Fundsupermart.com v15, 基金超市第十五章 - Rise the Dragon

yuatyi
post Sep 9 2016, 10:28 AM

141 posts

Hi I am just a humble investor. Very new to UT and especially new to DIY UT. I have been following this awesome thread and trying hard to learn from best of the crop here. This thread is truly precious. notworthy.gif

Below is my current portfolio. Have been keeping it since last year Oct. I have tweaked the initial recommended portfolio by FSM Client Investment Specialists about 4 to 5 months ago and dropped AmSchroder EEA to take up TA European EF. And also picked up EI Bond Fund. Nearly dropped Manulife India EF but luckily I preserved. Phew! icon_rolleyes.gif I think I best hang on to Manulife India EF and VA whenever I have extra cash. The volatility was a little nerve wrecking for a newbie like me.

My initial recommended portfolio was 70% equities fund, 30% fixed income fund. But I had to tweak it during the downturn and I am now roughly around 60% plus equities funds and 40% fixed income fund. I have been doing DCA diligently since the start of my portfolio but last month I have stopped the DCA since my investment amount has reached the desired percentage. So I am going to just VA from here onwards.

12.4% Eastspring Investments Small-Cap Fund
13.9% Kenanga Growth Fund

8.4% RHB Global Fortune Fund
10.5% CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund

13.1% CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund

3.6% TA European Equity Fund

6.6% Manulife India Equity Fund

11.5% AMB Dana Arif Class A-MYR
11.3% Eastspring Investment Bond Fund
8.7% RHB Asian Total Return Fund

6% RHB Cash Management Fund 2

I am currently thinking of dropping a bond fund. Perhaps AMB Dana Arif and go for Libra ASnita Bond Fund. Going to leave Eastspring IBF there just in case I need to shift allocation from my EISCF should things goes too crazy. I am still unsure if keeping RHB ATR on my portfolio is a good move since it does tends to drag profit abit. It really does not act much like how a bond fund should. Maybe I should just dump that sum into my RHB GFF?

I am also wondering if I have been overzealous and had over-diversified here. Although I have already checked with the friendly FSM Client Investment Specialist and assured my portfolio is still okay. By the way, I am looking at around 7 years horizon for my portfolio.

Gosh, I am still trying to figure out how to keep tabs of how much each investment profited or lost. The IRR and ROI thingy is rclxub.gif

Thank you for reading this and hope if anyone could give this lost lamb a little pointer? notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by yuatyi: Sep 9 2016, 10:34 AM
yuatyi
post Sep 9 2016, 12:41 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(Styrroyds @ Sep 9 2016, 12:23 PM)
you're quite well diversified. having said that, TA Euro and Global Titans might as well be the same fund. Since you seem to keep 2 funds per geographical region, you can skip on topping up TA Euro Equity.

if you're looking for a bond that behaves like one, Asnita is good and so are the RHB bonds (RHB Bond and RHB Islamic Bond)
Affin Hwang Select Income and Affin Hwang Select Bond also provide identical returns but with more ups and downs. Bear in mind the Affin Hwang bond funds include Asia Ex Japan region.
Thank you for your valuable pointers. thumbup.gif Actually I added TA EEF because I need something to help me get a bit of footing in the Europe ex-UK region after I dropped AmSchroder EEA and I am also interested in having EU REITs and ETFs exposures. I have yet to actively add money into this TA EEF fund as back then I was focusing on other funds of mine and Europe was a little unstable. Only begun the VA for it now after lump sum transfer from AmSchroder EEA to this fund.

As for CIMB Global Titans Fund, I suddenly felt the urge to dip a foot into the Developed Market as well for better coverage. I am not sure if this is wise. Since I already have another global fund, the RHB Global FF. Lol.

Asnita bond is really tempting right now. I like that it is performing well and rather stable too. Was considering parking more non-emergency savings under this bond. But since I kinda already have 3 bonds funds. I should really drop one of them. I already have ample exposure to Asia Ex-Japan through my Ponzi 2 fund so Affin Hwang Bond might tip the scale a little too much.

