Fundsupermart.com v15, 基金超市第十五章 - Rise the Dragon

T231H
post Sep 9 2016, 10:53 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(yuatyi @ Sep 9 2016, 10:34 PM)
For me purpose is jumping into UT is because it's not as high risk as shares since we have FM to do the hardwork for us. And I want my money to work harder to stay on top of inflation and of course beat the FD rates. Haha. Sighhh but right now my portfolio return isn't that great. But I have heard it's normal for portfolio that is only about 1 year to not have much visible gain. Needs time and opportunity to build the momentum. Is that correct?

Anyways, I firmly believe 3 year is the minimum how long you should preserve a fund. For me I am trying my best to go beyond that to 7 years since I am heavy on Equity with high risk.
try page# 11, post# 210
T231H
post Sep 10 2016, 03:16 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 10 2016, 02:56 PM)
Saturday (reminder) lesson from Pinky:

Comparison with benchmark

Evaluation of a fund against its benchmark is a meaningless exercise if you do not have access or the means to invest in the benchmark yourself.

So long as the fund performed commendably against its PEERS that you have access to and it fits your long-term investment agenda, it is a good fund.
rclxms.gif
Q: Benchmark
A: An index that unit trusts and mutual funds measure themselves against. Those that outperform the index are generally considered to be doing well and vice versa

Bench mark could be set too low....
Benchmark could be set too high, or
Benchmark could be set just right or
Benchmark could be irrelevant.....??

Benchmarks are measuring devices not portfolio construction tools

http://www.aberdeen-asset.com/doc.nsf/Lit/...nstructiontools

This post has been edited by T231H: Sep 10 2016, 03:20 PM
T231H
post Sep 10 2016, 05:26 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(yuatyi @ Sep 10 2016, 04:48 PM)
Hi everyone,

I am trying to compare CIMB Global Titans with TA Global Technology. While TA GTF has outperformed its peers rather consistently but it was under-performing its benchmark. While CIMB Global Titan's performance is slightly below TA GTF but it has outperformed its benchmark consistently. Now I am confused as to which would deemed to be a healthier fund to invest in? Sharpe ratio and volatility wise both aren't too far off each other.

Although choosing TA GTF would means not more overlapping to Japan and Malaysia equities market which I have already covered with my other funds rather heavily. And choosing to stay with CIMB Global Titans would have said overlapping effect but it also means I have some footing in Europe as well, which is good. 

This is not going to be easy isn't it? rclxub.gif  Lol
you had 10.5% CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund
I would suggest you stick with it
(increase more if that risk appetite allow it)......b'cos I think 40% of that 10.5% in US is just too little for a portfolio.

for that TA GTF...it is a single segment or focused fund......try add no more than 5% in yr portfolio b'cos CIMB GTF also has some similar holdings as TA GTF.

you already have 3.6% TA European Equity Fund
why do you say "And choosing to stay with CIMB Global Titans would have said overlapping effect but it also means I have some footing in Europe as well, which is good".

T231H
post Sep 10 2016, 06:47 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(yuatyi @ Sep 10 2016, 05:55 PM)

hmm.gif since you will be moving/switching/relocating your EQ funds around.....
I believes you want to take the benefits of the 0.57% SC.

if you can....and if time allows....
don't inter switch direct from EQ of FH A to EQ of FH B
by doing so you will need to pay 0.57% SC

try intra switch from EQ of FH A to FI of FH A,...(wait a few days), then inter switch again that FI of FH A to EQ of FH B....
with this you will still need to pay 0.57% SC BUT you will gain "credit points"...which will be useful later.

courtesy of "Vanguard" thumbsup.gif
T231H
post Sep 10 2016, 06:56 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(yuatyi @ Sep 10 2016, 06:42 PM)
EQ (Asia ex-Japan) = 20%:-
8% CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund
12% RHB Asian Income Fund
RHB Asian Income Fund is a balanced fund (FI & EQ)
so your weightage of 20% EQ in Asia X Jpn seems not correct
T231H
post Sep 11 2016, 01:05 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 10 2016, 11:26 PM)
The target here is returns. Every one got their own strategy. All roads lead to Rome. It's just a matter of which one arrive faster. laugh.gif But will look into it and see which one is better for me.  There's the DCA way and the trading way. cool2.gif
if one thinks that frequent simultaneously lock in profits and dollar cost average into lower priced assets will provide better returns,...then this is interesting...

