> is damascus steel really that powerful?

TSGnomeMage
post Aug 29 2016, 05:21 PM, updated 10y ago

198 posts

the hardest steel of all and until today with all our tech we can't produce steel harder than Damascus steel?
SUSGregyong
post Aug 29 2016, 05:25 PM

1,167 posts

Hard steel ~= good steel.
We muse steel because it is ductile enough to be safe, but hard enough to be strong. Cannot be both at the same time.
Radioactive Infused Cola

42 posts

vibranium > all
SUSVape [On]

1,098 posts

Yes i use it for my Sword of Agility
SUSMatrix
post Aug 29 2016, 05:26 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Adamantium or Vibranium is better.
SUSKLboy92
post Aug 29 2016, 05:27 PM

189 posts

Pakai je la depleted uranium
Stab your enemies AND give them cancer brows.gif
iwubpreve

1,829 posts

think this is the highest attack for dagger type of weapon. with 2 slot.
hvk13

923 posts

its a myth. our modern mass produced steel is stronger especially the high carbon 1060 steel
C-Fu
post Aug 29 2016, 05:28 PM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

Dulu la Damascus memang stronk
Nowadays got many kinds of steel that are much stronger because of better smelting process
TSGnomeMage

198 posts

QUOTE(hvk13 @ Aug 29 2016, 05:27 PM)
its a myth. our modern mass produced steel is stronger especially the high carbon 1060  steel
it is not. there are plenty of Damascus steel swords left. Saudi king has one. the method to produce has been lost and the best swords in the world are Damascus steel made. even more deadly than Japanese katana.
HaN18

553 posts

Valyrian steel
Lucifer96

257 posts

Good tech? Sure.
Can't replicate yet? Not till the exact ways are discovered.

Nothing is better? What you smoking? Lol.
SUSpagi makan roti
post Aug 29 2016, 05:29 PM

64 posts

Do forced patina auto hardness +20
psyduck89

New Korean Member
818 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 29 2016, 05:26 PM)
Adamantium or Vibranium is better.
hvk13

923 posts

QUOTE(GnomeMage @ Aug 29 2016, 05:28 PM)
it is not. there are plenty of Damascus steel swords left. Saudi king has one. the method to produce has been lost and the best swords in the world are Damascus steel made. even more deadly than Japanese katana.
dude. Japanese katana using ciplak metal la. Many weapons is more deadly than katana
roymustang
post Aug 29 2016, 05:30 PM

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Aug 29 2016, 05:27 PM)
bonus if can get +10
differ

404 posts

Cannot kill White Walker also no point.
MeToo

9,336 posts

QUOTE(Gregyong @ Aug 29 2016, 05:25 PM)
Hard steel ~= good steel.
We muse steel because it is ductile enough to be safe, but hard enough to be strong. Cannot be both at the same time.
korek.

See our modern blade... they dont go out and use the hardest steel available... its not feasible
pokie182

94 posts

Meh light Saber can cut Damascus steel like butter
MeToo
post Aug 29 2016, 05:31 PM

9,336 posts

QUOTE(pagi makan roti @ Aug 29 2016, 05:29 PM)
Do forced patina auto hardness +20
chemical dipping/etching

YOu can do in your backyard...
romalis51

94 posts

QUOTE(nikanika @ Aug 29 2016, 06:26 PM)
my D is harder
Too bad it's 0.5CM
homicidal85

295 posts

katana steel is actually not that good. only the method is unique allowing poor raw material to have some strength.

fun fact, the fabled valyrian steel in game of thrones is based on the real-life damascus steel.
MeToo
post Aug 29 2016, 05:32 PM

9,336 posts

QUOTE(hvk13 @ Aug 29 2016, 05:27 PM)
its a myth. our modern mass produced steel is stronger especially the high carbon 1060  steel
likely to be true.

Damascus is legendary last time cause.... most steel back then are shitz
Miracles
post Aug 29 2016, 05:33 PM

★ Detective /K ★
1,171 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Aug 29 2016, 05:27 PM)
Put hydra cards. Good times!
SUSVape [On]
post Aug 29 2016, 05:33 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(romalis51 @ Aug 29 2016, 05:31 PM)
Too bad it's 0.5CM
So you like it or not?
:3mushy:3
post Aug 29 2016, 05:34 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

Lol bullshit. For it's generation, maybe yes.
SUSpagi makan roti
post Aug 29 2016, 05:35 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Aug 29 2016, 05:31 PM)
chemical dipping/etching

