24 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Home Theatre My Own Cinema in my Living Room..., New TW700 pics added. Got Jessica Alba..

Fusion
post Feb 14 2007, 06:25 PM

.:ATI:.
1,201 posts

i have just set up my Panny AX-100 with draper screen but i m having problem with my 12m Supra cable....m i using a Audioquest DVI-HDMi adapter in my dvd player but somehow there is no signal on my projector.... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

but i manage to borrow a cheap 2m Pioneer HDMI/Audioquest adapter and it works with the pioneer cable ....still trying to trouble shoot it now ....sigh sigh ....CNY coming somemore......
silbii
post Feb 15 2007, 11:51 AM

963 posts

QUOTE(jengofett7545 @ Feb 14 2007, 03:04 PM)
Well said bro ... nice seing u here ... well me been dwelling with ht for upteen years currently settling with my Tosh/Marantz/Jamo ...!!! ?? but its ok/rel set up.
next thing is either a 42 (lcd/plasma) or a projector.
I have personally reviewed at least 7-8 projectors in my set up (some borrowed/loan/friends /office etc etc).. i've noticed for a practical used in Malaysian house, any lcd/dlp with reasonably 1000 ilumes will do. My best was a "KODAK" which was years ago with TI chips (cant remember the model...)... but my point is even getting an optoma 706 for mere rm 2.2 k is justified if proper callibration is done. rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
haha...nice seeing another 'musician' into HT too here...cool man! Damn, don't you sometimes wish we have cheaper hobbies that don't require us to upgrade stuff constantly from time to time? haha

yeah...agree with u. Some data projector , esp dlp ones are not all that bad coz u can always calibrate them our own satisfaction...coz not everybody has RM6000 to spend for this specific hobbies.

i know Optomo can do good video too...the best thing is to demo them out to your satisfaction. Used to read good reviews on this brand's video quality....

so bro - just get the Optoma for rm2.5K...and for the rest of the money, save a bit and get yourself a plasma...then u have all there! The plasma for daily usage, the projector for those special moments which require some gigantic pics. Actually this setup is kinda normal for other parts of the world...and quite practical as well.

I'm an advocate of 'pilihan praktical dan bijak'...mainly coz i'm poor and have to work my ass off to really have more money for my hobbies...but if you guys have rich dads to 'pow', of course get them to buy ler...haha

i remember those days in England where some frens had to starve to save money in order to buy those hi-end hi-fi stuff...and they got it lah...but sadly they had no extra money for other things, like travelling etc. So they ended up living in their apartment and going nowhere, literally.

I got my hi-fi stuff too...got myself a HK, Mission, some other dodgy brand which i can't remember..all from Richer Sound's cheap sale catalogue...but since i didn't spend that much on these, I still had some money to spare too for my travellings across Europe etc...

Back to projectors, actually nowadays coz of me being busy and all...i rarely have the chance to actually have some free time for movie-watching...

Coz i think if u have a splendid HT system with those hi-end LCOS projector which costs a bomb but have no time to watch, won't that be a waste?

Still...if you have the money...go and buy true HT projectors...now I have some extra cash...but i'm contemplating whether to use this to get a HT projector or upgrade my car...decisions decisions decisions...

hmm...am i making sense again here?

This post has been edited by silbii: Feb 15 2007, 12:02 PM
carpathia
post Feb 16 2007, 11:57 AM

2,619 posts

so what about Dell DLP projectors? u think we can calibrate those close to 80% of HT projectors?
PcWork
post Feb 16 2007, 12:44 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Feb 16 2007, 11:57 AM)
so what about Dell DLP projectors? u think we can calibrate those close to 80% of HT projectors?
DELL DLP has a big problems on leakage of light form the bulb. =)
that's what i feel lah. when tested it out, i feel the celling above my head is bright.
=)

dirtrun
post Feb 16 2007, 01:08 PM

3,136 posts

Hehehe,

WAH ... U all got big plans for de Dell Pj huh... I have lobang to get this at a discount but it was not in de plan at all... Not tat I am knocking it or anything but since u have to come out for half de amount already why stop there de Optoma hd70 is hovering ard 5k only and this is a proper 16:9 HT pj...

No amount of calibrating will bring out contrast issues - brightness of cos no problem le... I dunno le maybe I been in this hobby too long already and if you dont go with your heart with this kind of thing and go by wallet, in the long run Upgraditis will hit you and hit you bad and in the end you will waste more money. BTW I am not rich I work real hard(2 jobs) for my money and it boils down to priorities...

