[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V12!

MeToo
post Nov 17 2016, 04:54 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 17 2016, 04:29 PM)
Both monitors listed by me aren't GSync ready, the two you listed above are also not available in Malaysia either.

The cheapest GSync monitor here is Acer Predator XB241H (around 1.9k), it doesn't worth the money anymore after Dell S2417DG entered our market at almost similar price tag (around 2k) but with a higher resolution (1440p instead of 1080p).
Got any recommendation for Monitor 27" below 1500? tongue.gif

Edit : Its important to look nice... meaning aesthetically pleasing...

This post has been edited by MeToo: Nov 17 2016, 04:55 PM
MeToo
post Nov 17 2016, 05:01 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 17 2016, 05:00 PM)
You are looking for 1080p or 1440p?
Rig
i5-6600
GTX 1060 6GB
16GB RAM

got difference ka?
MeToo
post Nov 17 2016, 05:31 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 17 2016, 05:12 PM)
RX480 8GB is basically the only card that you can look for currently, Fury/Fury X is slightly faster than RX480 but it is more expensive.
Maximum size that I would go for 1080p is 24", 1080p on 27" is just too "pixelated" for me due to its low PPI value.

1440p packs almost the twice of the pixel counts of 1080p, this certainly brings more workspace to your desktop and most of the people will love it if they multitask a lot (side by side window viewing etc.), but yea, frame rates in games will be lower in this case if compare natively with 1080p  tongue.gif
I definitely wanna go 27".... once you go big, you dont look back anymore.

Even 1440p... can downgrade to 1080p if framerate is important in some games ya? So far I have been surviving with 1080p on 27"...
MeToo
post Nov 17 2016, 06:02 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 17 2016, 05:59 PM)
Not recommended to run 1080p on 1440p (or any downscale), the images will look blurry and spoil your gaming mood sometimes. Just turn down the settings like AA to none (1440p doesn't need too much AA TBH due to high pixel counts) to achieve better frame rates.
Hmm.. ok ok ....

So any monitor for me ah.. under 1500... prefer sexy looking ones.. cause my room is ID-ed and sexy looking tongue.gif

Edit : Abit regret spent RM425 on the Evo850... if not maybe can up GPU to 1070 and get a more decent monitor

This post has been edited by MeToo: Nov 17 2016, 06:03 PM
MeToo
post Nov 18 2016, 10:17 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(NLTR @ Nov 18 2016, 09:55 AM)
Hi sifu terence_nwb,

Wanna ask, if i purchased a SSD, does it come along with SATA cable?
Or i need to buy it separately?
Seperately.

Heck the 500 bucks motherboard i bought only comes with 2 sata cable.... damn cheapskate

Alternatively u can buy a m.2 SSD and slot direct into your mobo (if supported by the mobo)

This post has been edited by MeToo: Nov 18 2016, 10:18 AM
MeToo
post Nov 18 2016, 11:22 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 18 2016, 11:19 AM)
If you plan to get a high end GPU in the future, please consider swapping the current selected PSU to a better one so you don't have to upgrade the PSU next time when you do the GPU upgrade.
This is good point... I always go overboard with PSU... like for the rig u recommended me, I got myself an EVGA Supernova G2 650w gold just so i can maintain it at medium load and the fan wont run... so it'll be quiet...
MeToo
post Nov 18 2016, 11:23 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(NLTR @ Nov 18 2016, 10:21 AM)
Thanks for reply, My MOBO cant support la cos already 7 years old. The power cable used to power HDD same with SSD right?
Yes. Power cable will be the same.

MeToo
post Nov 18 2016, 03:00 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 17 2016, 08:03 PM)
Checked, only managed to find 1080p under 1.5k, better stick with your current one since it is not really an upgrade (feel like wasting money  sweat.gif ).
Sad jor lor.... wanted a new sexy monitor... cry.gif

MeToo
post Nov 18 2016, 03:34 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 18 2016, 03:21 PM)
This one also not bad  tongue.gif

Wah! poison poison!

Actually that model is not so expensive... liek ~1.1k... but spec wise..... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by MeToo: Nov 18 2016, 03:35 PM
MeToo
post Nov 18 2016, 03:53 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 18 2016, 03:41 PM)
It is the usual 1080p 60Hz IPS, 1.1k is quite expensive considering the new ViewSonic VX3209-2K only costs 1.2k with much larger screen size and 1440p  biggrin.gif
32" for that price cheap cheap cheaappp...

But hor... 10ms... rclxub.gif
MeToo
post Nov 18 2016, 04:59 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(d3ck @ Nov 18 2016, 04:56 PM)
Which one is more best price/performance ratio between GTX1050Ti 4GB vs GTX1050 2GB?

Cant afford 1060 3GB sad.gif
http://www.legitreviews.com/msi-geforce-gt...d-review_187298

http://www.pcworld.com/article/3134528/com...-champions.html

This post has been edited by MeToo: Nov 18 2016, 05:00 PM
MeToo
post Nov 21 2016, 04:29 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 21 2016, 04:26 PM)
You can do the same thing (get the casing + PSU combo) and get a 500GB HDD instead of 1TB HDD (500GB HDD will be slightly slower than 1TB due to lower RPM).
HDD 7200 v 5400 should be same same gua... hmm.gif

Buy 2TB Blue also 5400 nia...
MeToo
post Nov 22 2016, 10:23 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Lynox @ Nov 22 2016, 10:06 AM)
any idea when the price will increase cos of latest currency issue?
and which seller already updated the latest price?
feel so angry with currency right now
Last week alrdy updated. Especially for stuff like RAM, HDD etc..
MeToo
post Nov 22 2016, 10:46 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Lynox @ Nov 22 2016, 10:28 AM)
so sad + angry right now coz im waiting for my bonus pay next month T_T
ya.. I was goign to wait till end Dec also to see if any new releases will drop the price of certain stuff...

But once the Ringgit went south (I'm closedly related to the financial market) i terus go lock in the price and bought it..
MeToo
post Nov 29 2016, 04:46 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 29 2016, 04:40 PM)
Not sure which speaker is qualified as "decent" since I am a full headphone user  sweat.gif

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 885
Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4) - RM 425
GSKill Aegis 8GB DDR4 2133MHz RAM - RM 249
Palit GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 Dual - RM 1249
Samsung 750 EVO 250GB SSD - RM 249
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
Superflower Leadex Gold 550W - RM 409
Phanteks P400S Tempered Glass - RM 399
Windows 10 Home OEM - RM 249
Edifier M1380 - RM 155

Total: RM 4488 (Idealtech price inclusive of GST)
hehe Edifier confirm not decent lah bro... our headphones also RM500 and above liao tongue.gif

0.1093sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:46 AM