Threads removed in Serious Kopitiam, Including my own AMA thread.

SUSHoka Nobasho
post Sep 4 2016, 09:37 PM, updated 10y ago

875 posts

Hi.

Some of my threads in Serious Kopitiam have been removed, including my AMA thread, which is more of a personal thread of my own life experience which has nothing to do with other people's personal experience in their lives.

May I kindly have them re-opened, and if not, may I kindly know why?

Thank you again for your help and your time.

This post has been edited by Hoka Nobasho: Sep 4 2016, 09:40 PM
cherroy
post Sep 4 2016, 09:50 PM

25,802 posts

Threads or posts pertaining to racial, religious, political or sexual issues are strictly prohibited in Kopitiam, Serious Kopitiam and its subforums
There were 7 topics created by the TS on Atheist and Christian issues in Kopitiam and Serious Kopitiam section which is against the rules as stated.
SUSHoka Nobasho
post Sep 4 2016, 09:52 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 4 2016, 09:50 PM)
There were 7 topics created by the TS on Atheist and Christian issues in Kopitiam and Serious Kopitiam section which is against the rules as stated.
But religious threads like the Christian Lounge, The Buddhism Retreat and Muslim Fellowship remained there for years without being removed.

May I kindly ask why is this?

In addition, one of my threads was an AMA thread in regards to my personal experience of my life. How is that also considered as "breaking the rules"?

This post has been edited by Hoka Nobasho: Sep 4 2016, 09:53 PM
cherroy
post Sep 4 2016, 09:59 PM

25,802 posts

Such a topic created by the TS is religious issue talk already, which clearly against the rules.

Hi I am an Ex-Christian. Atheist now., Ask me anything

SUSHoka Nobasho
post Sep 4 2016, 10:02 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 4 2016, 09:59 PM)
Such a topic created by the TS is religious issue talk already, which clearly against the rules.
Even when it's about my personal life?

In addition, you have not addressed the question of how the Christian Lounge, Muslim Fellowship, and the Buddhism Retreat threads, which are also talking about religion remained there for years without being taken down.

Why the double standard?
Pr1me_Minister
post Sep 5 2016, 01:28 AM

314 posts

IIRC the Lounge threads were given special permissions to facilitate discussion and info-sharing among believers (and sometimes non-believers as well). It pretty much like a mini community.

But your threads judging from the title are quite offensive (as in attacking other faith) which is why they're disallowed in both Kopitiam and serious Kopitiam.
SUSHoka Nobasho
post Sep 5 2016, 01:42 AM

875 posts

QUOTE(Pr1me_Minister @ Sep 5 2016, 01:28 AM)
IIRC the Lounge threads were given special permissions to facilitate discussion and info-sharing among believers (and sometimes non-believers as well). It pretty much like a mini community.
Doesn't that means the rule and regulations are actually misleading?

QUOTE(Pr1me_Minister @ Sep 5 2016, 01:28 AM)
But your threads judging from the title are quite offensive (as in attacking other faith) which is why they're disallowed in both Kopitiam and serious Kopitiam.
I'm sorry, will you please kindly elaborate what do you mean "by attacking religion"?

One of the threads involve my own AMA thread in regards to my personal life relating to religion.

The other threads were scientific, factual threads about what is currently happening with the world.

This post has been edited by Hoka Nobasho: Sep 5 2016, 01:42 AM
cherroy
post Sep 5 2016, 10:04 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Hoka Nobasho @ Sep 4 2016, 10:51 PM)
Hi.

May I kindly ask the mods here how I am able to open an AMA (Ask-Me-Anything) thread titled, "Hi, ex-Christian here. Atheist now.", without being taken down like the previous one I had?

Thank you for your help and your time.
Please create you own blog instead.

Forum is not a place for anyone to post issue or topic that involving potential sensitive matter, disregard it is AMA or personal matter.

Thank you.

SUSHoka Nobasho
post Sep 5 2016, 10:13 AM

875 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 5 2016, 10:04 AM)
Please create you own blog instead.

