Fundsupermart.com v15, 基金超市第十五章 - Rise the Dragon

river.sand
post Sep 29 2016, 09:06 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Sep 29 2016, 07:55 AM)
What is the difference between REITs and RE listed equities?

I see that amasia pacific REITs (I invested here) has REITs to cash ratio of 7:3

While the plus version has the same ratio but with REITs to (cash plus RE listed equities)
My guess is RE listed equities are property companies.
But you may want to confirm with FSM.

This post has been edited by river.sand: Sep 29 2016, 09:06 AM
river.sand
post Sep 29 2016, 08:35 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 29 2016, 08:06 PM)
As for me, my goal is to grow my portfolio at rate of 10% p.a. at least - when profit is growing, I keep my ammo. When portfolio VALUE growth rate falls below 10% p.a., I top up. This is my Dollar VALUE Averaging method.
I thought you top up when 1-year return is below your long term IRR?
You told us so, didn't you?
river.sand
post Oct 5 2016, 09:14 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(voyage23 @ Oct 4 2016, 05:34 PM)
New investor here. I have Libra Asnita Bond in my portfolio, I am just wondering why whenever I talk to my UT agents friends and when I mentioned about my bond fund, they would say "no need to top up for bond wan la". But it was always touch n go conversation so didn't get to ask them. Why is that so?

I do regular DCA into my 4 other equity funds and this libra asnita fund.
For a start, do you have EPF?
If you do, then bond fund in your portfolio is probably not essential. EPF has similar returns and also has low volatility.
Yes, I know Pinky will talk about EPF 'smoothing up' returns. In any case, substantial portion of EPF investment is in fixed income.

A total of 51% of the funds managed by the EPF are placed with fixed-income.

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...hackle-the-epf/

Secondly, how old are you and what are your investment objectives?
If you are 28, and you invest for retirement, then take higher risk.
The longer your investment horizon, the less relevant Std-Dev becomes.

Bond funds have been giving returns which match those of equity funds lately. This is because investors dump stocks and pour money in bonds, thereby pushing up the bond prices. But don't expect bond returns to stay high forever.

This post has been edited by river.sand: Oct 5 2016, 01:57 PM
river.sand
post Oct 5 2016, 01:56 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(spiderman17 @ Oct 5 2016, 11:49 AM)
hmm.gif
Do you mean low yield instead? isn't yield inverse of price?
Yes, I should say returns, which include both price appreciation and interest payments.
river.sand
post Oct 5 2016, 08:09 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Oct 5 2016, 07:01 PM)
And below is from trend follower view
Short term, indeed it is collective opinion of the participants which determines the price movements. (In another thread, I explain how investors' confidence in US index funds leads to those indexes outperform actively managed funds.)

Long term, if price increase is not backed by value, it will lead to bubble.
river.sand
post Oct 6 2016, 08:54 AM

3,806 posts

Regarding China...

China’s pension fund may start buying stocks this year, China Daily reports

China's massive pension fund is likely to start investing in the mainland's A-shares this year, a move that could see 600 billion Chinese yuan ($92.10 billion) moving into the country's equity markets, state-run China Daily reported on Monday.

Last August, China's State Council published investment guidelines allowing local pensions to invest in a wider range of riskier assets, with the maximum stocks and equities ratio set at 30 percent of total net assets.

The funds can only invest in treasuries and bank deposits now.

The move into equities would come after a turbulent start to the year in Chinese equities.
http://www.cnbc.com/2016/03/27/chinas-pens...ly-reports.html

But I am sure investors, in anticipation of the pension fund's foray into stock market, have already put in their money months ago. So if you plan to buy China funds now, it could be a bit late.
river.sand
post Oct 6 2016, 02:32 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Oct 6 2016, 11:38 AM)
hmm.gif what about ME?
I started on the wrong footing/path....
so if use IRR as a yard stick...die-lah.
forever cannot go above 5%
Start counting from the day you realized you were on the wrong path.

river.sand
post Oct 9 2016, 04:30 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Oct 9 2016, 04:09 PM)
goto page# 61,...
2nd post by Cherroy...
timed 7.43AM
now you can navigate liao  biggrin.gif
Some people suggest we move discussion to FB or WhatsApp. But I believe these two options don't have page number for navigation. (Long time never use FB, I may be wrong.)
river.sand
post Oct 10 2016, 02:06 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 10 2016, 10:35 AM)
hmm.gif how to have exit plan,...for people that aimed to get a few % lower Nav to buy and aim to get a few % higher NAV to sell, so as to make a wider margin of profits... biggrin.gif
kimyee73 ™ indicators
river.sand
post Oct 11 2016, 03:55 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(David3700 @ Oct 11 2016, 11:41 AM)
Quite a lot of UTs have fantastic performance since July 2016, just want to check with sifus on how to deal with it....

