QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 6 2016, 11:17 AM)
FSM and PM, totally different level...Like ASx thread and FSM.
Fundsupermart.com v15, 基金超市第十五章 - Rise the Dragon
Oct 6 2016, 11:39 AM
5,379 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
Oct 6 2016, 11:42 AM
5,608 posts Joined: May 2011 From: Here, There, Everywhere |
QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Oct 6 2016, 10:56 AM) You got a point here. bro - er.. But i believe his intention is not to show off his wealth here, it is just to convince the others on his investment approach and achievement, and he walks the talk. What I can observe in this forum is: Many sifus here overanalyze their UT investment. Throw in standard deviation, correlation, sharp ratios, timing the market lah...DCA lah. Seems very book smart. Some talk big with just monthly DCA RM100 pm per fund. And at the end of the day, the return just enough to beat the inflation rate. At the end of the day, your IRR speaks how good is your strategy? No? I am not taking side, just an observer. high current IRR may not prove one's methodology is logically sound as a process leh it may be pure luck. it is the repeatable process & logical nature of a process (to it's "working environment") that can prove to be good logically & risk/rewarding. heck, i'm sure of few of us have pre-2008 mutual funds held till now, giving >15% IRR ask us to repeat performance on selecting such... sure dunno how/why wan bwhahaah thus, doesn't mean high IRR = good, logical & repeatable/consistent --- Other than the above, some people "talk" with not-too-logical cause-effect, such as as those that think buying PURELY based on low NAVs = better win rate. VS NAVs are by default, mathematical values derived from the fund's held (cash + stocks/bonds + other stuff like derivatives) LESS (calculated management & other fees/costs) LESS Distribution Thus, if one were to argue just by buying low NAV, akin to buying a stock, instead of "holistic view".. susah to discuss logically lor Even the "distributions" Vs "dividends" argument is not too logical coz: 1. PRICE of stock: market forces directly decides price of a stock before & after/ex dividends VS 2. NAV: purely mathematical - it is the composite value of all stuff held, INCLUDING DIVIDENDs from stocks & Interests from cash/debt vehicles held, thus even if NAV goes down right after distribution point.. it's purely maths, not the buying/selling of the mutual fund. Thus properly comparable meh - method for stocks vs method for mutual funds? sigh.. sorry ar, not sighing about U, just some folks that insist "general truths" can be applied "literally"/specifically to mutual funds - eg. buy low/sell high. Just thinking out loud - no absolute right/wrong This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Oct 6 2016, 11:48 AM |
Oct 6 2016, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 6 2016, 11:09 AM) you do know those sifus (legit ones) have a platinum and majority have gold status right.one sifu here don't even need to pay for switching fees. we have a few investors who think their 60k is a huge sum. The sifu whom you have mentioned did a good job in giving guidances on investment. It is very resourceful and beneficial to most of the forumers here.also they make no money being in this forum but here they are trying to teach and advise or maybe just to talk kok as usual. if you follow the versions of fsm, you will notice many members have adopted their way of investing and it has been proven time and again that it works. Excel sheets and formulas being made and spoon fed to us and who thought them when fsm first opened up in Malaysia? don't know why this version for fsm this time is drama packed and butthurt. fine if you think your method works then back that up with calculations and facts and not just spew out insults. come on lah, your goals and your money why need to use other members to insult the other guys. we did well without you and we will continue doing so in the next threads down the years. The investment objective is profit maximisation, and there is no single way to do it, there are always heterogenity in investment approaches to achieve that objective. I like the "Sponge Metaphor" that you use in Learning. As Confucius sayings: 知之为知之,不知为不知,是知也。 Just be humble and you would learn more. |
Oct 6 2016, 11:50 AM
4,436 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 6 2016, 09:42 AM) That must be the first portfolio i see here with IRR >10%! It's a pity despite so many so called sifus here, instead of getting the result from them, it comes from you, one who supports timing the market. The big headed sifu who is so against your way, how high is his IRR after so many years of experience? Most people in here clearly steadfastly clinging behind the back of that sifu, what IRR are they getting? Ultimately is how much money you made? how high your IRR is, not just how loud you can talk... IRR of 7.7% in a span of around 3 years old portfolio = OK lar. In line with some of the more conservative type balanced fund. Guy3288, I recalled you are a young person. If it is true, that is, my memory serves me right, you should bump up your IRR by including more equity fund. Show me again your total port and let me look at it again. Xuzen |