This post has been edited by yuatyi: Sep 9 2016, 12:50 PM
yuatyi
post Sep 9 2016, 02:53 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Sep 9 2016, 02:43 PM)
For a newbie, your portfolio list very long, like train rail....
Have you think of Quality vs Quantity of the funds?
Yup that is why I am having doubts and asked my FSM Client Investment Specialist about my portfolio last month or so since it's close to a year now. I did asked him if it is overdiversified and if I should drop a couple of funds. Somehow he gave me the 'okay' and said the diversification is fine and it is okay to keep the current portfolio. Then I was thinking perhaps checking with all the Sifus here no harm also.

I am really no good at maths. sweat.gif Just a girl trying to learn from all the big boys and big sisters here. notworthy.gif

Any suggestion on which fund to cut or which bond I should drop in favor of Asnita Bond?

yuatyi
post Sep 9 2016, 10:34 PM

141 posts

For me purpose of jumping into UT is because it is not as high risk as shares since we have FM to do the hardwork for us. And I want my money to work harder to stay on top of inflation and of course beat the FD rates. Haha. Sighhh but right now my portfolio return isn't that great. But I have heard it's normal for portfolio that is only about 1 year to not have much visible gain. Needs time and opportunity to build the momentum. Is that correct?

Anyways, I firmly believe 3 year is the minimum how long you should preserve a fund. For me I am trying my best to go beyond that to 7 years since I am heavy on Equity with high risk.

This post has been edited by yuatyi: Sep 9 2016, 11:09 PM
yuatyi
post Sep 9 2016, 11:15 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Sep 9 2016, 10:53 PM)
try page# 11, post# 210
QUOTE(T231H @ Sep 9 2016, 02:55 PM)
there are forummers that posted their portfolio's IRR at < 4% ..... after investing > 3yrs.
guess, they among other things went in at the wrong time.
just like those that went in heavy in M'sia thru previous local champions funds for the past 1 yr....
their returns is not as expected of their reputations......but what can they do...Bolehland mkt is just in need of Viagra.
Thanks. I did note that during the time I started my portfolio in Oct 2015 most funds already high priced. At their peak I think. Then after creating the portfolio, money pumped in and all that, the market started to go down hill from there on till now only I get to see it picks up again. If not for the DCA maybe I wouldn't even see much positive to my portfolio right this moment. Also thank god I went along with diversification. So not too bad. It somewhat cushion the fall.

Are you luckier than me when you first started your portfolio at FSM? Did you manage to hit >6% back then?

This post has been edited by yuatyi: Sep 9 2016, 11:17 PM
yuatyi
post Sep 10 2016, 01:28 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Sep 10 2016, 12:20 AM)
Didn't quite understand the "H" and "C"... but anyway sounds like I just gotta kwai kwai pay SC to buy select bond lor.... even with SC the IRR is a respectable 8+%, still worth it la
Hello fellow female forumer, glad to see more of the 'fairer' sex around  thumbsup.gif

I was more itchy finger when I first started off, so it's not that bad, but if you want to trim, you can

Bond fund
I agree with your plan, drop AMB Dana Arif to pick up Asnita bond, why? See diagram
[attachmentid=7498503]
AMB Dana Arif is consistently below both EI bond and Asnita bond

In the same chart, I've another suggestion for you
Since buying AH select bond is not an option on FSM, you can consider switching the RHB ATR to RHB Asian Income fund. Why? ATR has higher volatility despite being a pure bond fund while Asian Income fund is a balanced fund with more consistent performance. But, will attract sales charge, this switch

Now, developed markets, do you really need 3 funds?
[attachmentid=7498504]

All 3 move in very similar directions lor. Personally I used to have RHB GEYF and didn't like it, alway lagged the other players. So if I'm you I would switch out of the Global Fortune Fund. But into what... I'm not sure if I want such a high developed markets exposure, GTF have not done well since beginning of the year

Lastly, I too started a portfolio in Oct 2015. It's doing ok, ROI 5.x% and I'm very glad that I took the RSP route instead of lumpsum. Otherwise it may still be in the red
Hello to you too. I am also glad to meet another fairer sex here. icon_rolleyes.gif Thanks for your valuable input. It clears alot of clouds for me. thumbup.gif

It is about time for me to rebalance my portfolio and perhaps do a bit of trimming for it to be more effective for my goals. Need to sharpen the arrow head for a truer aim. I just need to get my head off the clouds and master this diversification trick and balancing of funds.

