43 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V12!

terence_nwb
post Sep 22 2016, 08:33 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Sep 22 2016, 07:00 PM)
If cpu demanding  would u recommend for xeon proc? Of course with suitable mobo
Skylake Xeon (E3 1230 V5) + C232 chipset mobo is more expensive than i7 6700 + H110/B150, not recommended to go for Xeon path in Skylake (and possibly all future generation).

QUOTE(fin307 @ Sep 22 2016, 07:13 PM)
not me. but my friend.
he's planning to play something like ms2, dota, maybe assassin creed (maybe), and warframe.
Intel Core i3 6098P - RM 446
Gigabyte H110M-DS2 (D4) - RM 276
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 161
Palit GTX750Ti 2GB GDDR5 StormX OC - RM 488
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Corsair VS450 - RM 163
Armageddon Nanotron T1x - RM 95

Total: RM 1838 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Sep 22 2016, 11:49 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(suikamelon @ Sep 22 2016, 09:07 PM)
[Budget]
RM 3500+

[Purpose]
Gaming / Programming / Software Development

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
Keyboard + mouse + monitor + headset

[Monitor resolution]
1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
GTA V / Simulation Games / PS / VS / AS

[Personal preferences]
GTX 1060

[Location]
JB, KL

Thx in advance  smile.gif  smile.gif
Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 851
Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4) - RM 379
Palit GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 Dual - RM 1128
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 278
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Superflower Leadex Silver 550W - RM 339
Tecware Alpha - RM 199

Total: RM 3533 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

QUOTE(fin307 @ Sep 22 2016, 10:48 PM)
is it okay to swap with g440?
Can, but please expect lower performance compared to i3.
terence_nwb
post Sep 23 2016, 09:49 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(blakerzgood @ Sep 23 2016, 12:37 AM)
[Budget]
RM 2000

[Purpose]
Gaming / Video Editing

Keyboard + mouse + monitor + headset

[Monitor resolution]
1080p

AAA games/ Dota/ Sony Vegas

[Personal preferences]
Had effective cooler since my room temp becomes hot sometimes

[Location]
N9, KL
Try to run stock cooler first since budget is low, if temperature is very near to throttle limit then only get a decent 3rd part cooler.

XFX RX460 4GB GDDR5 Dual - RM 659
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Corsair VS450 - RM 163
Armageddon Nanotron T1x - RM 95

Total: RM 2009 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Sep 25 2016, 03:32 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(bitebug @ Sep 25 2016, 05:27 AM)
[Budget]
RM 8000

[Purpose]
Gaming

-

[Monitor resolution]
Best possible

AAA games

[Personal preferences]
Best possible monitor + graphic card

[Location]
Sabah
Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1289
Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4) - RM 379
Kingston 16GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 290
Palit GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 Jetstream - RM 1848
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Superflower Leadex Gold 550W - RM 409
Tecware Alpha - RM 199
Acer Predator XB271HU IPS GSync - RM 3199

Total: RM 8100 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Sep 25 2016, 03:32 PM
terence_nwb
post Sep 25 2016, 10:06 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(wilson7932 @ Sep 25 2016, 01:12 PM)
Adobe ps the most...
QUOTE(wilson7932 @ Sep 21 2016, 03:33 PM)
[B][Budget]RM5k -6k

[Purpose]Gaming only.

[Hardwares that will be re-use]No..

[Monitor resolution] 1600 x 1200 or 1920 x 1200

[Games & softwares that use frequently]DOTA2, Adobe.

[Personal preferences]

[Location] KL.

---------------------------------------------------------
I prefer Cooler Master to build up for this Casing and Cooler.
I prefer Razer for my gaming equipment. (Chrome or All set in green)
Hard disk, whtever brand will do. 1 or 2 TB will do.
Graphic card, I want to play latest game. As long as can support then fine.
Processor, hmm....I7 can do within the budget? If cant, just cut to I5.
Monitor, any brand will do. as long as the budget hit.
Power supply, motherboard, totally no idea. Please advice.

What else I missed, please let me know.
Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 835
Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 446
Gigabyte GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 G1 Gaming - RM 1189
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Superflower Leadex Gold 550W - RM 409
CM Masterbox 5 - RM 369
BenQ GW2470H - RM 469

Total: RM 4365 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

I purposely reduce the total cost of the build because I don't know which Razer peripherals you want to get, I allocated at least RM 700+ for it.