Oct 6 2016, 11:56 AM
4,436 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
India, India, oh my lovely India
Avangelice sure very happy. Best Xuzen This post has been edited by xuzen: Oct 6 2016, 12:00 PM |
Oct 6 2016, 12:12 PM
1,498 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 6 2016, 11:50 AM) IRR of 7.7% in a span of around 3 years old portfolio = OK lar. In line with some of the more conservative type balanced fund. Guy3288, I recalled you are a young person. If it is true, that is, my memory serves me right, you should bump up your IRR by including more equity fund. Show me again your total port and let me look at it again. Boss, I think he's almost 100% EQ on FSM. He is also vested in ASx fixed priced fundsXuzen Me la, my FI allocation is > my age |
Oct 6 2016, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(dasecret @ Oct 6 2016, 12:12 PM) Boss, I think he's almost 100% EQ on FSM. He is also vested in ASx fixed priced funds You need to live till 100 years old to have a full FI allocation. Me la, my FI allocation is > my age Today I have learnt new thing, an equation:- For moderate investor:- FI allocation = 100 - Equity allocation (age), so if you are 40 years old, then equity allocation should be 40%, FI 60%. |
Oct 6 2016, 01:10 PM
56 posts Joined: Jan 2015 |
QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Oct 6 2016, 12:37 PM) You need to live till 100 years old to have a full FI allocation. The equation got problem , if like that means grow older will put more into equities rather than fixed income... Should be the other way roundToday I have learnt new thing, an equation:- For moderate investor:- FI allocation = 100 - Equity allocation (age), so if you are 40 years old, then equity allocation should be 40%, FI 60%. |
Oct 6 2016, 01:12 PM
5,143 posts Joined: Jan 2015 |
Risk Tolerance by Time frame
An often seen cliché is that of what we'll refer to as "age-based" risk tolerance. It is conventional wisdom that a younger investor has a long-term time horizon in terms of the need for investments and can take more risk. Following this logic, an older individual has a short investment horizon, especially once that individual is retired, and would have low risk tolerance. While this may be true in general, there are certainly a number of other considerations that come into play. http://www.investopedia.com/articles/pf/07...k_tolerance.asp |
Oct 6 2016, 01:54 PM
3,541 posts Joined: Mar 2015 |
For me, no hard and fast rule in investing.
Investing should be stress free and fun! Life is short. If you make money, good for you lor. What is IRR? What is ROI? What low NAV or high NAV? |
Oct 6 2016, 02:02 PM
1,055 posts Joined: Nov 2015 |
QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 6 2016, 09:23 AM) FSM seems to only recommend funds to buy. That's is an easier job as no time frame is given, fsm never mention how long you should stay with the fund. Next moment when the fund becomes less performing, fsm will recommend other funds. Yes, a very good idea.FSM should perhaps also recommend which fund to switch out. That will be a nasty job which can piss people off. Know when to go in must also know when to come out too.... |
Oct 6 2016, 02:14 PM
106 posts Joined: Sep 2016 |
Oct 6 2016, 02:18 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
33,653 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Oct 6 2016, 02:19 PM
5,143 posts Joined: Jan 2015 |
Oct 6 2016, 02:25 PM
1,055 posts Joined: Nov 2015 |
QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 6 2016, 09:31 AM) why die die must rush in to buy? Yup, I agree on the first part.had been proven, mkts always fluctuates...if one can buy at 1~2% lower than others...UNTUNG lah. but there will always be others buying lower than you.... Of course, ppl will say high will go higher. But what I will do is to take a break, especially with so many uncertainties lying in the near future (US presidential election, Fed rate hike, Deutsche Bank.....) No need to rush, save some bullets and shoot when the clues are clearer. * Sifu dun be angry lah....just my personal thinking. Regular DCA is a good method, just that I want to took some gamble |
Oct 6 2016, 02:32 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
3,815 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
Oct 6 2016, 02:35 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