I think I am going for Asnita and dropping AMB Dana Arif for it. I picked AMB Dana Arif over Asnita last time because I was still so fresh in UT and was afraid to lump sum into Asnita. That bond needs 1K to buy in. But now after seeing how Asnita performed and looking at its sharpe ratio I am regretting my initial decision. My portfolio would have seen so much better gains should that not be the case. Asian Income Funds does look appealing especially during times of so much uncertainties. So far my ATR has been quite a laggard. Only currently seeing gains from it. It really isn't a good fixed income to cushion falls especially in current market situation. Then again, perhaps it was recommended to me as part of my portfolio since I am looking at 7 years horizon. I will need to go study Asian Income Funds a bit further to see if it fits my aim.

RHB GFF was recommended by FSM CIS when I first built my portfolio. It was later that I added CIMB Global Titans thinking that it would give me exposure to developed markets for diversification. And then I added TA EEF as I thought I needed to substitute for AmSchroder after dropping it since this TA EEF was an alternate fund to AmSchroder that the FSM CIS has recommended in that portfolio he built for me. I didn't know all 3 are really under the Developed Markets category and moving pretty much in the same direction with each other. doh.gif Perhaps maintaining TA EEF and dropping RHB GFF might be more effective?

You ROI is good. May I know what funds you have in your portfolio? Just curious since we both started in Oct last year.

This post has been edited by yuatyi: Sep 10 2016, 01:30 AM
yuatyi
post Sep 10 2016, 01:48 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Sep 10 2016, 01:39 AM)
[attachmentid=7498559]

This is applying what I learned after 2 years of DIY investing on a portfolio I manage on behalf, but eventually also itchy finger and added smart balanced fund when it fell quite a bit last month  blush.gif

60EQ:40FI .... ish
Actually my RHB ATR IRR is 6.94%, not that bad really. Main laggard is GTF, just broke even
Thanks for sharing your portfolio. I am beginning to see the appeal and benefit of having a smaller portfolio rather than having to maintain and look after too many funds. Less funds makes rebalancing and also DCA much easier to manage and not so easy to tip original planned % too much whenever you do a VA. hmm.gif

I am also currently trying to maintain a 60EQ:40FI environment for my portfolio at least until things goes smoother sailing. sweat.gif

yuatyi
post Sep 10 2016, 04:16 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(zacknistelrooy @ Sep 10 2016, 02:43 AM)
Also be careful of the annual expense ratio as when the market goes sideways or downwards that will start to eat into your return over time.

For your developed market funds :
RHB Global Fortune Fund
CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund
TA European Equity Fund

All three overlap quite a bit just as dasecret said so it would be best to choose one.

The worst at least in my opinion is RHB Global Fortune Fund as it has underperform the benchmark for quite a while. The CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund is also starting to underperform the benchmark too.

Also all 3 are funds of funds and they don't pick stock or bonds themselves.
Yay! Thanks for putting money in my pocket. That is a really awesome pointer. rclxm9.gif I truly forgotten about that part about the annual expense with the market movement effect on it. Must note it down for reference and as reminder. This thread is golden. Everyone is very helpful to lost fishes. thumbup.gif Guiding baby fishes along the way and giving them a chance to mature with the shoal and school everyone together to the right direction. notworthy.gif

I did need to look into my 3 overlapping developed market funds. Perhaps keeping only TA European EF would be best? But I might as well switch it to TA GTF since I need to do my yearly overhaul and seeing that TA GTF has outperformed its peers rather consistently. It carries higher risk but it is a much newer fund that the rest of its peers and fund size is small and easier to manage. I really got to put my head into this global fund thing and decide on one firmly since I need to hang on to it for a long time. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by yuatyi: Sep 10 2016, 04:18 PM
yuatyi
post Sep 10 2016, 04:20 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 10 2016, 09:38 AM)
The last few posts back brought tears of joy to my eyes.