The rest of the budget can be used for these upgrades if you decide to max out your budget (6k):
1. i7 6700
2. GTX1070
3. More RAM, like 16GB if you multitask a lot.
4. Better monitor
5. CPU cooler (not really needed if temperature is within the control)
terence_nwb
post Sep 25 2016, 10:14 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(ms749 @ Sep 25 2016, 04:34 PM)
[Budget]
RM 1000 (not sure if can get lower)

[Purpose]
Mostly Internet surfing. Others involve light excel and casual movie and music.

Monitor, mouse and keyboard.

Google Chrome, Microsoft offices, and light movies and music

[Personal preferences]
Nothing. Just wanna get the cheapest rig possible for this purpose

[Location]
KL
Intel Pentium G4400 - RM 225
Kingston 4GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 90
Transcend 220S 120GB SSD - RM 179
CM Elite Power 350W - RM 126
Armageddon Nanatron T1x - RM 95

Total: RM 991 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

You can swap the SSD to HDD if you prefer more onboard storage compared to faster boot speed (and overall faster system responsiveness).

You can opt to get cheap casing with OEM PSU included (around RM 150+/-) if you want to save money, the PSU included might be a "cap ayam" branded PSU so please take note on this biggrin.gif

terence_nwb
post Sep 25 2016, 10:27 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(niggerhigger @ Sep 25 2016, 04:39 PM)
[B][Budget]
RM2500

[Purpose]
Surfing, gaming-medium resolution

Monitor HP L2208w, mouse

[Monitor resolution] 1680x1050

Dota 2, Fifa 16, Excel

[Personal preferences]
i5 6500 and small casing, Prefer price list found here http://www.jayacom.com.my/jayacom-retails-price-lists, western digital hdd and msi rx460 not in stock

[Location]
KL, PJ Digital Mall

Thank you.
Intel Core i5 6400 - RM 722
Asus H110I Plus - RM 339
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 159
Sapphire RX460 4GB GDDR5 Nitro+ - RM 689
Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD - RM 205
Corsair VS450 - RM 169
CM Elite 130 - RM 199

Total: RM 2482 (Jayacom price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Sep 25 2016, 11:25 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(niggerhigger @ Sep 25 2016, 10:36 PM)
Thanks a lot. Can you explain the reasoning for your choice of motherboard(is it because of size?) and graphics card(is it because of brand?)?

What build would you recommend if I opted for micro-ATX/ATX?

Also, I was quoted RM530 for an MSI GTX 750 TI and RM850 for Core i5 6500.
Yea since you prefer small case so I picked up a mITX case and mITX mobo.

As for the GPU, it is the cheapest RX460 4GB in the list so no doubt it will be the first choice.

If you would like to include SSD (120GB for OS) then you can take the quoted item (GTX750Ti and i5 6500), the money saved from the GPU can be used to get a decent entry level SSD.

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Sep 25 2016, 10:57 PM)
Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 835
I need a 27 inch monitor so will allocate RM1k for that and Windows 10.

Will get a H110M board and a Seasonic S12II 620W PSU instead.

Intel i5 6400/i7
Asrock H110M-HDV
G skill 8GB DDR4
GTX950/GTX1060
Seasonic S12II 620W PSU
Fractal Define R5 Black
Samsung EVO 850 120GB
WD 1TB HDD Blue
Benq EW2750ZL 27" 1080p monitor
Windows 10 Home

Should be about RM4.5K from Idealtech.

p/s: Would a RTS game like Cossacks 3 (recently launched) with hundreds of units in the map and possibly thousands, benefit more from a better CPU (like an i7) OR from a better GPU. From my understanding, it's the former?

Have to decide between a cheaper i5 6400 + GTX1060 combo or an i7 + GTX950 combo..

Thanks ya smile.gif
RTS generally benefits from multicore CPU according to the trends but I checked the game listing on Steam, it seems like it is not very demanding in both CPU and GPU, the graphics are just mediocre for me and the recommended spec is just an i5 3470 + GTX560 so I am pretty sure Skylake i5 + GTX950 will do the job just fine.

If you only play this game, then i5 6500 + GTX950 will be enough.
terence_nwb
post Sep 25 2016, 11:52 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Sep 25 2016, 11:47 PM)
I get 55-65fps on my GTX760 (Zotac 2GB Amp! pre-OCed) rig playing the game, reckon the GTX950 is better?
Hmm so it seems like the recommended spec is for 1080p30 then since GTX760 cannot even get stable 60 when it is much faster than the recommended GTX560 doh.gif

And GTX950 is just slightly faster than GTX760, so in this case, get GTX960 (risky a bit but can save money) or GTX1060.
terence_nwb
post Sep 26 2016, 07:33 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Sep 26 2016, 12:15 AM)
Ehh where did u see that ah? Just wondering..