33,653 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(David3700 @ Oct 6 2016, 02:25 PM) Yup, I agree on the first part. Where do you keep your "reserve" ? Do you keep them in the banks, or you keep them as fixed income funds and switch over from time to time ?Of course, ppl will say high will go higher. But what I will do is to take a break, especially with so many uncertainties lying in the near future (US presidential election, Fed rate hike, Deutsche Bank.....) No need to rush, save some bullets and shoot when the clues are clearer. * Sifu dun be angry lah....just my personal thinking. Regular DCA is a good method, just that I want to took some gamble This post has been edited by puchongite: Oct 6 2016, 02:36 PM |
Oct 6 2016, 02:36 PM
5,608 posts Joined: May 2011 From: Here, There, Everywhere |
QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Oct 6 2016, 01:54 PM) For me, no hard and fast rule in investing. hhehe Investing should be stress free and fun! Life is short. If you make money, good for you lor. What is IRR? What is ROI? What low NAV or high NAV? IMHO, if want all "those stress", do direct stocks or derivatives more worthwhile for the time & effort "trading" mutual funds.. a bit waste of effort & time lor since it's generally opaque (ie fund holding what at specific point in time). |
Oct 6 2016, 02:39 PM
5,877 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 6 2016, 09:51 AM) example of hypocrisy, calling someone who talks alot while showing an image of his total sum of his investment. This statement revealed your lack of ability to think. call your self "physician" some more.......malu lah. if your brain is working/logical, you should know hypocrisy is not a sensible word to use there, as I did not tell others not to something that i did (it) myself. I do market timing, i tell others, yes go ahead and do it. if you have a bone to pick with me, poke at the right spot dont just tickle me. QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 6 2016, 11:09 AM) you do know those sifus (legit ones) have a platinum and majority have gold status right.one sifu here don't even need to pay for switching fees. we have a few investors who think their 60k is a huge sum. you may be a good boot licker in buttering up your sifus.also they make no money being in this forum but here they are trying to teach and advise or maybe just to talk kok as usual. if you follow the versions of fsm, you will notice many members have adopted their way of investing and it has been proven time and again that it works. Excel sheets and formulas being made and spoon fed to us and who thought them when fsm first opened up in Malaysia? don't know why this version for fsm this time is drama packed and butthurt. fine if you think your method works then back that up with calculations and facts and not just spew out insults. come on lah, your goals and your money why need to use other members to insult the other guys. we did well without you and we will continue doing so in the next threads down the years. but if you dont know how to use your brain, and simply shoot from your hips, you may be shooting at your sifus rather than at me. Go read what you say in red. Who champions in throwing insults? Who back it up with calculations? Who is proven mathematically correct? your sifu?? QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 6 2016, 11:50 AM) IRR of 7.7% in a span of around 3 years old portfolio = OK lar. In line with some of the more conservative type balanced fund. Guy3288, I recalled you are a young person. If it is true, that is, my memory serves me right, you should bump up your IRR by including more equity fund. Show me again your total port and let me look at it again. i have shown my portfolio already. dont want to aggravate that butthurt Avangelice more.Xuzen QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Oct 6 2016, 01:54 PM) For me, no hard and fast rule in investing. I fully agree with you there.Investing should be stress free and fun! Life is short. If you make money, good for you lor. What is IRR? What is ROI? What low NAV or high NAV? Why must have hard and fast rule? As long as you can make money. But IRR* can tell you how good is good. ROI no use la, if time no taken in it. Yes then can forget about low NAV and high NAV when you already have high IRR! *At least 3 years period, the longer the more indicative it is. |
Oct 6 2016, 02:39 PM
16,872 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
QUOTE(river.sand @ Oct 6 2016, 02:32 PM) If like that my IRR >10% lor Buat apa nak tipu sendiri? Past failure is part of your history, self-denial won't do u much benefit. That is why I have both IRR and rolling 12-months returns to keep track my investment performance. This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Oct 6 2016, 02:40 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0256sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:15 PM |