cost would imply that the frequency of failure is low, however when it does fail the bill will be a lot more than the average. Toyota, for example, has a high average cost of repair but quite a good index rating - which means that the car fails infrequently but when it does you will be in for a larger than average bill. Overall however, Toyota is a very strong make of car to buy.

CooShyRee
post Jan 27 2007, 10:21 AM

The mad italian scorpions!!
3,806 posts

ohhhh.. sorry.. i thought that was the score.. sorry sorry my bad.. sweat.gif tongue.gif
Vanquish
post Jan 27 2007, 11:03 AM

F.U.B.A.R.
2,115 posts

Wah lao! Mazda is more reliable than Toyota leh! That's awesome!! LONG LIVE MAZDA!! rclxm9.gif
eng98
post Jan 27 2007, 11:25 AM

Come and suX me...
3,311 posts

the scores means the lower the better rite? like that not only mazda... even honda and suzuki too... hahahaha but ppl will still think toyota is the most reliable japanese cars... coz alot ppl in malaysia mentality is corrupted by toyota.. ahhahaha
Vanquish
post Jan 27 2007, 12:42 PM

F.U.B.A.R.
2,115 posts

QUOTE(eng98 @ Jan 27 2007, 11:25 AM)
the scores means the lower the better rite? like that not only mazda... even honda and suzuki too... hahahaha but ppl will still think toyota is the most reliable japanese cars... coz alot ppl in malaysia mentality is corrupted by toyota.. ahhahaha
Yeah, man. biggrin.gif Toyota, YOU SUCK! rclxm9.gif
azxel
post Jan 27 2007, 12:47 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

you guys gotta take into consideration that these cars are evaluated overseas where the climate's differ from ours (and other countries) so, it really doesn't do much justice now does it? hehe
Vanquish
post Jan 27 2007, 12:57 PM

F.U.B.A.R.
2,115 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Jan 27 2007, 12:47 PM)
you guys gotta take into consideration that these cars are evaluated overseas where the climate's differ from ours (and other countries) so, it really doesn't do much justice now does it? hehe
You know what, it actually does... Toyota has mastered the art of aclimatizing their engines to different climates in different continents, just like the other Japanese car manufacturers that were mentioned in the list... So, why do they suck in this index? blink.gif
farique
post Jan 27 2007, 01:02 PM

8_8
2,147 posts

I dont bother about the Reliability Index..

but the thread title.. it sounded like a personal attack by Drifter to Hypermount. huh.gif
eng98
post Jan 27 2007, 01:09 PM

Come and suX me...
3,311 posts

neh i think hypermount will understand... proton can consider small manufacturer compare to those in the list... even a hyundai or a kia is not in the list....
travis_ckf
post Jan 27 2007, 01:39 PM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

Quite surprising to see toyota rated that bad and honda and madza did well in the reliability index. Proton? I believe could be 200++ above sweat.gif

Toyota pretty much gone haywire these few years, as they kept coming up with boring cars and the overrated hybrids. It has be taunted by alot of recalls in the US and that is why their image has been effected.

They also stopped making sports cars (maybe exception with the possible new supra and the lexus LFA), as they only care to make more money from its boring corollas, overrated hybrids and many more. I not amazed with their efforts in F1 and i dont think they will succeed in F1.
Kclee2002
post Jan 27 2007, 01:47 PM

5,135 posts

QUOTE(eng98 @ Jan 27 2007, 01:09 PM)
neh i think hypermount will understand... proton can consider small manufacturer compare to those in the list... even a hyundai or a kia is not in the list....
HYUNDAI 84.15

lol.
shackks
post Jan 27 2007, 02:11 PM

1,777 posts

Skoda is from Czech aight?? seems like a very reliable car...

cheers.
eng98
post Jan 27 2007, 02:12 PM

Come and suX me...
3,311 posts

QUOTE(Kclee2002 @ Jan 27 2007, 01:47 PM)
HYUNDAI 84.15

lol.
ops my bad..... hehehe
Vanquish
post Jan 27 2007, 02:22 PM

F.U.B.A.R.
2,115 posts

QUOTE(shackks @ Jan 27 2007, 02:11 PM)

cheers.
That's becoz Skoda is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Volkswagen Group GmbH. smile.gif
hazremi
post Jan 27 2007, 02:24 PM

1million people saved this avatar bcoz she's too cute!
5,676 posts

where is perodua?
su8aru
post Jan 27 2007, 02:48 PM

No-Longer An Active User
Validating
1,735 posts

2006 Nameplate Ranking
  Problems per 100 Vehicles

Lexus                136
  Mercury              151
  Buick                153
  Cadillac            163
  Toyota              179
  Acura                184
  Honda                194
  Jaguar              210
  BMW                  212
  Infiniti            215
  Lincoln              220
  Ford                224
  Oldsmobile          224
  Industry Average    227
  Chrysler            232
  Pontiac              232
  Subaru              232
  GMC                  239
  Mercedes-Benz        240
  Chevrolet            241
  Nissan              242
  Mazda                243
  Porsche              248
  Hyundai              253
  Dodge                258
  Mitsubishi          260
  Jeep                264
  Volvo                272
  Audi                279
  MINI                280
  Isuzu                283
  Saturn              289
  Volkswagen          299
  HUMMER              307
  Kia                  310
  Suzuki              318
  Saab                326
  Land Rover          438

http://www.theautochannel.com/news/2006/08/09/017897.html
again.. no Protong or Perodua.. tongue.gif They are too small in the global automotive market laa... Even Russia, China or India car didn't take place in the survey...
shackks
post Jan 27 2007, 02:56 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(Vanquish @ Jan 27 2007, 02:22 PM)
That's becoz Skoda is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Volkswagen Group GmbH. smile.gif
yeap... itz based in Czech and VW loses to it in reliability points maybe due to the cheaper cost on the spare parts...