Just my 2 cts only
Dirtrun

This post has been edited by dirtrun: Feb 16 2007, 01:14 PM
lousycar
post Feb 20 2007, 03:37 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(lousycar @ Feb 6 2007, 09:47 PM)
is there a name for the material you use as the screen?
how much does that cost?
Timothyy
just want to follow up on my question. what material you use as the screen? and the cost?

silbii
post Feb 20 2007, 07:54 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Feb 16 2007, 01:08 PM)
Hehehe,

WAH ... U all got big plans for de Dell Pj huh... I have lobang to get this at a discount but it was not in de plan at all... Not tat I am knocking it or anything but since u have to come out for half de amount already why stop there de Optoma hd70 is hovering ard 5k only and this is a proper 16:9 HT pj...

No amount of calibrating will bring out contrast issues - brightness of cos no problem le... I dunno le maybe I been in this hobby too long already and if you dont go with your heart with this kind of thing and go by wallet, in the long run Upgraditis will hit you and hit you bad and in the end you will waste more money. BTW I am not rich I work real hard(2 jobs) for my money and it boils down to priorities...

Just my 2 cts only
Dirtrun
dell can't replace any proper HT projector...but for RM2k it does provide ok video value lah...and yes, i heard some Dell models has some major light leakage issues...that's why it's freakin cheap! haha...but if u can 'customise' your viewing area to minimise these nuisance, it's not too bad...

yesterday i just saw Malena and Jarhead with my cheapo Dell...hate the dvd video quality of Malena but i was impressed by Jarhead - so i guess the video quality of the source play a really important role as well...and i used the portable Philips dvd player prog scan function for this - i just realisd that the Philips dvd player internal scaler is not that great....

anyone know any good cap ayam dvd player that can give good prog scan...or thise medium range ones? or should i just try HTPC for a change? hmm...

still, Malena, despite its video flaws...the lead role look 'awesome' anytime! hehe...

carpathia - if u have rm5K, by all means go for a proper HT 16:9 panel projector...coz upgrading later would not be cost-effective as well...dunno how much u have now but if u can save a bit more - go for the better ones if u can...

This post has been edited by silbii: Feb 21 2007, 09:16 AM
sunauto
post Feb 21 2007, 10:03 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Well, just get a Sony 76H dvd player, you won't regret it.

QUOTE(silbii @ Feb 20 2007, 07:54 PM)
dell can't replace any proper HT projector...but for RM2k it does provide ok video value lah...and yes, i heard some Dell models has some major light leakage issues...that's why it's freakin cheap! haha...but if u can 'customise' your viewing area to minimise these nuisance, it's not too bad...

yesterday i just saw Malena and Jarhead with my cheapo Dell...hate the dvd video quality of Malena but i was impressed by Jarhead - so i guess the video quality of the source play a really important role as well...and i used the portable Philips dvd player prog scan function for this - i just realisd that the Philips dvd player internal scaler is not that great....

anyone know any good cap ayam dvd player that can give good prog scan...or thise medium range ones? or should i just try HTPC for a change? hmm...

still, Malena, despite its video flaws...the lead role look 'awesome' anytime! hehe...

carpathia - if u have rm5K, by all means go for a proper HT 16:9 panel projector...coz upgrading later would not be cost-effective as well...dunno how much u have now but if u can save a bit more - go for the better ones if u can...
TStimothyy
post Feb 22 2007, 02:41 AM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

QUOTE(lousycar @ Feb 20 2007, 03:37 PM)
Timothyy
just want to follow up on my question. what material you use as the screen? and the cost?
I got the material from Ebay.

Actually, it is similar to Black Out Cloth. I saw same material is being used in some hotel's curtain. Kekekeke...

Added on March 15, 2007, 1:44 pm
QUOTE(sunauto @ Feb 21 2007, 10:03 PM)
Well, just get a Sony 76H dvd player, you won't regret it.
Yeah... its a bit slow compared to my previous JVC but it does the job.

This post has been edited by timothyy: Mar 15 2007, 01:44 PM
wotiyo
post Mar 31 2007, 11:41 AM

327 posts

nice very nice....i oso wan 2 do it at my home later...
TStimothyy
post Apr 2 2007, 03:56 PM

4,504 posts

Thanks much... come come... you also make one in your place... syiok!!!
sunauto
post Apr 3 2007, 12:34 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Slower than your JVC? In what sense? Navigation speed? Time taken to read the dvds? Honestly, JVC has stopped selling dvd players, they have removed them from their website. Honestly, the 76H is value for money at this price, it reads all discs perfectly even though it's no high end machine, it is still a decent performer. My aunt just got one to match her new Samsung LCD. Using it to watch those TVB serials on dvds. Hahaha. Overkill eh?