No longer are forumers posting talk about whether to invest ex-distribution or not etc...

Now they are talking about proper asset allocation, about DCA and about low correlation etc...

Good job to all those veteran UTF investors for educating ignorant and naïve investors. Great that there are investors who as though held high in the darkest night a bright lamp so that those who do not have a light of their own can see with clear vision.

Give yourself a good  rclxms.gif  and  thumbsup.gif

Just as there were a herd of elephants who are lost deep inside the forest. Trees and thick jungle thicket cloud their view and judgement. Such ignorance caused them fear, anxiety and bewilderment to make unsteady decisions. Along came a good experienced bull elephant, trained and tamed in the service of a worthy king and who sitting on top of its neck is a mahout worthy of the king's service, lead these herd of elephant to a wide grass field. Now, these herd of elephant having seen the wide clear field, gain steadfastness in their decision, no longer subject to fear, anxiety and bewilderment.

May all continue to Huat Huat Huat!  thumbsup.gif

Xuzen
So agree with this statement. This thread is golden. I've picked up a lot of things from here. I tried reading textbooks on UT but couldn't stay awake for it. Ahahaha. Learning here is much more faster and 'relevant'.

Cheers to all! thumbsup.gif
yuatyi
post Sep 10 2016, 04:48 PM

141 posts

Hi everyone,

I am trying to compare CIMB Global Titans with TA Global Technology. While TA GTF has outperformed its peers rather consistently but it was under-performing its benchmark. While CIMB Global Titan's performance is slightly below TA GTF but it has outperformed its benchmark consistently. Now I am confused as to which would deemed to be a healthier fund to invest in? Sharpe ratio and volatility wise both aren't too far off each other.

Although choosing TA GTF would means not more overlapping to Japan and Malaysia equities market which I have already covered with my other funds rather heavily. And choosing to stay with CIMB Global Titans would have said overlapping effect but it also means I have some footing in Europe as well, which is good.

This is not going to be easy isn't it? rclxub.gif Lol

This post has been edited by yuatyi: Sep 10 2016, 04:51 PM
yuatyi
post Sep 10 2016, 05:37 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Sep 10 2016, 05:12 PM)
Yup, it is obviously not easy... else we can conduct a poll and goes with the most votes.

1. The numbers are past history... while we are investing for the future. And everyone can speculates...

2. It would still boils down to his/her individual objective, and how they invest... ie. 1-time lumpsum or DCA, how long is the DCA, how much is the DCA out of his/her salary and savings... etc. etc.

3. There are other things to consider too, depending on the individual's objective and investment means,
- which fund company should he select... how stable is it? Will it present any anxiety when there is any adverse news on the economy? Will it be there?

- what are the other funds the fund company also have, such that inter-fund switch can be done without doing a sell and buy another fund in another company, without paying the service charge again. Switching fees can gradually adds up to a huge sum... but it would still be cheaper than paying service charges again and again.

4. If doing DCA, it would boils down to which fund would you like to regularly invest/buy without any further anxiety, ie. no need to think twice whether you should continue on with the fund whenever you want to buy.
Thanks. From your valuable input. icon_rolleyes.gif After considering your advise. I would believe in my case, staying with CIMB Global Titans would be much more beneficial to me since CIMB mananged UTs aren't doing half bad and are amongst the best out there more so than TA management. Should be able to offer much more stability there in terms of management. And since I have Ponzi 2 in my portfolio I might make be able to make good use of the intra fund switch with Global Titans someday. Actually that is one of my plan when I later added Global Titans.