YOu can do in your backyard...
Can do for me? Pls?
TreyLey
post Aug 29 2016, 05:35 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(GnomeMage @ Aug 29 2016, 05:21 PM)
the hardest steel of all and until today with all our tech we can't produce steel harder than Damascus steel?
But all i see in damascus now is ashes

Their steel is not good enough to sustain the prolonged war
TSGnomeMage
post Aug 29 2016, 05:36 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Aug 29 2016, 05:34 PM)
Lol bullshit. For it's generation, maybe yes.
so why hype about it?
MeToo
post Aug 29 2016, 05:37 PM

9,336 posts

QUOTE(TreyLey @ Aug 29 2016, 05:35 PM)
But all i see in damascus now is ashes

Their steel is not good enough to sustain the prolonged war
Its not about how hard your tool is...

its how you use it...
sanosizo
post Aug 29 2016, 05:39 PM

4,553 posts

kryptonite better, can melt steel
post Aug 29 2016, 05:40 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(GnomeMage @ Aug 29 2016, 05:36 PM)
so why hype about it?
Over glorification, of course. Same like katana being hyped as the best sword.
quartre88

251 posts

masuk hydraulic press see who stronkest first.
kkk8787

Julyd8th
2,526 posts

see what characteristic u wan ma, u wan rigid , high Young's Modulus , u wan ductile, u wan corrosion resistant owat...diff character serves diff purpose.
MeToo
post Aug 29 2016, 05:41 PM

9,336 posts

QUOTE(pagi makan roti @ Aug 29 2016, 05:35 PM)
Can do for me? Pls?

roymustang
post Aug 29 2016, 05:41 PM

SUSdestEX
post Aug 29 2016, 05:43 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

The amount of people brainwashed and simply believe in here is staggering, i tot /k semua pandai pandai punya, bukan ka?

BTW Damascus sword is sharp due to carbon nanotubes, it's definitely not hard, a rock is harder lmao
TSGnomeMage
post Aug 29 2016, 05:45 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(sad_ticket @ Aug 29 2016, 05:41 PM)
So which steel is good. Maybe you will say China steel or Nun Chuck  steel right.

In K/ later on they will say evrything from China is the best steel make on earth because k/ love to protek "orang kite"  nod.gif
Damascus steel is good. I already said it.
TSGnomeMage
post Aug 29 2016, 05:46 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(comfyguy2 @ Aug 29 2016, 05:45 PM)
KEK, from steel quality can drag to race issue.
/k a lot of bodoh. I jus want to quit it once and for all.
SUSVape [On]
post Aug 29 2016, 05:47 PM

1,098 posts

So which steel is good. Maybe you will say China steel or Nun Chuck  steel right.

In K/ later on they will say evrything from China is the best steel make on earth because k/ love to protek "orang kite"  nod.gif
Truth hurts right?

If its so good then why nobody can reproduce it anymore?

Forgotten skill?
whyamiblack
post Aug 29 2016, 05:47 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Aug 29 2016, 05:40 PM)
Over glorification, of course. Same like katana being hyped as the best sword.
Or how a man takes a flying donkey for night trips.
SUSVape [On]
post Aug 29 2016, 05:48 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(comfyguy2 @ Aug 29 2016, 05:45 PM)
KEK, from steel quality can drag to race issue.
Go read his posting history. A lot of hate from a 25 years old.

izaydi
post Aug 29 2016, 05:50 PM

553 posts

In ancient world, there’s a myth about indestructible armor and weapon or sword that can split a stone in one slide. Well, according to the historian sword expert, Prof. Dr. Peter Paufler of Germany, there is one sword that proof to have the ability to slice any hard object into 2 pieces with one slice. It is the sword owned and used by Salahuddin Al Ayyubi.

It is the sharpest sword in world history recognized by metallurgical experts (what is metallurgical experts?). Its sharpness is able to penetrate armor crusader, cut two opposing swords, shields and stone splitting without damage or blunt to the sword edge. The legendary sword made famous by Damascus and Persian has overcome the greatness of Japanese Katana sword and the sword Excalibur of King Arthur.

What is the sword made of?
The sword is forged with steel “DaMarcus” secret technique that is coated with CNT (Carbon Nano Tubes), which makes it is very sharp and light weight. Their Secret art of sword-making is greatly admired by Western families and modern metallurgical studies. We on this modern age are still not able to produce high-tech sword (NANO technology) of the Islamic civilization in the period of the 11th-12th century.