QUOTE(timothyy @ Feb 22 2007, 02:41 AM)
I got the material from Ebay.

Actually, it is similar to Black Out Cloth. I saw same material is being used in some hotel's curtain. Kekekeke...

Added on March 15, 2007, 1:44 pm
Yeah... its a bit slow compared to my previous JVC but it does the job.
TStimothyy
post Apr 3 2007, 10:13 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Apr 3 2007, 12:34 AM)
Slower than your JVC? In what sense? Navigation speed? Time taken to read the dvds? Honestly, JVC has stopped selling dvd players, they have removed them from their website. Honestly, the 76H is value for money at this price, it reads all discs perfectly even though it's no high end machine, it is still a decent performer. My aunt just got one to match her new Samsung LCD. Using it to watch those TVB serials on dvds. Hahaha. Overkill eh?
Sorry le... I say your baby slow. Kekeke...

In terms of responding to our commands... like switching it on from Standby, opening the CD tray, reading the disc... all slow.

But it doesn't really bother me.
sunauto
post Apr 3 2007, 11:09 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Not my baby ler, our baby. We're both using the same model leh and I'm still using it now. Just fell in love with the 76H, really trouble free.

I didn't know that the player is slow because if compared to my old Pioneer, it's slightly faster and the layer change for dual layered discs is smooth, unlike my old Pioneer, it will pause for a second or two before the second layer plays.

QUOTE(timothyy @ Apr 3 2007, 10:13 AM)
Sorry le... I say your baby slow. Kekeke...

In terms of responding to our commands... like switching it on from Standby, opening the CD tray, reading the disc... all slow.

But it doesn't really bother me.
TStimothyy
post Apr 3 2007, 01:00 PM

4,504 posts

Well, how to compare Pentium III and Pentium Core 2 Duo? Kekekeke... Its the same. At that time, it might be the best but now, new models come and go.

Sony 76H is OK for me. smooth. The slowness does not bother me so its ok.
HughieRmX
post Apr 4 2007, 08:29 AM

::.. ♬|♪ HaRdC0Re TrAnCE AddiCT ♬|♪..::
3,394 posts

Greetings ! smile.gif

I would like to seek some help from you guys here. Currently I am facing some situation at my new house. I have bought a new set of Home Theater System from Pioneer .. and then the rear speaker cables aren't long enough for me to hook on to my wall behind my sofa. Any idea how to extend the cables ? Is it I will have to make it myself ? unsure.gif

Help are much needed and appreciated here. Thank you notworthy.gif

Regards,
HughiE
empire23
post Apr 4 2007, 08:37 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Apr 4 2007, 08:29 AM)
Greetings ! smile.gif

I would like to seek some help from you guys here. Currently I am facing some situation at my new house. I have bought a new set of Home Theater System from Pioneer .. and then the rear speaker cables aren't long enough for me to hook on to my wall behind my sofa. Any idea how to extend the cables ? Is it I will have to make it myself ? unsure.gif

Help are much needed and appreciated here. Thank you notworthy.gif

Regards,
HughiE
Just strip the cable's jacket and splice it with more wire, that's all. You'll probably have to get a soldering iron and some solder to do this, but heck it isn't that hard. 2 Minute job at most.
HughieRmX
post Apr 4 2007, 08:46 AM

3,394 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Apr 4 2007, 08:37 AM)
Just strip the cable's jacket and splice it with more wire, that's all. You'll probably have to get a soldering iron and some solder to do this, but heck it isn't that hard. 2 Minute job at most.
Greetings ! smile.gif

Where can I get those wires ? This is my 1st time to deal with it, any precaution measure I should take?

Regards,
HughiE
TStimothyy
post Apr 4 2007, 09:23 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Apr 4 2007, 08:37 AM)
2min? This I donno but yeah... you can do this.

What kinda cable? Usually, surround sound is not that important. So, normal copper cables can do the job. Unless you have expensive audio system then you might want to look into monster cables and such... but that will end up more expensive than your pioneer satellite.
HughieRmX
post Apr 4 2007, 02:03 PM

3,394 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Apr 4 2007, 09:23 AM)
2min? This I donno but yeah... you can do this.

What kinda cable? Usually, surround sound is not that important. So, normal copper cables can do the job. Unless you have expensive audio system then you might want to look into monster cables and such... but that will end up more expensive than your pioneer satellite.
Greetings ! smile.gif

Those cables can be easily get from those shop selling AV Equipments right ? Normally what is the selling rate ? per meter basis ?

Regards,
HughiE

24 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0236sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:36 PM