cheers.
tester1979
post Jan 28 2007, 03:10 AM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

rearranged for better viewing plus some information that was not quoted from the website earlier

Reliability Index for UK
The UK Reliability index takes into account all factors of a repair, the cost of the parts and the frequency of failures - The Average of all cars is 112 which means that if the figure for the car you are looking at has a higher than average index (118) it indicates that that car is less reliable than the average, if however there is a lower than average index (60) the reliability is better.

The ratings rearranged with higher reliability on top:-

SKODA 50.59
MAZDA 52.74
HONDA 61.24
SUZUKI 61.9
FORD 78.68
LEXUS 82.59
HYUNDAI 84.15
BMW 84.95
VOLKSWAGEN 85.92
SEAT 89.22
DAEWOO 89.55
PEUGEOT 94.05
MG 98.73
FIAT 98.76
MITSUBISHI 101.23
CITROEN 101.29
TOYOTA 101.78
VOLVO 105.35
VAUXHALL 106.32
ROVER 108.91
NISSAN 115.25
MERCEDES 116.66
CHRYSLER 122.47
RENAULT 129.4
SAAB 141.02
AUDI 156.91
ALFA ROMEO 164.76
JAGUAR 167.6
LANDROVER 191.9
SUBARU 203.05
JEEP 250.25
PORSCHE 257.97

Reliabilty Index for US
The American Index has been researched from over 450,000 vehicle records. Unlike our UK analysis, repair costs are not included in this analysis and the index reflects solely the incidence of failure as a percentage - the higher the percentage, the higher the risk of failure.

The rating rearranged with higher reliability on top:-

HYUNDAI 14.87%
MITSUBISHI 16.80%
KIA 17.39%
DAEWOO 19.18%
MAZDA 21.20%
ISUZU 21.73%
SUBARU 21.83%
SUZUKI 22.35%
LAND ROVER 22.89%
PLYMOUTH 22.99%
EAGLE 23.06%
TOYOTA 24.05%
VOLKSWAGEN 24.29%
HONDA 25.07%
CHEVROLET 25.34%
FORD 26.11%
MERCURY 26.11%
OLDSMOBILE 26.20%
DODGE 26.47%
BUICK 26.89%
PONTIAC 27.45%
JEEP 27.74%
CHRYSLER 28.28%
GMC 28.69%
NISSAN 29.37%
AUDI 30.78%
SATURN 31.11%
LINCOLN 32.59%
ACURA 33.29%
MERCEDES BENZ 36.23%
BMW 36.79%
INFINITI 36.93%
SAAB 37.23%
LEXUS 39.25%
CADILLAC 40.20%
PORSCHE 41.48%
VOLVO 42.76%
JAGUAR 57.84%

he he he.....kind of make me proud as the owner of Kia and Hyundai......
SUSDrifter
post Jan 28 2007, 07:00 AM

1,349 posts

QUOTE(shackks @ Jan 27 2007, 02:11 PM)

cheers.
under VW, same as Seat n this is not a perosnal attack as i knw wat he is gg to write
eng98
post Jan 28 2007, 10:51 AM

Come and suX me...
3,311 posts

i think i should ask my dad consider the new sonata den... hehehe
clsiluf
post Jan 28 2007, 11:05 AM

2,058 posts

QUOTE(eng98 @ Jan 28 2007, 10:51 AM)
i think i should ask my dad consider the new sonata den... hehehe
korean car is not bad, only high fc and high maintenance....

if u can bear both cost, y not buying?
Jasonist
post Jan 28 2007, 03:07 PM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

hoho... "if a proton car does not have weird sound, tats not proton" unless prove this sentence wrong, maybe proton could be in the reliability list... laugh.gif
tester1979
post Jan 28 2007, 10:02 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(clsiluf @ Jan 28 2007, 11:05 AM)
korean car is not bad, only high fc and high maintenance....

if u can bear both cost, y not buying?
err.....that's the thing....maybe its just happens on some people with certain driving habits...

i am driving a kia car and have no problem with FC....compare to any 1.8L Auto trans car and its would be almost the same

some people compare kia 1.6L spectra FC with 1.3L iswara....how can.....
clsiluf
post Jan 28 2007, 10:05 PM

2,058 posts

FC high or low is depend individual 1...like my fren drive accent, RM70 can last 300km++ only, means 8km++ per liter, but he doesn't complain also...

0.0203sec    0.97    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:54 PM