Sifus! 100mm Macro lens Questions!, Need Your Master Skill!!

TSinkle
post Jan 26 2007, 11:38 AM, updated 19y ago

178 posts

To all the Sifus here, notworthy.gif

i have a question, i'm planning to buy the 100mm EF Macro Lens, so one thing i need to know is, since this is a prime lens, does the 100mm means that the focal point will be set at 100mm, or the focal length is from macro all the way to 100mm??

bcoz i was playing with my boss's 90-300mm zoom lens, and i found out that at 100mm focal length, the subject have to be 14 feet away from my camera in order to take a portrait shot of the subject's head!! so does this apply also to the 100mm EF macro lens?? meaning the subject have to be 14 feet away from my camera as well to do the same crop??

Sifus!! notworthy.gif Please help!! icon_question.gif

inkle.

This post has been edited by inkle: Jan 26 2007, 01:52 PM
shinchan^^
post Jan 26 2007, 11:41 AM

K66
21,256 posts

yaloh same crop keke
TSinkle
post Jan 26 2007, 11:49 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Jan 26 2007, 11:41 AM)
yaloh same crop keke
aiyo!! so this means that the crop maintain, i can focus in between macro-100mm, correct??

inkle.
shinchan^^
post Jan 26 2007, 11:57 AM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(inkle @ Jan 26 2007, 11:49 AM)
aiyo!! so this means that the crop maintain, i can focus in between macro-100mm, correct??

inkle.
yes

;p passport photo for potrait kekeke
ifer
post Jan 26 2007, 12:59 PM

4,637 posts

1. 100mm prime lens means you are getting a focal lenght of 100mm only.

2. the focusing is from the nearest focus the lens allowed (and since it's a macro, it should be near) to INFINITY... not 100mm

3. there is no such lens as 90-100mm lens

4. your boss 100mm lens might not be a macro lens, hence the 14 feet away minimum focusing. a macro 100mm lens might be able to focus up to 1 foot.
TSinkle
post Jan 26 2007, 01:58 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Jan 26 2007, 12:59 PM)
1. 100mm prime lens means you are getting a focal lenght of 100mm only.

2. the focusing is from the nearest focus the lens allowed (and since it's a macro, it should be near) to INFINITY... not 100mm

3. there is no such lens as 90-100mm lens

4. your boss 100mm lens might not be a macro lens, hence the 14 feet away minimum focusing. a macro 100mm lens might be able to focus up to 1 foot.
oh so sorry!! it's 90-300mm. typo. blush.gif

so if the subject is more than 100mm, then must switch to infinity focus?? meaning no more blur Background after 100mm, correct?

thanks for the detail clarification, i guess i'll be getting a wide angle lens or mayb a telephoto lens with IS.

anyone use lens with IS?? is it really good at low light situation??

inkle.
ifer
post Jan 26 2007, 05:06 PM

4,637 posts

huh?
about the focusing.
it should be like a normal lens doing the focusing
do not get confuse between focusing and zooming.

100mm macro lens can't zoom but the focusing is like normal lens... except that it can focus nearer to the subject.
ac98
post Jan 26 2007, 11:42 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

Talk no use ... if you're interested, BUY first! brows.gif
TSinkle
post Jan 27 2007, 08:43 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Jan 26 2007, 11:42 PM)
Talk no use ... if you're interested, BUY first! brows.gif
cannot, later buy n regret, cry! cry.gif then rm2500 flush down toilet. sweat.gif
ac98
post Jan 27 2007, 10:30 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(inkle @ Jan 27 2007, 08:43 AM)
cannot, later buy n regret, cry! cry.gif  then rm2500 flush down toilet.  sweat.gif

You mentioned that you PLANNED to buy ... means what ... you PLAN to regret? Or throw the idea away if you questions are not answered? tongue.gif
cjtune
post Jan 27 2007, 02:31 PM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

QUOTE(inkle @ Jan 26 2007, 01:58 PM)
thanks for the detail clarification, i guess i'll be getting a wide angle lens or mayb a telephoto lens with IS.
Wide angles and telephotos are like at the two extremes of the lens focal length scale... or maybe you're trying to tell us you've too much money to spend that you can afford to get just about any lens?

ifer
post Jan 27 2007, 02:34 PM

4,637 posts

he was planning to buy it but he is not sure whether this lens is suitable for him or not.
and leading to that, some questions about this lens arise... hence, the questioning over here.

where got people like lying down on the bed, hmm... i think i wanna get this 100mm macro lens, zoom, off to the shop and buy it... only to realise it that it is not your cup or tea.

if you are rich, it's ok... if not then how? rm 2500 down the drain?
ac98
post Jan 27 2007, 03:41 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Jan 27 2007, 02:34 PM)
he was planning to buy it but he is not sure whether this lens is suitable for him or not. and leading to that, some questions about this lens arise... hence, the questioning over here.

where got people like lying down on the bed, hmm... i think i wanna get this 100mm macro lens, zoom, off to the shop and buy it... only to realise it that it is not your cup or tea.

if you are rich, it's ok... if not then how? rm 2500 down the drain?

