Samsung Samsung Galaxy Note 7 Official Discussion V5!, Samsung announced global Note 7 recall

brandon8921
post Aug 26 2016, 05:04 PM

242 posts

So fast V5 maybe due to too many owner have defective units and wanted to share their experience ahhaha laugh.gif

brandon8921
post Aug 26 2016, 05:13 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Aug 26 2016, 05:09 PM)
You shouldn't have wait. Leave it there and tell them to get back to you once its 100% fix.
I guess most of the defects unit are mostly at KL area? Did they distribute batch by batch based on region?
For example some are manufactured on 4/8 and some 5/8
Mine 5/8 and so far no major issue. Some minor touch screen bug i think due to software after restart then everything back to normal. scare scare~~~ (touch wood)
brandon8921
post Aug 29 2016, 09:27 AM

242 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Aug 29 2016, 09:19 AM)
ya, i faced that once. press many times only SETTINGS will work. problem went away after restart as you noted.
Ya this is the issue i faced and posted on V4
Btw is it cause by software bug? or touch screen issue?
brandon8921
post Sep 1 2016, 10:55 AM

242 posts

Samsung is in deep shit now. Really bad timing
New iphone 7 going to launch next week and i guess iphone will take the lead in smartphone industry again....at least in terms of sales
Apple gonna troll Samsung during the launch event with #brickgate #bombgate etc...
Pray for samsung
brandon8921
post Sep 1 2016, 11:10 AM

242 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Sep 1 2016, 11:08 AM)
agree...my phone is perfectly fine (now that i changed the LCD panel)..just occasionally visit here for update only..
Well, think it in another point of view, Samsung is paying attention to their QC now, to make sure the phones are all really ok to be rolled out to the market. It is just a matter of point of view..hehe
But still people lost their confident towards samsung and bad image
When Apple launch iphone, people loses their mind and there goes N7. GGWP sales

brandon8921
post Sep 1 2016, 11:17 AM

242 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Sep 1 2016, 11:14 AM)
To be honest, whenever Samsung and Apple launch new phone...who doesn't go losing their mind? lol.gif
Cause they buying in a higher price tongue.gif
Even now i'm quite afraid to use my Note 7 after hearing so much issue (bootloop, battery explode etc)
Should i buy extra warranty? RM99....
or Change iphone7? cry.gif
brandon8921
post Sep 1 2016, 01:11 PM

242 posts

Anyone notice "android system" battery drain so much?
The CPU usage for this "android system" is like 4 to 5 hours from 100% to 10% of battery life and taking about 400mAh of battery

brandon8921
post Sep 2 2016, 05:21 PM

242 posts

https://news.samsung.com/global/statement-on-galaxy-note7

GG Samsung

I guess i'll switch off my Note 7 and put back in the box and wait Samsung Mobile Malaysia announce the recall
(just to be on the safe side) and i will start looking for other android phone, or maybe wait for iphone 7

After i get new unit replaced, i surely sell it off. Bye bye Samsung, goodluck in your future Note 7 sales.

brandon8921
post Sep 2 2016, 05:31 PM

242 posts

Will Samsung Mobile Malaysia call their Note 7 customer like how car company call their customer when they issue a recall?
Or should i just walk in to Samsung Service Centre and ask for exchange?
brandon8921
post Sep 3 2016, 10:33 AM

242 posts

Just live chat.... They said "Now, Samsung officially recall for Note 7 for replacement. Samsung Malaysia will contact all customer for replacement. The process will take as soon as possible because 7000 units will be recall"

SME alone have 4000 units preorder. Other 3000 units comes from other carrier?

brandon8921
post Sep 3 2016, 10:41 AM

242 posts

QUOTE(jerryhean @ Sep 3 2016, 10:36 AM)
They should allow transfer. Make sure to get a new extended warranty cert with new serial / IMEI when exchanging phone.
If the extended warranty can be automatically transfer to new phone after replace, i think i will go Samsung dealer today to purchase the extended warranty

brandon8921
post Sep 3 2016, 10:50 AM

242 posts

I don't think Samsung will compensate those with screen protectors etc
Think about it, when you pay the price you are buying the phone only. Other than that are only add-ons by yourself,and i think Samsung should not be responsible by those "add-ons"
Worse still, if too many customer make noise and demand Samsung to compensate, i think they can just give out their original screen protector for free only. Btw those SP are useless to be honest. I used first day with no case already peel off. 2nd day go other mobile accessory shop to stick those no brand but softer screen protector with cheaper price and until now still remain strong and no sign of peeling off soon.
brandon8921
post Sep 3 2016, 10:57 AM

242 posts

QUOTE(RafaBenites @ Sep 3 2016, 10:54 AM)
For those who are from Penang thinking of going to E-Gate's service centre to register for the replacement thingy,  I have only 1 thing to say: DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME.

Took them 30mins to settle the 8 customers ahead of me. When I sat down he asked me what issue I have  with my device.  I asked him don't you know about the Note7 issue, he looked so damn blur. 
When I told him about the replacement thingy,  he said I need to leave my phone to him on the spot!

So the conclusion is,  unless u are willing to leave your phone to them for weeks while they work on getting the new phone for you,  don't waste your effort going to SC! 😠😠😠

Sorry for the rant! Really pisses  me off wasting my Saturday morning
I think many personnel still don't know about this recall issue, as only the Samsung HQ know about this
Give them some time to get their official news from their BOSS. They also cari makan only, won't bother so much one unless their BOSS order to do so.
brandon8921
post Sep 3 2016, 11:28 AM

242 posts

QUOTE(Myvicious666 @ Sep 3 2016, 11:22 AM)
Called up the service centre, same thing, took details. But went on to say thay we do not need to return the phone yet. Once the replacement is ready (2 weeks) they will contact us to come replace. So till then can continue using the phone unless got any issues..
I think many people misunderstood that it is a MUST to leave the phone first, then go back and wait for the replacement unit

The real situation is if your current Note 7 has no issue, then by all means continue using first until the replacement unit arrive, then only go exchange
If your current Note 7 has issue and you don't feel safe using it, you can leave your phone to Samsung first, then go back and wait for replacement unit
brandon8921
post Sep 3 2016, 12:20 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 3 2016, 12:14 PM)
over in USA...
[attachmentid=7451249]

Customers are directed to either visit the retail store where they purchased their phones or to call 1-800-SAMSUNG to exchange the device through the mail. In addition, affected customers will receive a $25 credit on their phone bill or a $25 gift card for their troubles. Samsung did not say when the Note 7 will be available for general purchase.
I think that is because they have sold much more units compare to malaysia which is only 7000 units

Even Samsung malaysia does offer this, i don't think i will change because i just sold my s7edge and bought note 7 thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

0.0211sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:49 AM