How much is it to maintain a C200, Year 2012. Curious to know
TSmystvearn
Aug 11 2016, 06:53 AM, updated 10y ago
My friend forwarded this whatsapp message to me:
"Assalamualaikum My son dah x larat nak maintain his Merz anybody interested nak beli Mercedes c200 cgi blue efficiency mileage 73,400 km service tak penah miss harga 160k."
I assume this person service at sc. So how much will a typical service cost?
jwrx
Aug 11 2016, 07:37 AM
QUOTE(mystvearn @ Aug 11 2016, 06:53 AM) My friend forwarded this whatsapp message to me: "Assalamualaikum My son dah x larat nak maintain his Merz anybody interested nak beli Mercedes c200 cgi blue efficiency mileage 73,400 km service tak penah miss harga 160k." I assume this person service at sc. So how much will a typical service cost? cannot maintain also includes the cost of tires, insurance, service. without NCB, just the insurance and roadtax is rm4k+ a year typical merc service is 700-1200
Ginny88
Aug 11 2016, 08:33 AM
rcracer
Aug 11 2016, 08:38 AM
4 year old car is not right time to take over
typically this are when the major stuffs need replacing, timing belts, absorbers, bushes, on top of the normal servicing costs
lsm1991
Aug 11 2016, 10:26 AM
160k ahh?? not exactly a 'good' deal especially if its a direct seller...... dealers will probably offer him 120 to 140k for that......
Andrew_1980
Aug 11 2016, 10:38 AM
How old it's?
As I saw before, 2010 one selling around 100K je.
TSmystvearn
Aug 11 2016, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Aug 11 2016, 08:33 AM) Thanks for the quote.
IamAHuman
Aug 11 2016, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Aug 11 2016, 10:26 AM) 160k ahh?? not exactly a 'good' deal especially if its a direct seller...... dealers will probably offer him 120 to 140k for that...... agreed... RM 160k!?!?! that's way too high! Unless his mileage is like below 10k!! even with that, it's also pushing!
lsm1991
Aug 11 2016, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(IamAHuman @ Aug 11 2016, 03:50 PM) agreed... RM 160k!?!?! that's way too high! Unless his mileage is like below 10k!! even with that, it's also pushing! haha to me, in general thats asking for way too much BUT you never know.... imo sometimes, there are reasons it costs that much hehe..... siapa tau, whole car nicely done up, near mint condition hehe
TSmystvearn
Aug 11 2016, 04:31 PM
Not my car, so I don't care. BTW, since I forwarded the message and pics to whatsapp groups, there are few serious people interested in the car. So I guess the value is not far off.
Noregrets
Aug 12 2016, 06:00 AM
RM 160k is way overpriced. I sold mine at RM 145 in Dec 2015 and the mileage was 48k km with 6 months warranty to go.
ryder_78
Aug 12 2016, 07:57 AM
QUOTE(mystvearn @ Aug 11 2016, 06:53 AM) My friend forwarded this whatsapp message to me: "Assalamualaikum My son dah x larat nak maintain his Merz anybody interested nak beli Mercedes c200 cgi blue efficiency mileage 73,400 km service tak penah miss harga 160k." I assume this person service at sc. So how much will a typical service cost? Two friends own the C200. Not sure about typical service cost but the cost of parts replacement or minor repairs is surely higher than typical Japanese cars. One would have to seek the workshop outside instead of Mercedes service centres for minor repairs or replacement of minor parts as it is even costlier at the Mercedes SC. One owner repaired the failed mechanism for the front passenger door which cannot be closed, and the repair outside costs RM2k+.
kluseng
Aug 12 2016, 08:09 AM
QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Aug 12 2016, 07:57 AM) Two friends own the C200. Not sure about typical service cost but the cost of parts replacement or minor repairs is surely higher than typical Japanese cars. One would have to seek the workshop outside instead of Mercedes service centres for minor repairs or replacement of minor parts as it is even costlier at the Mercedes SC. One owner repaired the failed mechanism for the front passenger door which cannot be closed, and the repair outside costs RM2k+. That's the problem with German cars. They are over engineered with so much electronics that even simple things like opening and closing doors are electronically controlled and cost a bundle to fix if they malfunction. My friend's Audi A6 had to go back to SC because he could not open the petrol filler lid.
Ginny88
Aug 12 2016, 08:35 AM
According to carbase.my the market value of a 2012 C200 CGI Blue Efficiency is RM142,700 (Avant Garde) and RM137,100 (Elegance) so RM160K does look overpriced.
Andrew_1980
Aug 12 2016, 09:36 AM
QUOTE(kluseng @ Aug 12 2016, 08:09 AM) That's the problem with German cars. They are over engineered with so much electronics that even simple things like opening and closing doors are electronically controlled and cost a bundle to fix if they malfunction. My friend's Audi A6 had to go back to SC because he could not open the petrol filler lid. My neighbor own a S6 before, and at last he sold it at ridiculous low price and buy Japs.  Repair the gearbox two times cost him 30k ++
19 Degree South
Aug 12 2016, 12:17 PM
QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Aug 12 2016, 08:35 AM) According to carbase.my the market value of a 2012 C200 CGI Blue Efficiency is RM142,700 (Avant Garde) and RM137,100 (Elegance) so RM160K does look overpriced. Those car website mostly are jap recond! We are talking aout local MBM models! At least servicece history is guarrantted unlike recond! 90% tempered! This post has been edited by 19 Degree South: Aug 12 2016, 12:18 PM
lsm1991
Aug 12 2016, 12:46 PM
QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Aug 12 2016, 12:17 PM) Those car website mostly are jap recond! We are talking aout local MBM models! At least servicece history is guarrantted unlike recond! 90% tempered! not all... you can easily find 'local' units for that kind of money
ayamxxx
Aug 15 2016, 03:13 PM
Based on family experience for w211 E240, 2004-2010, Typical 10k services cost about 600-700 without the Fully Synthetic engine oil ( 5.5 Liter). Service at non sc but benz expert.
once that cost much is when changing gear oil, the shop said need to flushing as well. Iinm it cost about 10liter gear oil inclusive the flushing at rm55/liter.
Changing the all absorber cost like 3-4k for all inclusive all installation.
Changed to a brand new Japan 2.4 car. Service were all headache free with all cost less than 1k except major service based on mileage.
xemoboyx
Aug 15 2016, 04:30 PM

160k? lol , dealers offering this car for 130k now... if you are his real friend, ask him to give u at dealer price
Kendall
Aug 15 2016, 08:26 PM
my neighbour bought 2012 merc e250 for 160k last few months. c200 also same price?