What the CNT?
CNT is a chain of carbon atoms bound between each other in a hexagonal cylinder having a diameter as small as 1-2 nano-meters. The cylindrical CNT may reach a length so that tens of microns and closed at the tip portion as if a piece of pipe that is closed in both two edges. Characterization performed on this material also explains THAT CNT has the highest strength compared to other materials. It also has properties of electrical conduction exceeded copper and metal. The uniqueness of carbon nano is having resistance to high temperatures and have a body that is lighter than aluminum. So in combat, the light weight of the sword can be advantage to the wielder.

see also: video of Salahuddin Al Ayyubi Sword

NANO technology using steel “DaMarcus” which is also called wootz. The iron ore contains a number of elements Carbon percentages. In addition to iron and carbon, elements such as chromium, manganese, cobalt is also coupled to add more strength, sharpness and flexibility. Salahuddin Al-Ayubi lead the Army of Islam in the Crusades with this unseen sword making technology in the period of the 12th Century.

This sword making techniques are so secret till only a few families blacksmith in Damascus are mastered. Finally in the period of the 18th, this sword making technology have been lost and forgotten. What remains is swords, spears and knives that are now scattered in different Museum worldwide. Just to remind us that technology of Islamic civilization has been lost in ages.
ikaria
post Aug 29 2016, 05:51 PM

Unobtainium is the hardest. got wiki page for it. scarce to impossible to find on earth. the few that we got went to design high grade full body armor equipped with an AI. this one is dubbed the best body armor human yet to make to date.

Also it is widely documented with video and audio of it in outer space in one of the stars few thousand lightyears away called pandora.

It a good thing we have google. do your homework. its on the net and on wiki. obviously this can be trusted. I have faith in the internet.
Doomsday

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

Saw a Damascus kitchen knife... sold a staggering price.. the pattern on the knife is nice thou.
SUSazhan82

316 posts

Mithril > All
SUSVape [On]
post Aug 29 2016, 05:53 PM

1,098 posts

Topkek now all use russian Ak47 only

QUOTE(izaydi @ Aug 29 2016, 05:50 PM)
In ancient world, there’s a myth about indestructible armor and weapon or sword that can split a stone in one slide. Well, according to the historian sword expert, Prof. Dr. Peter Paufler of Germany, there is one sword that proof to have the ability to slice any hard object into 2 pieces with one slice. It is the sword owned and used by Salahuddin Al Ayyubi.

It is the sharpest sword in world history recognized by metallurgical experts (what is metallurgical experts?). Its sharpness is able to penetrate armor crusader, cut two opposing swords, shields and stone splitting without damage or blunt to the sword edge. The legendary sword made famous by Damascus and Persian has overcome the greatness of Japanese Katana sword and the sword Excalibur of King Arthur.

What is the sword made of?
The sword is forged with steel “DaMarcus” secret technique that is coated with CNT (Carbon Nano Tubes), which makes it is very sharp and light weight. Their Secret art of sword-making is greatly admired by Western families and modern metallurgical studies. We on this modern age are still not able to produce high-tech sword (NANO technology) of the Islamic civilization in the period of the 11th-12th century.

What the CNT?
CNT is a chain of carbon atoms bound between each other in a hexagonal cylinder having a diameter as small as 1-2 nano-meters. The cylindrical CNT may reach a length so that tens of microns and closed at the tip portion as if a piece of pipe that is closed in both two edges. Characterization performed on this material also explains THAT CNT has the highest strength compared to other materials. It also has properties of electrical conduction exceeded copper and metal. The uniqueness of carbon nano is having resistance to high temperatures and have a body that is lighter than aluminum. So in combat, the light weight of the sword can be advantage to the wielder.

see also: video of Salahuddin Al Ayyubi Sword

NANO technology using steel “DaMarcus” which is also called wootz. The iron ore contains a number of elements Carbon percentages. In addition to iron and carbon, elements such as chromium, manganese, cobalt is also coupled to add more strength, sharpness and flexibility. Salahuddin Al-Ayubi lead the Army of Islam in the Crusades with this unseen sword making technology in the period of the 12th Century.

This sword making techniques are so secret till only a few families blacksmith in Damascus are mastered. Finally in the period of the 18th, this sword making technology have been lost and forgotten. What remains is swords, spears and knives that are now scattered in different Museum worldwide. Just to remind us that technology of Islamic civilization has been lost in ages.
zororo
post Aug 29 2016, 05:54 PM

366 posts

valyrian steel is the strongest....
SUSKLboy92
post Aug 29 2016, 05:59 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(sad_ticket @ Aug 29 2016, 05:31 PM)
Yup and most expensive than katana.

