4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Samsung Samsung Galaxy Note 7 Official Discussion V5!, Samsung announced global Note 7 recall

Max2006
post Aug 27 2016, 07:06 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(andydutz @ Aug 27 2016, 07:00 PM)
Was thinking to buy note 7. But so many ppl facing problem, now split opinion whether to get note7 or s7..
If you don't need the S-Pen and bigger screen, then just go for S7.

If you are not in hurry, then just go for Note 7 for the latest tech. But wait for a bit, like 2-3 months. Wait until they fix all the issue in the later batches.
Max2006
post Aug 29 2016, 12:30 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(sean810818 @ Aug 29 2016, 11:31 AM)
Update on 29/08/2016

After got my replacement unit from 24/08/2016. until now i facing 3 time random hang and restart for my note 7 but the phone manage to start after restart it self.

1) when i open/enable the Wifi and mobile data on the notification bar
2) Open google chrome (hang and restart two time (need to clear data only work fine. if not it keep hang and restart)
3) Open stock browser (same like 2)

this time really don't know is the software problem or hardware problem.

maybe will go SC if got time.
Sounds like the replacement unit is also a defective unit? If that's the case, you should really go to buy jackpot..... sweat.gif
Max2006
post Aug 29 2016, 05:05 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(richtrons @ Aug 29 2016, 04:46 PM)
ok it doesnt work..seems like samsung have patch this security patch..so even if disabled it still will only last 5 mins..
Here's my own solution regarding the theme issue.

1. Update your PDP to the latest version.
2. After you applied the Batman theme, use PDP to disable Theme store and Theme centre.
3. Then go to your developer options, go to your running process, stop the theme centre process. Usually that process would stop automatically after you disable Theme centre in PDP. But somehow it doesn't anymore after the latest update in Samsung phones. Now you have to stop that proccess in the background manually.
4. Now your batman theme will stay permanently until you restart the phone.
5. If you restart your phone, do the step no.3 again within 1-2 mins. If not, the phone will be forced to go back to the original Samsung theme.

Note: Please share this tip inside lowyat forum only. I don't want this to be spreaded and Samsung may find another way to block this. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Max2006: Aug 29 2016, 05:10 PM
Max2006
post Aug 29 2016, 05:12 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 29 2016, 05:09 PM)
so much work needed to be done just to get the Batman theme cry.gif
is it? For me the whole process only took 1 min. The only difficult part in here is that some people may feel reluctant to buy PDP, which I think it's quite irony, You could spend 3K to buy a phone but you can't pay a few ringgit to buy a good app? rclxs0.gif
Max2006
post Aug 29 2016, 05:20 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(pohsze @ Aug 29 2016, 05:18 PM)
Anyone having problem going into settings from notification bar?
IINM, so far there's 2-3 users who reported the same issue in here.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Aug 29 2016, 05:21 PM
Max2006
post Aug 29 2016, 05:22 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(pohsze @ Aug 29 2016, 05:21 PM)
i wonder what's the cause...
I think it could be a software issue. Need to wait for a new update to fix it.

Meanwhile, temporary solution is to restart the phone.
Max2006
post Aug 29 2016, 05:48 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 29 2016, 05:45 PM)
If reset too often, will it affect the performance?
Do you mean reset or restart?

If restart, it should be no problem at all no matter how many times you restart. I always restart my phones whenever I feel like it. tongue.gif

If you are asking about reset, I reset all my phones everytime I updated. So far, none of them is giving me issues. I don't know if this practise would affect the performance or not. The only thing I know is that reset the phone after updating is good for preventing any possible issues rise up.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Aug 29 2016, 05:51 PM
Max2006
post Aug 30 2016, 09:32 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(sengkin95 @ Aug 30 2016, 02:12 AM)
Am I the only one who's going to have both the Note 7 and the iPhone 7 Plus by the end of this year? lol.gif
wah~ very kaya~ rclxms.gif

I also wish to own both side of smartphone world. But I am afraid that Note 7 is the only one I can afford to own. laugh.gif
Max2006
post Aug 30 2016, 12:03 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Wind82 @ Aug 30 2016, 11:27 AM)
I just discovered a problem with my note 7.

The smart select lasso mode sometimes will not work with certain picture. After done selecting, it just hang there. Luckily home button still can work.
Can you read mandarin? If can, refer here.

http://www.mobile01.com/topicdetail.php?f=568&t=4899663&p=1

Many taiwan users are also facing the same issue. They suspect it's a bug since you could only trigger it by using the smart select lasso mode, especially when you use it slowly.

For other Note 7 users, you all can also try this and see if the phone hang. According to that thread, some did not encounter any issue after using that mode. But some did. It's 50-50 chances.

Solution? Change to a new phone? Unlikely since it's more like a software bug. Most likely you will have to wait for Samsung to fix it in next update.

Temporary solution: Obviously, don't use smart select lasso mode for now.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Aug 30 2016, 12:10 PM
Max2006
post Aug 30 2016, 01:19 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Wind82 @ Aug 30 2016, 01:15 PM)
Mine will always get this error if I use lasso mode really really slow under S Pen menu.

But when use lasso mode under picture EDIT, there's no problem.