Mythbusting: Frequent Rebalancing Improves Portfolio Returns...... April 28, 2010
You might have heard this one before: Frequent rebalancing to simultaneously lock in profits and dollar cost average into lower priced assets will provide better returns. We examined the myth and here's what we found.
Author : iFAST Research Team

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...lio-Returns-566
T231H
post Sep 11 2016, 09:25 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(xpmm @ Sep 11 2016, 07:41 AM)
sharing article

Deutsche Bank: Bond Investors Are About to Get Crushed as a New Global Cycle Kicks Off

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...cycle-kicks-off
also sharing an article

Try to Turn Down the Noise
The attached note takes a look at the obsession with doom and gloom, the information avalanche we are now subject too and what it means for investors.
......Author : AMP Capital Investors Limited
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-the-Noise-5234
T231H
post Sep 11 2016, 03:19 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(yuatyi @ Sep 10 2016, 06:42 PM)
EQ 75% / FI 25%

Bond = 25%:-
17% Libra ASnita Bond
8% Eastspring Investment Bond Fund

EQ (Malaysia) = 30%:-
15% Eastspring Investments Small-Cap Fund
15% Kenanga Growth Fund

EQ (Asia ex-Japan) = 20%:-
8% CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund
12% RHB Asian Income Fund

EQ (Global) = 17%:-
17% CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund

EQ (Single Country: India) = 8%:-
8% Manulife India Equity Fund
QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 10 2016, 08:27 PM)
Looks OK. At least you have got the basic asset allocation theory right.

Xuzen
when the "Grand Master JEDI" said "Looks OK. At least you have got the basic asset allocation theory right. "
I will "TAK Mahu" says looks OK to the below allocation.... biggrin.gif
Both looks almost identical.....
DAMN...I believes many investors wished to have the wisdom & knowledge to starts something like these when they started out. biggrin.gif
The next difficult part is emotional pull to tweak or "pull out" when the corrections happens, which happened quite frequently for the past 2 years...

QUOTE(moon0610 @ Sep 11 2016, 03:03 PM)
Fixed Income
Libra Asnita Bond Fund 11% (ROI: 4.5%)
RHB Asian Total Return Fund 9% (ROI: 13%)

Balanced (Asia ex Jap)
RHB Asian Income Fund 8% (ROI: 1.2%)

Equity(Global)
Aberdeen Islamic World Equity Fund 8% (ROI: 2.8%)
TA Global Tech Fund 9% (ROI: 9%)

Equity (Asia ex Jap)
CIMB Asia Pacific Dynamic Income 17% (ROI: 5.4%)

Equity (Developed Market)
CIMB Global Titans Fund 14% (ROI: 1.75%)

Equity (Malaysia)
Eastspring Investment Small-Cap 15% (ROI: 6.3%)

Equity (Single country)
Manulife India Equity 9% (ROI: 7.4%)

Also invested in KGF via PRS & EPF.

.......... since early of 2015, been doing DCA on & off.
Can any sifu please comment on m portfolio? Anything to add into my portfolio?
This post has been edited by T231H: Sep 11 2016, 03:26 PM
T231H
post Sep 12 2016, 12:22 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(kradun @ Sep 11 2016, 10:27 PM)
Hi Sifus, how much credit points can be earn for intra switch from equity to money market? Does fund supermart got penalty for switching within certain period?
while waiting for responses, if you are interested you may read this....

FAQs on Credit system
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/faq/0...dit-System-2001

i think FSM will not charge penalty for switching of funds in certain period....they are charged by the fund house......the fund fact sheet and the prospectus of each fund will specify the fees to be incurred for holding of the fund for less than certain duration.
T231H
post Sep 13 2016, 08:55 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Sep 13 2016, 08:26 AM)
Hi all, recently I started to invest in the funds below through RSP:

Kenanga Growth Fund (12.5%)
Eastspring Investments Small-Cap Fund (12.5%)
Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Quantum Fund (12.5%)
AmAsia Pacific REITs - Class B (MYR) (25%)
CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund - MYR (25%)
RHB Asian Income Fund (12.5%)

If I want to diversify my portfolio in global or developed market, would Aladdin and Titanic funds good options?

Or is it good to venture into grater china and india/indonesia region UT?

Any other suggestions are welcome for input and discussions smile.gif
If I want to diversify my portfolio in global or developed market, would Aladdin and Titanic funds good options?
I would says depends on risk believes.....
in terms of 3 yrs volatility ratio GTF > Aladdin by 20%, but so is GTF got more return.... biggrin.gif
go for Aladdin if you wanted to give the FM more leeway to moves funds globally instead of only 3.
as for me...I would go with GTF....