I have been diligently doing DCA since from the start and had just stopped the RSP sometime last month or so due to some personal funds issue. I was also considering VA over DCA. Both are more or less the same just that the latter removes the emotion for us - less pain I think. Haha. biggrin.gif

At the moment, I planned on doing monthly contribution to each funds but this time via VA style. Trying to be more involved with the process so that I could perhaps learn more from managing it. There's cons in that really. I had to stay more objective and take all the additional noises in the market with more than a grain of salt to keep from jerking my knee unnecessarily and hurting my portfolio with reckless moves. Easier said than done. But I am going to try it and see what happens from there. My friends are going to call me crazy and reckless. Oh well, they already did... since I choose to DIY my own UT with no accounting or UT knowledge background. And me being a woman on top of that. People don't have much faith in that. To me, everyone gotta stay from somewhere. First step is the hardest. sweat.gif

yuatyi
post Sep 10 2016, 05:40 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(suilow1991 @ Sep 10 2016, 05:23 PM)
I had the dilemma once since I also have global titans fund in my portfolio. To save all the headaches, if it ain't broken, don't fix it. at least i see it that way.
That is very wise thumbup.gif . I tend on delaying updating my phone with new firmware updates and wait till everyone else updated and reported back with bugs and such. Hahaha. After they have work over the bugs, I would then update mine. Don't know why everyone rushed to be a guinea pig. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by yuatyi: Sep 10 2016, 05:40 PM
yuatyi
post Sep 10 2016, 05:55 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Sep 10 2016, 05:26 PM)
you had 10.5%  CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund
I would suggest you stick with it
(increase more if that risk appetite allow it)......b'cos I think 40% of that 10.5% in US is just too little for a portfolio.

for that TA GTF...it is a single segment or focused fund......try add no more than 5% in yr portfolio b'cos CIMB GTF also has some similar holdings as TA GTF.

you already have 3.6%    TA European Equity Fund
why do you say "And choosing to stay with CIMB Global Titans would have said overlapping effect but it also means I have some footing in Europe as well, which is good".
Hi, thanks for your advise. Actually if you read back a bit, I was agonizing over which Global fund to keep to cover my developed market segment since I am now having 3 global funds in my portfolio:-

8.4% RHB Global Fortune Fund
10.5% CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund
3.6% TA European Equity Fund

Sifus here has advised that I could trim it off as all 3 moves similarly (no correlation). Hence I might as well just pick one and stay with it.

After all the feedbacks I got here and in view of my own long term goals, I am thinking staying with Global Titans has more benefit to my portfolio. Hence I am in the mind of dropping RHB Global Fortune Fund and TA European EF. Just stay faithful to one Global fund. Hehehe. Will move more of the funds from that 2 dropped UT to my Global Titans to increase my exposure. Thanks again. thumbup.gif

Going to drop RHB ATR for RHB Asian Income Fund and also go for Libra Asnita Bond. That would mean I will only be left with 2 bonds in my portfolio to focus on. That is a good thing.

yuatyi
post Sep 10 2016, 06:42 PM

141 posts

Hi Sifus,

What do you think of my new reshuffled portfolio? I have am going to restructure my current one with this new portfolio after receiving many good advise here:-

EQ 75% / FI 25%

Bond = 25%:-
17% Libra ASnita Bond
8% Eastspring Investment Bond Fund

EQ (Malaysia) = 30%:-
15% Eastspring Investments Small-Cap Fund
15% Kenanga Growth Fund

EQ (Asia ex-Japan) = 20%:-
8% CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund
12% RHB Asian Income Fund

EQ (Global) = 17%:-
17% CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund

EQ (Single Country: India) = 8%:-
8% Manulife India Equity Fund

According to FSM Portfolio Simulator tool for a 3 years view, there's a possibility of 14.28 Annualised Return with 5.68 Annualised Volatility. hmm.gif I have pushed higher weightage on my India and also Global fund from my initial lower weightage approach.

I am aiming for a 7 years horizon for this portfolio. My risk profile is moderately aggressive.

