noob question on D70s

TSalive
post Jan 25 2007, 10:50 PM, updated 19y ago

Validating
29 posts

i bought my nikon d70s, played with it for quite sometimes, but until now i still don't understand 1 thing...
the situation is like this, i switch it to shutter speed mode using 1/1000, switched the iso to highest and took a picture with it, it came out bloody dark...
then i press the "frames" button on the top left and turn the front wheel to the right, it works for P mode but not for S mode....
so how to take pic with high shutter speed and decent lighting??

This post has been edited by alive: Jan 25 2007, 10:59 PM
muqaddam
post Jan 25 2007, 10:57 PM

266 posts

it's not shuttle. it's shutter~
TSalive
post Jan 25 2007, 10:58 PM

Validating
29 posts

aiya... typo error... type shuttle too much...
clemong_888
post Jan 25 2007, 11:00 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

1/1000 is very fast and hardly used in lowlight conditions no matter what your iso setting is. in P mode, i doubt the cam set it to 1/1000. when u do that in S mode, u automatically underexpose the shot. check the exposure bar in the bottom middle part of your viewfinder smile.gif
TSalive
post Jan 25 2007, 11:09 PM

Validating
29 posts

how to adjust so that the exposure bar is + ?? i press the +- button near the on/off switch and turn the thumb wheel to +, but it went back - when i let the button go... ?? it works for P mode, y not S ?
clemong_888
post Jan 25 2007, 11:21 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

+ means u're overexposing the shot while - means underexpose, u naturally want it at 0 on most cases depending on what type of metering u're using. if u're using p mode, the cam will decide everything, so by changing your exposure dial, the cam will do d rest. in S mode, u have 2 variables(iso excluded). one is exposure and shutter speed. while pressing the exposure button ( the +/- ) and moving the wheel to +, the exposure bar will only show your exposure compensation, i.e +0.3ev, etc.. the reason why it went back to - is that your exposure compensation isn't enough cos your shutter speed is too fast. also note, by changing your ev compensation, u're actually changing your aperture. but since your aperture is only THAT big, no matter how u change your ev settings, you'll always get an underexposed shot because of your shutter speed!
TSalive
post Jan 26 2007, 12:39 AM

Validating
29 posts

then how to get high speed + decent exposure?
SUSceo684
post Jan 26 2007, 12:46 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Spend $ and get lenses with small f-stop number (f2.8 or better). tongue.gif

Or use 1/60 1/125 speeds..shud be adequate.
Gundam Wing
post Jan 26 2007, 01:56 AM

Ghost In the Shell
641 posts

QUOTE(alive @ Jan 26 2007, 12:39 AM)
then how to get high speed + decent exposure?
Take the picture outdoor, under the sun, this will allow high speed and decent exposure thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Or use flash indoor or at nite.

Or invest in expensive lens with <f2.8
d_scientist
post Jan 26 2007, 04:56 AM

248 posts

erm... i think u bttr get started by learning ISO, Shutter speed and F-stop. Then when you are well versed with them... then u play around wit it. u shld also learn all the metering indication in ur cam's viewfinder. learn wad is the indication shown. if 1/1000... normally at low light the signal LO appears in S mode. if u play wit M mode 1st, then u will c tht there is a bar at the bottom n u shld adjust both ur shutter speed n f-number till the exposure is rite.
dun jump directly into something u dun really understand. check out the manual and also the jargons properly... i am sure u will enjoy it.
goood luck n happy learning
clemong_888
post Jan 26 2007, 06:13 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

yes, manual! it's a very good handybook, u should read it inside out before even starting to shoot tongue.gif
ac98
post Jan 26 2007, 06:29 AM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Jan 26 2007, 06:13 AM)
yes, manual! it's a very good handybook, u should read it inside out before even starting to shoot tongue.gif

Typical newbies' behavior : Manual still wrapped in plastic ... when stuck they come in to forum ask ask ask and ask. Answers are all in the User Manual, worst still, on the internet! The Auto or Program Mode are the best settings to use for Beginners to start shooting at once. The hows and whys of camera behavior should be left to when they're more familiar with the results rather than asking 20-question before they even reach 1,000 shutter count!

0.0161sec    0.95    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:15 AM