Saladin use Damascus sword last time.
whistling.gif

QUOTE(manickam123 @ Aug 29 2016, 05:54 PM)
Won't you get cancer too holding on to depleted uranium?
Was waiting for someone to call that out laugh.gif
congrats
SUSKLboy92
post Aug 29 2016, 06:01 PM

189 posts

Legendary Swords' Sharpness, Strength From Nanotubes, Study Says

http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/20...h-swords_2.html

The blades were generally made from metal ingots prepared in India using special recipes, which probably put just the right amount of carbon and other impurities into the iron (India map).

By following these recipes and following specific forging techniques, "craftsmen ended up making nanotubes more than 400 years ago," Paufler and his colleagues write.

When these blades were nearly finished, blacksmiths would etch them with acid. This brought out the wavy light and dark lines that make Damascus swords easy to recognize.

But it could also give the swords their sharpness, Paufler says. Because carbon nanotubes are resistant to acid, they would protect the nanowires, he theorizes.

After etching, many of these nanostructures could stick out from the blade's edge, giving it tiny saw-like teeth.

Skeptical Smiths

The techniques for making the steel were lost around A.D. 1700. But many researchers are studying how to recreate the blades—even though metallurgical experts warn that the blades, though exceptional for their time, are far outperformed by modern steels.

While some scientists have claimed success, others dispute that the reproductions are truly the same as the originals.

And many experts doubt that the new findings will clear things up.

John Verhoeven, a metallurgist at Iowa State University at Ames who has worked on reproducing the Damascus sword-making techniques, is skeptical that Paufler and his colleagues have cracked the secret of Damascus blades.

"I don't think that (the nanowires) are anything unusual," Verhoeven said. "I think those structures would be found in normal steels."

whistling.gif
arubin
post Aug 29 2016, 06:04 PM

Holy Pastafarian
670 posts

TS go do more research before posting pls. doh.gif Read one simple article somewhere and assume it tells the complete truth. doh.gif

First of all, we already understand how Damascus steel was made. We are just not certain how they managed to fold carbon nanotubes into steel with primitive metalworking technology.

That just means we can't duplicate the exact process, but that's not to say the modern steel making techniques are inferior to it. I'll take a modern steel sword vs your Damascus sword any day.

Heck some American dude managed to make knives that can cut through steel and still be as sharp as before and that kicks the crap out of Damascus steel. He refused to reveal his secret to anyone but modern science has also figured out what he did:
https://clarksonhistory.wordpress.com/2013/...-richtig-knife/

So yeah...so much for moden steel being weaker. rolleyes.gif
siaoand1
post Aug 29 2016, 06:13 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(Radioactive Infused Cola @ Aug 29 2016, 05:25 PM)
vibranium > all
+1 rclxms.gif
zariel
post Aug 29 2016, 06:15 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(arubin @ Aug 29 2016, 06:04 PM)
TS go do more research before posting pls. doh.gif  Read one simple article somewhere and assume it tells the complete truth. doh.gif

First of all, we already understand how Damascus steel was made. We are just not certain how they managed to fold carbon nanotubes into steel with primitive metalworking technology.

That just means we can't duplicate the exact process, but that's not to say the modern steel making techniques are inferior to it. I'll take a modern steel sword vs your Damascus sword any day.

Heck some American dude managed to make knives that can cut through steel and still be as sharp as before and that kicks the crap out of Damascus steel. He refused to reveal his secret to anyone but modern science has also figured out what he did:

Clark who?😱
post Aug 29 2016, 06:16 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

TS go do more research before posting pls. doh.gif  Read one simple article somewhere and assume it tells the complete truth. doh.gif

nod.gif

It's like saying horse carriage was better than modern cars because it used actual horse laugh.gif
TSGnomeMage
post Aug 29 2016, 06:17 PM

198 posts

harlo boss

I didn't read any article. my friend brag to me king Saudi has 1 Damascus steel sword, and the only reason isis is not yet vanquished is because the sword is not yet drawn...if Saudi king draw his sword, Obama 's head will roll also... so I open tered.
azbro
post Aug 29 2016, 06:17 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(HaN18 @ Aug 29 2016, 05:28 PM)
Valyrian steel
QUOTE(homicidal85 @ Aug 29 2016, 05:31 PM)
katana steel is actually not that good. only the method is unique allowing poor raw material to have some strength.

fun fact, the fabled valyrian steel in game of thrones is based on the real-life damascus steel.
QUOTE(zororo @ Aug 29 2016, 05:54 PM)
valyrian steel is the strongest....
yup, powderful stuff

This post has been edited by azbro: Aug 29 2016, 06:25 PM
idoblu
post Aug 29 2016, 06:22 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