We understand that but the matter now is ... is the LENS his Cup of Tea or doing Macro Photography his Cup of Tea? Seems more like the question is pointing towards whether he should take up Macro photographer or not depends on whether we are able to answer his questions.

tongue.gif
TSinkle
post Jan 27 2007, 06:45 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Jan 27 2007, 03:41 PM)
We understand that but the matter now is ... is the LENS his Cup of Tea or doing Macro Photography his Cup of Tea? Seems more like the question is pointing towards whether he should take up Macro photographer or not depends on whether we are able to answer his questions.

tongue.gif
ya ya!! ac98 & ifer, u r most correct about my situation. rclxms.gif

sorry guys, i'm definitely not rich, if i'm rich, i wont be asking all this question about the lens, i'll just buy it, not suite me, put aside and buy another one. how i wish i can be like that, but alas.

i only have budget for 1 lens, which i want to make sure that it is money well spent. thats y all this questions. must make sure mah. the thing is the shop here in KK have very limited canon lens, even the 100mm macro lens they dont have stock, ONLY when u want to buy then they order for u, that y i cant test it, so must ask existing user loh. nod.gif

inkle.

This post has been edited by inkle: Jan 27 2007, 06:46 PM
repusez
post Jan 27 2007, 07:03 PM

669 posts

just in case if you regret buying it, canon EF-100 Macro lens has good 2nd hand market value, the price won't drop much.
ac98
post Jan 28 2007, 07:51 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(inkle @ Jan 27 2007, 06:45 PM)
i only have budget for 1 lens, which i want to make sure that it is money well spent. thats y all this questions. must make sure mah. the thing is the shop here in KK have very limited canon lens, even the 100mm macro lens they dont have stock, ONLY when u want to buy then they order for u, that y i cant test it, so must ask existing user loh. nod.gif

inkle.

If that is the case, you might as well end up buying it : 99% of DSLR users here are amateur hobbyists and Macro lens owners ENJOY shooting tiny-tiny stuff and improving by the day. Those that already own such a lens would definitely tell you its a good thing to do ...

On the other hand, those all-talk-and-no-action ppl like me (I dun own a Macro lens to date, I cheat myself out of Macro photography) will ask you to consider based on budget and true interest. It's up to you how you spend your hard-earned cash.
neoro_blitz
post Jan 28 2007, 01:25 PM

492 posts

you can give this site a check on lenses review
www.fredmiranda.com if you're planning to go ahead with your lens purchase
TSinkle
post Jan 29 2007, 02:44 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(neoro_blitz @ Jan 28 2007, 01:25 PM)
you can give this site a check on lenses review
www.fredmiranda.com if you're planning to go ahead with your lens purchase
thanks for the site, but i always frequent that site. tongue.gif actually that is the first review site that i went to when i first have the idea to buy this Macro lens. nod.gif

anyway, thanks for all u guys' input. notworthy.gif some update for u guys. my 100mm Macro arrive in KK today. actually i dont know how to feel, i feel happy yet sad also.

bcoz i've ordered the lens 1 month ago, but the manager working there order for me, say need 1 week time to deliver. but after 2 weeks i call them, they say still coming. so i assume they didnt order for me, bcoz of their attititute like "malas to layan". then i found out abt the crop at 100mm, which is very inconvenient shakehead.gif . but now i guess it's too late oledi to cancel my order. since i order the lens on good faith, no deposit needed. sweat.gif gonna go and collect the lens tonite, n hopefully it's good for me. sweat.gif

well, have to start back my initial love for this lens & see where this lens will take me.
will let u guys know my impression on this lens.

inkle.
andy
post Feb 1 2007, 04:40 AM

1,973 posts

Awesome. Some of these non-L macros tend to be lemons, better test it first to make sure you get a sharp copy.

0.0172sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:01 AM