Toilet - Floor uneven, Water is not draining/flow
TSjunfu1988
Aug 8 2016, 11:11 AM, updated 10y ago
hi all, can i know how much will i need to fix uneven toilet that cause water flowing/draining failed. 9(20cm) x 11(20cm) toilet area. do i able to just apply another layer of tiles on top of existing one ? Was in chat with a contractor doing waterproof layer on top of existing tiles, he claims that the additional layer is 5mm thickness and can cure water not flowing issue where no hacking required. Any thought?? If to hack how much?, is not hack - what solution i have. This post has been edited by junfu1988: Oct 24 2016, 12:20 PM
the gunner
Aug 8 2016, 01:36 PM
TSjunfu1988
Aug 8 2016, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(the gunner @ Aug 8 2016, 01:36 PM) the contractor do offer me this type of coating too, but does it really works for releveling the flooring?
peri peri
Aug 8 2016, 04:36 PM
best advise, relay. estimate around rm 1500 including water proofing
TSjunfu1988
Aug 9 2016, 12:20 AM
QUOTE(peri peri @ Aug 8 2016, 04:36 PM) best advise, relay. estimate around rm 1500 including water proofing Tile relay? u saying adding another layer of tiles???
peri peri
Aug 9 2016, 09:33 AM
QUOTE(junfu1988 @ Aug 9 2016, 12:20 AM) Tile relay? u saying adding another layer of tiles??? hack off existing, re-waterproofed, re-adjust floor gradient, lay more premium tiles
TSjunfu1988
Aug 9 2016, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(peri peri @ Aug 9 2016, 09:33 AM) hack off existing, re-waterproofed, re-adjust floor gradient, lay more premium tiles still thinking other alternative without going through hacking,
peri peri
Aug 9 2016, 11:34 AM
QUOTE(junfu1988 @ Aug 9 2016, 11:32 AM) still thinking other alternative without going through hacking,  no, is the only choice for long term solution. such can last you for at least another 10 years if you doing it right
TSjunfu1988
Oct 20 2016, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(peri peri @ Aug 9 2016, 11:34 AM) no, is the only choice for long term solution. such can last you for at least another 10 years if you doing it right sifu, do you have recommended contractor doing this job ?
peri peri
Oct 20 2016, 10:11 PM
QUOTE(junfu1988 @ Oct 20 2016, 11:16 AM) sifu, do you have recommended contractor doing this job ? try kaotim.com becoz i dunno where is ur location, not sure if my contractor willing to travel there
billyboy
Oct 21 2016, 08:46 AM
no need to hack. just put another layer of waterproof on top and lay on top. important to get the gradient so that no 'ponding'....
TSjunfu1988
Oct 22 2016, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(peri peri @ Oct 20 2016, 10:11 PM) try kaotim.com becoz i dunno where is ur location, not sure if my contractor willing to travel there my unit is at taman melati setapak area
TSjunfu1988
Oct 22 2016, 12:17 PM
QUOTE(billyboy @ Oct 21 2016, 08:46 AM) no need to hack. just put another layer of waterproof on top and lay on top. important to get the gradient so that no 'ponding'.... mind to share more detailed of this???
billyboy
Oct 22 2016, 12:30 PM
I've worked with two contractors on this basis. Lees work. Cheaper. Less rubbish to cart away. However thicker.
They will make pock holes in the existing tiles. Put the layer of water proof n cement. Lay on top. Fairly straight forward.
TSjunfu1988
Oct 24 2016, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(billyboy @ Oct 22 2016, 12:30 PM) I've worked with two contractors on this basis. Lees work. Cheaper. Less rubbish to cart away. However thicker. They will make pock holes in the existing tiles. Put the layer of water proof n cement. Lay on top. Fairly straight forward. That is waterproof without hacking right ? because the main issue im having is water unable to smoothly escalate to the escalate hole.
billyboy
Oct 24 2016, 10:16 AM
which results in ponding. simple but bad problem. your contractor need to use the spirit level conscientiously to ensure the gradient is right...
TSjunfu1988
Oct 24 2016, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(billyboy @ Oct 24 2016, 10:16 AM) which results in ponding. simple but bad problem. your contractor need to use the spirit level conscientiously to ensure the gradient is right...  Mind to share the cost for that?
billyboy
Oct 24 2016, 10:33 AM
sorry lah, i'm not contractor....ask your local hardware shop for recommendation.....
Richard
Oct 24 2016, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(billyboy @ Oct 24 2016, 10:16 AM) which results in ponding. simple but bad problem. your contractor need to use the spirit level conscientiously to ensure the gradient is right...  use the the correct terms.. The problem is uneven bathroom floor finish level, this results in water ponding at certain areas of the bathroom floor.. you are looking for a solution due to the water unable to drain out (water ponding) to to this floor unevenness.. It helps others to understand the actual situation.. As i understand "Escalate" means to increase which is damm confusing
billyboy
Oct 24 2016, 11:06 AM
flow is a better word than escalate .... i think....