I have a suggestion, To prevent spammer
TSWingKalimdor
Jan 26 2007, 12:33 PM, updated 19y ago
Why didn't lowyat forum make a restriction number of word. It mean for example the word is less than 30 it is not allow to post. I saw at Gamespot.com they have word restriction until 100 word before you can manage to post to prevent spammer (like 1 line spammer). I hope Admin will accept my idea.
Best Regard..
KilJim
Jan 26 2007, 12:46 PM
^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
Then every post would need to be at least 30 words?! That would make it really hard to post and end up with ppl simply adding meaningless words to meet the quota Besides, its not the fact that a post only has 10 words that makes it spam but rather the content in those words
Sesshoumaru
Jan 26 2007, 12:51 PM
How much you wanna bet that each post is gonna be something like this...
"yes........................................................la" "nice........................................................................................" "so kwuttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt"
natakaasd
Jan 26 2007, 12:53 PM
My suggestion, add a different Button other than the current "Report" button? Like "SPAM". If more than 5-10 different people click on it, then the Posting would be automatically reported for removal? At least, the Report button won't be abused, and the Mod/Staff/Admin have more "breathing space"?
suiteng
Jan 26 2007, 01:01 PM
QUOTE(natakaasd @ Jan 26 2007, 12:53 PM) My suggestion, add a different Button other than the current "Report" button? Like "SPAM". If more than 5-10 different people click on it, then the Posting would be automatically reported for removal? At least, the Report button won't be abused, and the Mod/Staff/Admin have more "breathing space"? Can be abused.
goliath
Jan 26 2007, 01:01 PM
QUOTE(Sesshoumaru @ Jan 26 2007, 12:51 PM) How much you wanna bet that each post is gonna be something like this... "yes........................................................la" "nice........................................................................................" "so kwuttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt" LOL. It's not characters. What he meant was, 'So Kw ut tt tt tt tt tt(x25)' 30 words ormore makes it impossible to post. It is like writing 3~4 sentences
natakaasd
Jan 26 2007, 01:06 PM
QUOTE Can be abused. I agree that my method can be abused. In fact, almost every method can be abused, but how bad can it be? No doubt, having "gang bang" style of "SPAM" Reporting is inevitable, but at least we leave it up to the Forumers to decide whether the person is Spamming or not. Democracy! Cheers!
almostthere
Jan 26 2007, 01:14 PM
Kepala abah ko
That's the problem with democracy. It makes idiots/morons delusional to the point that they think the right to spam is so-called constituted as freedom of speech. I remember when LYN introduced the 10 characters ruling. Guess how many posts in Kopitiam especially in the late night section were trying to test it and then tried to challenge the mod coming in to tell them off?
This post has been edited by almostthere: Jan 26 2007, 01:14 PM
natakaasd
Jan 26 2007, 01:23 PM
QUOTE That's the problem with democracy. It makes idiots/morons delusional to the point that they think the right to spam is so-called constituted as freedom of speech. I remember when LYN introduced the 10 characters ruling. Guess how many posts in Kopitiam especially in the late night section were trying to test it and then tried to challenge the mod coming in to tell them off? I agree. The M'Sian Attitude (or rather, "Third-World Mentality") has bred a lot of un-civic-conscious people, and it is spreading into LYN itself. I couldn't agree more with what you said. But I do believe, that this option if implemented at other sections can or attempt to "prohibit"/deter members with the "Unruly-Kopitiam" way of posting. Take a look around. We have a lot of people typing what they don't even know. Fascinating and messy isn't it? Cheers! P.S. No offense to anybody. If you are a Kopitiamer that observes moderated typing styles, My statement above excludes you.
almostthere
Jan 26 2007, 01:30 PM
Kepala abah ko
QUOTE(natakaasd @ Jan 26 2007, 01:23 PM) I agree. The M'Sian Attitude (or rather, "Third-World Mentality") has bred a lot of un-civic-conscious people, and it is spreading into LYN itself. I couldn't agree more with what you said. But I do believe, that this option if implemented at other sections can or attempt to "prohibit"/deter members with the "Unruly-Kopitiam" way of posting. Take a look around. We have a lot of people typing what they don't even know. Fascinating and messy isn't it? Cheers! P.S. No offense to anybody. If you are a Kopitiamer that observes moderated typing styles, My statement above excludes you. which is why the report button exists and believe me, it's being used very often. Just that non-moderating members don't see it. Otherwise why do you notice lots of spammers complaining in Feedback of why they were warned? That's only a drop in the ocean in terms of the amount of warns given out. It's just that some are totally ignorant to it and continue until they get suspended and then raise a furor This post has been edited by almostthere: Jan 26 2007, 01:31 PM
WaCKy-Angel
Jan 26 2007, 01:34 PM
Neah.....i've asked for user voting to auto close thread if reach some poll but nothing been done...
