lukenn
post Sep 21 2016, 03:53 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 21 2016, 03:45 PM)
Go and consult a UTC..... oh wait....

or

wait for the crystal balls to reveal its hidden treasure.

Xuzen
LOL

This post has been edited by lukenn: Sep 21 2016, 03:53 PM
quackpack
post Sep 21 2016, 04:18 PM

327 posts

Any comment with the way below for profit preservation?

Lets say I set a target of above 3% for equity, when I hit the target , I will try to preserve that by allocating the profit into fixed income funds. In a way I am diluting the equity funds but when the NAV of the equity goes down, I can decide to rebalance from bond funds or let it be.
wongmunkeong
post Sep 21 2016, 04:55 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Sep 21 2016, 03:42 PM)
xuzen & wongmunkeong

Waa .... so methodical ...

So, how to determine when to drop a fund completely instead of topping up ah ?
also simple methodical (for me):
1. If "investment" is no good after 3 years of "commitment"
VS similar "investments", time to cut loss and move to better ones
eg.
i commit to GEMs for emerging markets and after 3 years+, it shows it's averaging or above average compared to other emerging markets, keep on going
ELSE
find another emerging market fund

2. EXTRA lump sum in on top of VCA (bonus answer tongue.gif ) if it is already proven AND is at a lelong (the markets covered under that fund)

hmm.. sounds like a sound thing for partnerships too brows.gif
iLegend
post Sep 21 2016, 06:07 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 21 2016, 03:02 PM)
When to take profit?

When to enter?

Perennial questions that bother UTF investors.

Rather than worry about it and remain clueless and continue to worry because you have no plan.

Rather, have a plan and remain wise and composed and hence less worry!

Try this method:

Let's say you have RM 100K to invest and you have determined to be a moderate risk taker (assuming you have done the risk profile questionnaire that is available from most UT Companies).

So you have decided to split 50% Libra Asnita Bond, 25% Kenanga Growth Fund and 25% Manulife US Equity Fund.

That will be:

Asnita = RM 50K
KGF    = RM 25K
US      = RM 25K

One year later:

Your portfolio looks something like this

Asnita =  RM 52,500.00 (gain 5%)
KGF    =  RM 22,500.00 (loss 10%)
US      =  RM 28,750.00 (gain 15%)
              =======
Portfolio= RM 103,750.00 (gain of 3.75%)

When you rebalance you will try to make them back to the same % that is:

Rebalanced:

Asnita =  RM 51,875.00 (50%)
KGF    =  RM 25,937.50 (25%)
US      =  RM 25,937.50 (25%)
                  ======
Portfolio =RM 103,750.00
From this you will realized that you are selling US Fund & a little of the Asnita Bond (or taking profit) and putting them into KGF (topping up) because KGF has seen a sell down.

In this way, a savvy investor have a system that will prompt them to sell or top up the funds in a systematic way.

This method is called "asset allocation model" method. It is scientific, it is unemotional, it can take away your fear and greed. You do not have to rely on external noises anymore!

Xuzen
Thanks for sharing. I was reading Tony Robbins's book (Money Master The Game)and similar way of asset allocation is mentioned laugh.gif
Going to use this method as my foundation.
xuzen
post Sep 21 2016, 06:10 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(iLegend @ Sep 21 2016, 06:07 PM)
Thanks for sharing. I was reading Tony Robbins's book (Money Master The Game)and similar way of asset allocation is mentioned laugh.gif
Going to use this method as my foundation.
D1U N14M4H! That Gwailo / Mat-Salleh copy my method ar?

This post has been edited by xuzen: Sep 21 2016, 06:15 PM
river.sand
post Sep 21 2016, 07:41 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Sep 20 2016, 09:49 PM)
good question. that's why i'm not too sure and coming here to ask questions. seeing a lot of ppl " taking profit" every now and then. so wondering if it somehow applies to UTs as well.
I have been investing in stock markets for years, but am still new to UT and still learning. This is what I think...

