Proton Persona 2016 Booking?

TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 24 2016, 11:39 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

Saw a white Persona just now at Bandar Utama. Doesn't look as sleek as the Persona Elegance but it still looks good. Not ugly like the Fiesta Sedan, and luckily no upskirt like the Bezza.
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 27 2016, 12:43 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

Went for a test drive today. The car was OK to me until I was brought on a test drive. The way the car drives with ESC is absolutely awesome. Had a SA demonstrate the car's ability to take tight corners full throttle over 100kmh and how effective the ESC system works overall on grass and slalom
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 28 2016, 10:48 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(jepakazoid_82 @ Aug 28 2016, 10:25 AM)
Thinking of getting this car for my wife. CVT ok or not? Also how is the service center experience as compared to P2? Not sure if I should go new Persona / Bezza or used City / Vios.
CVT is not bad. There's just a very small delay now. So far my experience at the Proton Centre of Excellence has been OK. They don't work that fast but they get most of the job done. The seats are comfortable and support the leg, but the rear seat backrest are a bit of a let down, though when I spent a lot of my test drive time as a rear passenger being thrown around I still felt comfortable.

Edit: Compared to the old Persona, the lack of adjustable headrest isn't a big deal because you don't need to sacrifice back support for head support and likewise in the new one.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Aug 28 2016, 10:55 AM
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 28 2016, 02:39 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(mat79 @ Aug 28 2016, 02:24 PM)
Hi mat79, you mentioned that the ESC in the Preve works with the brakes only. Is this the same for the Suprima S also?
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 28 2016, 06:17 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(mat79 @ Aug 28 2016, 06:15 PM)
yup,only iriz n persona using engine n brake esc/tc.
What's the reason for this? Not supported? ESC on both engine and brakes should be better right? hmm.gif
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 28 2016, 06:33 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(mat79 @ Aug 28 2016, 06:26 PM)
development,cost(at development of preve/suprima) n ecu lomitation. new ecu in campro nfe is 32bits bosch motronic ems, while cfe n iafm+ using 32bits easyu by continental.
I see. I was very impressed with the ESC/TC system on the Persona. 70% of my test drive involved emergency maneuvers like braking on half grass/road, hard braking during 100KM/H cornering, and full throttle cornering at over 80KM/H at the corners around COE all done by the sales advisor.
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 28 2016, 06:45 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Aug 28 2016, 04:15 PM)
Tyre got screetch?
Got. The system gave so much artificial grip. biggrin.gif The test drive was around 15KM+ in total I believe, and the car was driven like it's stolen. laugh.gif When I drove it, I was driving sensibly and it was just OK to me especially since the tyres make the car wobble a bit, so to have the car going around the corners so wildly without feeling like it was gonna go out of control was a surprise.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Aug 28 2016, 06:53 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 28 2016, 08:07 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(jlkh760830 @ Aug 28 2016, 07:58 PM)
Guys,,
Need to ask some opinion ...

Compare to New Persona and Suprima Std spec ,,
Which one do you guys prefer ...
This morning,, I when to test drive session new persona ..
Overall ,, the persona is prefect for the price range ...
Accept the rear room leg ,, is too small  compare to Suprima ..
Much much better ... Yup I know Suprima is C- segment car & Persona is B- segment car ...
But yet still struggling in between twob of them ...
Opinion pls ...
Go for a Suprima S if you want a car with more power, better handling (Persona itself has good handling) and more cabin space. The fuel consumption isn't good for the CFE engine though, so if this is a big concern stick with the Persona. The way the gearbox is tuned now makes it quite an eager to move car. Also, beware of extra maintenance costs such as the Turbo, turbo hose, more expensive tyres and etc for the Suprima S.

If you're willing to buy a Suprima S Std, consider buying a 2015 stock Suprima S Premium because the price difference may not be that large depending on how much discount you get for it.
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 28 2016, 08:08 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(axsatr @ Aug 28 2016, 08:05 PM)
Please don't buy the Standard Suprima S:
1) That CFE engine FC is horrible compared to the VVT
2) 16" vs 15" tyres - bigger tyre = more expensive
3) No Hill Hold Assist
4) No Push to Start
5) Only 2 airbags
6) No ESC/VSC
7) No reverse camera
8) No front parking sensor
9) No Auto lights

If you want SS, at least take Executive variant or why not Preve CFE? Price wise should be very close to SS Standard but it has almost all of the missing items.
The Suprima S Std apparently has ESC now. I thought Protong made an error when they printed the brochure for the Suprima S, but as it turns out they updated it some time ago.

Edit: Better re-confirm with Protong though. I believe I saw the Suprima S std at mutiara damansara a month ago (with the brown dashboard panel), but I don't remember if it had the ESC button.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Aug 28 2016, 08:20 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 28 2016, 08:21 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(axsatr @ Aug 28 2016, 08:19 PM)
Oh wow, that's good. But website not updated  sweat.gif
Better call protong to re-confirm and if yes, for which year. biggrin.gif I think Mutiara Damansara has a Std unit on display.
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 30 2016, 06:10 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Aug 30 2016, 06:02 PM)
OK I just test drove the Persona.

Agree with most of your points, except the one quoted above. I found the engine sound to be LOUD...almost as loud as my old Persona. It was surprising to me, after all the hype I've read about the improved NVH.

but CVT whine is virtually gone, and no vibrations could be detected even when revved hard. The CVT response is much improved, back to the responsiveness found in my old FLX but without the jerks.
I feel the same too. Engine still loud. I like the dampened feeling of the doors a lot.
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 31 2016, 09:30 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(mat79 @ Aug 31 2016, 01:08 AM)
i hear that some has started to complaint on mr ogawa san,since he is a bit strict in approve anything. malaysian,what to do. just hope that top management will not interfere too much with his work.

yup,one of the reason why persona n saga delayed is due to him,but not on perdana. perdana is somebody else causing the delay(not related to technical at all).
Good to know that someone who cares about quality is working in protong now. The air Cond vents in the new persona are way better than the ones in the suprima S. I hope they will do a revision to the current vents for the suprima s because it's really dreadful to adjust.
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 1 2016, 04:43 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Boss262 @ Sep 1 2016, 04:32 PM)
Oh my god, is this really true? I changed mine twice already. Afraid the belt suddenly putus like that. FML bangwall.gif
Are you sure that it's the timing belt? If its the FEAD belt it's normal to replace it every 30 to 40k km.
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 18 2016, 10:16 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(pauh @ Sep 18 2016, 12:29 AM)
3. my headlamp level is very high..during my journey back a few cars and lorries flash me bcos of my headlamp eventhough i set to lowest level already..fixed today by SC.
for now thats the only problem from my 10 days old persona.
thats all for now
Did you use your front fog lights? I'm not sure about the new Persona, but they might be flashing you because it.
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 18 2016, 01:10 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(firegal @ Sep 18 2016, 11:24 AM)
Hi All Sifu here,

Read from fb comment, some one did mention PDI(Pre-Delivery Inspection). This compulsory right? Wonder should booking from dealer or branch. Heard that dealer might not do PDI?
There's one PDI done at protong's factory, and another one will be done at the place of purchase, but this doesn't mean the car will be delivered to you w/o any problems like my case. Go through the entire exterior and interior of the car and make sure that there's no damage or defects before signing the paper.

0.0550sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:33 PM