If so, I'd probably just go for a GTX1060. Idealtech has the EVGA Superclocked GTX 1060 3GB DDR5 version for RM1199 only smile.gif

This would be the final build. All okay?

http://idealtech.com.my/store/builder/show...serial=0OE2J83C
It's all assumption, your GTX760 cannot even get a stable 60 so the recommended spec is probably for 1080p30, provided your current CPU is not bottlenecking.

1.2k for a GTX1060 3GB? Overpriced man, that price should be able to get a 6GB variant (Palit/Zotac etc).
terence_nwb
post Sep 26 2016, 09:13 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Sep 26 2016, 08:54 AM)
Oh okay thanks. Thought EVGA always has the fastest cards in the market.. smile.gif
Not always the fastest, their fastest is probably the KINGPIN card which is only available for high end/enthusiast level GPU.

terence_nwb
post Sep 26 2016, 08:51 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(robinoh @ Sep 26 2016, 11:25 AM)
[Budget] RM 5k or below

[Purpose] 3DS Max, Autocad, SketchUp - interior design

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None

[Monitor resolution] Propose me suitable ones

[Games & softwares that use frequently] 3DS Max, Autocad, Sketch Up,  Photoshop

[Personal preferences] None

[Location] Petaling Jaya
Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1314
Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 450
Corsair 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 322
Zotac GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 Mini - RM 1169
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 289
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Superflower Leadex Silver 550W - RM 339
Tecware Alpha - RM 219
Dell S2316H - RM 669

Total: RM 4980 (Techview price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Sep 26 2016, 10:16 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(jajaosyaz @ Sep 26 2016, 09:24 PM)
[B][Budget] : RM 3000

[Purpose] : Gaming

[Monitor resolution] : 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] : CSGO & Dota 2

[Personal preferences] : i5 processor
Rig only or full set?
terence_nwb
post Sep 27 2016, 08:46 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Sep 27 2016, 08:42 AM)
terence_nwb
Seasonic S12ii 620W no more liao. How is the superflower Leadex silver 550W for RM339 instead?

Thanks Bro.
How about Seasonic M12II EVO?

Superflower Leadex Silver is ok, but Seasonic M12II EVO/S12II is slightly better than it.

Or straight away opt for Leadex Gold 550W (RM 409), a tier 1 PSU.
terence_nwb
post Sep 27 2016, 11:03 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(efariz @ Sep 27 2016, 09:31 AM)
Hi Sifu,

I wanna build 4 sets of decent gaming PC that enable me to play modern game smoothly (FPS at least 40fps)..my budget will be max RM3000 with peripherals (Monitor, Keyboard & mouse combo only)..

[Budget] Max ~RM3000..
[Purpose] Casual gaming..at least 40 fps for AAA title..
[Hardwares that will be re-use] All New..
[Monitor resolution] Full HD, 1080 only..19-20 inch monitor should be fine..
[Games & softwares that use frequently] AAA title games..
[Personal preferences] Don't need SSD, No special theme, Nothing fancy..
[Location] Wangsa Maju, KL..

Thanks a lot~  notworthy.gif
Each set RM 3000 budget right?, don't tell me it's RM 750 per set sweat.gif

Intel Core i5 6402P - RM 720
Palit GTX1060 3GB GDDR5 Dual - RM 938
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
Tecware F3 - RM 125
AOC E2180SWDN - RM 329
Logitech MK200 Wired Combo - RM 63

Total: RM 3009 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Sep 27 2016, 12:41 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(efariz @ Sep 27 2016, 11:27 AM)
hahaha..RM3000 per set  sweat.gif

nice suggestion..thanks!
but got few part that i kinda disagree..because add a bit got better deal..
here is the parts that i suggest to replace the bold part only:

GSkill AEGIS 8GB DDR4 1866MHz RM169 (+RM8 from suggested RAM) <speed lower but esthetis more nice
Silverstone ST50F-ES230 500W RM199 (+RM11 from suggested PSU) <brand more reliable
Bitfenis Nova RM149 (+RM24 from suggested Chasis) <brand more reliable

other than that, i agree with u..but the price of new CPU quite high laa  sweat.gif
what do u think? only cost extra ~RM43 (price from IdealTech)
It's really up to you whether to "add a bit", since you mentioned "Max ~RM3000" so I already kinda worried on my over budgeted build (RM 9).