In stock investment, I would sell a stock under following conditions:
1. The stock is overpriced.
2. The company's fundamentals have deteriorated.
3. There are better opportunities elsewhere.
4. I need money.

Now, 3 & 4 are applicable to UT investment too.
On top of that, I would add the criteria explained by wong sifu in post #444.

As for portfolio re-balancing raised by Xuzen, I always insist that, first and foremost, we re-balance through top up. Only if this is not possible that we sell funds which are over-represented.
vincabby
post Sep 21 2016, 07:54 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(quackpack @ Sep 21 2016, 04:18 PM)

Lets say I set a target of above 3% for equity, when I hit the target , I will try to preserve that by allocating the profit into fixed income funds. In a way I am diluting the equity funds but when the NAV of the equity goes down, I can decide to rebalance from bond funds or let it be.
yes. how about this? from high risk to low risk. can't be always just talk about cutting losses when want to take money out. eventually, you need to take it out am i right? so why not take it when u have a profit margin that you are comfortable with?
T231H
post Sep 21 2016, 08:24 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Sep 21 2016, 07:54 PM)
yes. how about this? from high risk to low risk. can't be always just talk about cutting losses when want to take money out. eventually, you need to take it out am i right? so why not take it when u have a profit margin that you are comfortable with?
hmm.gif
This maybe one of the hardest question to answer to my mind so don't feel bad if you don't get it spot on, if you cash in your chips in a certain investment it will almost certainly go up, if you stick with it you will almost certainly sedition go down, could taking half be the answer?
Some said 'run your winners and cut your losers'.
While others said 'it's never a bad time to take profits'.

There is no correct time to take profits unless you are the only person in the world who can accurately time the markets, but profit, once taken, becomes real profit, in your hand.
If you think the euphoria will continue and markets will rise further next week and beyond, stay put and enjoy it: if not, consider taking some profits, to enjoy, or re-invest at a better time.

There is no right or wrong answers…it is just yours and other individuals.
Hope this helps.

(got these from the web...I cannot write that logical sense)
_azam13
post Sep 21 2016, 08:28 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Sep 21 2016, 08:24 PM)
hmm.gif
This maybe one of the hardest question to answer to my mind so don't feel bad if you don't get it spot on, if you cash in your chips in a certain investment it will almost certainly go up, if you stick with it you will almost certainly sedition go down, could taking half be the answer?

There is no correct time to take profits unless you are the only person in the world who can accurately time the markets, but profit, once taken, becomes real profit, in your hand.
If you think the euphoria will continue and markets will rise further next week and beyond, stay put and enjoy it: if not, consider taking some profits, to enjoy, or re-invest at a better time.

Hope this helps.

I agree... take profit if you want and move on to find other opportunities..
vincabby
post Sep 21 2016, 08:46 PM

664 posts

hmm.gif

Hope this helps.

thanks for taking time to give a reply. u are right to say no right or wrong answer so just wanna know what people think here.
T231H
post Sep 21 2016, 09:14 PM

5,143 posts

This guy here, like many others have worded the word or concept of "profit taking" as rebalancing......

Rebalancing is actually a pretty personal thing, because everyone’s portfolio will look different. But the basic concept is to take profit from the funds which have done well, and invest into the funds which are underweight.

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...og_archive_2010

Rebalancing My Portfolio
I am putting my own portfolio through a rebalancing exercise. I only do this once a year. The basic concept is to take profit for your winners, put some of the profits into your loser or laggard markets, and also, ensure that you don’t have too much into one particular area.

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...og_archive_2009

looks quite similar with page#22, post # 438

This post has been edited by T231H: Sep 21 2016, 09:19 PM
prince_mk
post Sep 21 2016, 10:35 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Sep 21 2016, 03:53 PM)
LOL
Or consult you too. You are Consultant too smile.gif
adele123
post Sep 21 2016, 10:39 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Sep 21 2016, 07:54 PM)
yes. how about this? from high risk to low risk.
can't be always just talk about cutting losses when want to take money out. eventually, you need to take it out am i right? so why not take it when u have a profit margin that you are comfortable with?
I have a very good answer for this. Because of something called compound interest. I want my 7% earned to earn another 7% too.

i'm more of supporter of what wong sifu said in post #444.

if i know the euphoria will and will not continue, there's really no need to discuss anything. my sticking point is, we can't time the market hence the statement doesn't quite work.