Or is it good to venture into grater china and india/indonesia region UT?
according to the 31 July factsheet....
30% of your 25% in CIMB Asia Pac is in HK/CHINA/Taiwan (Greater China) = 8% in Greater China already.

if you want...try this? 1 fund 3 of your intended birds
CIMB-PRINCIPAL CHINA-INDIA-INDONESIA EQUITY FUND
T231H
post Sep 13 2016, 09:06 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Sep 13 2016, 09:00 AM)
Anyone intend to top up today?
spend a mini fortune on mooncakes
payday 2 more days to go.
not sure if the Asia mkts got rebound or not....
US mkts rebounded.....thus maybe no more continues discount offer.
T231H
post Sep 13 2016, 09:12 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Sep 13 2016, 09:06 AM)
In that case, would it be wise to invest in both since aladdin (islamic) moves around globally and titanic (conventional) for developed market that my existing portfolio didnt touch much on them? You are now 100% in Asia Pac region.......(abt 35% in M'sia)....yes go global and GTF for some concentration, but beware of overlapping weightage in US after having them both.

Actually what i want to say is "greater china or india or indonesia"  tongue.gif
Is it better to invest separately (cimb greater china + manulife india + indenoasia fund?) or just cimb china-india-indon?

I am planning to do all of the above via RSP  biggrin.gif
Actually what i want to say is "greater china or india or indonesia" tongue.gif
Is it better to invest separately (cimb greater china + manulife india + indenoasia fund?) or just cimb china-india-indon?

I would say, it depends....most would think that having 1 fund that focused on the 3 instead of individual funds is better/easier....
but some would think that having 3 individuals funds allows the investors to "freely and having more control" to allocates more % into the country of his choices among the 3.....

I would use 1 stone...

This post has been edited by T231H: Sep 13 2016, 09:25 AM
T231H
post Sep 13 2016, 04:28 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Sep 13 2016, 04:12 PM)
Was looking through RHB Asian Income Fund's Allocation and came across the drawn part.

What does this hedges means to the allocation?
Currency Risks And Hedging October 12, 2012
With regards to investment risk, investors are often focused on the price of an asset, but sometimes overlook currency risk, which can make a world of difference to one’s investment returns, especially in the context of today’s volatile currency markets.

KNOWING THE MANAGER’S APPROACH TO CURRENCY MANAGEMENT
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...?articleNo=7445
T231H
post Sep 13 2016, 09:14 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Sep 13 2016, 09:07 PM)
funny how they are so many trolls around most forum subtopics now. non serious problems in serious sections, talking about UT also get reported.
hmm.gif do you mean any TOM, DICK or HARRY can report without any consequence or need to disclose identity?
hmm.gif then any "trolls or anti social path " can just click report without any valid reasons?
T231H
post Sep 14 2016, 02:43 PM

5,143 posts

Deleted....3x postings

This post has been edited by T231H: Sep 14 2016, 02:50 PM
T231H
post Sep 14 2016, 02:44 PM

5,143 posts

Deleted....3x postings

This post has been edited by T231H: Sep 14 2016, 02:51 PM
T231H
post Sep 14 2016, 02:44 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Sep 14 2016, 12:30 PM)
....FSM sales fee now at 0.57%. ..... pinjam ...... to raise money.

Use the money to buy a low risk rating balanced fund at 0.57% fees. Later intra switch to a bond fund with the same fund house. Voila! You have a few hundred thousand credit points to play with.

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 14 2016, 02:10 PM)
No. His idea IS workable. innocent.gif
hmm.gif should i consider using my Full Flexi housing loan, to try it out ?
HL interest < 5% pa.... use the Vanguard Credit points system......1~2 weeks...
return money to HL.....untung a few hundreds thousands of credit points..... hmm.gif tongue.gif
T231H
post Sep 15 2016, 11:44 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Sep 15 2016, 11:35 AM)
........ Anyway, my earlier posting about borrowing from Ah Long, etc. to obtain the FSM credit points is meant as a tongue in cheek statement. I am sure the forumers here understood that.  biggrin.gif
doh.gif what just a "tongue in cheek statement."??
mad.gif
i thought it was a "command" or an investment advise
biggrin.gif rclxs0.gif
T231H
post Sep 20 2016, 09:17 PM

5,143 posts

a timely article......for thinking of buying low and sell high or buying high and selling higher

Can you time the market?...... November 18, 2009
When the market has moved to high levels, predicting its future direction is tricky. Investors are often tempted to time the market - whether it will have further upside or will it consolidate. However, is this the best strategy?
Author : IFAST Research Team

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...the-market--431
T231H
post Sep 20 2016, 10:00 PM

5,143 posts

When To Take Profits?

When should an investor consider taking profits? This article sheds light.

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/artic...e-Profits--1783

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0915sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:13 AM