Sony Sony Xperia XZ -- Discussion, The Best Camera Technology on Smartphone

teckyang97
post Sep 3 2016, 01:16 AM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 3 2016, 12:03 AM)
Can Sony release Sony Xperia XZ Ultra? or Xperia XZ Pro?

I really like this phone but I really really hope they is a Forest Blue edition of screen size of 5.5" or 5.7" or even the legend 6.44"
Its safe to assume that "Ultra" series is dead, such an awesome phone, yet so underrated and underdeveloped.
teckyang97
post Sep 19 2016, 12:18 AM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

If camera quality is really a huge factor, why not just get a DSLR? Nowadays you can also directly share your pics through Facebook and social media, plus much more efficiency, instead of complaining phones camera issue, cause for a camera guy, phone camera is definitely not enough.
teckyang97
post Sep 19 2016, 02:16 AM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 19 2016, 02:00 AM)
You know how big and heavy the DSLR right? Most people won't carrying it everyday.
Only enthusiast or photographer may do so.

Phone camera can anytime capture special moment as it is with you all time but not the DSLR for most people.

That the reason why phone camera became main subject and main target for people to choose upgrade his/her phone not the heavy DSLR or the near dying normal digital camera.
Not necessarily DSLR, maybe a small, portable digital camera that costs 1k with fast speed. What I'm trying to point out is that we shouldn't expect so much from a phone, which isn't specialize in camera, but if camera is really a priority, getting a digital camera would be more efficient and cheaper.
teckyang97
post Sep 19 2016, 02:21 AM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Sep 19 2016, 12:53 AM)
Some people however, prefers 'all in one'.
I hardly depend on smartphone camera as i always take document photos more.
Yeah, sadly phone camera are usually good in like colors and life environment, but not at details and documents. The lack of true-zoom in smartphones is also another cons and might not be possible because companies are making their phones thinner and thinner, instead of making it thicker and gives more ability to the phone.
teckyang97
post Sep 19 2016, 03:11 AM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 19 2016, 02:22 AM)
Most people want is brilliant output from mobile camera not spend extra to buy those portable digital camera, it is huge burden to carry those portable digital camera also, where you gonna put? inside bag? Not everyone carrying bag, inside pocket? Sorry it still kind of bulky and not comfortable to carry one pocket phone, another pocket portable digital camera.

Portable digital camera is dying, not much people will buying it anymore because phone can do it and did it brilliantly, and camera in phone will keep better and better.

Now camera in phone is priority, most people will check camera in phone than others functions.
I get your point, but I think phone is constantly downgrading their capability by making it thinner, I think camera won't go far in mobile, UNLESS they made a modular parts for it with much bigger sensor and all.
teckyang97
post Sep 27 2016, 03:31 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Sep 27 2016, 02:10 PM)
Unboxing from Lowyat.net

Omg so sexy!
teckyang97
post Sep 27 2016, 03:31 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

Duplicate post*

This post has been edited by teckyang97: Sep 27 2016, 03:32 PM
teckyang97
post Sep 27 2016, 03:36 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Sep 27 2016, 03:34 PM)
love the blue~  wub.gif
Only thing about Sony is that their pricing is so crappy expensive!
teckyang97
post Sep 30 2016, 06:24 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(desreg2913 @ Sep 30 2016, 05:25 PM)
this phone looks good but have to play on hand only know.
still 1080p, note 7 is it 2k?

heard that snapdragon 820 got heating problem is it true?

also im wondering why the finger print sensor put aside...

i like the leaning behaviour like charging ur phone till 90% and stop, then tomorrow morning will help u charge till 100% to avoid for overcharge ur phone.
good for ppl that always forgot to turn off the charger when go to sleep
You don't need 2k for below 6 inch phones, it would not be noticeable anyway. SD810 was the one that has overheating problem and side fingerprint sensor is the BEST placing, cause front feels unnatural and you need to stretch, back is perfect placing, but cannot unlock while putting it on a table, but side is the best of both world!
teckyang97
post Oct 1 2016, 02:33 AM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(desreg2913 @ Sep 30 2016, 07:18 PM)
Actually I prefer front as when put on table it's easy to do that.
I can't imagine how to do it via side.
I dun like back placing neither.

