Xiaomi Xiaomi Redmi Note 3 Discussion V6, MIUI 8 available now!

No Reason
post Aug 26 2016, 04:23 PM

62 posts

hi,

just bought 1 from lazada with CIMB discount for RM690

kinda hard to find grey unit. most of the grey unit with +- 600 after discount already sold out

and, i got goodix sensor huhuhu

but i came across a post in forum somewhere that he bought another fp sensor at aliexpress around 15 dollars, and change the sensor himself. and its pretty easy to do as well.

thinking to change it, if i want to change ROM with working fp. Currently seems still no news for goodix driver.

No Reason
post Aug 26 2016, 06:00 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Gamerjim @ Aug 26 2016, 04:58 PM)
cimb weekend discount?
ya.. 10% via app, or 5% via desktop. but then, only selected vendor only have this discount
No Reason
post Aug 29 2016, 09:03 AM

62 posts

unlocking bootloader and installing twrp was a nightmare for me. spent the whole day yesterday just to get things right. and thats even with officially unlocked

No Reason
post Aug 29 2016, 09:58 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(GameSky @ Aug 29 2016, 09:05 AM)
bootlooping on twrp?
weird, never happened to me hmm.gif
luckily, not that.

only im stuck at 50%, had to flash China dev rom just to get it unlock, cant flash twrp, my adb not working, then getting lost on how to flash twrp, got twrp, supersu, then xposed not working.

in short, steps to getting it done was a bit messy, not as per usual way when doing other android devices. almosy give up halfway lol

anyway, miui had a wierd way in grouping its setting. all native apps setting grouped in one place, they put security in separated app, battery saver in security app etc
No Reason
post Aug 29 2016, 10:15 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Aug 29 2016, 10:01 AM)
I use Xiaomi.eu TWRP...no issue since day one...

Xiaomi.eu TWRP

Oh ya, read and understand the 3 warnings at the bottom of the page...
i have no issue with twrp version. i used alka twrp. i only had issue on the process in getting it done, like adb not working for example. had to install Mi pc suite for adb to be working, which not stated in any how to pages.

anyway, all safe and sound already.
No Reason
post Aug 29 2016, 10:28 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(ywheng89 @ Aug 29 2016, 10:24 AM)
Hi Azhar,
yes i've unlocked the bootloader,i'm on SD chipset.
if your phone bricked, then u use the wrong version of twrp.

u unlocked officially or u officially?

officially - use alka or sofface
unofficially - use alka, then flash twrp v2 (im not sure, lookup for more details)
No Reason
post Aug 29 2016, 10:33 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(ywheng89 @ Aug 29 2016, 10:30 AM)
hmmm,never heard of the two terms before,but i unlock from Mi's website where i apply to unlock my BL then after it got approved then i go Mi's site to download the unlock tool and i follow the instructions from there to get my BL unlocked.
then, u officially unlock the bootloader.

unofficial unlock, they bypass the process of getting permission from xiaomi
No Reason
post Aug 29 2016, 10:37 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(GameSky @ Aug 29 2016, 10:26 AM)
added as in FAQ
miui surely have weird way to let user to unlock..why don't they let it like sony's way..just enter serial and unlock doh.gif

or when some good samaritan make one-click unlocking tools.. lol like i found for galaxy s4. easier for noob like me
No Reason
post Aug 29 2016, 03:33 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(buyoq @ Aug 29 2016, 03:17 PM)
lol.first day i got the phone straight away unlock BL and flashed CM
i dont really prefer using MIUI
me too

but what todo, i have goodix sensor. had to swallow and use Miui cos i want to use fingerprint

now using 3rd party launcher to cover up miui ui abit
No Reason
post Aug 29 2016, 05:00 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(vanpersie91 @ Aug 29 2016, 04:43 PM)
In faq list at front page, i changed the connection type to LTE only thru *#*#4636#*#*

But not i want to change back to default setting, afraid letter if area no LTE then hard lor

What is default setting ar?

Td SCDMA , GSM / WCDMA and LTE

or TD SCDMA, WCDMA and LTE?
just change the setting back at network setting in Setting. No need to re-open *4636* menu
No Reason
post Aug 30 2016, 12:19 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(dennisyeoh @ Aug 30 2016, 12:00 AM)
anyone tried to change their lock screen wallpaper?? i keep getting cant load
QUOTE(GameSky @ Aug 30 2016, 12:13 AM)
use miui launcher
guilty of using 3rd party launcher lol

like me
No Reason
post Aug 30 2016, 11:13 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Aug 30 2016, 11:06 PM)
wa.. bugs?

miui7 here.. when sometime i hold phone on my hand from my pocket.. hmm let say my 2 or 3 fingers hold the phone and walk for a while.. then the phone will vibrate itself during screen lock .. why?..
ur finger touch the fingerprint scanner?

usually thats what happen when the sensor can't recognized the fingerprint. it will vibrate
No Reason
post Aug 30 2016, 11:45 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Aug 30 2016, 11:27 PM)
no idea.. perhaps.. i will take note on this next time.. hopefully its my finger touching the fingerprint sensor... cannot off this vibrate?
most probably it

its an indication when it detect wrong fingerprint. not sure whether can turn it off or not lol

edit: yup, i tested it. as long as skin fully touching the scanner, it will detect as wrong fingerprint and give a vibrate

This post has been edited by No Reason: Aug 30 2016, 11:49 PM
No Reason
post Sep 6 2016, 10:46 PM

62 posts

can I rant here about Miui? lol

need to factory reset just to make my Yes 4G to work (damn it)

and after that, all my setting gone crazy lol

0.0801sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:15 PM