This post has been edited by yuatyi: Sep 10 2016, 06:44 PM
yuatyi
post Sep 11 2016, 04:47 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Sep 10 2016, 06:47 PM)
hmm.gif since you will be moving/switching/relocating your EQ funds around.....
I believes you want to take the benefits of the 0.57% SC.

if you can....and if time allows....
don't inter switch direct from EQ of FH A to EQ of FH B
by doing so you will need to pay 0.57% SC

try intra switch from EQ of FH A to FI of FH A,...(wait a few days), then inter switch again that FI of FH A to EQ of FH B....
with this you will still need to pay 0.57% SC BUT you will gain "credit points"...which will be useful later.

courtesy of "Vanguard"  thumbsup.gif
Thanks! That's the magic Vanguard pulled a couple of threads back I think. Very cool idea indeed. Yea I have been stalking this thread since I started investing FSM. Way better than the boring textbook. Hahaha biggrin.gif

QUOTE(T231H @ Sep 10 2016, 06:56 PM)
RHB Asian Income Fund is a balanced fund (FI & EQ)
so your weightage of 20% EQ in Asia X Jpn seems not correct
Sorry I think I am a little lost here on what you mean. Do you mean I should be increasing my % in EQ since Asian Income Fund is a balanced fund is that right?

I dropped RHB ATR in favor of Asian Income Fund since the latter has FI effect and more stable than that ATR bond fund. That way I need not go to heavy on my dedicated bond funds and still get to decrease my portfolio's risk level akin to EQ60%:FI40%. Although technically is is EQ75%:FI25%. I hope that's how it works out.

QUOTE(lukenn @ Sep 10 2016, 07:43 PM)
* Past performance not indicative of future returns.
** Not intended as an offer or solicitation for sale.
Hi, thanks for the reminder and input. I appreciate it. notworthy.gif I am aware of that part. Just needed some sort of guideline from the simulator since past good performance could mean better FM and more effective management which could *crosses fingers* translate to future gain. Hopefully. sweat.gif It's all a gamble anyways. As no one could predict the market nor the future.

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Sep 10 2016, 08:06 PM)
VA may sounds good in theory, but what is its advantage over DCA, especially if the regular amount to put in is "tiny" like a few hundred ringgits? If a fund dropped 10% or 1k in value this month, are you ready to pour in 1k next month when the regular investment budget is only $400?  smile.gif

Being very objective and unemotional would means sticking to the set plan. The plan may be this, out of the savings from monthly salary, some is put in fd or fixed income funds, some in equity funds, say $400. So without fail, whether sunshine or earthquake, must buy $400 worth of equity funds every month.

This would be DCA style.

We can varies it slightly by choosing say 4 funds out of our existing 5 funds to put the $400 (with $100 per fund or S200 into 2 funds each.) How the 2 or more funds is selected out of the 5 funds is not upmost important. Every method will have its own weakness - sometimes you win, sometimes you lose, sometimes we get lucky, sometimes not - this is the reason why we do it DCA, not one-time lumpsum.

(If it is a regional fund, sometimes I looked into the stock index for that particular market... for example choose the fund with its market index below the 200-day MA. https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/q/ta?t=2y&l=on...&s=%5EAXJO&ql=1 )

Now, with VA, you will need to put in some calculations and more effort in knowing the current values of the funds. Because VA is "topping up" the fund to the desired level. (The desired level can be a fixed number or percentage or a constant value. It can also be an increasing value... ie. you want it to grow 4% or 5% every year.)

As said, are you ready to "top-up" when the fund drops more than your planned budget?  smile.gif
Very good point there. Thank you for your kind input. Will need to plan very carefully. Learning lots here thanks to everyone being very helpful. I am very grateful for this thread.

Another reason I need start doing VA and not DCA a fixed amount each month is because it is about time for my rebalancing. To sharpen my aim. As I noticed my portfolio isn't very effective at the moment and it has been almost a year. So time to CSI it a bit. Hahaha. I will shift back to DCA once my portfolio is balanced once again to brave the market.

I am going to note down your comment here for reference. TQ thumbup.gif

QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 10 2016, 08:27 PM)
Looks OK. At least you have got the basic asset allocation theory right.