Guys who got the phone faster share ur experience.
Put down your phone on a table and put your finger at the side. Done, pretty easy and simple, of course front is the best for front, but sacrifices natural hand positioning that side and back has.
teckyang97
post Oct 6 2016, 08:03 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Oct 6 2016, 11:02 AM)
http://www.xperiablog.net/2016/10/05/confi...ensor/#comments

knew it. the hardware is still there but the software isn't. just flash any other region's firmware and now people can stop complaining no fingerprint scanner.
Why did they removed it for US one anyway? Its pointless doh.gif
teckyang97
post Oct 8 2016, 09:14 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(Areas Elysian @ Oct 8 2016, 07:45 PM)
Latest update, 73% and it dropped to 1050 mA. Looks like there's some throttling going on based on the % of current charge.
Did it in a controlled environment to check what's limiting it, we know high temperature does affect charging speed, so wanted to make sure it wasn't holding back. Haha...

Edit: The metal back is working very well as a good heat sink.  rclxms.gif
Where did you buy the Cooler pack?
teckyang97
post Oct 12 2016, 12:36 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(ckchan @ Oct 11 2016, 05:58 PM)
Downside of xz
Expensive
Only fhd screen
No fingerprint sensor

Fortunately for us, xz is reasonably priced and comes with fingerprint sensor. More so with all the freebies!

2k screen... Honestly I can't even notice any difference between hd and fhd on such small screen
I used to think there's no difference between 2k and FHD as well, UNTIL I got the VR and compared it side by side, the difference is HUGE! Like literally!
teckyang97
post Oct 13 2016, 03:49 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 13 2016, 02:24 PM)
Finally had chance to play XZ. The screen is gorgeous but I find it a bit vibrant even in standard mode.

The camera is fast and better than last time but a bit over sharpening.

The phone design is beautiful to me! Kind of like it.

Where was this? I want to have a hands on also
teckyang97
post Oct 15 2016, 07:07 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

Just tried the XZ today at The Curve, first impression is SUPER SEXY! Then I tried the fingerprint sensor, all I can say is, its by far the fastest fingerprint sensor I've ever used! Even faster than my Mate 8, which is the 2nd fastest I've used, and 3rd fastest is the iPhone 7. Literally you just press the power button, you don't even have a chance to check notification or time, it just unlocks immediately! However I don't really like how the body feels, somehow it doesn't feel like metal or aluminium, feels slightly plastic, not sure why, must be the shiny property makes it feel that way(similar to iPhone 7 Jet Black feel). Camera is OK, overall I think the selling point of this phone is the sexy look and design and also the blazing speed fingerprint. For now, not worth the upgrade from Mate 8 to XZ
teckyang97
post Oct 15 2016, 07:13 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(ckchan @ Oct 15 2016, 07:11 PM)
The curve already has xz display set? Last few days I go there they only display x compact
Yeah its already there, they have Blue, Black, and Silver, IMO blue and silver look the best
teckyang97
post Oct 16 2016, 10:34 AM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Oct 16 2016, 09:36 AM)
i dunno either my XZ have issue or not, but Note7 & S7E single speaker louder than XZ. thus if compare with N6P, then can say bye2 already.
Can confirm this, the XZ speaker is softer than my Mate 8, which is slightly louder than the Note 5 and S7E
teckyang97
post Oct 17 2016, 06:47 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(Areas Elysian @ Oct 17 2016, 04:21 PM)
Note 7 is indeed louder. But imo, the quality of the sound coming from it is also muddier, not as much clarity as what comes out of the XZ. Also, when in the standard watching a video position, the front facing speakers sounds better than the downwards/side way facing speakers. Also, while playing games landscape, with the N7 I tend to cover the speakers. No such issue with the XZ.
Pretty much this.
Same, wanted to pick one up yesterday for the missus but they had none in stock.
But speaker is not so much an issue, just invest RM50 into a tiny and portable external speaker, it'll demolish all phone speaker anyday and anytime tongue.gif
teckyang97
post Oct 19 2016, 11:34 AM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Oct 19 2016, 12:17 AM)
my opinion so far
1. battery life
mediocre. assumption of Sony greatness in optimizing, light software UI, small screen and FullHD screen to translate for good battery life  somehow not materialize. i dont play game, SOT hardly can reach 4 hrs. (sync always ON, location set as battery saving, auto brightness).