1. Keep calm and stay. Ride thru' storms (if they come) and wait for another spring to come.
2. Axe or switch to bond fund if major storm arrives.
3. Skim the profit and re-invest the profit into bond fund to preserve it.
By the time you realize a major storm has arrived, the market is already down 10%.

There are thousands of full time investors/traders out there. These people study news every hour. When there are good news, they buy; when there are bad news, they sell.

If you are part timer, you can't beat them to action. Even if you can, it's going to be very stressful.
river.sand
post Oct 12 2016, 08:36 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 12 2016, 12:04 PM)
can we start giving it a spacial name. so many abbreviations that's is almost as many as the illnesses in my orthopedic textbook.
East Spring Investment Small Cap
How about 'kap cai'?
river.sand
post Oct 13 2016, 11:08 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Oct 13 2016, 09:44 AM)
Let take TA-Global-Technology-Fund as example;

Seen like the annual performance always beat by the Benchmark, then i won't invest it BUT it seen that so many ppl interest in this UT... confused.gif
I am also pretty new to UTF investment, so let's learn together.

From the table, even though the fund underperformed the index for 5 years, the returns were still very good.

I pointed out elsewhere, certain indexes are probably bubbles waiting to burst. See attachment...

In any case, if you can't buy a corresponding index fund, maybe TA Global Tech is an acceptable alternative.

river.sand
post Oct 13 2016, 02:13 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 13 2016, 11:44 AM)
Please give a specific example of indexes which are potentially bubbles waiting to burst, so that we can digest the numbers and determine it. Your attachment are words only, very hard to digest.
Index funds which are popular.
But I am just guessing lah...
Read post 1518. US has been in bull market for years, and that's why index funds perform well.
river.sand
post Oct 16 2016, 11:25 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Oct 15 2016, 06:12 PM)
OT warning
laugh.gif what just happened here?
anal RETENTIVE lar,
check x3 then do, not the usual 2x  rclxs0.gif

Back to topic
My "bet" is Fed Reserve won't raise rates till Dec - political shenanigans.
semua konekted wan - hip bone, thigh bones, etc 
thus rate fears VS impact on equities are all in the mind - for me at least  sweat.gif
December is just two months away.
I believe all investors/traders have already considered this factor in their recent transactions. When the announcement is actually made, ringgit probably won't drop further.
river.sand
post Oct 18 2016, 07:56 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Oct 18 2016, 12:15 PM)
How much data is needed for meaningful calculation? 1 year is sufficient or need 3 years? Also using weekly or monthly performance? Right now I use 1 year monthly data. Thanks.
Somewhere I read:
On average, there is one recession every 8 years.

With that in mind, ideally we should use 10-year data, which would include data from a recession.

Then again, many funds are less than 10 years old...

river.sand
post Oct 20 2016, 04:30 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 20 2016, 12:41 PM)
like i said. personal reasons. don't wanna derail the topic with something trivial. Regards.
TA Global is a fund I choose when I need to dip in US and also I have a feeling technologies will be the next big thing especially when the star wrote an article today about insurtech and fintech may be coming to Malaysia. who knows.

for European. I rather invest in China as i know China has braved the storm. Europe is one unstable region with the immigrant problem and the three stooges being disconnected
er... it may be better to invest in firms which employs technology rather than firms which sell technology.

Technology helps a firm cut cost or improve efficiency. Tech providers can go bust anytime due to competition.
river.sand
post Oct 20 2016, 09:15 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Oct 20 2016, 07:03 PM)
UT which is similar to stocks. You win in stock market  somebody must lose. It is a zero sum game

So by right you should feel bad too making money from UT. Lol
No.
Assuming nobody buy/sell after IPO. Stock price goes up 20%. Everyone gains.
river.sand
post Oct 21 2016, 12:20 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Oct 20 2016, 09:15 PM)
No.
Assuming nobody buy/sell after IPO. Stock price goes up 20%. Everyone gains.
Let's consider a case with buy/sell...

A & B bought a stock at IPO price of 1.00.
A later sold the stock to C for 1.10.
The stock price dropped to 0.95. Panic of the drop, C 'cut loss' and sold the stock to D.
After the company reported good results, the stock price jumped to 1.20.

A - gain 0.10
B - gain 0.20
C - loss 0.15
D - gain 0.25
overall - gain 0.40
river.sand
post Oct 21 2016, 12:40 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Oct 21 2016, 12:21 AM)
then 1 year later company post losses, price drop to 0.8, how?
Overall is loss, but it's still not zero sum game. I never said it must be positive.
You google for historic price of Berkshire Hathaway. Don't say every thing which has gone up must come down. Yes, short term, this stock had ups and downs. But long term, it has been all the way up.
(This stock has never had split, so it's easy to see the point.)

Btw, ethical issue not withstanding, I am not against forex trading, so don't be too sensitive. My aunt's husband is a professional commodity trader, and he is very rich.
But, as a part timer and somewhat risk aversive, I will stick to the more passive way.

Gold is another issue...

0.0907sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:44 PM