Xuzen
Thank you for your input. Really appreciate it. thumbsup.gif

I am glad to know at least now the asset allocation is correctly done.

QUOTE(lukenn @ Sep 11 2016, 02:42 AM)
For RM3-5m you can choose your manager, through a private mandate.  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Sounds like someone is trying to sell you an equity fund, when what you really need is a bond fund/MMF....

Anyway, thats a bit of an over generalization, to say the least. If you really understand how UTs and asset classes work, portfolios can be maintained from overnight, or till the cows come home. It really depends on what the goal/purpose is. Sometimes UT is the correct tool, sometimes its not.
I'm guessing you read this in an article written by someone who lives/invests/retired in a mature economy?
Give chance a bit lah, I wanna be a well respected otai here on LYN, like you, Xuzen and Pinky.
Yes that is true. Portfolio holding duration is really up to the investor's aims. Mine is 7 years at least.

I hope switching out from RHB ATR to RHB Asian Income Fund would give me a smoother jounery. I really don't see how ATR can be called a Bond Fund at all. Its volitlity is worst than many other EQ with higher risk rating. doh.gif

QUOTE(T231H @ Sep 11 2016, 03:19 PM)
when the "Grand Master JEDI" said "Looks OK. At least you have got the basic asset allocation theory right. "
I will "TAK Mahu" says looks OK to the below allocation.... biggrin.gif
Both looks almost identical.....
DAMN...I believes many investors wished to have the wisdom & knowledge to starts something like these when they started out.  biggrin.gif
The next difficult part is emotional pull to tweak or "pull out" when the corrections happens, which happened quite frequently for the past 2 years...
Yup. Very glad I finally got that down. Haha.

The portfolio by moon0620 seems almost like my initial portfolio aka too many global funds. And rather heavy on it for current climate. Is that right? Hmm it is also heavy on overseas funds. Pretty high risk taker here I think. Well then again, everyone has different goals and horizon to look at. hmm.gif And I am no sifu. Just a small fish. UT nooby.
yuatyi
post Sep 11 2016, 11:47 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Sep 11 2016, 10:49 PM)
That was a few versions before wor.... nvm, late better than never. Comment more la, sure there'll be times that you can help others out too

Anyway, I tried using credit ninja trick recently to pick up some EI small cap... too slow, the fund went back up quite a bit jor....  cry.gif
Lesson learned, want to save 0.57% end up making less
Yea that's why I said a few threads back. Or maybe I used the wrong word here. I should say versions instead? Sorry tongue.gif

That credit ninja trick is good if you don't have the need to rush the switch/transfer. Anyways best not to get distracted by the FSM sales since main focus should be on the market condition (thanks to the kind reminder by a senior here a few threads back when everyone talks about FSM sales and what to buy). I fell into that FSM sales trick before and buy in when fund is at high price. That's why this round I have decide to be more careful and take my own sweet time gauging the right time to move my funds around for the rebalancing. I am going to do it gradually whenever right opportunity hits. Go into new funds I wanted to switch to by nibble it bit by bit. Rather than making a sudden jump.

This post has been edited by yuatyi: Sep 11 2016, 11:48 PM
yuatyi
post Sep 12 2016, 12:12 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Sep 12 2016, 03:22 AM)
Actually ATR is behaving as expected. Unfortunately, for most investors, diligence stops at performance tables, without knowing the how and why.

I did my own dd early this year on ATR here, if you're interested. The diagrams will answer your question.

Also, your making it sound like volatility is a bad thing. It just needs to be managed, not avoided. 😁😁
Point taken. Thanks. smile.gif My concern it more to how ATR's volatility fits into my particular portfolio. More on its effect on my entire portfolio when taken in as FI. Not exactly saying ATR is a bad fund. It has got great track record and a FSM recommended fund. That's why I was said a few threads back that maybe that fund was initially recommended to me as part of my portfolio since I have 7 years horizon to make it work out'

Thanks for sharing that link. It's very informative. Just as expected, ATR works great with longer horizon. I like that it has SGD class as well as MYR but not very comfortable that it overweight China. Then again who knows maybe the dragon would rise again in very near future. As I have to rebalance my portfolio now I need to review having ATR as part of it. I am aware that volatility is an expectation in EQ funds and UT itself. And I just need to make the best of it through proper diversification and fund allocation/rebalancing to minimize the risk exposure for greater results.

