Samsung Samsung Galaxy Note 7 Official Discussion V5!, Samsung announced global Note 7 recall

squall_kay
post Aug 30 2016, 10:14 PM

5,726 posts

Finally my set and my friend set from Courts reached today.

Reading owners comments/feedbacks about issue here makes me wonder either I should open it or just let it go.
So far my s7e served me really well. Not a single issue. Superior battery life is a plus point but the temptation of new phone pretty strong.
The past few years changing new phone every 6 months not healthy thus before this telling myself at least 1 year. If open/unbox this note7, need to have strong will power need to last at least till note8. Hmph.....

This post has been edited by squall_kay: Aug 30 2016, 10:16 PM
squall_kay
post Aug 30 2016, 10:33 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Aug 30 2016, 10:27 PM)
next Friday wub.gif
black onyx ?
if I were you better sell it since we own s7 edge right now
wait Samsung settle the issue 1st then only grab it smile.gif
yerp, black onyx. if this is Blue Coral will unbox it without thinking tongue.gif
at 1st wanna sell (but keep the freebies), then watch all those videos, tempted to use (my last note was note4), then read negative feedback, temptation going down back rclxub.gif
either sell this one off, or sell current s7e, or sell off the old Nexus 6P (pass the s7e to my mom for n6p replacement).
squall_kay
post Aug 31 2016, 11:57 AM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 31 2016, 11:52 AM)
Omg! Another new problems appears doh.gif
Yesterday battery drop, now this cry.gif
Samsung QC really failed big time this time...
I just wondering this note7 will be like iteration from S7/S7e series, they should be able to perfect it just like they improve on note5 from s6/s6e.
What had went wrong here.....
squall_kay
post Sep 1 2016, 01:40 AM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Aug 31 2016, 01:25 PM)
so no extra travel charger (power adapter)...
Yeah. Nope. Preordered from Samsung have it right?
squall_kay
post Sep 1 2016, 06:12 AM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(pearlok @ Sep 1 2016, 03:50 AM)
tried to check on Samsung official web site, the preorder finished...
but then i saw celcom also got do pre order for samsung with limited units.
do you have any news when will samsung note 7 launch in malaysia?
Mine is preordered set from courts. But I don't received travel adaptor. Hmph.

squall_kay
post Sep 2 2016, 06:49 PM

5,726 posts

just wonder how they wanna recall in malaysia, try register via mysamsung app for the warranty also can't register it.
too bad for me, i had decided to use the note7, unbox last 2 days, now recall.
so far, ok la, only keyboard lag (default and google keyboard) and somehow overall smoothness not as good S7E.
the fingerprint really much faster and accurate compared to S7E.
squall_kay
post Sep 2 2016, 07:10 PM

5,726 posts

ok. hopefully they will handle well in malaysia for recall. luckily my s7e still not yet sell. plan to sell this weekend (put ads), now on hold 1st.

in the meantime, anyone have any idea how to address keyboard lag issue on this note7? bangwall.gif
squall_kay
post Sep 2 2016, 07:41 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(diners @ Sep 2 2016, 07:19 PM)
try google keyboard? mine is ok.

i also luckily x jual my note5 (no one want to buy in the first place, lol)
thats weird, im using both keyboard (my primary choice is Google Keyboard which used since s6e time) and both lag like bruce.gif

my s7e got people waiting but i guess i need to explain the situation. lol.
squall_kay
post Sep 2 2016, 07:43 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(MillkTea93 @ Sep 2 2016, 07:39 PM)
SAMSUNG MALAYSIA ELECTRONICS (SME) OFFICIAL STATEMENT - GALAXY NOTE7
Samsung is committed to producing the highest quality products and we take every incident report from our valued customers very seriously. In response to recently reported cases of the new Galaxy Note7, we conducted a thorough investigation and found a battery cell issue.
To date (as of September 1) there have been 35 cases that have been reported globally and we are currently conducting a thorough inspection with our suppliers to identify possible affected batteries in the market. However, because our customers’ safety is an absolute priority at Samsung, we have stopped sales of the Galaxy Note7.
For customers who already have Galaxy Note7 devices, we will voluntarily replace their current device with a new one over the coming weeks. Customers may contact Samsung Malaysia Careline at 1-800-88-7799 for further enquiries of their current Galaxy Note7 device before replacement takes place.
We acknowledge the inconvenience this may cause in the market but this is to ensure that Samsung continues to deliver the highest quality products to our customers. We will work to ensure the replacement experience is as convenient and efficient as possible.
http://bit.ly/2bY2Gfo