Forum is not a place for anyone to post issue or topic that involving potential sensitive matter, disregard it is AMA or personal matter.

Thank you.
First of all, I understand. Thank you.

Secondly, I can tell that English is not your first language, not that it matters anyway.
b00n
post Sep 5 2016, 12:03 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(Hoka Nobasho @ Sep 4 2016, 10:02 PM)
Even when it's about my personal life?

In addition, you have not addressed the question of how the Christian Lounge, Muslim Fellowship, and the Buddhism Retreat threads, which are also talking about religion remained there for years without being taken down.

Why the double standard?
Those are topics specifically meant to self contain people with same interest into single discussion forum. Not for someone to interject and invite flaming wars and continuously searching for challenges and arguments.

I do not know your purpose, but looking at your topics you are no better than those you claimed to be hypocrites; and without realizing it yourself, you are just another one calling the pot black while you are a kettle.

p/s: I am no believer in Religions but I sure don't concur to your act. People who are here long enough knows my stance in religions but I can still get along with Christians, Buddhist, Muslims, Atheist all alike.
gugukrez
post Sep 5 2016, 12:09 PM

943 posts

Anyone need popcorn?
SUSHoka Nobasho
post Sep 5 2016, 12:23 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Sep 5 2016, 12:03 PM)
Those are topics specifically meant to self contain people with same interest into single discussion forum. Not for someone to interject and invite flaming wars and continuously searching for challenges and arguments.

I do not know your purpose, but looking at your topics you are no better than those you claimed to be hypocrites; and without realizing it yourself, you are just another one calling the pot black while you are a kettle.

p/s: I am no believer in Religions but I sure don't concur to your act. People who are here long enough knows my stance in religions but I can still get along with Christians, Buddhist, Muslims, Atheist all alike.
I understand your point how my threads may be considered as flame-baiting, but you misunderstood me when you think I cannot get along with other religions.

And no, I don't see how I was being a hypocrite when all I did was providing an avenue for people in order to reason and be rational more often, instead of providing dogmatic teachings like religion.

So either because you and I have different definitions of what hypocrisy is, or you do not know what hypocrisy really means.

Still, thanks again for your time. I can see how extremely CLOSE-MINDED the forum really is, and I will factor it into my cognitive process before creating any more threads like that.

Being friendly with other religions is no excuse for being close-minded.

In addition, it is obvious that your rules and regulations are misleading if you did not include the exception that you have allowed for, quote: "meant to self contain people with same interest into single discussion forum".

Thanks again for your time. It is obvious why Malaysia is still a backwards country because of such closed-mindedness. I will refrain from creating similar threads in the future, thank you.

This post has been edited by Hoka Nobasho: Sep 5 2016, 12:29 PM
Pr1me_Minister
post Sep 6 2016, 01:46 AM

314 posts

I wonder if you have heard about our Real World Issues subforum or specifically the All About Religion thread (formerly known as Believer vs Non-believer).
koonghx
post Sep 8 2016, 01:30 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(Hoka Nobasho @ Sep 5 2016, 12:23 PM)

And no, I don't see how I was being a hypocrite when all I did was providing an avenue for people in order to reason and be rational more often, instead of providing dogmatic teachings like religion.

So either because you and I have different definitions of what hypocrisy is, or you do not know what hypocrisy really means.

Still, thanks again for your time. I can see how extremely CLOSE-MINDED the forum really is, and I will factor it into my cognitive process before creating any more threads like that.

Being friendly with other religions is no excuse for being close-minded.

Thanks again for your time. It is obvious why Malaysia is still a backwards country because of such closed-mindedness. I will refrain from creating similar threads in the future, thank you.
I think Malaysia is still a backwards country because of people like you..
Religious issue talk was not allowed in that subforum except for those threads. If you want to post anything go there.
You should know that you sound like those mormons I meet in the streets..

Oh and I don't know what's the point of saying someone's first language is not English. You do realise that this is a Malaysian forum right?
So what if someone's written grammar isn't perfect, as long as we can get our message across, then it's good.

0.0551sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:40 AM