About the RAM, the base clock of DDR4 is 2133MHz, so you might have copied the wrong info.

As for the PSU, I don't really agree Silverstone being a more reliable brand than FSP, I would say FSP is slightly higher in the ranking (or on par), it is the PSU OEM for many brands out there and they make quality PSU in overall, if I were to pick between the lower end FSP and Silverstone, no doubt FSP will be my main choice.

And the case, Idealtech doesn't carry Tecware case anyway so you have to get other brand. F3 comes with an extra 120mm casing fan which can save you a couple of bucks (compared to Nova).

Price of the new CPU quite high? Well that's the cheapest Skylake i5 you can get for now, you will have to "downgrade" to i3 if you want to save money or go one tier lower sweat.gif
terence_nwb
post Sep 27 2016, 02:40 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(efariz @ Sep 27 2016, 02:25 PM)
haha..don't worry..i understood..for the budget of RM3000, i can stretch a bit or downgrade any component to save some cost (i'm looking at CPU)..

For the RAM, sorry, i copied wrong base clock info..should be 2133MHz..but i might go for GSkill for the RAM..for aesthetic coz Corsair basic RAM comes with exposed green PCB (correct me if i'm wrong)..

For the PSU, if FSP more reliable brand than Silverstone, i should pick FSP..might need further googling..

For the Case, Nova also comes with 3 case fan, same like F3, but non-LED type..which might be a downside..but i believe Bitfenix brand much more trusted than Tecware right?

For the CPU, yes, i agreed with u..cheapest i5 for Skylake..if downgrade to i3, i will lose 2 core..i think most modern game will need at least 4 core to run smoothly..really frustrated..
Bitfenix Nova only comes with 1 rear exhaust fan by default, while F3 comes with 1 top exhaust fan and 1 front intake fan (LED type).

For rig case, I wouldn't use "more trusted" to compare between 2 different brands (or more). Quality, feature and warranty (not so important since rarely need to RMA) etc are the candidates for rig case comparison. Bitfenix for me, well it is a bit "plastic-ish", even with their high end series case. Tecware is a new competitor in this field and it has gained significant attention from the rig builder (especially low and mid budget rig) with its cheap yet feature-packed Alpha case (3 casing fans, full radiator support, sleek design etc.). F3 is a mATX case which means it will be slightly smaller, but with ATX mobo upgrade restriction being put on it.

So it is really up to you whether to fork out the extra for Bitfenix Nova or not, either is fine for me since both have their own pros and cons and price difference is small.

Good luck.

terence_nwb
post Sep 28 2016, 08:56 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Subcrevv90 @ Sep 27 2016, 10:03 PM)
[Budget] = RM 2k (max)

[Purpose] = Gaming

[Monitor resolution] = Already have a 23.6 monitor S24E390HL

[Games & softwares that use frequently] = Dota2, WoW and ELOA

[Personal preferences] = stable 60fps @ high graphic settings

I'm looking for the rig only.
I will reuse the monitor, keyboard and mouse.
Stable 60 at high settings in those games listed should be fine, but don't expect rock solid in other games due to budget constraint.

Palit GTX950 2GB GDDR5 StormX - RM 609
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Corsair VS450 - RM 162
Tecware F3 - RM 125

Total: RM 1988 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Sep 29 2016, 08:49 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(am3rr @ Sep 28 2016, 08:48 PM)
hi all. i need 2 rig recommendations for bisnes use. budget 1500 mostly for accounting purpose and pos system usage.  thanks
for psu i think i can recycle from old pc.  no need monitor and mouse
Intel Core i3 6100 - RM 486
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Tecware F3 - RM 125

Total: RM 1257 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Pretty straight forward, if you happen to be able to reuse your HDD from your old PC then you can save another 200 bucks.

Optional upgrade:
1. i5
2. SSD
terence_nwb
post Sep 29 2016, 02:06 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Lynox @ Sep 29 2016, 09:06 AM)
hi. any suggestion(s) what bluetooth adapter should i use to pair my ds4 on pc? my cousin bought CSR bluetooth adapter, its not working. he said maybe because of CSR. anyone can help?
I had a quick search on the Internet and it seems to be related to CSR Harmony, have you tried to uninstall that app?

43 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.1495sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:18 PM