Hopefully its a software bug or something
Well, as I said previously, it's 50-50% chances. Consider yourself as unlucky since you are in the other half who have issue on this. But at least you are not alone in this. Let's hope that Samsung will fix this in the future update.
Max2006
post Aug 30 2016, 01:31 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Aug 30 2016, 01:26 PM)
Do you think they have some kind of trade in program for Note 5?
Definitely have. They did provided the same programme everytime they released a new flagship. I expected the trade value for Note 5 will be around RM 1200-1300.
Max2006
post Aug 30 2016, 01:35 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Aug 30 2016, 01:32 PM)
I would like to trade in but very sadly I cracked my screen front and back. It's working fine though. Can call, sms and everything. I am not sure if they accept trade in for cracked screen cry.gif
If that's the case, sorry to say, NO. Samsung trade programme will never accept cracked screen unit. You will have to find other way to sell your phone. I believe there's some buyers out there who would love to accept broken phones. The only thing is you need to accept the lower trade in value since your screen is broken.
Max2006
post Aug 30 2016, 04:25 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Aug 30 2016, 03:56 PM)
This phone is killing the po users.. One visit to the service center 7 person 5 sending in or collecting note 7. Wtf Samsung. Anybody here with a perfectly functioning note 7? My issues was 1. Selfie camera failed 2. A blank spot where spen can never write on. So pissed off.. Getting mock by friends  it's a Samsung.  Blablabla
5 out of 7? That's "impresssive". sweat.gif

Based on my observation, there's more than 20-30ish lowyat forumers in here who have issues with their Note 7. Not to mention those who complained in Samsung facebook and other social platforms, plus those customers (not lowyat forumers) who walked in to SC. If all numbers add up, god know how many victims out there.

Also, I know there's still got many users who don't have any issues with Note 7 at this moment. But who can tell if this will stay permanently? As we already knew, the pre-order batch definitely have some issues going on. Holding a Note 7 now is like holding a time bomb. You will never know when it will go hay wire. bangwall.gif

I know someone would say every product line would have defective units. Just accept the god damn fact and move on. Haters will always be haters, etc etc. But don't you guys think it's kind of ridiculous to see so many cases after Note 7 released? I don't know if the olders generations also had the same history or record. But I am sure there's whole lot of issues in Note 7 compared to the predecessor Note 5. This is certainly not a pleasant thing for me to swallow. doh.gif

Don't get me wrong. I also love Note 7 (I am also a Note 5 user). But honestly, this is not really a good time to buy or switch to Note 7, unless Samsung show us the proof that they already fixed all the issues after they first launch in Malaysia. hmm.gif

Sorry for the long speech. Just a bit of ranting from the Note series lover.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Aug 30 2016, 04:26 PM
Max2006
post Aug 30 2016, 04:55 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Aug 30 2016, 04:52 PM)
So it finally reaches to one of the popular tech sites. bad news. But the good news is more attentions mean a public relation crisis for Samsung. Now Samsung will have no reason to hide from this anymore. Time to get their ass up and fix the issues! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Max2006: Aug 30 2016, 04:56 PM
Max2006
post Sep 1 2016, 01:05 AM

4,099 posts

More news on Note 7 explosion.

http://bgr.com/2016/08/31/galaxy-note-7-explosions/

http://www.businesskorea.co.kr/english/new...during-charging
Max2006
post Sep 1 2016, 01:36 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Sep 1 2016, 01:28 AM)
explosions?? lol..

samsung makes it easier for me to choose the iphone 7 now..lets just note the note 7 comes to malaysia by 2nd week of sept
Since Samsung official already said that the shipment will be delayed, I doubt that Samsung Malaysia will be launching Note 7 on time. Even if they do launch on 9/9, do we dare to buy it on the spot? People who don't read the news or those who do not have any tech awareness, they may go ahead without 2nd thought. But for us who have read through every single post in here, I am sure most of us will be hesitate. sweat.gif
Max2006
post Sep 1 2016, 01:44 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Wind82 @ Sep 1 2016, 12:00 PM)
The most worrying issue is the exploding battery.

I charge my HP everyday beside my bed, so dangerous lah

Hope Samsung can find out the reason ASAP
It's not good to charge your phone beside your bed, eventhough if the phone battery is safe in the first place. Time to change your habit.
Max2006
post Sep 2 2016, 12:40 AM

4,099 posts

Looking at Note 5 Thread, it's been one year now, and it's still in V6 only. The feeling of loneliness is there. But considered OK since there's not much of complaints over there.

Looking at Note 7 Thread, it's not yet launched in Malaysia, but it's already in V5 in only 1 freaking month! People thought it would be a good thing because it's a sign to show that Note 7 is popular. But who on earth would have know that more than 50% of those posts are actually about those various problematic gates?

I am speechless.......sad.gif

This post has been edited by Max2006: Sep 2 2016, 12:44 AM
Max2006
post Sep 2 2016, 01:14 AM

4,099 posts

Found this info from taiwan forum. It's a pic of Note 7 battery. The pic shows that the battery should not bear the heat which more than 45 celcius.

I know this is just a precaution method. Normal battery nowadays should be able to take that much of heat.

But when you try to put this info together with the latest explosion cases, now who else dare to play game/use gps on Note 7? Seriously................

This post has been edited by Max2006: Sep 2 2016, 01:16 AM

Max2006
post Sep 2 2016, 02:01 AM

4,099 posts

Just read through all those news regarding the explosion cases. Here's my summary so far.

1. Until this moment, there's 7 explosion cases been reported.
2. 6 cases in Korea, 1 case in oversea.
3. 5 cases happened during charging battery, whille the other 2 cases happened during normal usage.
4. Samsung Korea will announce the result of their investigation on 9/2.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Sep 2 2016, 02:02 AM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:31 PM