goliath
Jan 26 2007, 01:40 PM
I bet people will just vote for the fun of it
This post has been edited by goliath: Jan 26 2007, 01:40 PM
WaCKy-Angel
Jan 26 2007, 01:43 PM
QUOTE(goliath @ Jan 26 2007, 01:40 PM) I bet people will just vote for the fun of it Abuser will be punished?
goliath
Jan 26 2007, 01:46 PM
Does the staffs/admins/mods know who voted for fun in the first place?
This post has been edited by goliath: Jan 26 2007, 01:46 PM
WaCKy-Angel
Jan 26 2007, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(goliath @ Jan 26 2007, 01:46 PM) Does the mod knows who voted for fun in the first place? Tracking can be made...Just like the current new implementation of the REPORT button
goliath
Jan 26 2007, 01:47 PM
Well I don't mind if they include 'why this thread must be close' statement whenever they submit their votings.
This post has been edited by goliath: Jan 26 2007, 01:48 PM
natakaasd
Jan 26 2007, 01:56 PM
QUOTE which is why the report button exists and believe me, it's being used very often. Just that non-moderating members don't see it. Otherwise why do you notice lots of spammers complaining in Feedback of why they were warned? That's only a drop in the ocean in terms of the amount of warns given out.
It's just that some are totally ignorant to it and continue until they get suspended and then raise a furor I see. That is another point. I haven't evaluated that.  QUOTE Well I don't mind if they include 'why this thread must be close' statement whenever they submit their votings. Handy suggestion if the "Vote-To-Remove" bill is passed. I guess like another previous posting, Ignore is still the best. But, if the info is purely misleading, damages can be beyond imagination... I guess, Foruming is bound to be a messy affair sometimes... Cheers...
hallen
Jan 26 2007, 01:57 PM

Perhaps only certain level of forumers are allowed to choose Spam/CloseThread features, like Elite/VIP to avoid abuse , therefore after reach certain amount of vote from those repective forumers the thread/post will be closed
and at the same time reduce Admin/Staff/Mod burden.
RBR
Jan 26 2007, 02:30 PM
keeping calm..
Don't you think by the time that happens, you could have reported the post or a mod would have passed by to close it anyway?
TSWingKalimdor
Jan 26 2007, 07:16 PM
What I mean is limit the user from giving 1 line of sentence but no point such as http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/404237http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/310913/+1260It will be busy enough for moderator to close thread everytime they receive the report from the user while we have limited moderator. This post has been edited by WingKalimdor: Jan 26 2007, 07:18 PM
wKkaY
Jan 26 2007, 10:44 PM
misutā supākoru
Ahh.. the glorious Spam button.
Yes if it's open to public it can be abused, but we could put a second layer where people moderate the spam ratings whether they're correct or not. But that can be abused too! So we'll put a third layer, and then a fourth.. ad infinitum. It's the tale of GOD Over Djinn!
Let's consider the more general case of a Good Post and Bad Post button. Perhaps the goodness of a post would depend on the weighted sum of all ratings on it. The weights being the # of times you agree/disagree with the rater in past mutual ratings. So each post's rating is dynamic; it leans heavily towards people who share similar perceptions as you. Eventually, those people who are just playing a fool with the ratings would diverge off and carry less weight to those who rate correctly.
And now it's time for me to sleep..
goldfries
Jan 27 2007, 10:21 AM
40K Club
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/400560based on the thread, you'll realize that there are many who don't know how to differentiate a good post from a bad one.
WaCKy-Angel
Jan 27 2007, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 27 2007, 10:21 AM) http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/400560based on the thread, you'll realize that there are many who don't know how to differentiate a good post from a bad one. I'd rather choose a bad post than a stupid topic...