Also, yes, eventually we will take the money out, but i only plan to take them out, if i need them to achieve my goals, ie buy car/house, other personal milestone. that's why i invested in the first place. of course, hopefully when i withdraw my investments, it's not another 2008. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by adele123: Sep 21 2016, 10:43 PM
MUM
post Sep 21 2016, 10:56 PM

14,869 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Sep 21 2016, 10:39 PM)
Also, yes, eventually we will take the money out, but i only plan to take them out, if i need them to achieve my goals, ie buy car/house, other personal milestone. that's why i invested in the first place. of course, hopefully when i withdraw my investments, it's not another 2008. biggrin.gif
...........There is no right or wrong answers…it is just yours and other individuals.
thumbup.gif both are examples of individual's personals targets...... thumbup.gif

T231H
post Sep 21 2016, 11:03 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Sep 21 2016, 10:39 PM)
.......if i know the euphoria will and will not continue, there's really no need to discuss anything. my sticking point is, we can't time the market hence the statement doesn't quite work.
hmm.gif no one knows how it will goes...it will always have to depends on individual judgement as to whether one want to stay out, step in or do nothing..... thus the original words used is "If you think the euphoria will continue...." not "If you "know" the euphoria will continue ......."
Avangelice
post Sep 22 2016, 08:54 AM

5,272 posts

I just saw a section in FSM that says new funds so that got me thinking how do you guys judge whether to plunge into a new fund?

is it the geographical location? the management involved in the fund? the investment the fund is investing?

if so what makes you believe this fund will be THE fund in the future?
adele123
post Sep 22 2016, 09:00 AM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Sep 22 2016, 08:54 AM)
I just saw a section in FSM that says new funds so that got me thinking how do you guys judge whether to plunge into a new fund?

is it the geographical location? the management involved in the fund? the investment the fund is investing?

if so what makes you believe this fund will be THE fund in the future?
There's no really 'THE' fund.

Anyway, i did buy into that Eastspring ASIA PACIFIC EX-JAPAN TARGET RETURN FUND when it was launched for like 2-3 months. at the time i already have cimb AP fund.

decision was made based on track record in other funds and reputation of that fund house. also at the time still a little blur and was very gungho about investing in AP ex Japan.

my least performing fund to date, though mostly due to timing really. though result would be better if i stuck to CIMB AP.
SUSPink Spider
post Sep 22 2016, 09:42 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

Recent discussions are quite "advanced". Salute u all thumbup.gif
Avangelice
post Sep 22 2016, 11:26 AM

5,272 posts

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/insurance/...underwriting-18

I tried opening the link on my phone and plug in didn't support it. anyways should I get it for my dad? I can't view the terms and conditions atm.

he isn't covered by any insurance and he is age 59 now and I am worried that anything happens to him, my measly 30k emergency fund I have isn't enough to cover him. I hope this doesn't divulge the topic since its under FSm
iamoracle
post Sep 22 2016, 11:34 AM

614 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Sep 22 2016, 11:26 AM)
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/insurance/...underwriting-18

I tried opening the link on my phone and plug in didn't support it. anyways should I get it for my dad? I can't view the terms and conditions atm.

he isn't covered by any insurance and he is age 59 now and I am worried that anything happens to him, my measly 30k emergency fund I have isn't enough to cover him. I hope this doesn't divulge the topic since its under FSm
You should get medical insurance for him. He needs that the most at his current age.
It is similar to whole life insurance. The payouts from this insurance only benefit the beneficiaries, not the person covered under this policy.

100 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0334sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:24 PM