2. fingerprint
demn good!  thumbup.gif

3. smoothness.
impressive when consider it only have 3gb ram. satisfied and smooth. no issue. only minor gripe noticed kinda lag/slow response when using RSbrowser when press new tab.

4. build quality
picture didnt justify it's beauty. it looks ordinary but when holding it, feel great!
nice in hand feel. screen to body ratio can be better though  laugh.gif

5. dual speaker
meh. quality not that good. maybe better a bit then others but the loudness really like  sweat.gif
soft. at least last time when using Z2, i'm satisfied with the speaker when compared to other flagship at that time. this one like, common. it is Sony, should have great audio also.

6. reception & call quality
good. happy. no issue like any other smartphones i used before

7.UI
light and easy. i like it. much better than S7Edge UI. but bomb7 Grace UI also pleasing to the eyes.
sony music app among the best.

8. video recording
no personal comment. dont bother to record any video even with previous smartphones. from youtube, sony EIS/steadyshot looks awesome.

9. still camera
in good lighting, satisfied. nice!  smile.gif  thumbup.gif just need to ensure steady hand but autofocus can be better though and saving picture even @ 8mp, for me i would say damn slow. need to blame UFS storage in boomsung phone.
low light...so so. im not camera guy that like to fiddle with the setting before take picture, for me, when wanna snap, press wanna it to be nice and good. but with XZ, need to put more effort in capturing photo.
in general, a bit disappointing coz after few z series generation, a great mobile camera sensor maker and great camera PNS/DSLR maker still playing catch-up game in camera optimization in mobile phone even with their own sensor  whistling.gif
other OEM like HTC, Google, Samseng or even chinese OEMs able to finetune Sony's sensor to produce better image and Apple by using much smaller size sony sensor optimize to produce better image than flagship Sony sensor in Sony phone then something not right in Sony's camp.

10.will i recommend to average joe outside?
nope. some of my friends who are looking to replace their bomb7, asked me about this XZ when saw i used this phone the last 2 days in office, i just told them better just get S7e to replace their bomb7.
when asked why i bought this, i just said, typically i favored either Samsung flagship or Sony flagship, so it's time for sony. after all i had used the last 4 samsung flagships (s6, s6e, s7e, n7)
and i told them,the spec certainly not worth to buy this phone @ 2699 from retail shop. if wanna buy js buy from gemfive, find seller @ 2499 and use discount coupon to make it around 2.28k.
if wanna pay 2.5k, better js get Huawei P9+ or S7e.

the above opinions may sounds negative but yeah that's my personal thought it.
do i regret bought it? nope.  smile.gif
using XZ naked without any case, the feeling itself is priceless.
Agreed, I believe this phone is more to true Sony fans or someone who wants to be unique. I personally find this phone nothing special compared to IP7, Samsung, Pixel, OP, Huawei, and all that, but their design and quality just never fails me. It just makes me want to own the device, just my opinion smile.gif
teckyang97
post Oct 22 2016, 02:31 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

Am I the only one who finds Chrome color more sexy than Blue?

0.0271sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:02 AM