"There are many myths about the strength and capabilities of Damascus steel but today it is largely popular because of its aesthetic beauty. Mostly for collectors only."

http://bestpocketknifetoday.com/discoverin...st-knife-steel/
SUSnm7
post Aug 29 2016, 06:24 PM

192 posts

Can the lightsaber cut it?
cloudwan0
post Aug 29 2016, 06:25 PM

236 posts

i tot valyrian steel is the best
ihatemynahs
post Aug 29 2016, 06:29 PM

48 posts

The age of graphene is upon us
Leon be here now
post Aug 29 2016, 06:32 PM

466 posts

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Aug 29 2016, 06:01 PM)
Legendary Swords' Sharpness, Strength From Nanotubes, Study Says

http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/20...h-swords_2.html
whistling.gif
"The blades were generally made from metal ingots prepared in India"

"even though metallurgical experts warn that the blades, though exceptional for their time, are far outperformed by modern steels. "
Leon be here now
post Aug 29 2016, 06:35 PM

466 posts

lol the comments so far.

Vibranium
Adamantium
Valyrian
Then
Unobtainium .... LOL

zororo
post Aug 29 2016, 06:40 PM

366 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Aug 29 2016, 06:17 PM)
yup, powderful stuff

FFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUU Ice wei.... mana beli ?
azbro
post Aug 29 2016, 06:54 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(zororo @ Aug 29 2016, 06:40 PM)
FFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUU Ice wei.... mana beli ?
http://www.caesars.com.sg/

Buy straight from the store.

Now go to that website. Weapons Porn at its best

You can order stuff thats not available at the store too.
Need to wait a bit.

hikashi
post Aug 29 2016, 07:09 PM

Pusheeeeeeeett
1,065 posts

Eh. I tot HPF steel strongest. Or else why proton keep pot pet pot pet about their HPF steel.
arubin
post Aug 29 2016, 07:34 PM

Holy Pastafarian
670 posts

QUOTE(GnomeMage @ Aug 29 2016, 06:17 PM)
harlo boss

I didn't read any article. my friend brag to me king Saudi has 1 Damascus steel sword, and the only reason isis is not yet vanquished is because the sword is not yet drawn...if Saudi king draw his sword, Obama 's head will roll also... so I open tered.
Than talk about that rumor only lar, instead of making funny claims about Damascus steel. doh.gif
MasBoleh!
post Aug 30 2016, 12:34 AM

3,599 posts

Tamahagane the best. Nuff said! Else ! I potek potek with my REM. vmad.gif
zororo
post Aug 30 2016, 10:12 AM

366 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Aug 29 2016, 06:54 PM)
http://www.caesars.com.sg/

Buy straight from the store.

Now go to that website. Weapons Porn at its best

You can order stuff thats not available at the store too.
Need to wait a bit.
thansk brah ~! rclxm9.gif
C-Fu
post Aug 30 2016, 12:12 PM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

if you guys are interested, just google for superplastic metal. same qualities as damask steel.
SUSfuzzy
post Aug 30 2016, 12:13 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

the katana is one of the most useless sword around if you talk about strength. myth jer that it is strong.
wodenus
post Aug 30 2016, 12:18 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Aug 30 2016, 12:13 PM)
the katana is one of the most useless sword around if you talk about strength. myth jer that it is strong.
Depends.. for their purposes it is the best. It is very thin and very sharp.. you can kill someone in armor because the plates don't fit perfectly, all you have to do is find a thin gap in the armor.. smile.gif but yea it is thin and snaps easily, but if you are fast and accurate, it can be quite dangerous smile.gif
Exiled_Gundam
post Aug 30 2016, 12:18 PM

550 posts

Maybe damascus steel is good for bladed-weapon only, and not so durable as armor material.
SUSfuzzy
post Aug 30 2016, 12:20 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Aug 30 2016, 12:18 PM)
Depends.. for their purposes it is the best. It is very thin and very sharp.. you can kill someone in armor because the plates don't fit perfectly, all you have to do is find a thin gap in the armor.. smile.gif but yea it is thin and snaps easily, but if you are fast and accurate, it can be quite dangerous smile.gif
It's sharp, not strong lo like i said.
Robin Hood
post Aug 30 2016, 12:27 PM

289 posts

Topkek. Keris>Damascus sword
sidthesloth
post Aug 30 2016, 12:34 PM

174 posts

Have you heard in master race history, the Kris is the most deadly weapon on the world. One small cut from the Kris, dead in 1 minute.

0.0381sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:50 PM