I really appreciate your kind input. Hope to receive more guidance in future. notworthy.gif

yuatyi
post Sep 13 2016, 07:32 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 13 2016, 12:26 PM)
In theory one may think that he would entail greater autonomy to invest separately into three UTF from three different UTMC, namely CIMB China or Manulife India and RHB Indonesia. But consider this, each time you rebalance your portfolio, you incur sales charge. This is foolish!

If that is the case, a wiser man, would consider, suppose I buy into RHB China-India-Indonesia fund with one time sales charge and let the FM do the rebalancing without further encountering sales charge. This is wiser!

Suppose another wiser man, thinking perhaps I wish to maintain autonomy and do not wish to further incur sales charge.

Such wise man then uses the "wrap account" mechanism and writes his own algorithm to assist him to optimally asset allocate between the three geographical risky asset class.

Xuzen
Wise words! Copied this down for reference. thumbup.gif

I have just make use of Boss Vanguard's credit ninja trick. So excited to see credits from switches for the first time in my portfolio. Cool! rclxm9.gif

I switched out from those EQ UT that I wanted to drop into Bond funds first. But I only did that to EQ that is currently in the red. The rest in green I no touch first until I see red then only switch out. Yesterday did one intra-switch and tonight one inter-switch. That inter-switch one is not exactly in the red but since it is a very small sum so I taruk lor. Wanted to buy into Libra Asnita Bond fund fast fast. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(dasecret @ Sep 13 2016, 12:23 AM)
Timely reminder there. So assuming I didn't quite missed the boat and currently has 16% IRR for this fund. What's your recommendation, hold or sell? USD n SGD inching higher  drool.gif
Selling a reasonably healthy fund seems to be counter intuitive to me
1. The RHB ATR feeds into the SGD class
2. I think he was talking about the gains in 2014-2015 mainly came from forex gains against SGD, and USD (RMB loosely pegged to USD); hence why missed the boat if you try to buy it in 2016.
As a result, the investment horizon may not be so critical here

The United Asian Bond (SGD) class returns as attached
[attachmentid=7515900]

The longer term annualised return is still about 6%-8%. Not too bad, but not what you would get in 2015

p/s: Merely translating techie greek-like language into layman terms  tongue.gif Could have done it completely wrong though
Thanks for the enlightenment. thumbsup.gif I am still holding ATR right now since it's still green. But I will need to drop it soon when the moment is right since rebalancing is crucial. Then I wouldn't have SGD class in my portfolio liao cry.gif

I missed ATR 2014-2015 boat too. Only bought it late 2015.
yuatyi
post Sep 13 2016, 08:24 PM

141 posts

Weird. Dunno why my post got reported? I thought I am talking nothing but FSM UT only? hmm.gif

Could anyone enlighten me please? Or if the reporter would kindly let me know what is wrong with my post so I may avoid it in future?

This post has been edited by yuatyi: Sep 13 2016, 08:29 PM
yuatyi
post Sep 13 2016, 08:28 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Sep 13 2016, 08:08 PM)
Rebalancing doesn't always involve purchase/sale/switching. A minor rebalancing can be achieved via the mean of topup. Read Pinky's post #351 (above).
Thanks for reminder smile.gif Actually I know that. I am currently in need to switching because I have to drop a few funds since it no longer suit my soon to be balanced portfolio. As a newbie, I have been overzealous and bought too many funds and couple of it are actually overlapping each other. That's why I need to drop them while I still can (the fund size is small and currently in red).

Will slowly VA or DCA my way to rebalance the portfolio to my risk appetite. Just need to trim the fats a bit and stay more focus. icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0859sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:10 AM