Now shall we called this guy a, Photographer of the year?

Doomsday
post Jan 25 2007, 07:20 PM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

Is there anyway, that he grab the edge of the cliff with only one hand and the other hand carrying the tripod?
In my opinion, it really sounds not logical unless he is trained one-handed-mountain climbing....
joylay83
post Jan 25 2007, 10:39 PM

854 posts

QUOTE(BurgaFlippinMan @ Jan 25 2007, 04:49 PM)
theoretically yes...in practice, its far harder than it seems.
yea... u will need a very very good DSLR camera or a SLR + very good scanner to get a very high resolution photo. then when u select that time and paste it won't look so fake. like some ppl said the colour composition have to be the same... quite hard task.

i cut out my fren from a random photo last time and paste it to an underwater wallpaper becoz she likes fishes. to me it looks fake but she say looks real blink.gif
LanEvoX
post Jan 25 2007, 11:04 PM

6 stars only...meh...
1,452 posts

playing with angle la.....
BurgaFlippinMan
post Jan 25 2007, 11:33 PM

Wachaaa!
6,486 posts

QUOTE(JDream @ Jan 25 2007, 04:51 PM)
It's fake IMHO.

The shadows of the man and color tones seem a bit off when matched with the cliffs.

My 2 cents.
QUOTE(eddychstu @ Jan 25 2007, 06:18 PM)
doh.gif the color of the jeans also different, c'mom ppl...
I quote myself

"if u pump up the blues on the first photo u'd get it to look similar to the rest. so its just a matter of color balancing"

not that i'm advocating the photos as the truth, but the color mismatch is nothing more than a simple balancing issue. Just look at the background in the first pic...dark tan right? just like the jeans in that photo. Pump up the blues in that pic and u get blue jeans and a bluish background...just like the rest of the series.
ac98
post Jan 26 2007, 03:56 AM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

QUOTE(Maniac @ Jan 25 2007, 12:32 PM)
RichX send me a link on this http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp...essage=21771803

Take a look and comment.

For one, i will vote yes, he is the guy.

No big deal to me ... it is possible. If he can make his way to the rock then he is just plainly standing there and got shot by another photographer.
ifer
post Jan 26 2007, 01:04 PM

4,637 posts

have u guys ever thought of him hiring a helicopter and get himself flown to the canyon and stuffs?

what makes you guy think that he climbed the canyon?
LanEvoX
post Jan 26 2007, 01:40 PM

6 stars only...meh...
1,452 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Jan 26 2007, 01:04 PM)
have u guys ever thought of him hiring a helicopter and get himself flown to the canyon and stuffs?

what makes you guy think that he climbed the canyon?
so this ppl also hire helicopter to bring them up?
and the comment for that picture:
Dork Buster
this is bs and you know it. check out snopes for you dopes. there is a shelf below the jump and its really one long rock sticking out into the canyon. Refer to the pictures links below and folllow the snopes page down to the bottom photo and click on it and you will see the entire rock and how easy it would be to get out there and too make that jump.

Yep nice shot, though not as scary when you know the drop - i.e. the gap between those two pieces of rock - is about 3 feet deep.

Anon
Good framing. What you can't see is the connecting ledge between the two rocks. You would only fall a short distance if the jump went wrong.

http://www.pbase.com/cslr_challenge/image/34500182
The area shown is a popular photographic spot in the Grand Canyon, for the very reason demonstrated above: if a photographer frames his picture just right, he can make it appear that his subject is leaping across a yawning chasm where the slightest misstep will seemingly result in the risk-taker's plummeting hundreds (if not thousands) of feet to  certain death on the canyon floor below.  What one doesn't see in these kinds of close shots is the connecting ledge just beneath the two rock formations, revealing that the jumper who misses his mark risks falling only a short ways, not plunging "900 meters":

http://www.snopes.com/photos/natural/canyonleap.asp

real? photoshop?

i say tat guy make the jump...u just need perfect timing, perfect angle and some luck to fool humans eye

u no need expensive DSLR to do tat, any camera will do the same trick

This post has been edited by LanEvoX: Jan 26 2007, 01:44 PM
rikimaruding
post Jan 26 2007, 03:05 PM

one handed grab on such high cliff, normal ppl wont do tat, wat can i say... he is the guy!
littlegreen
post Jan 26 2007, 10:08 PM

505 posts

thank for sharing but it is incredible that human can do this and it is in the myth site so it is definitely untrue...
napy8gen
post Jan 27 2007, 05:51 PM

here is the explanation.its a tricky photo
http://www.snopes.com/photos/natural/canyonleap.asp
phatboss
post Jan 27 2007, 11:15 PM

~Ouchhhh~
568 posts

drool.gif if its real...he is superman... drool.gif