FROM SAMSUNG MALAYSIA FACEBOOK
can change color or not? laugh.gif icon_idea.gif
squall_kay
post Sep 2 2016, 07:44 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(zoozooka @ Sep 2 2016, 07:42 PM)
Do not use third party Type C cable for charging.
at first when read the news, thought due to type-C cable issue. maybe samsung is lacking experience producing type-C cable. biggrin.gif
squall_kay
post Sep 2 2016, 07:50 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(thugs @ Sep 2 2016, 07:46 PM)
Got replacement is good enough... don't think they will allow colour change. One person request, others followed, too troublesome for them
yeah. my previous just joking la.
free replacement with new unit without anymore issue will be good enough. smile.gif
squall_kay
post Sep 2 2016, 11:08 PM

5,726 posts

Just curious, anyone successfully use Samsung cloud to back up? Noticed everytime doing it, it will failed at the end of 100%. Server error something.
squall_kay
post Sep 2 2016, 11:10 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(Wind82 @ Sep 2 2016, 11:07 PM)
Just called to furnish my info.

Like what everyone said, marketing team will follow up ASAP according to the S.A..

Let's hope everything will be smooth from now.. and of course some compensation.. if not my sp really burn for nothing
What kind of compensation you would expect? Even Honda didn't compensate for takata airbag recall. They just replaced. That's car.
squall_kay
post Sep 2 2016, 11:11 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(diners @ Sep 2 2016, 11:09 PM)
mine also say error but at the bottom there all shows 100%.  :confused:
Yep. But when restore, it does intact just app/apk not all.
squall_kay
post Sep 3 2016, 09:06 AM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Sep 3 2016, 08:38 AM)
Morning peeps.
Guess I will go over to one of the Samsung SC later on to ask about this.
Do share the outcome. Prefer to walk in if possible.
squall_kay
post Sep 3 2016, 11:17 AM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 3 2016, 10:35 AM)
i'll put on my greedy hat and say ya, would be nice to have some sort of compensation. as i mentioned earlier, things like:
* extra 1 year warranty
* keep the accessories charger, cable, adaptor, etc... just return the box and phone. especially like the earbuds... use liao... i mean they going to refurbish that meh?!?
* free SP

but no... i dun think i wanna be so greedy as to say give free phone, cash compensation, etc... i think what Samsung did by being honest and prompt with this recall already shows their sincerity. they could have just recalled based on the battery batch but they recalled for all. not a cheap exercise.
Fully agreed. But some people have too much expectations. ☺
squall_kay
post Sep 4 2016, 08:51 AM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Sep 4 2016, 04:08 AM)
I saw lots of people wanna take advantage of the recall program by dunk the phone in the water (not gonna say it will damage the phone though), use it without case, remove the screen protector, change to old charger and so on.

So sad for our Malaysian mentality and low civic awareness. No wonder the operator or authorised seller here never afford to offer 90 days full refund or exchange like what people in other countries enjoy.
Good one!
squall_kay
post Sep 4 2016, 11:52 AM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Sep 4 2016, 11:48 AM)
most probably gonna just change the battery and resell smile.gif

I believe they will resell as refurbished set as other phone makers do
squall_kay
post Sep 5 2016, 07:01 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(icemessenger @ Sep 5 2016, 06:41 PM)
it seems that diff people ask different questions
when i called just now, the guy even asked where i stay and then asked for email address oso
Mine the CS asked for phone number, email and IMEI.
squall_kay
post Sep 6 2016, 12:53 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(zhlo @ Sep 6 2016, 08:20 AM)
of coz..they won't just scrap those phone for 1st batch..quantity is so many..sure will repair and just sell it start from 2nd batch..
I believe they will sell as refurbished set. Don't think they would like to tarnish their reputation further by selling brand new in 2nd batch

0.0914sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:11 PM